Halo: Reach Xbox 360

Halo: Reach Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 99 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2029 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifyingFrom the beginning, you know the end. In Halo: Reach, players experience the fateful moments that forged the Halo legend. It's the story of Noble Team, a squad of heroic Spartan soldiers, and their final stand on the planet Reach, humanity's last line of defense between the terrifying Covenant and Earth. This darker story is echoed by grittier visuals amid a backdrop of massive, awe-inspiring environments. Characters, enemies and environments are rendered in amazing detail by an all-new engine designed to deliver epic-scale encounters against the cunning and ruthless Covenant. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 99
  2. Negative: 0 out of 99
  1. Halo: Reach is without doubt Bungie's finest Halo game, and best of all it has the story and structure to the campaign to finally deliver the Halo experience that some of us have been waiting for since the original Halo: Combat Evolved launched on Xbox back in 2002.
  2. 100
    ODST could have been a clever little shimmy, but it came out a misstep. Reach brings us right back into the dance that hooked us nine years ago, introduces some cool new steps, and leaves us twirling in enchantment as Bungie graciously bows out. Just keep twirling, Spartan.
  3. If you're a fan of the Halo series and were a little disappointed with ODST and a little apprehensive in purchasing this title, don't be. Bungie have redeemed themselves by not only creating an engaging and coercive story but have brought the game back to its roots and tweaked the gameplay, both offline and online to make this the definitive game of the series.
  4. In closing, Halo Reach is a must have title for any fan of the series (which by now, you should know if you are or not) and even if you aren't a fan of the previous titles you may find that the lengths Bungie have gone to refine their formula will now win you over.
  5. It's not the perfect shooter by any stretch, if indeed such a thing could exist, but as a multiplayer effort there's every reason to expect the game to reach far into the coming year and beyond.
  6. It maybe not be the perfect ending for the franchise because of its prequel flair, but in the gameplay and story-telling aspects it easily earns the crown of the series.
  7. Halo is still a superlative multiplayer game, and with a group of friends, there's nothing quite like a well-tuned game mode or a white-knuckle finish to a Firefight. It's a shame that Halo: Reach couldn't add $60 worth of improvements to it.

See all 99 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 632
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story andThis game delivered on every front. From the intense single player campaign stuffed with variety to the excellent voice acting, story and sound effects Halo:Reach is an absolute must buy for every Xbox360 owner. It is so rich in content that it can easily race for the top spot among the other heavy weapons in the genre. Although the graphics look quite good they are not on a Gears of War or Bad Company 2 level but they still look very convincing and that improvements are visible. I haven't really had time to dug into the multiplayer part of the game but seeing a lot of official review we can say that Halo: Reach is one of the most rich FPS when it comes to its content. All together if you are an Xbox owner, fond of FPS, have 60 bucks or a fan of the series pick this up! U won't regret it, because Bungie really kept its promise and finished the series with a BANG. Now its only up to Microsoft not to screw it up in the future. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game makes the beloved Halo franchise better. The campaign is great and its one you can play over and over again. The story is a good prequel to Halo Combat Evolved, gives good back story to cortana, the beloved AI that helps Master Chief. The Multi-player is good for competitive and lazy players, many different game types that keep you from getting bored. You will spend too much time playing this game, but it is totally worth it for the fun you get out of it. The Forge is way better than Halo 3, Smooth, Easy, Quick. You can build maps quickly or spend time and have great detailed maps. The Firefight mode is awesome, with new game types and custom game types you will want to continue on battling the covenant. Halo:Reach is a 100% BUY. But with Halo 4 around the corner, no point now. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    Best Halo game ever made! (Even 5 years laters and after the release of Halo 5)

    - Legendary story - Halo quality gameplay - Beatiful
    Best Halo game ever made! (Even 5 years laters and after the release of Halo 5)

    - Legendary story
    - Halo quality gameplay
    - Beatiful graphics and animations
    - Robust Mutiplayer options and modes
    - First chance to fully customize your Spartan
    Expand
  4. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    The people who give this game a 5 or lower obviously have never played this game. The people who have given this game a 7 or lower obviouslyThe people who give this game a 5 or lower obviously have never played this game. The people who have given this game a 7 or lower obviously haven't played the game how it was supposed to be played. Halo: Reach completes Bungie's hold on the franchise, it is absolutely stunning. With all new forge 2.0 and extended custom games options, even if matchmaking gets boring, you'll 100% find fun in these modes. Firefight is back with excellent customization. The campaign has all the epicness of a Halo campaign and really delivers a solid experience. Don't listen to the haters, try this out yourself. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure why, but I just don't feel entirely satisfied with the story, but Halo: Reach is simply a fun game to play. Both single andI'm not sure why, but I just don't feel entirely satisfied with the story, but Halo: Reach is simply a fun game to play. Both single and multi-player. A true homerun for Bungie. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    I have been a long term Halo fan. I bought my first xbox many years ago and with that the original of the franchise 'Halo: Combat Evolved.' ToI have been a long term Halo fan. I bought my first xbox many years ago and with that the original of the franchise 'Halo: Combat Evolved.' To my joy I found a deep, mysterious universe wrought with peril and a slightly (very) stereotyped space marine guy to play as while he swept over the ring, escaping from a terrible foe.

    Halo 2 came around, this time with multiplayer. Then Halo 3 with innovative features such as Forge and Theater mode - both these games having campaigns that are still vivid in my mind and multiplayer maps so immersive that I can smell them. Oh, and there was that mediocre ODST game that brought firefight.

    Then Reach.

    To start with - campaign.

    The campaign was fun I guess, but not exactly difficult (even on legendary) but was overly short. The only characters to break out of the 'space marine' mould a little were Kat and Jorge. The story was mediocre, alien invasion with little real relevance to the overall story until the end.

    The Forge mode has seen a considerable increase in quality, the ability to nudge objects or to precisely adjust the angle is a huge move in the right direction for the mode. Phasing objects into the ground receives a huge thumbs up from me. Truly, this map editing mode is very, very good. However, it is marred by the restrictive colour palette of grey and... well, grey.

    Firefight has also seen an upgrade, with improved customisation options and matchmaking support, however, there is an insufferable lag whenever I play with anyone else (I have heard similar feedback from friends) so I normally end up playing on my own - kind of defeating the purpose of matchmaking support.

    The theater mode has sacrificed multiplayer support for the ability to rewind campaign footage.

    Finally, I move onto Matchmaking. I am so split over this, sometimes it works - in gametypes such as SWAT it feels fine but I can't help but feel frustrated when playing anything that isn't SWAT. The core of this comes down to a number of things - a bloom system that I don't feel belongs in Halo and very very very very very bad level design.

    To put the design in context, I can remember the names of many H: CE maps, yet after a month of not playing Reach, I can remember two. Paradiso - infamous with a one-sided spawn and annoying weapon locations and the imaginatively named 'Forge World', designed with guess what in mind?

    I don't think that Reach is essentially bad, and its not that I am bad at it - I had a k/d of 2 according to bungie.net over a few hundred games - but I found that I was getting very bored with Halo. Shooting a grunt's head with a DMR lost its appeal quickly, sticks and splatters were made redundant with armour and I was generally bored of the game very quickly compared to other Halo games.

    Finally, I come onto custom games - where I spent weeks of my life in Halo 3. This to me was the core of the fun, with many community favourites such as a jenga tower variant where you had to stand on a tower as large chunks of scenery were fired at you - last man standing wins. These games normally racked up around 8 people, but many times went up to the max of 16. Meanwhile, I go onto Reach, set up a variant where you have to run down a track from a killball chasing you, get positive reviews when I show people one on one and then invite my friends list for a good, full game. Not one person joins. Why? Because you only get 200 credits for playing 10 minutes of custom games, while you can get 2000 for an enraging matchmaking game. Effectively, credits have destroyed custom games.

    To sum up, the campaign and the multiplayer are average - while the firefight, forge and custom games are all absolutely fantastic, best in the console FPS genre, however, these are made redundant from a lack of players who are too busy annoying themselves getting virtual money to spend on virtual clothes for a virtual character. Halo just outsmarted itself.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Well as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo didWell as a fan of halo since halo 1 i have to say it feels like bungie said "Call of Dutyize it NOW" and as much as i **** hate cod halo did not feel like halo. halo 1 lan was **** awesome halo 2 online was beast. and halo 3 was awesome. and they said well time to change the formula. so it feels like call of halo. not enjoyable. Expand

See all 632 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Halo: Reach Inside the Reviews

    Halo: Reach: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: September 13, 2010
    If early reviews hold up, the newest installment in the ongoing "Halo" saga will be one of the year's highest-rated games for the Xbox 360. Take a closer look at exactly why critics are so fired up about "Reach."