User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 382 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 382

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great,Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great, the music is great (thanks to Stephen Rippy), and has little easter eggs for Halo fans. But, it is short and the reason why it is short is because Microsoft cut the budget (Ensemble had plans for a Covenant campaign, probably featuring the Brute Chieftain since he isn't in the main campaign, but the budget was cut and it was scrapped). According to the Guiness Book of World Records 2010 Gamer's Edition, Halo Wars has sold over 1.21 million units making it the Best Selling Console Based RTS. Not bad, huh? And for all those people out there who don't like it because Bungie was not involved, here is an article on what Bungie has to say about it: http://www.bungie.net/News/content.aspx?type=topnews&link=bwusept29osix For what it's worth, Halo Wars is an excellent addition to the franchise, but it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. In any case, this a great game any Halo fan should have as well as to introduce people to the RTS genre. Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty. C- Snotty PC elitists
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty.
    C- Snotty PC elitists that are mad they can't play the game.
    Give this game a chance, and you will enjoy it.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past,
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past, they took a popular IP and made an RTS out of it, but this time they made a perfectly functional RTS on a console. This, up until now, was unheard of. Halo Wars might not have been the first RTS, or the best RTS, but it was the first RTS with a good control scheme for a console as a platform. The game itself wasn't bad either, but I give legendary status to the Ensemble team that, in their dying breath as a company, made this game.
    Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    My personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. TheMy personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. The campaign is good, but not great and I just wish there was a covenant campaign. This game really shines on multiplayer though since the maps are great, the units more varied and you can play as UNSC or as the covenant and both have different game mechanics. Fighting strategically in 3 vs 3 online matches is just epic and I just can't get tired of playing this game. Overall this game is totally amazing just because of the extremely fun multiplayer, now that the price for this game isn't high at all you should buy it. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety andFantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety and strategy in the maps and leaders to keep it fresh. In both the campaign and the multiplayer you have to think and be smart, what units should I use, what units might my enemy have, should I attack now, should I build an extra base? Not only this but ensemble have had the generosity to open a huge new section of the halo universe, not just with the story, but with the black boxes, giving you tonnes of halo lore to work your way through. If you don't like RTS's this might actually change your mind (due to the simplistic controls). All in all, this is Console RTS perfection. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer andThis is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer and you've got a fantastic game. Collapse
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    As a huge fan of rts games especially ag of empires, halo wars is by far the best rts on the console today! The user friendly controls make halo wars fun for everyone! I'd recommend this game to all halo fans!
  8. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Beautiful, interesting
    But only two races it would have been very interesting using also flood but any flood here :(
    UNSC and Covenant
    Very good game RTS I am still playing this awesome game in 2013
  9. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Great game I highly recommend it to people. There is only one flaw with this game and that is in multiplayer. When you start off a game you think you can win and then boom you get rushed it is the most annoying thing especially if you are trying to rank up. But still a great game.
  10. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Please make a sequel or similar console rts! Although it's been a little while since I've played halo wars, me and some friends used to have a hell of a time in online 3v3 matches. I still pick it up every now and again with my mates and mess around for a couple hours online. The simplified controls for a console controller could not be more perfect. Everything is easy to maneuver andPlease make a sequel or similar console rts! Although it's been a little while since I've played halo wars, me and some friends used to have a hell of a time in online 3v3 matches. I still pick it up every now and again with my mates and mess around for a couple hours online. The simplified controls for a console controller could not be more perfect. Everything is easy to maneuver and switching between bases and units could not be easier. The campaign was a little lackluster but co-op campaign was what I played and I can say it is much more enjoyable then running around solo. If you are into rts games and looking for a new console experience then why haven't you picked this gem up yet? Halo Wars has gave me countless hours of fun and it's always nice to get a break from the standard fps multiplayer and mix it up a bit. Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Halo Wars, although may be a stranger to its fellow halo games, is an all around fun game to play. It's campaign is not it's strong point, the only reason I can see that you would need to press the campaign button would be if you're a rookie and you want to learn the controls a bit before you delve into the harsh atmosphere of multiplayer or you just want to collect skulls. Multiplayer isHalo Wars, although may be a stranger to its fellow halo games, is an all around fun game to play. It's campaign is not it's strong point, the only reason I can see that you would need to press the campaign button would be if you're a rookie and you want to learn the controls a bit before you delve into the harsh atmosphere of multiplayer or you just want to collect skulls. Multiplayer is it's obvious strong point and as long as you understand strategy and the basics of the game (*cough* noobs that use a mix army of marines and warthogs *cough*) you should be fine. So if you every go to you nearby walmart or gamestop you should just give this game a chance. p.s don't get the downloaded version, it is not as good in my opinion Expand
  12. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaignThis game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaign you play as the people from the Spirit of fire, whose captain is captain Cutter. War guy, sergeant Forge and doc Andres along with the AI Serina. I love a good prequel which you learn from. In the skirmish you can play as one of the Covenant leaders (Brute chieftain, Arbiter, prophet of regret) and you can spawn the one you play as in and upgrade and create your awesome one man army. Or you could, at the start send him in early and just destroy the enamy early on. The enemy AI is challenging to and if you play as a human you get a bunch of bonuses that make it fair. READ THIS IF YOu CANT BE BOTHERED to some it up, Good campaign, good story (but still not as good as a bungie halo story) , Amazing skirmish, amazing DLC, Amazing multiplayer, amazing graphics, super simple and a great way for ensemble studios to say good bye. Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    This is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer andThis is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer and you've got a fantastic game. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 92
  2. Negative: 0 out of 92
  1. Though it's not a first-person shooter, Halo Wars packs all the Halo fixings you've come to expect: an engaging campaign, co-op play, engrossing multiplayer, efficient party-friendly matchmaking, hidden skulls, Legendary difficulty, and impeccable controls. We can confidently say that it's the foremost example of a real-time strategy game done right on a console. [Mar 2009, p.72]
  2. It’s a feeling that never quite dissipates over the game’s core 15 missions, a sense of lean and focused game design which prizes the exhilarating tussle of conflict over long, drawn-out army building. [Mar 2009, p.86]
  3. Halo Wars isn't perfect, but it's a huge step in the right direction for console RTS. For the first time in the sub-genre, I felt like I was playing a game instead of wrestling with a kludged-together control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.88]