Halo Wars Xbox 360

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 446 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 446
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewB.
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    Halo Wars is an incredibly well done console RTS. It doesn't strive to be StarCraft or C&C, it is a HALO game that focuses on battle strategy rather than micro management. Not only does this approach work because it's a HALO game (a series that is centered around the action of the battle), but because it makes the game playable as an RTS on a console rather than a PC.
  2. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    If you are reading this review, the chances are you have been beaten by SSGJester on Xbox live. What can I say I devoted some serious time to teaching people how to duggy. Wait for Halo Wars 2 and I'll continue to teach on that, you'll see!
  3. AbelC
    Mar 13, 2009
    8
    This is a fun game..LIGHT RTS but fun in action. I wonder if it would have gotten better critic scores had it not been part of the Halo Franchise? More Multiplayer Options would have bumped my score. Bottom line is that the game is fun.
  4. vind4looanonamous
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    Halowars is a great game on the xbox 360, not a fantastic one but a great one. it has the charm of halo, cut scenes to die for and a story which is simple but believable. you can tell that the developers worked hard on this to get the controls right for a joy pad, however it pales in comparison with the computer titles such as dawn of war and age of empires. the multiplayer is a hoot and Halowars is a great game on the xbox 360, not a fantastic one but a great one. it has the charm of halo, cut scenes to die for and a story which is simple but believable. you can tell that the developers worked hard on this to get the controls right for a joy pad, however it pales in comparison with the computer titles such as dawn of war and age of empires. the multiplayer is a hoot and a much needed aspect of the game however much needed updates are in order for it to be triple A quality. this game is definatley worth picking up from a reduce price (£30) however if looking for a triple A game for any platform i strongly reomend dawn of war over this anyday. Expand
  5. JimmieC.
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. the graghics are good and the sound is great. playing skirmish matches are fun. the game cool except you can't use the flood and that its to short. I recommend it if your a halo fan who who wants to play something knew or a fan of both.
  6. DanB
    May 2, 2009
    8
    A perfect game for Halo fans like myself. Never got into the RTS genre. Always got boring for me. Well the control scheme is good and the action oriented pace is a breath of fresh air. The cutscenes are beautiful and tell an interesting story in a universe rich with possibilities. Did it make me want to play hardcore RTS', no. But I will give the genre more of a chance rather than A perfect game for Halo fans like myself. Never got into the RTS genre. Always got boring for me. Well the control scheme is good and the action oriented pace is a breath of fresh air. The cutscenes are beautiful and tell an interesting story in a universe rich with possibilities. Did it make me want to play hardcore RTS', no. But I will give the genre more of a chance rather than remember the micro managing boredom of past tries with it. Expand
  7. LeeM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    First Halo was one of the first FPS games to revolutionize how FPS are played on consoles. Halo Wars' is now the first RTS to revolutionize how console RTS are constructed. People who thought this would be just milking of the frachise are wrong unless the definition of "milking" is changed to expanding the boundaries on how genre's of consoles should be made.
  8. GeoffreyC
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    Don't be fooled by the low user score. This game is a very well made Halo port. It excels in making the RTS accessible for a console, where previously many were overly complicated. The only major flaw in the game is the plot, which for me is why I rated it a 9 and not a 10. However, the cutscenes are nothing short of amazing, far superior to the cutscenes you saw in Halo 3. They are Don't be fooled by the low user score. This game is a very well made Halo port. It excels in making the RTS accessible for a console, where previously many were overly complicated. The only major flaw in the game is the plot, which for me is why I rated it a 9 and not a 10. However, the cutscenes are nothing short of amazing, far superior to the cutscenes you saw in Halo 3. They are arguably movie quality. It also has little in the way of micro, which for hardcore RTS fans might be off putting. All in all, if you like Halo and are eager to try it out in a new setting, this game does not disappoint. Expand
  9. jeycevetta
    Mar 7, 2009
    6
    Halo has just become so over-rated that they are starting to do RTS for it now?? I mean come on sure Halo 1 and 3 were great but those were FPS and that just works for Halo but RTS sadly does not. If Halo Wars was a more position troops here here and here then play that in FPS i think it would live up to all the hype that has been caused by all of this.
  10. MattB
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Extremely well made, I found it very easy to use and the controls work seamlessly. Give this game a chance and you'll like it. Yes, the cut scenes are brilliant and look beautiful. Dont judge it just because its an RTS its fluppin good.
  11. HaloGamer
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    That reviewer from "Gamers' Temple" (54%) is nothing but a Sony fanboy / Halo hater / PC Lover. 1. Comparing RTS games with FPS games (KZ2 no less) & ect...? 2. Comparing graphics from FPS games (KZ2 no less) instead of other console RTS games. 3. It's clear the reviewer only wants RTS games on PC's instead of a console. 4. Because of the reviewers clouded judgements, he That reviewer from "Gamers' Temple" (54%) is nothing but a Sony fanboy / Halo hater / PC Lover. 1. Comparing RTS games with FPS games (KZ2 no less) & ect...? 2. Comparing graphics from FPS games (KZ2 no less) instead of other console RTS games. 3. It's clear the reviewer only wants RTS games on PC's instead of a console. 4. Because of the reviewers clouded judgements, he can't get the facts straight nor do proper research on the game. 5. It's clear the reviewer does not like Halo as a "whole". In summary: The reviewer hated the fact this is a Halo game & the success it's getting. (Sony fanboy / Halo hater) It's only on the XB360 instead of the all mighty PC. (PC RTS Lover) Because of his clouded judgements, can't do proper research on games he's reviewing. Expand
  12. Aug 9, 2015
    8
    I do like this game but I do not like the low unit cap and that it was not released for pc at all. My love for RTS is sorta fulfilled with this game. I do recommend this game to any RTS fans.
  13. DanielS.
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Let many gamers who primarily play FPS, I was apprehensive trying a new genre. However, I can honestly say I had a blast playing. The campaign is fun and challenging. The controls are easy. Most missions last, on average, around 25 minutes. I played through the entire campaign on normal and I can
  14. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Halo Wars brings with it huge feelings of joy and sadness; the joy that comes with a fantastic and hugely immersive title, and the sadness that follows the closure of an epic studio on a high. The action orientated RTS may be light on the RTS aspects in some areas but that by no means detracts away from the gameplay in the slightest. It just gives you a unique experience. Definitely a mustHalo Wars brings with it huge feelings of joy and sadness; the joy that comes with a fantastic and hugely immersive title, and the sadness that follows the closure of an epic studio on a high. The action orientated RTS may be light on the RTS aspects in some areas but that by no means detracts away from the gameplay in the slightest. It just gives you a unique experience. Definitely a must purchase for Halo fans, action fans and those who are turned on by a good story. Expand
  15. KevinT
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    This is an unexpectedly great game. I enjoy RTS's and I enjoy the Halo games. This fuses them together really well and is also very accessible for those less familiar with the genre. Top game.
  16. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great,Halo Wars fulfills Halo: Combat Evolved's origins as an RTS. Ensemble did a great job of simplifying the gameplay so you don't have to worry on Micromanaging and concentrate on making strategic maneuvers. The multiplayer can have 3v3, which is pretty good and mostly the number of players goes above 10,000, probably more than Tom Clancy's EndWar. As for Campaign, the cutscenes are great, the music is great (thanks to Stephen Rippy), and has little easter eggs for Halo fans. But, it is short and the reason why it is short is because Microsoft cut the budget (Ensemble had plans for a Covenant campaign, probably featuring the Brute Chieftain since he isn't in the main campaign, but the budget was cut and it was scrapped). According to the Guiness Book of World Records 2010 Gamer's Edition, Halo Wars has sold over 1.21 million units making it the Best Selling Console Based RTS. Not bad, huh? And for all those people out there who don't like it because Bungie was not involved, here is an article on what Bungie has to say about it: http://www.bungie.net/News/content.aspx?type=topnews&link=bwusept29osix For what it's worth, Halo Wars is an excellent addition to the franchise, but it leaves a lot of unanswered questions. In any case, this a great game any Halo fan should have as well as to introduce people to the RTS genre. Expand
  17. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty. C- Snotty PC elitists
    I can say without a doubt, the vast majority of people who did not enjoy this game are either:
    A- Impatient 12 year olds that play nothing but shooters
    B- People which had no taste in strategy games to begin with, preventing themselves from developing a taste for this game. Many friends I have who did not play RTS games before, actually enjoyed this game plenty.
    C- Snotty PC elitists that are mad they can't play the game.
    Give this game a chance, and you will enjoy it.
    Expand
  18. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    My personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. TheMy personal opinion over this game influences much of this review since I purely loved this game, an RTS game on consoles is not the best idea but this game changes that. The campaign is not the best thing of this game, it's short and the difficulty unbalanced although the skulls and secrets found there are great and they unlock a Halo timeline that tells you a little about the story. The campaign is good, but not great and I just wish there was a covenant campaign. This game really shines on multiplayer though since the maps are great, the units more varied and you can play as UNSC or as the covenant and both have different game mechanics. Fighting strategically in 3 vs 3 online matches is just epic and I just can't get tired of playing this game. Overall this game is totally amazing just because of the extremely fun multiplayer, now that the price for this game isn't high at all you should buy it. Expand
  19. FPSMaster
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    It's an RTS but at the same time it feels exactly, sounds exactly and looks exactly like Halo. What more did people expect? It's not as deep and slow=paced as other RTSes, and that's a GOOD thing. It's supposed to feel like Halo, a fast-paced game. Just wait till you see the 4th or 5th cutscene and you get to see something that's only been talked about for years, It's an RTS but at the same time it feels exactly, sounds exactly and looks exactly like Halo. What more did people expect? It's not as deep and slow=paced as other RTSes, and that's a GOOD thing. It's supposed to feel like Halo, a fast-paced game. Just wait till you see the 4th or 5th cutscene and you get to see something that's only been talked about for years, but we've never actually seen it on-screen. Don't worry, when that cutscene comes around you'll know exactly what I'm talking about and if you're a big Halo fan you may even get a tear in your eye once you see it and hear the Halo monk chanting. All the cutscenes are good enough that the team responsible for them should be tasked with doing the Halo movie in CGI. If you don't like RTSes but like Halo, then this is the game that'll make you respect RTSes more. If you like RTSes and Halo, then this is for you. Just don't go in expecting to be cutting trees down and spending tons of time resourcing. It's all about the combat here. This is not C&C. It's Halo. Reviewers should have thought about that before comparing it to games like C&C and so should gamers. Expand
  20. JohnO
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    Halo Wars is a fun game though not the most in depth RTS I have ever played it certianly has the best controls of any on the 360. Lets face it if you want to play a deep RTS go play some@adf PC and a C&C or a Civ game if you are looking for a fun RTS on the 360 Halo Wars is pretty fun.
  21. JamieD
    Mar 10, 2009
    7
    This is by far the best console rts game I have every played, it was obviously made with console play in mind. That being said it is incredibly average compared to normal rts. It has a familiar set of characters, and I do love how a Spartan can hijack a Banchi, also the cut scenes are very good. But there is nothing other than previously metioned that set it apart from every single other RTS.
  22. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    This game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaignThis game is amazing i have spent so much time playing it. It was a great way for Ensemble studios to say goodbye. Its beautiful and raises the bar for console RTS games. It has all of the units you love and units you didn't know but you sure as hell would love. The Story isn't really what you would expect from a halo game but hey, this isn't bungie, and isn't master chief. In the campaign you play as the people from the Spirit of fire, whose captain is captain Cutter. War guy, sergeant Forge and doc Andres along with the AI Serina. I love a good prequel which you learn from. In the skirmish you can play as one of the Covenant leaders (Brute chieftain, Arbiter, prophet of regret) and you can spawn the one you play as in and upgrade and create your awesome one man army. Or you could, at the start send him in early and just destroy the enamy early on. The enemy AI is challenging to and if you play as a human you get a bunch of bonuses that make it fair. READ THIS IF YOu CANT BE BOTHERED to some it up, Good campaign, good story (but still not as good as a bungie halo story) , Amazing skirmish, amazing DLC, Amazing multiplayer, amazing graphics, super simple and a great way for ensemble studios to say good bye. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2014
    7
    why everyone hate this game because this game is a slow-building game? hello? this game is a "strategy" game. If you're halo fan you should heard about halo wars is going to be "slow-building game" And because of this game is "slow-building game" you guys giving 0,1,2 ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND this is a good solid "strategy" game. This game is rough around the edges but still 0/10? 1,2/10?why everyone hate this game because this game is a slow-building game? hello? this game is a "strategy" game. If you're halo fan you should heard about halo wars is going to be "slow-building game" And because of this game is "slow-building game" you guys giving 0,1,2 ARE YOU OUT OF YOUR MIND this is a good solid "strategy" game. This game is rough around the edges but still 0/10? 1,2/10? If you like strategy games you'll like this one, if you're a person who refers strategy game to "slow-building game" you'll hate this one.i mean seriously Star (user name) did you even see the back of the **** cover? Expand
  24. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    Halo Wars. By FAR one of the BEST games In the series (Next to Reach). Halo wars as you should know is a real time strategy game. You move you troops around. Destroy and build bases, etc... There was some mix in what was good and bad so I'll split it up into categories.

    The Good: Come on! It's a Halo Game! It's also an RTS! Because It's Halo, you really don't need to spend that much
    Halo Wars. By FAR one of the BEST games In the series (Next to Reach). Halo wars as you should know is a real time strategy game. You move you troops around. Destroy and build bases, etc... There was some mix in what was good and bad so I'll split it up into categories.

    The Good:
    Come on! It's a Halo Game!
    It's also an RTS!
    Because It's Halo, you really don't need to spend that much time learning all the Characters.
    Skirmish mode makes for quick battles with the AI
    Campaign has a really great story

    The Bad:
    No saving skirmishes!!! This would be useful as some skirmishes tend to be hours long.
    Game has a lot of glitches that were never patched in skirmishes, as well as online. My warthogs fall off the map frequently (You will learn how to avoid it. It's caused from moving a large amount of troops through a narrow pass)

    Over all this game gets an 8.6 out of 10
    Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2012
    6
    It's not the cheap cash-out a lot of people accuse it of being, but Halo Wars is really nothing special. It's an extremely basic RTS with simplistic gameplay and awkward controls (why it exists on the 360 and not the PC is a mystery). Multiplayer was extremely disappointing - prepare to be warthog or ghost rushed within the first ten minutes of any given game. The biggest redeeming factorIt's not the cheap cash-out a lot of people accuse it of being, but Halo Wars is really nothing special. It's an extremely basic RTS with simplistic gameplay and awkward controls (why it exists on the 360 and not the PC is a mystery). Multiplayer was extremely disappointing - prepare to be warthog or ghost rushed within the first ten minutes of any given game. The biggest redeeming factor is the graphics - Ensemble Studios did a great job of capturing the visual style of the previous games in the series. All in all, Halo Wars is not necessarily a BAD game, but unless you're a diehard Halo fan you're much better off getting your RTS fix elsewhere. Expand
  26. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past,
    If I were told that my studio was about to be dissolved, I would go out in a blase of glory by doing something that conventional wisdom claimed could not be done. I would make history, even if all that it would achieve would be that college students would mention in passing what a bad decision the dissolution was.

    This is what Ensemble did with Halo Wars. As they have done in the past, they took a popular IP and made an RTS out of it, but this time they made a perfectly functional RTS on a console. This, up until now, was unheard of. Halo Wars might not have been the first RTS, or the best RTS, but it was the first RTS with a good control scheme for a console as a platform. The game itself wasn't bad either, but I give legendary status to the Ensemble team that, in their dying breath as a company, made this game.
    Expand
  27. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety andFantastic in every way, Ensemble have gone with a giant bang! Not only have they nailed down the conversion of halo FPS to RTS, with user-friendly controls, Unit abilities, and mass unit movement controls, the campaign story is great and challenging with incredible CGI cutscenes, arguably the best graphics I've ever seen from any game and incredibly fun multiplayer with enough variety and strategy in the maps and leaders to keep it fresh. In both the campaign and the multiplayer you have to think and be smart, what units should I use, what units might my enemy have, should I attack now, should I build an extra base? Not only this but ensemble have had the generosity to open a huge new section of the halo universe, not just with the story, but with the black boxes, giving you tonnes of halo lore to work your way through. If you don't like RTS's this might actually change your mind (due to the simplistic controls). All in all, this is Console RTS perfection. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer andThis is the first RTS I have ever played, and really shows that a RTS can succeed on a console and not only on PC, the controls are outstanding, as are the graphics, sound, and story, a must play for RTS and Halo fans, and for those who want to try an RTS this is a perfect starter, it's easy to approach and is simple to figure out but difficult to master, add some great multiplayer and you've got a fantastic game. Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    Solid. Halo War's entertains in every way a strategy fan and in the same way a Halo veteran . Taking a franchise to a new genre ( or changing ) is a big risk . But it turns out that Halo Wars is quite addicting and very fun . While I don't feel that blowing sensation like with other strategy games, Halo Wars does it well .
  30. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    This is a very good game not perfect but nothing is, the RTS system is great, build strategies etc are good. campaign can be repetitive, which focus's on establishing a base, building units and destroying all nearby enemies. But that said, this games strength lies in multiplayer. 3v3 max. 3 players vs 3 AI can be a blast the only downside is that it wasn't 4v4, i would of liked a fourthThis is a very good game not perfect but nothing is, the RTS system is great, build strategies etc are good. campaign can be repetitive, which focus's on establishing a base, building units and destroying all nearby enemies. But that said, this games strength lies in multiplayer. 3v3 max. 3 players vs 3 AI can be a blast the only downside is that it wasn't 4v4, i would of liked a fourth friend to of been able to play, he can, but on the side of the AI unfortunately. that said cinematics are fantastic. What you'd expect from a halo branded game. Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    As a huge fan of rts games especially ag of empires, halo wars is by far the best rts on the console today! The user friendly controls make halo wars fun for everyone! I'd recommend this game to all halo fans!
  32. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Halo Wars deftly dodges between the hardcore micromanagement of real-time strategy and the instant gratification expected by Halo fans. Ensemble has nailed console RTS controls, but at the expense of some depth. Expand
  33. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Beautiful, interesting
    But only two races it would have been very interesting using also flood but any flood here :(
    UNSC and Covenant
    Very good game RTS I am still playing this awesome game in 2013
  34. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Please make a sequel or similar console rts! Although it's been a little while since I've played halo wars, me and some friends used to have a hell of a time in online 3v3 matches. I still pick it up every now and again with my mates and mess around for a couple hours online. The simplified controls for a console controller could not be more perfect. Everything is easy to maneuver andPlease make a sequel or similar console rts! Although it's been a little while since I've played halo wars, me and some friends used to have a hell of a time in online 3v3 matches. I still pick it up every now and again with my mates and mess around for a couple hours online. The simplified controls for a console controller could not be more perfect. Everything is easy to maneuver and switching between bases and units could not be easier. The campaign was a little lackluster but co-op campaign was what I played and I can say it is much more enjoyable then running around solo. If you are into rts games and looking for a new console experience then why haven't you picked this gem up yet? Halo Wars has gave me countless hours of fun and it's always nice to get a break from the standard fps multiplayer and mix it up a bit. Expand
  35. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    my review for the first good RTS on consoles.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 8/10. a pretty good story about what happened during the first attack of the covenant, but not as good as other halo games. GRAPHICS- 10/10. beautiful cutscenes and in-game graphics make this a spectacular looking game. SOUND- 9/10. good voice acting and great sound effects. MULTIPLAYER- 7/10. 3 vs. 3 (max)
    my review for the first good RTS on consoles.

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 8/10. a pretty good story about what happened during the first attack of the covenant, but not as good as other halo games.
    GRAPHICS- 10/10. beautiful cutscenes and in-game graphics make this a spectacular looking game.
    SOUND- 9/10. good voice acting and great sound effects.
    MULTIPLAYER- 7/10. 3 vs. 3 (max) multiplayer that is very enjoyable, but it needs more game modes and maps. also, the unit count is WAY too low.
    GAMEPLAY- 9/10. finally! RTS controls on console that work well!
    FUN FACTOR- 8.5/10. very fun RTS with a good story and enjoyable multiplayer.
    OVERALL- 8/10
    Expand
  36. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Would've been better as a PC game but that's not to say that it's not good. The campaign is fun and still has the Halo feel even though it's an RTS. Online multiplayer is fun too. The Xbox controls work but it would be much better with a mouse and keyboard.
  37. Nov 8, 2013
    7
    As far as RTS games go this is near the bottom of the list. However if you are a huge fan of the Halo universe then this game is a blast. It is full of downsides like only being able to build a maximum of 7 buildings per base and only being able to build bases in preset locations. However creating, controlling, and battling military units from the Halo universe makes you forget aboutAs far as RTS games go this is near the bottom of the list. However if you are a huge fan of the Halo universe then this game is a blast. It is full of downsides like only being able to build a maximum of 7 buildings per base and only being able to build bases in preset locations. However creating, controlling, and battling military units from the Halo universe makes you forget about most of the shortcomings. The cut scenes are spectacular and the basic level designs are very well thought out. Expand
  38. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Halo Wars, although may be a stranger to its fellow halo games, is an all around fun game to play. It's campaign is not it's strong point, the only reason I can see that you would need to press the campaign button would be if you're a rookie and you want to learn the controls a bit before you delve into the harsh atmosphere of multiplayer or you just want to collect skulls. Multiplayer isHalo Wars, although may be a stranger to its fellow halo games, is an all around fun game to play. It's campaign is not it's strong point, the only reason I can see that you would need to press the campaign button would be if you're a rookie and you want to learn the controls a bit before you delve into the harsh atmosphere of multiplayer or you just want to collect skulls. Multiplayer is it's obvious strong point and as long as you understand strategy and the basics of the game (*cough* noobs that use a mix army of marines and warthogs *cough*) you should be fine. So if you every go to you nearby walmart or gamestop you should just give this game a chance. p.s don't get the downloaded version, it is not as good in my opinion Expand
  39. Aug 22, 2010
    6
    By far the worst halo game of all! It may have been fun for some people but not for me. It got repetetive and if you failed a mission you get to start from the begining! Some mission's were 20 minutes long just to fail in the dieing seconds? AHHHHHHHHH! I give it a 6.3 out of 10.
  40. JoeGG
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    This game was awful. The game gives you absolutely no freedom to do anything and you have to do the missions exactly the way the game wants you to or else you cannot move on. You also cannot move while using your knife which makes it very difficult to kill anyone when you are out of bullets. You also cannot shoot unless you aim which makes it difficult especially when all you have is This game was awful. The game gives you absolutely no freedom to do anything and you have to do the missions exactly the way the game wants you to or else you cannot move on. You also cannot move while using your knife which makes it very difficult to kill anyone when you are out of bullets. You also cannot shoot unless you aim which makes it difficult especially when all you have is sniper ammo and there are people right in front of you. Oh and there are also long cut scenes every 2mins which you cant skip through. The only good thing about this game are the amazing graphics. Collapse
  41. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    I like playing RTS games so I picked up Halo Wars thinking it was a good game .... it was. For starters it's the only RTS game on the Xbox that doesn't suffer from frame rate drops, and it's the only console RTS that isn't a port from a PC version.

    The graphics are fantastic, and the game feels very well polished. The campaign was amazing, although it was a little short. My major
    I like playing RTS games so I picked up Halo Wars thinking it was a good game .... it was. For starters it's the only RTS game on the Xbox that doesn't suffer from frame rate drops, and it's the only console RTS that isn't a port from a PC version.

    The graphics are fantastic, and the game feels very well polished.

    The campaign was amazing, although it was a little short. My major complaint is that there is no campaign for the covenant. Which means you are stuck playing the UNSC story line.

    Overall it is one of the most polished and best RTS games on the Xbox 360 to date and I am sad that there are not more Halo RTS games coming out.
    Expand
  42. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Great game I highly recommend it to people. There is only one flaw with this game and that is in multiplayer. When you start off a game you think you can win and then boom you get rushed it is the most annoying thing especially if you are trying to rank up. But still a great game.
  43. johnnyd
    Sep 18, 2009
    4
    If you have any respect for halo don't buy it or at least wear condoms on your fingers when you play it. Boring multiplayer(30 mins+of waiting for an attack)terrible campaign which has many anachronisms to the halo universe and limited gameplay options
  44. Aug 29, 2010
    6
    This game is alright but to slap the halo name on it was just to get sales and maybe better ratings for a very average RTS game. The campaign was horrible. The gameplay was somewhat boring and not all that interesting. But this game does have some decent multiplayer. You can play with up to 6 players on xbox live. It is pretty fun but will only keep you interested for a little bit. ThisThis game is alright but to slap the halo name on it was just to get sales and maybe better ratings for a very average RTS game. The campaign was horrible. The gameplay was somewhat boring and not all that interesting. But this game does have some decent multiplayer. You can play with up to 6 players on xbox live. It is pretty fun but will only keep you interested for a little bit. This game is alright and if you are a hardcore RTS fan, this game probably is not for you, but if you a pretty big halo fan, you might want to take a look. This game is alright for a console RTS but with all of the excellent ones on the PC, this just falls flat on its face. Expand
  45. MikeS
    Mar 26, 2009
    3
    This is quite a poor milking of a solid franchise. HALO WARS is one of the most unintuitive and uninspiring games of recent memory due to it's unbearably simplistic RTS gameplay and lack of innovation. Why play this game when there are so many great RTSs (new and old) out therer to enjoy; even on the 360?
  46. TomD
    Mar 19, 2009
    8
    Well made, keeping console controls in mind throughout. I'm not at all an RTS fan, but this is the first game in a while i've wanted to go back and play some more of. All those that will have RTS player engraved on their tombstone probably won't enjoy, but for an introduction to the genre its definitely a thumbs up.
  47. BrandonMilby
    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    I suppose this could be interesting if this is your first time playing anything other than an FPS, but for the rest of us the game is overly simplistic, dumbed down, and simply not very interesting. There are so many other games that do what this is trying to accomplish, only much better.
  48. JamesR.
    Mar 5, 2009
    4
    Clunky controls, horrble "alerts" system often
    relaying messages about base and mission critical objects being attacked way after the fact.
    Unit path finding is problem matic often wandering off course.

    The only thing the game has going for it is it's graphics and lore, however many will not
    be able to tolerate with the terrible game play to
    progress the story.
  49. JoelTng
    Mar 5, 2009
    8
    Halo Wars Is really what it is meant to be, a CONSOLE RTS.

    If people would stop comparing it to PC RTS-es, they'll come to appriciate what HW has done. Still The story is IMO a freaking cliffhanger similar to H3 and H2, but generally still well done. The CG cutscenes are one fo the best i've seen in a long time, and are certainly superior over game&C chessy ones.
  50. EricF
    Mar 18, 2009
    0
    As a huge fan of the RTS genre I was quite excited when the first rumors of Halo Wars came out around 2 years ago. When the trailer came out about a year later, I was ecstatic; I thought "This is it, this is the game that will put Ensemble back on the map. It'll be like Age of Empires II, but with Halo units." Unfortunately, as I later learned, Halo Wars was only and ONLY be released As a huge fan of the RTS genre I was quite excited when the first rumors of Halo Wars came out around 2 years ago. When the trailer came out about a year later, I was ecstatic; I thought "This is it, this is the game that will put Ensemble back on the map. It'll be like Age of Empires II, but with Halo units." Unfortunately, as I later learned, Halo Wars was only and ONLY be released for the 360. I thought "What the heck Microsoft?! This game could have slingshotted your Games for Windows Live franchise!" After I played the demo, I thought "What a waste of 2-3 years, this game isn't even that great. Sure, it's got the units, it's got the story (one that doesn't follow the game or the books), and it has HALO written on it, but where's the game?" It wasn't challenging, not even in the least. The gameplay is terribly stripped, interfaces are practically nonexistsant, and I can't do a bloody thing with any of my units without the "Help Voice" coming on, even in Skirmish mode. I played on the hardest difficulty, and beat the other team in less than 10 minutes. Resource collecting is ridiculously underdeveloped, navigating the battlefield is far too easy (Covanent Grav Lift?), it basically takes away all of the fun of an RTS. I want to wall myself up, gather resources, and spew out an army worthy of Mordor, not build "Factories" that gather automatic "resources" and travel instantaneously to any hero on the map. I feel that Ensemble and Microsoft churned out a game that was made too easy so they could sell it to Halo fans. Expand
  51. Star
    Mar 4, 2009
    0
    I saw this game on the store shelf and quickly grabbed it to purchase it. I love the Halo games and when I saw a new one I was excited all to heck. I speed home to put this into my 360.... when the game started I was sorely disappointed. I was expect a new action packed Halo game. What I got was a slow paced building game. MS this is a wonderful way to kill your best selling franchise. II saw this game on the store shelf and quickly grabbed it to purchase it. I love the Halo games and when I saw a new one I was excited all to heck. I speed home to put this into my 360.... when the game started I was sorely disappointed. I was expect a new action packed Halo game. What I got was a slow paced building game. MS this is a wonderful way to kill your best selling franchise. I would not recommend this game to anyone. PC is better for games like this and MS is trying to bank off of name recognition. Expand
  52. jamesbraselton
    May 14, 2009
    8
    hi there there is not enough population for more then 2 scarabs sence i like the power full scarabs put out i realy would like 2,000 or more scarabs each scarab takes 20 population soo your stuck with 2 scarbabs soo were stuck useing locus and wraiths
  53. AlexR
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    After playing multiplayer you can easily realize that this game is terribly unbalanced. A sound strategy is having a lot of just one thing and anyone who chooses to create an army of a variety of units will be stomped. This sort of gameplay creates matches that last less than 5 minutes and successful strategies implied, lack thought or real tactical skill. For example, a common strategy After playing multiplayer you can easily realize that this game is terribly unbalanced. A sound strategy is having a lot of just one thing and anyone who chooses to create an army of a variety of units will be stomped. This sort of gameplay creates matches that last less than 5 minutes and successful strategies implied, lack thought or real tactical skill. For example, a common strategy for this game is producing as many warthogs as quickly as possible and then simply sending them towards the general direction of your opposition. Since warthogs are cheep to upgrade, produce, and they build fast opposing this strategy can be very difficult. While the user only has to build one unit. Now for a greater tatical experience I emphasize players to try out Tom Clancy's Endwar. Expand
  54. Tror123
    Mar 14, 2009
    6
    This game was really flat as far as being an rpg...however a great step towards bringing them to the console. But the bottom line was that this game was simply not fun at all. It breaks many if not all the trust hereustically speaking in an RTS. The AI is also sub par, why can't my vehicles path correctly? Why can't I buid that cool unit I built last mission? Its also not that This game was really flat as far as being an rpg...however a great step towards bringing them to the console. But the bottom line was that this game was simply not fun at all. It breaks many if not all the trust hereustically speaking in an RTS. The AI is also sub par, why can't my vehicles path correctly? Why can't I buid that cool unit I built last mission? Its also not that innovative as far as RTS's go...overall a very non paradigmatic move which I expected in an HALO IP...I had the feeling it was a little cheap and not having the entire soul of the brand is holds. Expand
  55. RowanF
    Mar 19, 2009
    7
    A solid, interesting RTS which has a control scheme that realy works with the 360s controller, at the cost of any real depth or strategy. While Halo Wars looks pretty and has plenty of upgradable units pulled straight from the Halo universe, it realy does just boil down to spamming enormous amounts of the two or three most awsome units and using them to take down the enemy. The single A solid, interesting RTS which has a control scheme that realy works with the 360s controller, at the cost of any real depth or strategy. While Halo Wars looks pretty and has plenty of upgradable units pulled straight from the Halo universe, it realy does just boil down to spamming enormous amounts of the two or three most awsome units and using them to take down the enemy. The single player has a fairly interesting, yet terribly cliched, plot which is shown in some beautifuly rendered cutscenes but the multipalyer is probably the best feature of the game. Even so, the multiplayer can be totaly flawed in some instances: If your enemy decides to attack early with some realy basic units, you'll be competely pwerless to stop them if you'vebeen plannign on creaqting a big base first and attacking with a massive army later on. So it's nice... but far too shallow. Expand
  56. PhilG
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Don't go into the game looking for the complexity of Empire: Total War and you'll be fine. Very easy to pick up and play, streamlined, and plenty of fun. It's like a mix of both Dawn of War games, LOTR: Battle for Middle Earth, and Starcraft. Well worth the price of admission.
  57. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    I Quite enjoyed this game, the base building and command system is of the utmost simplicity witch is good on a limited controller rather than a keyboard and mouse. Its worth at least a try for most console gamers who want a break from all the clone fps gaming there used to.
  58. Jan 1, 2013
    2
    The game itself was great and enjoyable. I gave it a low score due to the ridiculous amount of multiplayer play time required to get all of the achievements. No one enjoys playing at least 18+ hours of multiplayer, assuming they're boosting, and far more if you earn the general achievement the "honest way". It is a cheap shot to get people to play a game more than they want to.
  59. Apr 22, 2012
    3
    I expect better from such a well respected developer. Like I said in my review of Endwar, this game is a crappy wanna be of Starcraft, Command and Conquer and Dawn of War. It's not the fact that its on Xbox that I don't like it, it's the fact that is a bad game. Halo Wars and ODST have tarnished my love of Halo, and the game's bad AI, voice acting and story are what make a belovedI expect better from such a well respected developer. Like I said in my review of Endwar, this game is a crappy wanna be of Starcraft, Command and Conquer and Dawn of War. It's not the fact that its on Xbox that I don't like it, it's the fact that is a bad game. Halo Wars and ODST have tarnished my love of Halo, and the game's bad AI, voice acting and story are what make a beloved franchise look bad. Can we rewind time, and make this game never be made? Expand
  60. Apr 7, 2013
    6
    I really wanted to love this game. I liked it, but did not love it. First and foremost, RTS games are way better on the PC, mouse and keyboard will beat a controller any time, and that is what plagues RTS games in general on a console. Being the Halo fan I am, the game provides enough of a story to get by and the units you can use are fun and interesting.
  61. May 21, 2014
    4
    it's ok the trailer really made look like something amazing and groundbreaking,yet it fails along with the unit rate and so on so on. for me the graphics look sub-par compared to the other halo games even 2 in my personal opinion is it worth buying? that's up to you and you only but you'r probably going to be dissapointed
  62. Oct 20, 2015
    6
    Halo Wars is not a first person shooter, it is a big real-time strategy game from Ensemble Studios in this game you can play as the UNSC and the Covenant. Halo Wars is aimed at age 13+ Halo Wars has less gore and violence that is why it has a lower age rating than other games in the series but it still has colourful language.
    Halo Wars is a nice twist in the Halo series as it breaks with
    Halo Wars is not a first person shooter, it is a big real-time strategy game from Ensemble Studios in this game you can play as the UNSC and the Covenant. Halo Wars is aimed at age 13+ Halo Wars has less gore and violence that is why it has a lower age rating than other games in the series but it still has colourful language.
    Halo Wars is a nice twist in the Halo series as it breaks with tradition.
    The game controls are easy and simple to use. The sound quality is good. The graphics in game are decent it could be a bit beater.
    I think that Halo Wars is 1 of the best classic strategy games that I have played because it is a fun but challenging game.
    Expand
  63. AnonymousMC
    Mar 5, 2009
    9
    nice one!
    i even like the base building. if you have limited places for buildings it adds some more strategic value to the game.

    and it's good that ensemble didn't want micro management to play too big of a role, this is what i dislike about the next generation RTS the most. It should be strategy and not CPM (clicks per minute) which decides the battle.
  64. MichaelM
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    It's not perfect but it is a great game! People think that they are just milking the halo franchise and they are, but it is still an amazing game! It does have it's flaws and it isn't very in-depth but still very fun. If you listen to people that say it is to easy then they have no life. If you do more than just play video games day and night it will be a somewhat It's not perfect but it is a great game! People think that they are just milking the halo franchise and they are, but it is still an amazing game! It does have it's flaws and it isn't very in-depth but still very fun. If you listen to people that say it is to easy then they have no life. If you do more than just play video games day and night it will be a somewhat challenging game. And it is one of the best control schemes for a console RTS to date! And a comment to Eric F. It has flaws but doesn't deserve a zero! Expand
  65. Mar 9, 2011
    7
    Looks really nice, best RTS UI on a console yet, the multiplayer is pretty fun and the code is stable. Stupid Halo story but it is what it is. Wonâ
  66. May 6, 2013
    6
    It's a worthy console RTS that is fairly enjoyable to play with friends. The single-player story fails to do anything interesting though and you'll probably be playing the multiplayer component more. The framerate can get seriously choppy to the point where massive battles feel like low-quality animated GIFs. It's also inexcusable, because the game is pretty ugly and doesn't have very muchIt's a worthy console RTS that is fairly enjoyable to play with friends. The single-player story fails to do anything interesting though and you'll probably be playing the multiplayer component more. The framerate can get seriously choppy to the point where massive battles feel like low-quality animated GIFs. It's also inexcusable, because the game is pretty ugly and doesn't have very much going on in the landscape. Covenant leader powers are also seriously dull and underpowered. Other than that, the gameplay is good and I like playing with my friends online. You can also play against bots, but you'll have to crank them up to Legendary for a challenge. The community isn't all that bad and it's one of the only decent RTS games on the Xbox 360. If you are a fan of RTS games looking for a good, multiplayer console RTS to play; look no further than Halo Wars. Expand
  67. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    As a firm hater of strategy games I only picked up Halo Wars as it was a Halo game. The gameplay was great for a console strategy game but that wasn't the saving grace for me. Halo Wars tells you the story of the events on Harvest, pre-Halo:CE you command marines and SPARTANS alike along with vehicles and even a UNSC frigate. By no means is Halo Wars great but its worth picking up if yourAs a firm hater of strategy games I only picked up Halo Wars as it was a Halo game. The gameplay was great for a console strategy game but that wasn't the saving grace for me. Halo Wars tells you the story of the events on Harvest, pre-Halo:CE you command marines and SPARTANS alike along with vehicles and even a UNSC frigate. By no means is Halo Wars great but its worth picking up if your a Halo fan Expand
  68. Rem
    Jan 24, 2015
    7
    I'd hate to admit, but I have very little to no experience with RTS games. Most of my strategy if I do play one is cheese a single type of unit and order them all to attack anyone who looks at me funny. This is the case with Halo Wars, which sees a departure from the FPS style of the franchise in favor of a more top-down approach. The story this time around has very little to do withI'd hate to admit, but I have very little to no experience with RTS games. Most of my strategy if I do play one is cheese a single type of unit and order them all to attack anyone who looks at me funny. This is the case with Halo Wars, which sees a departure from the FPS style of the franchise in favor of a more top-down approach. The story this time around has very little to do with Master Chief and his exploits instead dealing with the Human-Covenant War in its twilight years. The story while serviceable, is hardly memorable but does tend to wow with its CGI cutscenes. However I do praise the soundtrack mainly for incorporating a Halo-esque piano soundtrack without actually reiterating the original Halo theme. Despite this the game as a console RTS game is decent for the most part, mainly because of my inexperience with RTSs in general. Although the clear color coding of each faction is welcoming, I am sort of bummed that there is a lack of a return to base button, something sorely needed when I'm getting my schlong ripped apart because my Warthogs got caught in the geometry on their way back. Expand
  69. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Not bad, but...
    Its not the Halo game I remember. I don't mind a little originality, I mean, a Halo RTS, who wouldn't! The cutscenes, first of all, are great and the team-based strategy is fun for a while, but hardcore fans, like myself, probably won't be happy with this change. You don't get to fight from a first person view of the soldiers you control, which couldv'e been fun. Its not a
    Not bad, but...
    Its not the Halo game I remember. I don't mind a little originality, I mean, a Halo RTS, who wouldn't! The cutscenes, first of all, are great and the team-based strategy is fun for a while, but hardcore fans, like myself, probably won't be happy with this change. You don't get to fight from a first person view of the soldiers you control, which couldv'e been fun. Its not a "bad" game, it just doesn't feel like the Halo game we know and love, that's all.
    Expand
  70. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Camera movement not the best but still is a very good game love it. Though the constant updates on ur movement do get on ones nerves it actually keeps u timely up to speed whats happening on the map
  71. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    I've never played a stradegy game before but I liked this game, was fun & tough(tough as in other players). I just wish there was more stradegy based games on the Xbox.
  72. Dec 9, 2014
    5
    THIS IS NOT A BAD GAME. I just don't like it because it's not a Halo game and I'm not very big on the stategy genre as a whole.

    Verdict:
    Not a bad game.
    5/10
  73. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    Best Console RTS and Best RTS to come after C&C3.

    However that saying very little
    The game is still good BTW there was one big of thing that kept it from getting a 8
    -There is no Covenant campaign even though you get play as them in skirmish I still think there should be a campaign for them.
  74. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    A true gem. Playing it 7 years later brings back nostalgia and it still holds up as quality...........................................................
  75. Apr 21, 2016
    5
    Boring,boring,boring. Halo Wars is a very boring Halo game. The story is EXTREMELY hard to get invested in, the gameplay itself is so boring it can help you fall asleep. The only entertaining thing about Wars is the CGI cutscenes between levels. Skip this game, buy Halo 3 or Reach. Nuff said.
  76. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    I've played my share of RTS games (Age of Empires, C&C Generals, StarCraft II), and Halo Wars is my favorite so far (it's old so I play other games now). It is the only RTS I've played that allows for co-op during the campaign mode. And I found it was more fun to play PvP in Halo Wars than in StarCraft II.
  77. Sep 8, 2015
    7
    Halo wars takes a new approach at halo, it has gone back to its roots to tackle the RTS franchise and I have to say halo is a brilliant game to have an RTS instalment. The campaign is thought out and unlike other RTS's it is relevant to the missions and doesn't feel forced. As their is no PC port there are certain limitations such as the level design felt tight on nearly all maps whichHalo wars takes a new approach at halo, it has gone back to its roots to tackle the RTS franchise and I have to say halo is a brilliant game to have an RTS instalment. The campaign is thought out and unlike other RTS's it is relevant to the missions and doesn't feel forced. As their is no PC port there are certain limitations such as the level design felt tight on nearly all maps which combined with large units and some sloppy AI at times makes moving through the map very annoying, forcing you to move a single unit just so another one can move as the AI doesn't seem to know how to move for another unit. Skirmish allows up to 3v3 game on a variety of maps but the AI is either extremely stupid or stupidly hard in fact the AI on the higher settings feels like its cheating getting end game units 10 minuets in, instead of having clever tactics. So at the end I feel that if you play halo for the first person shooter don't bother but from a dedicated halo fan this is worth the buy. If you buy this for the RTS value its a fun experience but certain limitations and controls make this very stiff and annoying to a veteran RTS player. Expand
  78. Mar 20, 2016
    7
    While the idea of halo having a real time strategy sounds awesome, it doesn't go on its full potential with its o.k story. Besides that, its fun to be playing online with others battling either the covent or unsc.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 92
  2. Negative: 0 out of 92
  1. Though it's not a first-person shooter, Halo Wars packs all the Halo fixings you've come to expect: an engaging campaign, co-op play, engrossing multiplayer, efficient party-friendly matchmaking, hidden skulls, Legendary difficulty, and impeccable controls. We can confidently say that it's the foremost example of a real-time strategy game done right on a console. [Mar 2009, p.72]
  2. It’s a feeling that never quite dissipates over the game’s core 15 missions, a sense of lean and focused game design which prizes the exhilarating tussle of conflict over long, drawn-out army building. [Mar 2009, p.86]
  3. Halo Wars isn't perfect, but it's a huge step in the right direction for console RTS. For the first time in the sub-genre, I felt like I was playing a game instead of wrestling with a kludged-together control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.88]