User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 113
  2. Negative: 27 out of 113

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    I've really been enjoying Happy Wars. The huge team battles are pretty epic and the tower defense style gameplay is very addicting. Totally worth downloading and trying out.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    Disregard Formn's review. He clearly doesn't know what he's talking about. First off, you can't possibly be pitted against a level 31+ let alone 40+ in matchmaking unless you are also that level or higher. The game has divisions to ensure this doesn't happen, which is actually a nice feature.

    Also, the balancing mechanic isn't perfect, but it certainly isn't bad. I'd estimate about
    45/50 games I've played have been closely contested, with a pleasing amount reaching the time limit. In this game, your character does not get inherently stronger as it levels up your strength is determined by your items, which roll in rather frequently for you to equip, sell, or merge with other items to make them even stronger.

    The controls are tight and responsive, and the menus are a breeze to navigate if you have at least half of a brain stem. Backing out of lobbies is a bit of a stumbling block, but doesn't warrant knocking this game by 7/10.

    The game is simple, intuitive, balanced, and addictive while not only incentivizing teamwork, but putting it on a pedestal. Yet somehow, the game maintains a fairly casual element, subtly highlighted by the graphics and audio.

    Oh, and, of course, it's free, with no real disadvantage to people who do not wish to take part in the micro transactions.
    Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    It is surprising to see a free XBLA game but after the rise of the F2P games Microsoft was too tempted I guess. Happy wars is an arcade third person tower defense kind of game with a clear focus on 15 vs 15 multiplayer action. Even though this game is based on multiplayer it still has bot matches and a short single-player where missions are unlocked by ranking up in multiplayer. This game gives a good story with single player that has its cute humor and gameplay just like multiplayer. The whole game is based on a single mode which is destroying the enemies tower which is inside a castle. It may not seem like much but actual strategy is required because 15 vs 15 games can become a disaster with no organization. You have 3 classes to play as, warrior, mage, and cleric which is a support class. These classes are balanced since every class can counter everything with strategy. Items are to be found, equipped, and leveled up making your character more epic, which leads to unbalanced multiplayer sometimes since experienced players may have too much armor and may seem immortal to new players. This is also the 5th arcade game to have 400 achievement points which is awesome for achievement hunters. My main issues with this game are simple, the first is that matchmaking is horrible, it takes extremely long and you often loose connection, sometimes before or after the game has started. My next issue is the fact that you need a gold membership to access the game, I would like to access bot matches and single-player without gold which is unfortunate for people who don't have gold. The last issue is that matches can be a mess and its easy to get lost in the disaster of 15 vs 15 people devastating everything. For now, this game still needs to be perfected and even though it offers fun gameplay there are still downsides which could be fixed with a few patches, I still need to see what the future holds. I'd say you should give it a try, but don't be completely positive about the experience. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    Its a great game to waste your time with. Thanks to the simple controls and simple interface, its easy for anyone to get involved in this game. Everyone from family members of all ages o you girlfriends can jump in on the fun.

    The best part is that you really don't have to buy anything. You can still get great stuff for free and still have a pretty good time:)

    Only downside ive seen
    is that it might get to repetitive, but that problem gets solved quite fast if you got friends whom you tag along with.

    So go ahead. Download it. You wont regret it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    happy wars is nothing but a simple free to play game Microsoft made to see if it will indeed make money. the beta had plenty of major flaws but the final game is actually pretty awesome (if you can hold off spending all your money) the game is great with friends and there's no reason not to get it if the games free! the only issue i have occasionally is connection lost but even that seems to be rare. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    4
    Connectivity issues, unbalanced matchmaking, and slow reward pacing drag down what otherwise couldve been a pretty fun game. Finding a game can often take 5-10 minutes, which is unheard of in this day and age, and it's not due to a lack of players in the community. There are tons of people playing this game, and yet still, the server fails to connect everyone a lot, restarting the process all over again. When you do finally find a game, you still may lose your connection, and all your experience from a long match. It's not fun when half the time spent with this game is completely wasted by doing nothing. Assuming connections are working as planned, gameplay is still very much a hit or miss affair, since your teams are incredibly unbalanced. A player at a low level should always get pummeled by a player 20 levels higher. Good luck, cross your fingers you don't keep running into those players in the battlefield. Leveling up can be so addicting, what with all the enticing loot to upgrade and all, however, because this game is free to play, the company makes its money through micro transactions. With that business mindset, they have made it so your progress is very slow, tempting you to fork over your money for better gear to progress faster. Making you play with people at much higher levels only adds to that. Perhaps progress wouldn't be so slow or frustrating if there were no connection issues, and players could spend all their time actually playing. Underneath all the annoying things about this game there IS some enjoyment to be had. Customizing your character builds is very addicting, and 30 player battles can get very hectic when everyone is frantically unleashing team coordinated attacks to smother opponents. For perspectives sake, IF matchmaking was faster, more fair, and progression wasn't at a snails pace, this game would be good, and fun, and ultimately worth the time, a 7...but it's not. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    i dont see how anyone can give this game a negative review. happy wars is a really fun game and i can spend hours playing it. the only downsides are the bad matchmaking and the hit detection. thats it
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    This is a fun and free game, but the score will stand as a 5/10 because of many issues. I find the multiplayer elements and ranking up in multiplayer to have any single player campaign missions to be an alright system and quite original idea, however, its the worst idea to do when they don't seem to plan on making it so a multiplayer match can be played by anyone.

    This game lost 5 score
    from its multiplayer leveling to unlock campaign missions. It stands to reason that if you intend to make a system like that you have matchmaking that will ensure that players will be able to do anything to even get single player.

    Now before haters try and get on my arse about "stop complaining about free", no shut up. I'm not complaining about free, and Microsoft surely pulls in enough money from their $60 a year for their matchmaking service alone, they could support a server or something that will assist with a large playerbase. Other than the matchmaking issues, my score is 9.5/10. This is a very fun game but I cannot forgive the major problems with matchmaking and multiplayer 'dropping' everyone in the game. When you are REQUIRED to rank up in multiplayer to get campaign. I will correct my rating when the matchmaking is updated, IF it is updated.
    Expand
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Happy Wars is free-to-play multiplayer team fortress style game that caters well to casual players. Yet there is a surprising amount of room for tactics and strategy. There are three classes, and skills are assigned randomly at the start of each 15-minute match. The game is not "pay to win" since you can earn decent items and stats in a couple of hours, but 800 Microsoft points will buy you enough in-game tickets
    to exchange for two complete sets of good gear and a few accessories
    to boot.

    There are three ways to assault the enemy castle. All classes are
    capable of simply hammering at the castle gate until it crumbles, but
    this is very time-consuming. Stairs can be built to scale the enemy
    castle walls, but they are rather prone to being destroyed by the
    enemy. Building a battering ram to demolish the gates grants a
    permanent point of entry to the enemy castle, but the construction
    should be done in a group to ensure that it completes fast enough
    before the enemy team mounts their ballistas and reduce your hard work
    to rubble. All construction must be initiated by a cleric, but once
    underway, anyone can join in to speed up the building process.
    Finally, victory can be achieved by holding more towers than the enemy
    when the 15-minute match timer expires.

    Players do seem to work together often in both attack and defence. For those of you that like support roles, there is a lot of incentive to play a cleric -- heals are very powerful, having no cooldown and always restoring health to maximum. The cleric is arguably the most demanding class to play well since
    they are responsible for healing, resurrecting, buffing, AND
    initiating the building of powerful defensive and offensive structures, so if
    you spot a good cleric in the game, be sure to thank them!

    It's never hard to find a match when the servers are up and running well. Sometimes the servers do go down, though.

    Happy Wars is very family-friendly with its cartoony
    graphics and sound. My wife barely knows - or cares about - the
    difference between an Xbox 360 and a PS3; this is the first video game
    I've played that has made her laugh and take an interest in the
    skirmishes that happen all over the map. Try it, and if you don't like
    it, there's nothing to lose - it's free to play. There's a fair chance
    you'll be hooked.
    Expand
  10. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    Being a free game on XLBA, I gave "Happy Wars" a shot and I must say that I am pleased with this little download. The replay value is great and the settings are just plain "cute." This does not mean there are no flaws at hand. I hope that these are fixed sooner than later, but for the time being it is a fun game.
  11. Jan 19, 2013
    3
    A great idea with acceptable controls, but wasted to mediocre and numerous nonfunctional menu designs as well as a rushed and incomplete matchmaking system. When joining games, the controls are on the screen telling you what each button does, and after you quick join a lobby, the B button should let you go back a menu, but doesn't. This forces you to either play the game after deciding not to, or quit the game to the home menu, which is tedious. Then, when in a game, there is no attempt to keep players' levels close. As a level 1 I was put with and against people in the level 40+ range. When first playing you don't know of the advantages of levels, but after fighting with and against them, you notice quickly. Games stop being tests of skill and instead a comparison of who has the most higher levels. To make things worse, the single player storyline is unlocked only by multiplayer. Expand
  12. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is very innovative, including a Cartoon type art style, and a pretty overall good combat system. But there are things that make this game bad. The menu looks very compact and choppy, matchmaking is slow, and sometimes in ranked matches you get paired up with level 40+ players while your still level 1. The game in enjoyable, but also a little on the annoying side. Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    Happy wars is a free to play online game which features large scale battles in a variety of fantasy settings. The goal is to capturing the enemies castle whilst defending your own.
    Upon downloading this I wasn't expecting much. I had seen the low critic ratings and heard of the poor connectivity issues. 15 minutes in and I was hooked. The game proved to be highly addictive and fun. The
    large scale battles could be epic at times with each team facing off. Meteors hitting the earth around you and swordsmen trying to flank you.

    Another great part of the game is the in depth customisation. It's real fun to kit out ur little dude in everything from helmets to chefs hats. Of course though the micro transactions play a part in this game although it is possible to choose not to spend any hard earned Microsoft points. But the game is highly geared towards making you want to spend money. Players who do spend tend look cooler and be more powerful than players who choose not too, although it is possible to get great gear from just playing.
    I've heard people moan that it is hard to find rare items simply through playing but to these I say that what's the point in premium items if they are common and easy to pick up.

    The game is not without its downfalls though. The camera can be tricky at times and I have had a few connectivity problems but nothing really major. Just the odd kick from a game but this is pretty rare. The music tends to be repetitive.

    All in all this is a great game free to play or not. It's hell of a lot of fun and addictive. You will find yourself sinking hours into it at a time always thinking "one more game so I can level up my new sword/armor". I highly recommend this to anyone to try. Try it you will be Suprised and you have nothing to lose after all it's FTP
    Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    It's very easy to learn, and I must say pretty addicting too. I like how you have to level up on Multiplayer to continue the Single Player storyline, it's very unique. It's fun to gather new items and upgrade others, the three classes are cool (Warrior, Cleric, and Mage) and add a needed balance to the game. I like the strategies needed to infiltrate castles, even though most people don't use them, making battering rams and scaling the castle walls with ladders is an awesome feature. Very easy to play, very addicting, and can get surprisingly intense! And it's free, so what is there to complain about? If you don't like it, uninstall it and you've lost nothing! Expand
  15. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    Been really enjoying HW since launch. The game is easy to pick-up and play. It has a bit of League of Legends like elements which adds some strategies to the fights. Also, the battles can have up to 30 players is is pretty crazy, but fun at the same time. HW is free to play and allows you to purchase items for your characters. Spend as much or as little as you want. I like this! It's worth checking out since the game is "FREE" to download and play. Expand
  16. May 18, 2013
    7
    The game itself is really fun, I got really addicted with it for a long time, with great customization, to decide which way you want to play makes the game as fun as it is. I had a problem with connection issues and disconnections way too often, way more than it should, and even though it brought down the experience for me a bit, I am not letting it affect the overall score too much. Considering this being a free game, I suggest that people should give it a try, and maybe they will have as fun as I did. Expand
  17. Apr 30, 2013
    3
    Hm. Well, let's make this an easy read ok? You love juggling enemies? Yeah? Great go for it! You like Paying for Power? Yeah? Well saddle up, pardner, and bring your credit card! You like an honest game that gives every player a fair shake, including people who actually work for a living? Go elsewhere.
  18. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    I have been playing this game non-stop for about 3 days. I'm level 21 and I am loving this game. The game play is really fun as it is based on capturing and holding towers all while trying to breach the fortified enemy base and destroy the tower inside winning the game. The 3 classes all have very unique abilities and tactics you must use. the warrior class is based on close quarters hack an slash game play. The Mage is not so good at hack and slash but is most effective at long range where you can cast magic spells like fire balls or electricity to kill your enemy. Then there is the cleric that is not very good at fighting but can cast healing, armor, and other spells that can greatly assist ally's in combat. Also they can build things like turrets and ladders and battering rams to break into the enemy castle. Leveling up your charater Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    At first I didn't like the idea of having to be an Xbox Live Gold Member to play it but after 10minutes of play I was hooked and we all here agree Happy Wars is an excellent game. I myself love the team aspect of things, you can play as a lone wolf opr team up and kick butt! As well as the 3 base characters (Warrior, Cleric and Mage) you can modify and level up your weapons and items further customizing and strengthening your player. There are several styles of game play, co-op where you team up and battle A.I. or Quick Match where you play other people. There is also the option to play Story Mode offline starting off with One Chapter with new chapters able to be unlocked as you rank up through the levels in online play. Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2013
    3
    This is a very boring game, in many different ways. The matchmaking is horrible, and you could be stuck a long time trying to find a game. And when you finally find you, you might just get kicked out because the host has connection issues.

    The game itself is even boring, and has very little replay value. You start off by getting ripped to shreds by high level players. If you want to
    reach their amount of damage, you have to shell out real money in order to buy good stuff. Expand
  21. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Really good game, fun, cute, addicting and its a xbox version of dota or lol.
    Its free for gold members and very very very very very very very very addicting.
  22. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Addictive, fun, and free...the best f2p game i've ever played and they keep making it better with good updates...at first the servers were not so good, but runs smoothly now. great fun
  23. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    After playing Ascend Hand of Kul it made me appreciate this game alot more. At least you get a sense that they are trying to fix the problems..Unlike Ascend Hand of Kul that gives you a IDGAF that I havent seen in a long time. I like this game..Its pleasant and enjoyable with a few minor bugs and microtransaction that you dont need to pay to play to enjoy the game. Kudos!
  24. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    Really great game and despite the simple design and graphics style, the game is actually very tactical and the different classes all offer a different way of playing all of which are needed to win a battle any other way then through attrition. The main feature of course is its online which is extremely fun and due to the different maps most of which are very well designed with choke points and turrets being well placed. The sieges are arguably the most fun with several different roles to play depending on your class. with always fifteen aside games due to the bots (don't worry the A.I in this game is actually very good) which take places in teams as you only need eight player controlled characters to play so the bots make it a lot more fast-paced which is good. there is a lackluster story and campaign which is unlocked as you rank up. There is also a co-op mode which pits you against waves in a series of normal length games the first opponents being easy and then progressing steadily harder. The developers are quite active recently they added three new classes) and add special game modes that last around a month or so which competing in gives access to special armour, weapons ect.on that note there s a huge amount of weapons, armour ,helmets ,shields ect with different stats all that can be upgraded with in game currency that is easily obtained through matches depending on the quality of the weapon there are buffs and debuffs and extra slots allowing huge customization.the matchmaking system ensures that you are never paired against people to good or to bad meaning the matches are always intense. there is a training mode that pits you and a team of A.I against a team of A.I of which you pick the difficulty level which is relatively fun although I would only use it when my inter-net's out. While of course there is currancy to be bought there is really no need to buy it although is you do you do get a big advantage from the get go meaning until you play against higher level opponents you will dominate which really is the only negative point in the game.
    Overall it is a really fun, enjoyable game that will never get old due to its easy to learn difficult to master style and the need for teamwork to be successful which you can do with friends online in private matches or just invite them to open lobbies. and with a big pay to win in the early levels you may want to cough up a few bucks although most people don't and you can get them monthly if you play everyday via the treasure map. Also since its free there is no reason not to get it right now
    Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    The game is not something i'd usually even play but once I got the hang of it I can honestly say that the animations and quirky theme got me sucked in for a while. You can't beat something decent for free. The amount of people playing this game online is shocking and a testament to its design. Ill give any tower defense game a try and I did, a solid 6. Not that good, but not that bad.
  26. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    Happy Wars is free-to-play done wrong. Too many please purchase this and so on. The gameplay can be fun and somewhat addictive at times, which is a plus.
  27. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    They need to fix the matching up of the players. You will get alot of noobs on the same team with a bunch of much higher ranked people. It is ridiculous.
  28. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    Happy Wars is really fun and is a great game for when your bored but can get a little boring after a while.
    Is very fun when playing with friends. Great for Partys!
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    67
    Fair free-2-play game for Xbox 360, a good effort from Japanese company Toylogic. Visual style is nice, so the humor, but netcode is poor and need to be improved.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    50
    Happy Wars suffers from serious technical issues that undermine an otherwise quality core experience.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    The title developed by the guys at Toylogic combines remarkable qualities and defects which, unfortunately, push it away from a totally positive evaluation. On one hand the game is accessible and fun (at first glance), but on the other, it ends early, it's repetitive and the matches are not always adequately balanced.