Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    70
    Harder than Geoff Capes and Superman combined, making this an excellent value grind for people of a certain mind. [Issue#70, p.102]
  2. Feb 28, 2011
    70
    A pretty solid product, but it would have made a better impression had it been a little less punishing.
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    70
    Though the game is incredibly difficult and will test the patience of even the most Zen players, it is still a blast to play and a definite challenge to hardcore players.
  4. 70
    Pleasure and pain in a single package. [Mar 2011, p.105]
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    70
    Fortunately, the game does at least make it possible for the non-hardcore to eventually grind some extra powers (in the Rising mode) to make things slightly easier - but, you guessed it, you have to work pretty damned hard to get them.
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    70
    Hard Corps: Uprising is built for a very specific type of gamer. If you fit that description, you won't be disappointed with your purchase. But while many aspects of Uprising are appealing, without endearing characters to root for or an effective save system, it feels more like a missed opportunity than a tribute to the classics.
  7. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Contra gets a gorgeous new coat of paint, and even an innovative new game mode, but it's still the same old 2D shooter underneath.
  8. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Feb 16, 2011
    70
    Uprising may not break any new ground in a genre that is arguably an endangered species, but it does a good job of breathing life into the dying breed. It's a reminder that an artist's eye, when met by a designer's understanding of modern tastes, can revitalise a struggling brand and make the old feel new again.
  10. Feb 16, 2011
    70
    When the game works – that is, when you pull off incredible close calls and survive the onslaught – it's quite exciting. When it doesn't work, which will depend on your frustration threshold and/or skill level, it becomes utterly exasperating. All of this means it is stubbornly old-school, for better or for worse.
  11. Feb 14, 2011
    70
    Despite its many cheap shots and frustrating moments, Uprising is a highly creative animal that changes constantly and keeps you on your toes.
  12. Feb 14, 2011
    70
    Hard Corps: Uprising really justifies its name "hard". It has a lot of variety in its situations and very direct action, but everything is conditioned by its almost exasperating difficulty level, which makes this game only recommended for the most seasoned players.
  13. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Uprising is a surprisingly solid run-and-gun title for Arc System Works' debut entry to the genre.
  14. Apr 1, 2011
    64
    Can be very frustrating. [May 2011, p.89]
  15. Feb 21, 2011
    62
    Game mechanics offer not enough variation to pin me to my pad. For 1200 MS Points a game simply has to offer more.
  16. Jul 7, 2011
    60
    The worst part about Uprising is the lack of balancing. The weapons you'll get and the difficulty don't add up, making it extremely difficult to finish the game. For those that like a challenge, Hard Corps: Uprising just might be the thing they're looking for.
  17. A beautiful and brilliant game that needed a bit less punishment and lots more...funishment. [Apr 2011, p.120]
  18. Feb 14, 2011
    60
    I got to the third form of the final boss and decided I've had enough - in this instance, at least, I'm not nearly interested enough to take that exhausting last step to the end credits.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    2
    I love Contra, but these games keep getting harder and harder with each new installment. That's great news for some people out there who feelI love Contra, but these games keep getting harder and harder with each new installment. That's great news for some people out there who feel that if they aren't being punished by a game, it isn't adequate. However, there are those of us in the majority that like to have fun. There is a difference between a good challenge and being punished or outright crushed. This game falls into the latter category. There are multiple difficulties, but that doesn't mean much, this game is hard, beyond old-school hard in my opinion. I grew up in the eighties so I know all about the Mega Mans and Contras and Castlevanias of old, but I simply don't remember games being this relentless. Rising mode helps a little. It plays like an RPG, you level up and earn points to spend on health and weapon or skill upgrades, which get you a little bit further before annihilation. Checkpoints are too few and are placed in dumb places, most of the time when you die you'll end up at the beginning of the level even if you have been playing for a while and have made it a good distance. Sometimes you will defeat a boss, only to be killed by a weak minion with a lucky shot, but because there is no checkpoint after the boss, its back to the beginning and you have to do it all over again. Bad guys come from every direction, as always, but there is too much going on onscreen most of the time to tell what is happening, which leads to, you guessed it, death. And the thing that annoyed me the most, Day 1 DLC. I buy the game, turn it on and get this cool anime cut-scene with four characters in it. Turns out I have to buy these extra characters, and they aren't cheap either, they're $5 a pop. The game costs $15, and two additional characters cost a total of $10? This may be the biggest downloadable rip-off I have ever seen. Sorry, but this game is not fun or challenging, it is the opposite of fun and it is brutal. It is also completely overpriced. I give it a 2 because it looks pretty and made me feel nostalgic for about 5 minutes until my umpteenth death. Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    Old school for the new school. Uprising isn't without its share of annoying quirks, but it offers an entertaining challenge for gamers withOld school for the new school. Uprising isn't without its share of annoying quirks, but it offers an entertaining challenge for gamers with fond memories of Konami's Contra series. Beneath the shiny anime exterior crafted by Arc Systems, is the heart and soul of the Contra games we love. Fast. Furious. And so difficult you'll come dangerously close to flinging your controller into the television.

    Uprising offers up 2 game modes. For the purists, there is the barebones Arcade mode. Preset lives and continues combine with a really tough game to ensure that most gamers won't make it through unscathed. The second is Rising mode which allows players to spend Corp points on invaluable upgrades to their health, continues and equipment. It gives the majority of gamers a chance to complete the game and gives added incentive to play through levels more than once.

    The biggest issue in Uprising is the poorly implemented checkpoint system. More often than not, I found myself making it through one of the insanely challenging boss battles, only to fall prey to a single bullet from one of the generic privates. Unlike most games, there isn't a checkpoint upon defeating a boss... so I end up right back at the start. This can get very frustrating and is a really stupid design flaw.

    All in all... a fun challenge which can result in some manner of frustration.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Great game. This game is really difficult. Madly complicated. Not for wimps. After each death, I want to take the cord from the gamepad andGreat game. This game is really difficult. Madly complicated. Not for wimps. After each death, I want to take the cord from the gamepad and strangle all employees of Konami and their dogs and cats. It's cool! I feel like I went back to my childhood when the games were real.

    Thanks, Konami. Thank you very much.
    Full Review »