Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 42
  2. Negative: 31 out of 42
Buy On
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    Dec 13, 2010
    65
    The actioner certainly has polished visuals, but too often suffers from repetition: see enemy, cast spell, repeat. [Jan 2011, p.75]
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    64
    The game definitely captures the frantic vibe of the later Potter stories, but there are still enough miscues to hold it back from doing the source material justice.
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    63
    What started as a promising and interesting game quickly became boring and frustrating enough to earn a spot on the list of most forgettable games of the year.
  4. Jan 2, 2011
    55
    The only interesting part in the new Harry Potter game are the Kinect missions, while the main game fails with a flawed enemy AI and a too easy and linear gameplay.
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    55
    Like a Quidditch player falling from a broomstick mid-match, this installment loses all forward momentum and goes plummeting toward a faceplant at top speed.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    54
    Even if you've played and enjoyed the previous games and movies, I'd recommend a rental for Deathly Hallows, Part 1.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    53
    Harry Potter and the The Deathly Hallows - Part 1 lives up to the eternal tradition of games based on movie licenses simply not being very good.
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2010
    50
    Button-mashing action without depth. [Christmas 2010, p.93]
  9. Nov 19, 2010
    50
    The game is full of good ideas tethered to a slop of bugs, but more significantly it's never much of anything. It's never varied enough to have interesting combat; it's never open enough to let you explore; it's linear but never driven enough by its narrative to be an enthralling, story-driven title.
  10. Nov 18, 2010
    50
    While the third-person shooter aspect of Harry's latest adventure can be fun, the game's story elements fail to live up to those of its literary namesake.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Action packed, and well paced! I am not a hard core gamer, so I did not mind that the fact that I could figure out the enemies. Some of myAction packed, and well paced! I am not a hard core gamer, so I did not mind that the fact that I could figure out the enemies. Some of my friends said that it was too easy and repetitive, but for me that is a good thing. We are pretty split on this one, but from my perspective I thought it was a blast. I am a HUGE Potter fan, and I enjoyed being immersed into this story. The stealth cloak parts of the game were my favorite. Very very sneaky! I tried using the cover function, but found that I wasn't very good at picking cover. Overall, If you are on the fence about this one, I would suggest giving it a try. Definitely entertaining, though it may not be the most polished game out there. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Fast paced and fun game to play. As a Harry Potter fan, it was cool to be a part of the final story. As Potter gets older, these games haveFast paced and fun game to play. As a Harry Potter fan, it was cool to be a part of the final story. As Potter gets older, these games have definitely followed suit. Would have loved to explore the world more but overall this game has been a fun play. Sure hope they are making Part 2! Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    I have all of these games and, of course, I had to have this one. Graphics are awesome - I love that the game parallels the more serious andI have all of these games and, of course, I had to have this one. Graphics are awesome - I love that the game parallels the more serious and dark tones of the movie. There are plenty of spells to experiment with, although some are more consistently handy than others. Altogether a great game - it is a definite progression in this series of games! Full Review »