Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harry Potter takes a dark turn in this third-person shooter as he battles death eaters and dementors while fleeing for his life across the wilds of England.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 42
  2. Negative: 31 out of 42
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    80
    This is the kind of game that can create a new fan base for the Harry Potter franchise. Finally, a good adventure meets an epic story. The graphics are great, and the atmosphere is overwhelming as well.
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    55
    Like a Quidditch player falling from a broomstick mid-match, this installment loses all forward momentum and goes plummeting toward a faceplant at top speed.
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    50
    While the third-person shooter aspect of Harry's latest adventure can be fun, the game's story elements fail to live up to those of its literary namesake.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    40
    One of the worst Tie-Ins in videogame history. There's simply no reason in the world to buy this game. Poor graphics and frustrating gameplay mean only failure.
  5. Nov 30, 2010
    30
    It's not shocking that a movie game is terrible, but it is somewhat surprising since Harry Potter's last two games have been fairly good. The uninspired levels, horrendous shooting mechanics, lackluster controls, and a tacked-on Kinect mode make this one Harry Potter piece of merchandise fans should stay far, far away from.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    30
    It doesn't matter if you're a hardcore or casual fan: there's no magic to be seen here.
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    20
    This is the worst, laziest, most manipulative type of licensed game making. It's a top-to-bottom disaster that nobody, especially not anyone who gives a crap about Harry Potter, should play.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    I saw previews of this game before it was out, It looked pretty cool. But once I finally got it and started playing it, I was incredibly disappointed and shocked at how bad this game is. Embarrassment to the Harry Potter franchise, don't need to go any further than that. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    My buddy picked this up yesterday and was a bit let down. I, on the other hand, am not that big of an HP geek to begin with but effing loved it! It's like an FPS game but jacked up on magic. I'm thinking about borrowing the game off of him and then forget giving it back ;) Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Action packed, and well paced! I am not a hard core gamer, so I did not mind that the fact that I could figure out the enemies. Some of my friends said that it was too easy and repetitive, but for me that is a good thing. We are pretty split on this one, but from my perspective I thought it was a blast. I am a HUGE Potter fan, and I enjoyed being immersed into this story. The stealth cloak parts of the game were my favorite. Very very sneaky! I tried using the cover function, but found that I wasn't very good at picking cover. Overall, If you are on the fence about this one, I would suggest giving it a try. Definitely entertaining, though it may not be the most polished game out there. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2011
    6
    elmegy te egyben van ..................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    4
    Harry potter and the half blood prince was a step up from order of the phoenix. My favourite harry potter games were the chamber of secrets, prisoner of Azkaban and the philosopher's stone. Although I wasn't expecting this game to be any better than those great games, I at least expected this to be a decent, fun title. The concept is a great idea: a 3rd person cover shooter. Unfortunately, the flaws outnumber the positives, making this the worst harry potter game..ever. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2011
    3
    I just want to start off and say that, I have played all the the harry potter game releases, and this... by far is the worst one. I'm surprised they have even kept making them, most of them have had frustrating mechanics after the second game. But I felt I just had to write a review on this one to warn people. Anyways continuing, I might as well start off with the positives. The graphics are pretty cool, they make up for the lack of unique features in the game... somewhat. The game itself has frustrating mechanics, awful controls, very linear style of game-play, combat was boring and repetitive, and it was also way too easy. This game attempts the FPS genre and in my opinion, failed miserably. Do yourself a favor and buy a different FPS game instead. Final Rating: 34/100
    Consensus: Graphics are eye-candy but thats it....

    If you want more reviews like this, sign up today at http://gamerspurgatory.darkbb.com , We have an awesome community where you can just chill, take part in contests, chat, play on online servers, and all sorts of other cool things. My username is the same there (DarkZX). Just request a review from me, I review video games, movies and music. Cya guys later
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    This game is just bad. There are sincerely no redeeming qualities I can think of in this unpolished, boring, poorly designed, and simply un-fun insult to the Harry Potter franchise.

    The story, bad enough in itself, is broken up by tedious and/or outright broken side missions that are more of a chore than anything else.

    Stupefy is the only useful spell and essentially the entire game will consist of you incessantly spamming it (90% of the games audio is, from a variety of characters and often simultaneously, "Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy!..."

    When you're not in the boring first person shooter campaign missions that are hilariously easy, you're thrown into horrifically broken 3rd person stealth missions using the invisibility cloak. Particularly broken is the meter on the cloak that empties (rather quickly) with movement forcing you to stop and replenish it (ya, remember that in the movie/books?). But half the time your character will slightly drift along on its own accord causing the meter to keep depleting. That's just one of countless issues that make these 3rd person stealth missions tedious and extremely frustrating.

    Finally, there's literally no polish to this game (overall environment, combat mechanics, etc.), particularly in terms of the characters themselves (that lip-syncing...)

    Overall its a poorly, lazily designed game that's simply put not worth your money. I'm almost grateful you can beat this garbage in just a couple of hours.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews