Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harry Potter takes a dark turn in this third-person shooter as he battles death eaters and dementors while fleeing for his life across the wilds of England.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 42
  2. Negative: 31 out of 42
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    80
    This is the kind of game that can create a new fan base for the Harry Potter franchise. Finally, a good adventure meets an epic story. The graphics are great, and the atmosphere is overwhelming as well.
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    55
    Like a Quidditch player falling from a broomstick mid-match, this installment loses all forward momentum and goes plummeting toward a faceplant at top speed.
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    50
    While the third-person shooter aspect of Harry's latest adventure can be fun, the game's story elements fail to live up to those of its literary namesake.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    40
    One of the worst Tie-Ins in videogame history. There's simply no reason in the world to buy this game. Poor graphics and frustrating gameplay mean only failure.
  5. Nov 30, 2010
    30
    It's not shocking that a movie game is terrible, but it is somewhat surprising since Harry Potter's last two games have been fairly good. The uninspired levels, horrendous shooting mechanics, lackluster controls, and a tacked-on Kinect mode make this one Harry Potter piece of merchandise fans should stay far, far away from.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    30
    It doesn't matter if you're a hardcore or casual fan: there's no magic to be seen here.
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    20
    This is the worst, laziest, most manipulative type of licensed game making. It's a top-to-bottom disaster that nobody, especially not anyone who gives a crap about Harry Potter, should play.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    I saw previews of this game before it was out, It looked pretty cool. But once I finally got it and started playing it, I was incrediblyI saw previews of this game before it was out, It looked pretty cool. But once I finally got it and started playing it, I was incredibly disappointed and shocked at how bad this game is. Embarrassment to the Harry Potter franchise, don't need to go any further than that. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Fast paced and fun game to play. As a Harry Potter fan, it was cool to be a part of the final story. As Potter gets older, these games haveFast paced and fun game to play. As a Harry Potter fan, it was cool to be a part of the final story. As Potter gets older, these games have definitely followed suit. Would have loved to explore the world more but overall this game has been a fun play. Sure hope they are making Part 2! Collapse
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    I have all of these games and, of course, I had to have this one. Graphics are awesome - I love that the game parallels the more serious andI have all of these games and, of course, I had to have this one. Graphics are awesome - I love that the game parallels the more serious and dark tones of the movie. There are plenty of spells to experiment with, although some are more consistently handy than others. Altogether a great game - it is a definite progression in this series of games! Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    6
    Graphics very good , story not bad, characters good, but fighting with some kind of flyes and wizards getting boring and the best way to playGraphics very good , story not bad, characters good, but fighting with some kind of flyes and wizards getting boring and the best way to play is on easy level - to go further on faster- because if is not easy this game becoming frustrating (sorry for my bad english) Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    No, no I'm pleased... Indeed I am not. But it's not terrible like Dragon Age: Origins. I am not impressed with the angles, or the controls.No, no I'm pleased... Indeed I am not. But it's not terrible like Dragon Age: Origins. I am not impressed with the angles, or the controls. Pretty good graphics on the plus side, but won't get past the BLAND GAMEPLAY OF TERROR. You probably shouldn't get it, but do it if you must. All I'm saying is that compared to the movie it's a peice of fried poop on a stick. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    2
    We've already had a bad Potter game in Goblet of Fire. (Check out my review) Now this franchise has been turned into a shooter, a bad one! TheWe've already had a bad Potter game in Goblet of Fire. (Check out my review) Now this franchise has been turned into a shooter, a bad one! The graphics are dull, the enemies are repetitive and the controls aren't well layed out. Harry Potter is just a mindless shooter now, which makes me sad. A good soundtrack, but sadly, there are no other redeeming qualities. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    This game is just bad. There are sincerely no redeeming qualities I can think of in this unpolished, boring, poorly designed, and simplyThis game is just bad. There are sincerely no redeeming qualities I can think of in this unpolished, boring, poorly designed, and simply un-fun insult to the Harry Potter franchise.

    The story, bad enough in itself, is broken up by tedious and/or outright broken side missions that are more of a chore than anything else.

    Stupefy is the only useful spell and essentially the entire game will consist of you incessantly spamming it (90% of the games audio is, from a variety of characters and often simultaneously, "Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy! Stupefy!..."

    When you're not in the boring first person shooter campaign missions that are hilariously easy, you're thrown into horrifically broken 3rd person stealth missions using the invisibility cloak. Particularly broken is the meter on the cloak that empties (rather quickly) with movement forcing you to stop and replenish it (ya, remember that in the movie/books?). But half the time your character will slightly drift along on its own accord causing the meter to keep depleting. That's just one of countless issues that make these 3rd person stealth missions tedious and extremely frustrating.

    Finally, there's literally no polish to this game (overall environment, combat mechanics, etc.), particularly in terms of the characters themselves (that lip-syncing...)

    Overall its a poorly, lazily designed game that's simply put not worth your money. I'm almost grateful you can beat this garbage in just a couple of hours.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews