User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 91
  2. Negative: 3 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mrHolmes
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    The perfect assassination game. The AI is brilliant and there are tens of ways to eliminate each target. And the news papers after each mission are faun to read.
  2. JohnnyA.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    This game takes the cake for sure. I have nevered played the Hitman series so this is new to me. I have played every single game for the 360 and this one is one of the best right now. Sure the graphics could be a little better but it is sure better than most of them out there. I have played oblivion for weeks but this game has way more entertainment value than that game. Where can you be This game takes the cake for sure. I have nevered played the Hitman series so this is new to me. I have played every single game for the 360 and this one is one of the best right now. Sure the graphics could be a little better but it is sure better than most of them out there. I have played oblivion for weeks but this game has way more entertainment value than that game. Where can you be a deadly assasain or if you want just take out the M4 and sweep the city. I think this game is a must have! My only gripe would be maybe to have more action with the controls rather than just hitting up to jump gaps and windows and stuff. For the most part the game is fantastic. You have different ways to play the game and to master. Collapse
  3. VickyJ.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Having only played the first hitman game and dumping it within a few days due to poor controls i was happy to find out the controls have been revised and IMHO benefit the game greatly. It really is an assassination game and playing it like a FPS will oftern end up with you hitting the canvas pretty quickly. This game will reward you for your patience and although sometimes a little Having only played the first hitman game and dumping it within a few days due to poor controls i was happy to find out the controls have been revised and IMHO benefit the game greatly. It really is an assassination game and playing it like a FPS will oftern end up with you hitting the canvas pretty quickly. This game will reward you for your patience and although sometimes a little skirmish may be unavoidable the game is quite forgiving aslong as you can find a good hiding place till things cool down. The levels are well thought out and, in some cases, alot of fun to walk round. The music fits the game well and apart from a few minor flaws the gameplay is good. After finishing the game once i couldnt really bring myself to go back through it again so the replay value isnt great but there are worst things you can spend £50 on for this console. Expand
  4. Adam
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    This is a great game. Nothing feels better than watching all of your time and effort pay off, and by that I mean the PERFECT KILL. Sure it can take some time, but what better puzzle to solve than the completion of an assasins contract. Good graphics, great level design,and those Eureeka! moments. Priceless.
  5. Ryencoke
    May 31, 2006
    8
    It's not a bad game, I don't think it's the best though. The graphics are fairly good. Gameplay in my opinion is a step-down in the 'Hitman' series. Contracts was the best one out the series, this one. Just doesn't seem right. There is something about it that doesn't suit. The controllers do take some time to get used to. I am about 2 hours in now, and It's not a bad game, I don't think it's the best though. The graphics are fairly good. Gameplay in my opinion is a step-down in the 'Hitman' series. Contracts was the best one out the series, this one. Just doesn't seem right. There is something about it that doesn't suit. The controllers do take some time to get used to. I am about 2 hours in now, and it doesn't have the same feel as the other games. I'd suggest renting before buying. Expand
  6. janikous
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    Intelligent game, that really does give you a huge range of options per mission. The guns blazing option is a big no-no on the higher diffiulties, or even the later stages on the easiest difficulty - you have to consider every move carefully, who may stumble across the mess you make, will it benefit you to murder that person, can you just sneak by, dressed as a guard, or in one case,Intelligent game, that really does give you a huge range of options per mission. The guns blazing option is a big no-no on the higher diffiulties, or even the later stages on the easiest difficulty - you have to consider every move carefully, who may stumble across the mess you make, will it benefit you to murder that person, can you just sneak by, dressed as a guard, or in one case, clown, instead.
    A must play.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    While Hitman does have a few issues with the AI, they are almost immediately overlooked by diversity of environment and situations. The game has a steep learning curve, but after you get the hang of it you find a lot of replay value alone in the ways you have to kill your mark.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Some of the levels in this game can be pretty hard, but very rewarding due to the fact that you can approach almost every situation how you see fit. I consider this game to be an instant classic on the 360 and I would recommend it to anyone.
  9. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. Plan your attack, walk among the crowds of civilians as they are unaware that you are an assassin. Wear disguises, infiltrate mansions, houses, parties, weddings, hotels and protected VIPs. Kill your targets however you want, and get out without anyone noticing. At least that's the idea - it's up to you if you want to go nuts. What you did is covered in theThis is a great game. Plan your attack, walk among the crowds of civilians as they are unaware that you are an assassin. Wear disguises, infiltrate mansions, houses, parties, weddings, hotels and protected VIPs. Kill your targets however you want, and get out without anyone noticing. At least that's the idea - it's up to you if you want to go nuts. What you did is covered in the newspaper at the end of the mission. Do it properly, and you are noted as the "Silent Assassin" - with no extra casualities. Go crazy, and you are a "terrorist", "madman" or "deranged slayer". AI is not perfect and can be exploited at at times - but this is actually the only franchise of this kind. There are no other assassination simulators that work to this degree. So despite some flaws, I have to recommend this game. It works almost all the time, once you understand how the AI behaves. Playing through first time, you might take out one or two guys who get in your way. Play through again, and you can try to find the best way to get in and out without disturbing anyone. Play through some more, and you will find more unique ways to complete the mission - or find ways to kill everyone without blowing your cover. It's a dream for misanthropes everywhere! Expand
  10. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    6
    Glitchy game that makes you work too hard for very little reward.
  11. FPSMASTER
    Jun 12, 2006
    5
    Another PS2-XBOX-XBOX 360 port. Bland graphics, bad animations and wonky controls and animations. The A.I. is absolutely retarded and atrocious. People say it's soooo open ended, but in the end if you don't do the levels the exact right way, you will fail or die repeatedly. Skip it and buy an actual 360 game or an Arcade game like Geometry Wars since even it looks better.
  12. CiaranG.
    Jun 20, 2006
    8
    If you've already got Olivion, PGR3, COD2 and any of the other top-rated games, then this is next in line. Lots of fun to be had. Level design is brilliant and there's always many many different ways you can complete levels. It's your choice to go stealty, sneak around, disguise yourself and hide or just go in and kill everyone. The graphics are good and there are many If you've already got Olivion, PGR3, COD2 and any of the other top-rated games, then this is next in line. Lots of fun to be had. Level design is brilliant and there's always many many different ways you can complete levels. It's your choice to go stealty, sneak around, disguise yourself and hide or just go in and kill everyone. The graphics are good and there are many funny parts in the career mode that can happen, depending on what you do in the mission. How you played the missions depend on how much money you earn, and especially your notoriety that if high can affect future missions. There are nice touches like the ability to read newspaper articles about the assassinations you commit that are personalized as to how you completed the mission. I like this game very much. Expand
  13. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    This is the sort of thing you can comment positively about, it's awesome... excuse the slang but it is positively brilliant and everyone should be using it, above the age of 15 of coarse!
  14. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Having played through the PC version countless times, I have to admit that the Xbox 360 version is by no means a lazy port like Hitman 2 was for the PS2. If you're used to playing in 1920x1080 on PC you will be overwhelmed by the gigantic HUD and menus but other than that lower resolution, slightly worse framerate (although not major or impacting on gameplay, barely noticeable) andHaving played through the PC version countless times, I have to admit that the Xbox 360 version is by no means a lazy port like Hitman 2 was for the PS2. If you're used to playing in 1920x1080 on PC you will be overwhelmed by the gigantic HUD and menus but other than that lower resolution, slightly worse framerate (although not major or impacting on gameplay, barely noticeable) and grainier, aliased textures and lighting, it's definitely a viable game for this platform. Controls are actually more suited to the controller and it seems like it's been designed for console because it doesn't control like an FPS-style third person where you can't look at your character. It is nice that they have kept the ability to go into first person by simply clicking the right analog stick. Best of all, it doesn't feel cheap or clunky at all, and can be useful and more fun if you want to rambo through some of the levels. Buttons are logically laid out, smooth and simple to pick up and adjust. If you've yet to try a Hitman game and you own an Xbox 360, this is by far the best place to start. It's the most accessible and most suited to 7th generation. It will please both veterans and newcomers alike. Expand
  15. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    El mejor juego de accion, furtivo, y de tension que e jugado desde los de batman, la libertad que tienes para hacer todo, los objetivos, y a pesar de tener tan pocos niveles, te hace querer repetirlos por que te gustan y quieres probar todo, o por tener el codiciado "silent assassins" que se siente tan gratificante, al acabar el nivel y ver que dice esto; lo unico que espero es la llegadaEl mejor juego de accion, furtivo, y de tension que e jugado desde los de batman, la libertad que tienes para hacer todo, los objetivos, y a pesar de tener tan pocos niveles, te hace querer repetirlos por que te gustan y quieres probar todo, o por tener el codiciado "silent assassins" que se siente tan gratificante, al acabar el nivel y ver que dice esto; lo unico que espero es la llegada de absolution (este juego lo compre como en agosto de 2012) y que obiamente, tendra la misma calidad. Expand
  16. ERB
    Nov 15, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I played in 2006.This game is Oh My God awesome.The game play is so good,the graphics are cool,and the game play itself is so fun.Hitman Blood Money is an awesome game and for you fans and not fans of this game,You should buy this game now and try playing It.
  17. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite Hitman game, and I will go as far to say it is the greatest assassin game of all time. It is perfect on so many levels: graphics, story, development, AI, atmosphere, etc. I can not find one thing wrong with this game, hence the score. I absolutely loved the story that played through, the controls were the best of all the Hitman games, the gameplay is smooth and the AIsThis is my favourite Hitman game, and I will go as far to say it is the greatest assassin game of all time. It is perfect on so many levels: graphics, story, development, AI, atmosphere, etc. I can not find one thing wrong with this game, hence the score. I absolutely loved the story that played through, the controls were the best of all the Hitman games, the gameplay is smooth and the AIs just make everything much more realistic. As with all Hitman games there is a dark turn on most things, but this game gets the balance absolutely right, and it is all made better thanks to the excellent voice actors, score and graphics. Personally, this is the second greatest video game ever made, and nobody will make me think otherwise. Kudos to IO Interactive, Kudos. Expand
  18. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Not only is this the best Hitman game in the series, it's one of the best games ever created. (And i've been gaming since gaming began) This is in my top 3 games of all time, it's a masterpiece.
  19. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    This is a solid entry in the Hitman franchise, for me it's the only real Hitman game on the 360 as Absolution really took away the freedom of previous titles. Blood Money sticks with the traditional style of open level gameplay where the possibilities to perform a hit are great in number because of the huge open maps and the choice between stealth and run and gun are still there, this isThis is a solid entry in the Hitman franchise, for me it's the only real Hitman game on the 360 as Absolution really took away the freedom of previous titles. Blood Money sticks with the traditional style of open level gameplay where the possibilities to perform a hit are great in number because of the huge open maps and the choice between stealth and run and gun are still there, this is what gives it a 9. It fails on a ten by being a little too over the top in terms of wackiness (I'm thinking of the festival level where you have to kill people who are dressed as big bird and one of them even stands below a hanging piano but on the other hand I was impressed with the amount of NPC's on display during the level). The other reason this game falls short is the same problem that most Hitman games suffer from, the fact that the narrative is focused on 47 rather than his job or his victims, which is a much more interesting concept than a bland, bald murderer with interests in dressing up. Expand
  20. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    A solid 7. The gameplay is brilliant, and the densely packed areas provide you with a wonderfully immersive playground for you to exploit. While the game is tooth pulling standards hard, so much so that you will start to get angry, it provides hardcore gamers with a great challenge. The game is a bit buggy, but nothing that is game-breaking. Aside from that, the game gives you a feeling ofA solid 7. The gameplay is brilliant, and the densely packed areas provide you with a wonderfully immersive playground for you to exploit. While the game is tooth pulling standards hard, so much so that you will start to get angry, it provides hardcore gamers with a great challenge. The game is a bit buggy, but nothing that is game-breaking. Aside from that, the game gives you a feeling of being an assassin, as you sneak through. I can sincerely recommend this game to any fan of the stealth genre. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. If you're a Hitman fan, Blood Money will make you fall in love all over again, and if you never dipped your toes in 47's particular brand of wetwork yet, the time has never been more ripe. [June 2006, p.74]
  2. With Eidos' latest foray into professional assassination, players will have to dig deep, wading through mission after mission of trial-and-error gameplay to hunt down a series of targets. [June 2006, p.49]
  3. If the impressive visual enhancements, tighter controls, more coherent narrative and bigger production values don't draw you in, the thoughtful level design and degree of freedom will keep you coming back for more. Best yet? Bloody right.