Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience more than 40 missions across 3 classic Hitman games, each re-mastered in HD. Whether you're a longtime fan or new to the franchise, this is your opportunity to take on the contracts that defined the series and fully established Agent 47 as the notorious assassin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    80
    While some might pine for the older, stiffer and more difficult Hitman games, the HD Trilogy makes a strong argument that each iteration was a step towards something truly great.
  2. 80
    The Hitman HD Trilogy represents incredible value for money, and for the most part, it seems to have aged rather well. In terms of an HD remake though, IO and Square have seemingly done the bare minimum here to get it to market. A remastered soundtrack and some re-recorded lines would have been nice, but instead, the best you can expect is a lick of paint.
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    As a whole this HD collection offers fantastic value. It’s a great way for the fans of the series to relive the games and if you’re a fan of the genre and never played these games, this collection is a must buy although it isn't a trilogy per se.
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    70
    Hitman: HD Trilogy is a good part of Stealth history in videogames. Blood Money is still great six years later, and Silent Assassin and Contracts have interesting gameplay elements. But, Where is Hitman: Agent 47?
  5. If you've only played Absolution, these games will come as a surprise. They're more sandboxy, less handholdy experiences. They lack polish, perhaps, but between them they chronicle the invention of a genre, before it was left behind.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    65
    We appreciate Square's willingness to keep the original spirit of the games unchanged, but they should have done more to make the last-gen games more pleasant to see on modern consoles. The result is too rough and probably advisable only to the stealth genre's super-fans.
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    50
    Three very worthwhile games then, in a package sadly marred by poor decision making from the publisher. With a bit more care this could have been essential. As it is, there's a load of nonsense waiting for players to wade through before they get to the good stuff. Which seems to be a fitting description of the franchise as a whole these days.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Now THIS is how Hitman should be! Lets hope IO Interactive sit down and play these games over and over before making another Hitman game. There are some problems, people who already bought Hitman Blood Money on the Xbox 360 in 2006 wont be happy to realise they have used the EXACT same 2006 version for this trilogy instead of making it look even more prettier and upgrading it some more. The controls on Contracts and Hitman 2 are still clunky like the originals, you would of thought they would of fixed those. Lets hope IO Interactive deliver Blood Money 2 next, us fans have waited 7yrs, please dont disappoint us with another Absolution IO! Collapse
  2. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I really LOVE these games, they are so unique and have such a lot of replayability. Hitman Blood Money was my favourite of the bunch by far. It's such a shame Hitman Absolution wasn't more like these 3 games. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    Gritty and Bloody is a usual thing for Agent 47 and this trilogy completed all of those bad ass missions throughout the game.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This outstanding trilogy is exactly what all games need to be like! IO Interactive did an amazing job in giving the power to us, freely decide the fate of our target. And the great part about it is we can go back over it again again and guaranteed it will be a different every time! This franchise is definitely in my top 3 franchises of all time!!! Now me every other Hitman fan will admit that they took a completely different turn with ABSOLUTION which unfortunately wasn't up to the level of these legendary classics, but still had the same roots hidden within, which made it great! but if you really want to experience Agent 47 at his finest, then get this glorious HD Trilogy!!!! Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    Tired of today's dumbed down, linear and streamlined games?... I know i am. Hitman HD Trilogy is a remastered and refurbished blast from the past containing two fantastic games (and one atrocious game) from the stealth milestone franchise Hitman all thrown together in one box. The three games in this package deal consist of Hitman 2 Silent Assassins, Hitman Contracts, Hitman Blood Money.

    Silent Assassins is by far the worst game in the collection, i found Silent Assassins agonizingly difficult to finish but not because of the games challenge, because of the poor design decisions e.g. painfully slow animations, sluggish level progression and just plain boring contracts. despite its flaws i commend it on its story and in depth look at Agent 47, who is usually thought of as an empty and shallow character.

    Hitman Contracts was when i finally became engaged in the collection, although glitchy and even counter intuitive at points, Contracts was still that almost puzzle like stealth experience that makes the series great. With Contracts IO-Interactive streamlined the game in comparison to its predecessors without dumbing things down, Contracts improves the experience where it counts such as faster level traversal and increased animation speed creating challenge through complexity rather than challenge through tedium. However that interesting story experience of Silent Assassins is unfortunately absent from contracts leaving a disappointing scar in the games challenging near-perfect entertainment experience.

    Hitman Blood Money is the alpha male of the trio, flexing its impressiveness in the face of the other two games as the faint cries of the ugly duckling that is Absolution are heard from a dark corner of the room and a raspy choking of desperation making a sound sort of like 'Gollum..cough, cough..ick...Gollum' while rustling its chains angrily. (Yes!, i consumed something very special to come up with this sentence... *faint snorting sound*). First of all Blood Money is the first in the series to features a noob friendly easy difficulty to bring beginners in easier (such as myself) without going to the extremes of simplicity of Absolution. Blood Money also features a plethora of diverse levels with their own personnel stories that often drop subtle hints to help on your path to the silent assassin rating, but Blood Money still shares one fatal flaw with Contracts the lack of a descent overarching story of any kind although some of your targets have fairly intriguing biographies especially your tutorial contract.

    I can't really comment on graphics of any of the games due to the age of the games and my lack of care for graphical fidelity and the various other shiny things you hear PC elitists rant on about but Blood Money is pretty for its age... that's something... I guess, however the soundtrack of the series is truly remarkable, Jesper Kyd is a master of music and he shows the pinnacle of his talents in the early games of the Hitman series.

    Overall the Hitman HD Trilogy has made me an instant fan of a franchise that i was originally put off of by the lackluster Hitman Absolution. If your a gamer with patients who likes to work hard for those high rankings then this bargain deal of stealth greatness is a must buy, i would recommened it to anyone if my opinion means anything to you, the reader then you'll take my word for it. Those few flaws present in the trilogy, and that massive flaw that is Silent Assassins, prevent me from granting it a 10 so i think i 9 will easily suffice.

    P.S. I apologize for any spelling mistakes or grammatical errors within in this review as i am dyslexic and may not have noticed.
    Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    The Hitman Series is amazing, brutally and gritty, One of my personal Favorite game franchises of all time, Would Definitely Recommend if U haven't played a Hitman game before, OR IF U FOUND ABSOLUTION DISAPONTING, LOVE HITMAN CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT GAME, Ohh and the game has very clunky controls, just saying Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    waste of time. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews