User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 382 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    A too short single-player campaign, too frustrating, in 2011 it's unacceptable see undestroyable enviroment and a sequence of script like this. I was waiting for it for too long and it disappointed me so much. Too bad.
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    5
    Ridiculously short game just like this review should be. Returned it to the shop I purchased it from the same day, and swapped it for something with a decent amount of game-play. The devs and publishers who put this out should be ashamed at the minuscule amount of game-play in the single player campaign. Probably the shortest game I have ever played.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    7
    This game has so much potential but fails to reach it. I enjoyed the single player but really I was begging for some game to knock COD out of first place in multiplayer. I read a review by earlier by Slapper and I wondered what multiplayer game he was playing. The multiplayer servers are terrible. Getting into a game with friends is difficult to say the least. And the game play is lagThis game has so much potential but fails to reach it. I enjoyed the single player but really I was begging for some game to knock COD out of first place in multiplayer. I read a review by earlier by Slapper and I wondered what multiplayer game he was playing. The multiplayer servers are terrible. Getting into a game with friends is difficult to say the least. And the game play is lag heaven. I have an excellent internet connection and went so far as to hard wire the modem instead of using a router and I still only get yellow bar connections. I had high hopes, the potential is there but the multiplayer while not a failure is very poor! Sorry Slapper you missed the boat with your multiplayer comments. I really wanted this game to succeed but COD is still in first place Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2011
    7
    At some point during the development cycle, around the time of E3 2010, Homefront was destined to be an amazing game. Unfortunately, somewhere along the line that changed. The worst thing (as you should already know if you've read any other review) is the terribly short campaign. It has its moment, but they're too few and far between to be worth the full retail price in my opinion. TheAt some point during the development cycle, around the time of E3 2010, Homefront was destined to be an amazing game. Unfortunately, somewhere along the line that changed. The worst thing (as you should already know if you've read any other review) is the terribly short campaign. It has its moment, but they're too few and far between to be worth the full retail price in my opinion. The multiplayer is fun, and if it weren't for that I would trade my copy in and buy something else. Overall, it's just not as good as it could have been. If you like multiplayer focused FPS games, give it a rent and see if you like it. Otherwise it probably isn't the game for you. Expand
  5. May 15, 2011
    5
    It has a great idea and a scary premise. The problem is it never comes to fruition. The graphics are 2006 and the online game-play is original but fidgety. Vehicles can become a problem and hit-detection is sometimes off. I hope they don't lose faith in their ideas as another try with some feedback and a future beta could do wonders for this as a franchise.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    Despite apprehensions from the low review, I bought and played this game last night. I have played most FPS like OFP Dragon Rising, COD -all of it as well as BFBC2. I'm gonna try not to compare it to the games I mentioned...well... maybe a little here and there just to illustrate a point. I want to rate Homefront on it's own merit. Here are some of my observations and experience of theDespite apprehensions from the low review, I bought and played this game last night. I have played most FPS like OFP Dragon Rising, COD -all of it as well as BFBC2. I'm gonna try not to compare it to the games I mentioned...well... maybe a little here and there just to illustrate a point. I want to rate Homefront on it's own merit. Here are some of my observations and experience of the game

    On Single Player : The story sounds too implausible but hey, So was MW2 ;) It's still a good 'what if' story though. I just can't get over the fact that the single player game is too short. Also the textures on the AI characters are just too last gen. Even the Menu interface looked like it was on beta stage. It felt like playing Xbox 1st gen or PS2. The sound of the guns were a bit... meh. I don't know what the exact frame rate is but it felt rough and because of that the close quarters and narrow hallways will give you and i I'm not gonna comment any more on Single Player because I'd rather forget it.
    Multiplayer: IMO here's where Homefront redeems itself. Earlier last night I could not connect, but when I was able to later that evening - I had so much fun I ignored invites from my friends for a round of COD. The maps are quite large and littered with players. It felt like I was in the middle of a war with explosions and smoke trails from rockets. When you get immersed like that, graphic detail and flaws become blurred. Plus i like the way they reward you with Battle Points for helping your team or scoring on your own. It promotes teamwork. From the battle points you get to experience the Helicopters, Airstrikes and those points stay even if you get killed. Which takes the pressure out of getting 7-11 kill streaks. I had some issues with hit detection, when sometimes I was aiming center mass on a stationary target and I still missed. This can be fixable with a patch so it's forgivable. I hope they do this soon though. I'm not sure how many maps are there but I was able to cycle thru 3 only. I hope there are more.
    So I give it a 7 because the single player pulled it down. But +3 if.... THQ, are you reading this?..... IF they add more maps and weapons via Free DLC. Then you would have redeemed yourself totally.
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    The title really doesn't live up to its name. The campaign was exciting and had a very fitting story, but it was a bit short, try 4 hours. The ending was abrupt and unsatisfying. Graphics were pretty good. The multiplayer is fair, at most. What I've noticed is that it is a campers paradise. And if you buy it used, why do you have to pay to continue in multiplayer? The weapons are prettyThe title really doesn't live up to its name. The campaign was exciting and had a very fitting story, but it was a bit short, try 4 hours. The ending was abrupt and unsatisfying. Graphics were pretty good. The multiplayer is fair, at most. What I've noticed is that it is a campers paradise. And if you buy it used, why do you have to pay to continue in multiplayer? The weapons are pretty good, along with the different perks and vehicles. The maps are pretty good too. I just don't understand why first-person shooters now-a-days have shorter and shorter campaigns though. They put too much work in the mutliplayer. I look for a good, long and challenging campaign. Not a 4 hour campaign with an unfitting ending. Expand
  8. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    This is multi player focused game. The Single player game is short, with some fun set pieces but the focus is on multi player, and that the game excels in this area. The new 'Battle Points' feature and the fairly large list of add-ons/perks allows players to customise their play style. I've never been a fan of the 'run and gun' style of COD, much prefer vehicle and group tactics of BF.This is multi player focused game. The Single player game is short, with some fun set pieces but the focus is on multi player, and that the game excels in this area. The new 'Battle Points' feature and the fairly large list of add-ons/perks allows players to customise their play style. I've never been a fan of the 'run and gun' style of COD, much prefer vehicle and group tactics of BF. This reminds me alot of BFBC2 but moves the gameplay forward. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2011
    6
    Just four hours to beat the game in single player without rushing. FOUR HOURS. Multiplayer is fun, too bad there are only 2 real modes. Technically everything in this game looks below average.
  10. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    After going into Homefront without any research and expecting a combination of Fallout 3 and Boarderlands, I was greatly disappointed. That being said, Homefront can be at times enjoyable. Single player is short, Multiplayer is buggy and overloaded at the moment. The interesting story is an new take on the "End of the world" themed games. Graphics and controls are tired and slow feeling.After going into Homefront without any research and expecting a combination of Fallout 3 and Boarderlands, I was greatly disappointed. That being said, Homefront can be at times enjoyable. Single player is short, Multiplayer is buggy and overloaded at the moment. The interesting story is an new take on the "End of the world" themed games. Graphics and controls are tired and slow feeling. If you are bored of greater games give this one a try. Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start with, the campaign of Homefront is a terribly disappoint flicker of what it could have been. It does have its moments, a terribly misplaced mortar round, and the much discussed mass-grave scene to name a few. But these moments are few and far in between. The scenery is fun to play through, but I was never left going, OMG, this place looks just like my local _________, which is what I had been led on to believe would happen.

    The majority of the game is a tragically stereotypical FPS, with linear levels, bland weapon choice and frustratingly annoying teammates. You have the typical same three people who run around with you and never die, hardly seeming like they are freedom fighters at all. Your character doesn't even seem to be a person at all. The whole experience was just unpleasant, but it was made downright terrible when one thinks about how much potential was there that was just ignored.

    The redeeming factor for this game is most definetly the multiplayer. It is a pleasant combination of a Call of Duty like gun and class custimization armory and Battlefield like large battles. The battlepoints system adds an extra little bit to the experience, allowing you to use fun little toys like a Hellfire-shooting UAV and a drone to mark targets for teammates, or more powerful options, such as tanks or attack helicopters. The caputer-points (I can't remeber the exact name) mode is rather fun, and changes up the pace and scenery of a game, but static spawn points can be a real annoyance if a few enemies manage to slip behind the main line of conflict.

    The battle commander mode is also an interesting side venture, in which you are targeted as you do better, pointing you out to the enemy, but also rewarding you with various powerups.

    Overall, the multiplayer is the only worth-while venture of this game, and even that seems like it won't be a long lasting experience. Once you've used the various battle-points rewards and gotten your fill of the large battle feeling, the triviality of the game will wear off, and you will be left yearning for more polished games. I had bought this game hoping for a great story and a possibly fun multiplayer distraction, but instead I got a shoddy campaign and a multiplayer experience which I don't think will last.
    Expand
  12. Apr 9, 2011
    6
    Although Kaos's last game didn't turn out good i had high hopes for this game. the idea of an American underdog rebel army against a strong korean force seemed very exciting. the campaign was very good and it had good mechanics. although the multiplayer which excited me the most, was a letdown. many people said it would a mix of COD and battlefield, which it was, but the bad sides of theAlthough Kaos's last game didn't turn out good i had high hopes for this game. the idea of an American underdog rebel army against a strong korean force seemed very exciting. the campaign was very good and it had good mechanics. although the multiplayer which excited me the most, was a letdown. many people said it would a mix of COD and battlefield, which it was, but the bad sides of the games. in multiplayer it seems you move too slow and with the huge maps that can affect the gameplay. also it seems like it copied a lot out of call of duty. i felt like kaos should have come up with their own new ideas. one thing they did come up with was battle points. i felt like these were an upgrade of cod killstreaks and a good thing to have in a game. the game was fun at first but began to get boring and unexciting. Thats two strikes for kaos. Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    I'm a fan of COD:MW2 & COD:Black Ops; but, I also like BFBC2 & Medal of Honor. I find Homefront some where below the COD games but ahead of BFBC2. Graphics are a little dated but they've taken it and turned it into a style too. The single player is good but from all accounts a bit short. The multi-player is where the game's at; but early on they've had a lot of server problems...my guess:I'm a fan of COD:MW2 & COD:Black Ops; but, I also like BFBC2 & Medal of Honor. I find Homefront some where below the COD games but ahead of BFBC2. Graphics are a little dated but they've taken it and turned it into a style too. The single player is good but from all accounts a bit short. The multi-player is where the game's at; but early on they've had a lot of server problems...my guess: New Game+Spring Break+typical under preparedness by THQ is leading to the issues, but can be fixed and should be with more servers and better optimization. The Maps are interesting but only about 7 or so per game style, should've shipped with more maps and sleeker, easier interface to get online and stay with your party. I feel those that give this game a 10 or 9 are off the mark, and those that give it a 5 or below are just haters.... it's a good game, just not grade A, but has lot's of potential for fun in multi-player if server issues are resolved. Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    One Word Review...................Sucks......................Say what you will its just not up to par.....the multiplayer is pretty good which is worth giving it a 6 for effort but the graphics are lame...Snipers are rampant and im not sure if the developers have heard of something called a smoke grenade. when the snipes are blended in with the ugly pixels from a distance then you have aOne Word Review...................Sucks......................Say what you will its just not up to par.....the multiplayer is pretty good which is worth giving it a 6 for effort but the graphics are lame...Snipers are rampant and im not sure if the developers have heard of something called a smoke grenade. when the snipes are blended in with the ugly pixels from a distance then you have a major balance flaw. I traded mine in for crysis. Now i feel much better about my money. Expand
  15. Jun 5, 2011
    6
    Homefront was a massive disapointment for me. The sad thing is that this game was supposed to be one of the best games of 2011 and it sadly wasn't. The campaign is semi different all though it is similar to the modern warfare series's campaign. How ever it is very buggy and INCREDIBLY SHORT. You may enjoy your self sometimes in the campaign but others wise it is a massive let down. Now theHomefront was a massive disapointment for me. The sad thing is that this game was supposed to be one of the best games of 2011 and it sadly wasn't. The campaign is semi different all though it is similar to the modern warfare series's campaign. How ever it is very buggy and INCREDIBLY SHORT. You may enjoy your self sometimes in the campaign but others wise it is a massive let down. Now the multiplayer is as if battlefield took steroids. This is not a good thing. Battlefield is one of the most realistic FPS out there (next to medal of honor) and turning it into what homefront is is a major mistake. The maps are terrible and BTW if you enjoy getting spawn raped you'll love this one. It take FOR EVER to find a game and there are almost no differences between guns. I am insanely disapointed with this game and it is most likely going in the trade in box. Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2011
    7
    This a decent game. The campaign has amazing set pieces, but is still short and not as fulfilling as expected. The real highlight of this game is multiplayer.

    There are many many problems with the multiplayer. On the consoles, the dedicated servers do not work well, and it could take up to 20 minutes to actually find a game. The graphics aren't as good in this game, so you find yourself
    This a decent game. The campaign has amazing set pieces, but is still short and not as fulfilling as expected. The real highlight of this game is multiplayer.

    There are many many problems with the multiplayer. On the consoles, the dedicated servers do not work well, and it could take up to 20 minutes to actually find a game. The graphics aren't as good in this game, so you find yourself not even getting a hit marker on an enemy when your crosshair is directly at them at long range. These things make the game annoying, but there are a lot of things that make this multiplayer fun and unique.

    The use of drones and vehicles in this game is superb. You can be just as important marking out enemies with a UAV Drone than the teammate getting the most kills. The vehicle support is great as well, it assures that no one can spawn a tank and destroy in the map right from the start.

    Overall, the game is above average, there are a great amount of problems, but the story has its moments and set pieces, and multiplayer (if you can find a game) has many unique things about it that make it more addicting that Call of Duty.
    Expand
  17. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    Homefront is just another fps, that people are gonna compare with cod. it is not cod at all, the campaign is original, though short, it is orig. the story is captivating and cinematic. i wish that they would have strived to make the campaign a little more difficult and at least 8hrs long.if you just play through the story, without trying to collect the newspapers, you can squeeze littleHomefront is just another fps, that people are gonna compare with cod. it is not cod at all, the campaign is original, though short, it is orig. the story is captivating and cinematic. i wish that they would have strived to make the campaign a little more difficult and at least 8hrs long.if you just play through the story, without trying to collect the newspapers, you can squeeze little more than three and a half hours to four. the ai's are really dump in this game. you find them blocking your way alot, or standing there spinning around. But you learn to get passed it. The story is one of the best this year, and that is what i think saves the campaign. Now to multiplayer, there is only Ground war, skirmish and tdm, and a battle commandor mode for the three. so in all there is six mode, compared to cod, thats not as much. But the modes are fast paced, and keeps you coming back for more. the armory system is good, only complaint is i think it needs more guns. It is not like cod at all,and by saying that, its not as fun either. If you are looking to buy this for the story mode, don't its just a rent. if you want it for campaign and online, its a buy. Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    I have to admit, I was very disappointed with Homefront. I was seriously looking for the next replacement for Black Ops, and instead what I found was little better than a polished beta. That's not to say that THQ isn't on to something though, and the franchise may have a future if THQ pays very close attention to what they have done wrong and improves upon it.

    First the campaign is
    I have to admit, I was very disappointed with Homefront. I was seriously looking for the next replacement for Black Ops, and instead what I found was little better than a polished beta. That's not to say that THQ isn't on to something though, and the franchise may have a future if THQ pays very close attention to what they have done wrong and improves upon it.

    First the campaign is really just an extended tutorial to get you ready for multiplayer. I finished the campaign in just 4.5 hours. While the opening scenes are as disturbing as they promised the overall play through did not live up to the hype. I did not feel that sense of connection that you would expect with the characters in the story, nor did I feel any sense of accomplishment having completed the game. I like the story line though but there just wasn't enough of it.

    Second, online play does have some positives, but the negatives ultimately bog down the title. I like the concept of Battle Points and the ability to earn your kill streaks multiple times during a match. But like other reviewers, I was disappointed with the lack of weaponry to chose from, and the number of maps to play on. I'm also disappointed that THQ obviously is going to try to squeeze players for every dime they can as the launch day pre-order DLC was for a 870 shotgun DL. This weapon is not included in the game as an unlock, but the plan is obvious that it will be a gun that you will have to purchase. Which undoubtedly means they have plans to charge for additional gun(s) packs, in addition to maps. This amounts to little more than a money grab in my book.

    Third, hit detection is atrocious. I tend to be a sniper in most FPS games, as I just prefer the go for precision shots rather than the run and gun method. The first two rounds i played, I was dead on target and pulled the trigger on what should have been easy confirmed kills, and was annoyed that the rounds never hit. Thinking that perhaps it was a simulated Coriolis effect, my excitement grew, only to be crushed when I tried to apply the principle to the game. The game simply is flawed in that it routinely does not register hits. Furthermore there is no bullet penetration to speak of. If you do not have a LOS, you do not have a shot. Flimsy picket fences are adequate cover against what would realistically be a 7.62x51 NATO round from the M110 which is the starter rifle you get to shoot with. Don't get me wrong, I realize that bullet penetration varies depending on the medium, but a picket fence? Really?

    Anyway rent this if you want, but save your money for the next Black Ops DLC and hope that THQ comes with a better version in Homefront 2.
    Expand
  19. Mar 31, 2011
    6
    It is very rare that I am torn on how to properly review a game. I am not a FPS guy, I like em and I struggle through them for story, but in the end I know Iâ
  20. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    It seems like all of the soldiers in every first person shooter game now-a-days are all suffering from hair loss. I swear to God every character looks the same from Soap Mactavish (Call of Duty) to Sevchenko (Killzone) to Connor (Homefront). The game manages to stay Politically Correct as your squad members include a woman and an African-American (Like most modern FPS games that appeal toIt seems like all of the soldiers in every first person shooter game now-a-days are all suffering from hair loss. I swear to God every character looks the same from Soap Mactavish (Call of Duty) to Sevchenko (Killzone) to Connor (Homefront). The game manages to stay Politically Correct as your squad members include a woman and an African-American (Like most modern FPS games that appeal to silly teenagers). It's just a shame that the story is short and the game mimicks the exact same controls as the Call of Duty series. Plant C4 to destroy a tank? Take out a machine gunner? How original! Expand
  21. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    the game is decent and it has a lot fault from the campaign to the graphics. seriously where is the atmosphere they're talking about and why the sound effect feel like a toy gun, the voice acting is good graphics feels too old comparing to other game coming this year from the texture to the lighting and why the enemy ai hit you with a with a pin point accuracy and your team AI barelythe game is decent and it has a lot fault from the campaign to the graphics. seriously where is the atmosphere they're talking about and why the sound effect feel like a toy gun, the voice acting is good graphics feels too old comparing to other game coming this year from the texture to the lighting and why the enemy ai hit you with a with a pin point accuracy and your team AI barely help you feel they are ghost cause the enemy AI always shout at you Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2011
    6
    Homefront is a game I really hate to criticize. On one hand the story you're presented in the campaign is very unique and you can tell the developers put a lot of time into it with fiction time-lines and the use of Hollywood screen-writer John Milius. Even the characters have distinct personalities and are very fleshed-out. Unfortunately the gameplay feels like a slightly rougher CODHomefront is a game I really hate to criticize. On one hand the story you're presented in the campaign is very unique and you can tell the developers put a lot of time into it with fiction time-lines and the use of Hollywood screen-writer John Milius. Even the characters have distinct personalities and are very fleshed-out. Unfortunately the gameplay feels like a slightly rougher COD (which isn't bad), the graphics in some places look almost like pre-gen XBOX graphics (which IS bad) and the campaign is so short (about six hours) I can't say you get your money's worth. That is if you're only a single-player person like me. I'm sure multiplayer has more to it but if a game's bothering to put a single-player campaign in then why only add so little gameplay? A good effort that falls a bit too short. Expand
  23. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    Let me start by saying that I am a huge Battlefield fan, and although I am not a fan of COD (no vehicles) I own all of those titles as well. When I saw the trailers for Homefront I was stoked to say the least. Now that I have the copy in my hand and have spent a few nights playing it I have to admit, I am a bit disappointed.

    Singleplayer lays down an interesting story, but slow moments of
    Let me start by saying that I am a huge Battlefield fan, and although I am not a fan of COD (no vehicles) I own all of those titles as well. When I saw the trailers for Homefront I was stoked to say the least. Now that I have the copy in my hand and have spent a few nights playing it I have to admit, I am a bit disappointed.

    Singleplayer lays down an interesting story, but slow moments of walking around without the ability to even sprint really takes some tolerance to get through, I didn't, I umped right to multiplayer as that was so annoying I couldn't deal with it. Especially when an NPC tells you were to go, but the game won't let you go that way until each and every slow NPC character has gone through the door/hatch/hole first.

    Multiplayer is much better. What I do like about this game, make that LOVE about this game, is that it didn't copy either BF or COD. Granted the graphics are yesterdays technology, and the lack of a destructible environment does hurt, but the Battlepoints system is pretty cool, and the many options available (once unlocked) to customize your loadout to your exact specifications is awesome! The maps are somewhat small and the matches seem to go way too fast. There only seems to be approximately 3 maps on the Ground Control option, maybe more but I seem to keep playing the same 3 over and over, which leads me to believe that like everyone else does, there is some DLC maps in the near future.
    Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    I was immediately disappointed with the graphics - they remind me of half life graphics which were good back then but things have come a long way since then. I felt like the game could have been made on the original xbox console. They definitely put some thought into the storyline as demonstrated by the newspaper clippings collected throughout the game. The gameplay is ho-hum - nothingI was immediately disappointed with the graphics - they remind me of half life graphics which were good back then but things have come a long way since then. I felt like the game could have been made on the original xbox console. They definitely put some thought into the storyline as demonstrated by the newspaper clippings collected throughout the game. The gameplay is ho-hum - nothing really new or remarkable for a typical FPS. The voice acting was decent and fairly humorous at some points during the game. Some of the levels felt solid and were enjoyable but I found myself wanting some of the levels to end a bit more sooner than they did. The game would be considered punishing for new comers to shooters in general as its pretty challenging during some parts and the AI can be very cheap at times seemingly able to almost shoot around corners. This game could have been made better. Expand
  25. Mar 17, 2011
    5
    Before I start, just have to make sure I mention that I hate ALL CoD games after CoD 4. That being said, I really liked the first 2 hours of the campaign mode in Homefront. It just drew me in, and even though the gameplay itself is just a really really vanilla FPS, it just felt awesome every time I would take an enemy out. The setting is really well done, and the plot is too, until aboutBefore I start, just have to make sure I mention that I hate ALL CoD games after CoD 4. That being said, I really liked the first 2 hours of the campaign mode in Homefront. It just drew me in, and even though the gameplay itself is just a really really vanilla FPS, it just felt awesome every time I would take an enemy out. The setting is really well done, and the plot is too, until about the 3 hour mark. Then it just seems to fall flat, and even though I started to get pretty bored of mowing down countless Koreans, it was even worse the way it just ended. However, I could get over the incredibly short campaign if the multiplayer had been right. It has a lot of promise with the insane number of unlocks, perks, weapons, and vehicles, but there are a few things that just ruin it. The first is the nauseatingly awful hit detection, if you thought BC:2 had a sketchy hit detection system, Homefront is by far, the very worst. Vehicle controls are horrible, gun and explosion sounds are sub-par, and even if you party up with a few friends, 99% of matches are just a mess. There is no direction other than trying to capture the objectives, and while being able to save BP to get an ability or vehicle is nice, at times you will see way too many at once. While it's fun, it's also completely random and disorganized, and while teamwork can help you win, it's very rare to happen, and even if it does, it usually breaks down once enough drones, or helis are up in the air. It was a nice try, and some pretty nice ideas that they could possibly build on, but overall, a lack of execution. I really hope they do make a second one, and fix everything they got wrong, this game had a lot of promise but, I'm sad to say I was very disappointed. Expand
  26. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    Terrible single player, so it isn't bad that it is so short.

    The multiplayer is okay, but not enough to pull me away from Bad Company 2. Weapons are very powerful, with 2-3 shots enough to kill with a rifle. The sniper rifle is a semi-automatic lazer beam, so you'll get sniped ALL THE TIME. Battle points are an interesting idea, but I wish there was more incentive to play as a team. Right
    Terrible single player, so it isn't bad that it is so short.

    The multiplayer is okay, but not enough to pull me away from Bad Company 2. Weapons are very powerful, with 2-3 shots enough to kill with a rifle. The sniper rifle is a semi-automatic lazer beam, so you'll get sniped ALL THE TIME. Battle points are an interesting idea, but I wish there was more incentive to play as a team. Right now it encourages Rambo-style play, and though there is a squad feature, it seems to be of absolutely no use in the game. Mediocre at full price, but the multiplayer is interesting enough if you can pick it up on sale.
    Expand
  27. Mar 18, 2011
    7
    For a FPS it is not a terrible game. The Single player campaign is very short and very linear. The graphics are also dated. What this game does have going for it is an incredible if somewhat implausible story. I was so interested in the story I made it a point to collect all of the newspapers. The story is also why I gave it a bump in the rating since FPS games are lacking in this area.For a FPS it is not a terrible game. The Single player campaign is very short and very linear. The graphics are also dated. What this game does have going for it is an incredible if somewhat implausible story. I was so interested in the story I made it a point to collect all of the newspapers. The story is also why I gave it a bump in the rating since FPS games are lacking in this area. The Multiplayer is what really shines though. Very new concepts and strategies incorporated. I don't want to put in any spoilers but the game does take a few new directions in multiplayer. In short: Don't buy it for just the campaign, buy it for something different on the Multiplayer side of the fence. Not the best FPS you'll ever play but still worthwhile. Good Gaming!! Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Homefront is really short, it has 7 chapters, The single player is about 5 hours long. Decent story, but I would rather see this kind of story in a movie rather than a game or if it was done a tad better. The online is pretty much the only thing this game as going for it. It's kind of like playing battlefield open maps, and I like that you can buy weapons with battle points on the fly. I was hoping more from the single player experience rather than the online, lets face it, they always make the online more enjoyable than the campaign. I want the story longer not 5 hours thats too short. $59.99 for this game isn't worth it. Expand
  29. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    I give it 1 point for the story, 2 for drones being pretty fun to play, and another 2 for fun big games battles with in game purchases for a total of 5 points. Campaign is ridiculously short and easily beaten in a single sitting. Like most shooters like this, the game is very linear, but what is most aggravating are glitchy AI slowing you down all the time. There are literally dozens ofI give it 1 point for the story, 2 for drones being pretty fun to play, and another 2 for fun big games battles with in game purchases for a total of 5 points. Campaign is ridiculously short and easily beaten in a single sitting. Like most shooters like this, the game is very linear, but what is most aggravating are glitchy AI slowing you down all the time. There are literally dozens of times where a file cabinet or fridge is blocking your way and you have to wait for a squad mate to push it over. The graphics are disappointing, but not distracting. I thought the korean uniforms were weird but when you get to shooter falks in plain clothes you quickly realize they are all one of three models.

    The multiplayer is fun however. Drones are interesting and something new. I also like the big team battles where you are vying for points on the map that change based on how the battle is going.

    Overall, I'd say the game is worth renting, but certainly not worth $60. However, be warned that multiplayer with full progression is unlocked with a code you get when you buy the game. Otherwise, its an extra $15 if you rent it or get it used.
    Expand
  30. Mar 15, 2011
    6
    So far so good, the story is solid ,gameplay smooth, contraversy is there. Pretty much everything you want in a game. So I give it an eight out of ten
  31. May 30, 2012
    5
    It doesn't do anything that new. Feeling like an uncomfortable blend between the familiar elements of COD and Battlefield. There's really not enough here to recommend it. The campaign is way too short and a lot of the multiplayer maps are very similar. The fighting itself is actually pretty decent, but spawn camping with vehicles is a major problem on some maps and with games that do theIt doesn't do anything that new. Feeling like an uncomfortable blend between the familiar elements of COD and Battlefield. There's really not enough here to recommend it. The campaign is way too short and a lot of the multiplayer maps are very similar. The fighting itself is actually pretty decent, but spawn camping with vehicles is a major problem on some maps and with games that do the same things better, why would you honestly bother? Expand
  32. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    Homefront - A game on extra ordinary potential, wasted on poor characters and game design.

    Homefront is an FPS developed by Kaos Studios, who are part of THQ. In the near future, North and South Korea have formed a Korean republic which invades America. You play a guy called erm...Jacob I think, who is accosted in his apartment and taken by the Korean Army. The convey is attacked by the
    Homefront - A game on extra ordinary potential, wasted on poor characters and game design.

    Homefront is an FPS developed by Kaos Studios, who are part of THQ. In the near future, North and South Korea have formed a Korean republic which invades America. You play a guy called erm...Jacob I think, who is accosted in his apartment and taken by the Korean Army. The convey is attacked by the Resistance who free you and expect you to join your cause.

    Story wise, Homefront is incredibly poor. The game is set 2 years after the Korean invasion and although the premise of a foreign invader coupled with a resistance has the potential for excellent narrative and character design, it is executed poorly. Embarrasingly poor.

    The campaign is short. I finished in on normal in maybe 5 hours and it contains 6 levels. In the marketing campaign, THQ made a point of emphasising that your character was just an every day man struggling to help the resistance. However, you are never given a reason to fight or care about the resistance because they is no scope for character development. You just do!

    The intro to Homefront has one scene in particular which I found to be quite interesting in terms of building empathy for the current climate in the country, but this is not repeated throughout. 6/10. Extremely disappointed. Before Kaos consider Homefront 2, they should look back at why this one is so incredibly flawed.

    The game feels rushed.
    Expand
  33. Mar 25, 2011
    6
    I want to like Homefront, and in some ways I really do. But unfortunately good ideas and potential do not excuse poor design and questionable mechanics. I will begin with the single player. At face value, it seems that Homefront has a good thing going for it on the SP front. While it is far from the first game to depict an occupied/invaded U.S. as some have claimed(see Freedom Fighters,I want to like Homefront, and in some ways I really do. But unfortunately good ideas and potential do not excuse poor design and questionable mechanics. I will begin with the single player. At face value, it seems that Homefront has a good thing going for it on the SP front. While it is far from the first game to depict an occupied/invaded U.S. as some have claimed(see Freedom Fighters, World in Conflict, and even MW2), it does seek to exist in a somewhat niche area of the war-based FPS sub-genre. The opening of the game features some truly disgusting and emotional "Oh my God" moments and the setting does provide some utility to the game, but it quickly becomes apparent that all is not right with the game. First of all, Connors, the man you will spend most of the game following, is a horrendously irritating brick head. I wanted to put a bullet in him within the first 5 seconds of the campaign. He is foul-mouthed (and not in a good way), stupid (several of the encounters in the game involve massive firefights instigated by his mental handicap), and downright unlikable. Your female companion, whose name I am tellingly failing to remember now, is about as interesting and memorable as a cardboard box. The only character in the single player who is worth taking note of is Boone, and he isn't around for very long at all. Hopper, the Korean smart kid in your squad, is almost an ok character, but even he falls flat more often than not. This wouldn't be so bad if you weren't forced to interact with them in agonizingly slow walk-around-the-base segments. However, it is clear that the dev team wanted to build up a relationship with these characters and I'm sad to say that effort failed miserably. As a result, the story fails to connect with you in any meaningful way despite some memorable set piece moments (one involving a mass grave really stands out). Unfortunately, all of this spirals into a so-so campaign that you will either not bother with or forget within one wee, a problem I am currently experiencing while trying to write about it. It is also embarrassingly short, which would have been passable were it an impressive experience, but the combination of weak characters and short length make the SP on this game a flop. Now, on to the game mechanics and graphics. The game plays relatively well - the hit detection and ballistics behavior is passable - although the complete lack of bullet penetration through any surface and the questionable weapon handling take a little of the wind out of its sails. The sound design, on the other hand, is atrocious. WIth the exception of the music and some of the ambient sounds, this may be the worst sound mixing I've ever heard. The weapons all sound muffled, as if you are wearing ear plugs the whole time you are wearing ear plugs. This, in turn, reduces the impact and power in the feel of the weapons and leads to an all around less satisfying shooting experience than the competition. The level design is nothing special, and the game generally plays out like your typical corridor shooter, adding to the mediocrity. The graphics are slightly better and are at least average. They are not as bad as some have said, though you will most likely not be finding anything to wow you, especially given the technical achievement that is Crysis 2 being out now (which you really should be playing instead of this game). Still, they do their job well enough to get by and don't break the game. Sadly, though, that's really the best I can say about them. Finally, we have the multiplayer to deal with. Homefront was hyped up to an almost ridiculous degree by Kaos and THQ, so really it should be no surprise that it fails to live up to its promises. What is surprising, however, is how close it came to being great. The underlying system here is, at its core at least, fairly solid. The game plays roughly as a mix of Call of Duty and Battlefield, though it reminds me most of MAG on the PS3 in terms of flow and mechanics. The maps are generally fairly large and feature multiple areas to play in, though this makes the few small, infantry only maps seem incredibly boring by comparison. The new Battlepoints syste allows you to either go for a direct reward like an air strike or UAV sweep or save up for something a little more tangible like a tank or an attack helicopter. Surprisingly, this system works very well and really does add an element of tactical forward planning versus necessary actions at specific moments (using an air strike to clear an objective swarmed by enemy infantry, for example). Unfortunately, outside of its unique infrastructure Homefront is still a mediocre shooter. The weak gun play, graphics, and sound mixing really bog down a game that nearly had what it takes to be great. Homefront does, however, have potential, and I for one hope Kaos takes these ideas and refines them for HF2. For now, though, I recommend renting this. Expand
  34. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    Let me start out by saying that I traded in Halo Reach and Fallout N.V for Homefront and I am sadly disappointed. For all of those looking into this game DON'T get it until it goes on sale for like 30 dollars. The game isn't as bad as say Bionic Commando but the graphics are inexcusably horrible. I read that it uses Unreal Engine 1 and thats not going to fly with most gamers expecting aLet me start out by saying that I traded in Halo Reach and Fallout N.V for Homefront and I am sadly disappointed. For all of those looking into this game DON'T get it until it goes on sale for like 30 dollars. The game isn't as bad as say Bionic Commando but the graphics are inexcusably horrible. I read that it uses Unreal Engine 1 and thats not going to fly with most gamers expecting a AAA title. Its really outdated and I'll end at that. If you can look past the graphics, the game isnt that bad albeit the extremely short campaign. The multiplayer is what people are going to buy this game for so it shouldnt be a huge problem. The multiplayer is VERY team oriented so dont expect to be a lone wolf and do all that well. The spawns can be a little messy but it does a good job in telling you whos around you with the birds eye view of the map before you spawn in. I found that there can be some hit detection problems when other people are behind cover, but otherwise its really good on that front. The game tends to be DOMINATED by vehicles (the choppers) because to my knowledge its up in the air until you shoot it down which is a little to hard to do. Bottom line is it feels like a really polished arcade game (Blacklight: Tango Down) in particular. Its not worth 60 dollars and Im glad i payed only 20 bucks but when it goes on sale and you want to waste some money, go for it. Expand
  35. Mar 18, 2011
    5
    It's a decent game ... just like any other shooter of your choice. Graphics are decent, action is ok, multpilayer is there ... yeah, that's about it.

    however, since they made such a fuss about the weird background story, which sounds like america is desperately searching for someone new to fight a war against, it's worth mentioning that the whole "epic" campaign is over and done in one
    It's a decent game ... just like any other shooter of your choice. Graphics are decent, action is ok, multpilayer is there ... yeah, that's about it.

    however, since they made such a fuss about the weird background story, which sounds like america is desperately searching for someone new to fight a war against, it's worth mentioning that the whole "epic" campaign is over and done in one weekend.
    apparently they hired some professional author for their backstory ... sweet job, since the game itself fills half of a short story. :(

    anyway, decent game. just not anything worth comparing to, say, Crysis 2.
    Expand
  36. Mar 19, 2011
    5
    I have been waiting for this game for a long time now, and it is hard to be critical of it...but here we go. I agree that CoD fanbois are pretty harsh on this game, because I am on myself and I don't think it's as bad as they say. But there are several fundamental design problems that KAOS and THQ have no excuse for allowing into final release of this game. The clipping of environmentalI have been waiting for this game for a long time now, and it is hard to be critical of it...but here we go. I agree that CoD fanbois are pretty harsh on this game, because I am on myself and I don't think it's as bad as they say. But there are several fundamental design problems that KAOS and THQ have no excuse for allowing into final release of this game. The clipping of environmental objects with rounds fired is similar to games made in the late 1990s. When you can clearly see the target, see down the length of the weapon above the object you are in cover behind, yet still your bullets are blocked by the object, it's time to take the game back to QA to fix the issue. Multiplayer has been ridiculously impossible from day 1 (I concede this is true for most popular shooters when they come out.) The campaign was so short that I beat it the day I bought it, and I picked it up after work one night.
    I really, REALLY want to like this game more, and give it a higher score. The story is good, if not predictable, and the script wrenches at you just as Red Dawn did 25 years ago. Too bad the story wasn't supported by better game mechanics and design.
    Expand
  37. Mar 19, 2011
    5
    I got some words for this game...Totally Douche-ular!! I got this game a couple of days ago, and was immediately disappointed. I was expecting the perfect marriage between Battlefield 2 and COD, but boy was I wrong! The guys at THQ need to talk to their designers about trying to market their product as if it can compete or compare with what Dice did with Battlefield. I admit there are someI got some words for this game...Totally Douche-ular!! I got this game a couple of days ago, and was immediately disappointed. I was expecting the perfect marriage between Battlefield 2 and COD, but boy was I wrong! The guys at THQ need to talk to their designers about trying to market their product as if it can compete or compare with what Dice did with Battlefield. I admit there are some things I enjoy about the game....but they miss the mark by far in too many areas....but mainly I hate how out of focus the enemy is even at a decent proximity, no co-op mode for main game, and a non-destructable environment.. Not to mention the fact that the designers promised a game that would offer everyone an edge, but a couple of hours worth of some guy raping you and your entire team with a helicopter that you can't shoot down, because there isn't a such thing as a heat-seeking missle that you can shoot at it. I should have known to wait for Battlefield 3, because this was a waste of time and money! Can't wait til I sell this on Ebay or Craigslist!! Expand
  38. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    I some high hopes for the game, but ultimately the game just doesn't constitute a $60 Purchase. The singleplayer frankly has all been done before, although it does have some unique story components and atmosphere at times. The biggest problem is pacing which is frantic on a CoD level and short enough to beat in less than 4 hours on normal. This game would be a total bust if not for theI some high hopes for the game, but ultimately the game just doesn't constitute a $60 Purchase. The singleplayer frankly has all been done before, although it does have some unique story components and atmosphere at times. The biggest problem is pacing which is frantic on a CoD level and short enough to beat in less than 4 hours on normal. This game would be a total bust if not for the multiplayer which I really enjoy because of the scale and hybrid feeling. They did fix issues that made finding available servers impossible at this point, and if not for a very vulnerable and unbalanced spawning positions (Some maps more than others) the multiplayer is a ton of fun, although there's not much to unlock. The games content is good but just too damn limited. When the price drops, it'll be a pretty solid purchase. Expand
  39. Apr 14, 2011
    5
    I will keep this very frank. The controls are good. The campaign was decent, with an o.k. story, but nothing that really sticks with you. The multiplayer, though, was a big disappointment. There are only 2 different game modes. A ripoff of domination, and a regular old deathmatch. I found the multiplayer can pretty much be equated as; who can hide in a bush (or crevice) better than theI will keep this very frank. The controls are good. The campaign was decent, with an o.k. story, but nothing that really sticks with you. The multiplayer, though, was a big disappointment. There are only 2 different game modes. A ripoff of domination, and a regular old deathmatch. I found the multiplayer can pretty much be equated as; who can hide in a bush (or crevice) better than the other guy. The spawn system is kind of funky too. It feels like a game they just rushed out. I really wish I didn't throw away 60 bucks on this P.O.S. Don't waste your money. Pick up a game that actually was fully developed. Expand
  40. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    Short review: Single player is absolutely wasted potential. It's interesting enough, but stops way short, like a nascar car hitting the wall at lap 10. However, multiplayer is enjoyable enough and is the only online MP that I'll stick with until I hit the level cap.
  41. May 21, 2011
    5
    Pros: Campaign was fun for me, although people say it was short, I am not sure what they expected. There are plenty of achievements to tackle. My first playthough I got 300. and on casual mode. The guns feels and sound great too. The premise is indeed probably one of the more appealing things about the game.

    Cons: Overall I somewhat disliked this game, I love tackling achievements after
    Pros: Campaign was fun for me, although people say it was short, I am not sure what they expected. There are plenty of achievements to tackle. My first playthough I got 300. and on casual mode. The guns feels and sound great too. The premise is indeed probably one of the more appealing things about the game.

    Cons: Overall I somewhat disliked this game, I love tackling achievements after having fun with a game, but the achievements here were time consuming....well let me put it another way. Say you need to beat a lvl without dying. You load up a stage, and you have to sit through a cutscene with no way to skip. You then have to follow someone for an extra two minutes. You are ripping the stage apart and then you die, so reload the stage, watch the cutscene, follow the person...ugh.... that is truly hard a waste of time for me to deal with enough so to stick me at the 300 chevos and I normally get at least 500. This happens on nearly every stage. Another thing I didn't like too much was that you need an online code to play multiplayer. A lot and I mean a lot of achievements revolve around the MP on this game and because of the code issue, it makes it hard to trade or re-sell. With no code you are stuck at lvl 5.

    Overall I enjoyed the story up unitl a little over half way, it started to get dull. The premise is awesome though. N. and S. Korea merge and fully deploy on the U.S taking it over almost completely until You as a player show some resistance and strike back.
    Expand
  42. May 21, 2011
    7
    If Homefront 2 were to come out, here are some features I would add a longer campaign, more multiplayer maps, less lag, better graphics, a better plot, destructible buildings, and more sniper rifles.

    Other than the list which I have stated, Homefront is good in the sense that the maps are beautifully designed and more sniper friendly than those in games such as CoD: Black Ops. I do want
    If Homefront 2 were to come out, here are some features I would add a longer campaign, more multiplayer maps, less lag, better graphics, a better plot, destructible buildings, and more sniper rifles.



    Other than the list which I have stated, Homefront is good in the sense that the maps are beautifully designed and more sniper friendly than those in games such as CoD: Black Ops. I do want a second one to come out, despite the frequent problems of the first game. This game is the first in its series, and THS still has some room for error. I do think that future games in this series have potential.
    Expand
  43. Jun 12, 2012
    5
    I was fairly excited for Homefront when it was released. A group of about 3 of my friends and I all bought it, with the expectation that we'd play it online together. What wound up happening wa, after playing a little bit online, we all shelved it and never spoke of it again. The campaign is pretty short and forgettable, where you ultimately spend most of your time waiting around forI was fairly excited for Homefront when it was released. A group of about 3 of my friends and I all bought it, with the expectation that we'd play it online together. What wound up happening wa, after playing a little bit online, we all shelved it and never spoke of it again. The campaign is pretty short and forgettable, where you ultimately spend most of your time waiting around for someone to move tipped over refrigerators so you can continue to the next area. Multiplayer is... well... it felt like a cross between Battlefield and Call of Duty, and not in a good way. Guns sound and function almost exactly alike, there is little customization, and killstreaks are bizarre and unbalanced. Expand
  44. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    What really frustrates me about Homefront is that the idea was so good. Plus the advertisments and trailers were pretty excellent and got me psyched for it's release. Then when it comes out, the story is average, and far too short for such a great idea. There so many missed setpieces that could have made the characters more human then standard cardboard cutouts. The multyplayer is prettyWhat really frustrates me about Homefront is that the idea was so good. Plus the advertisments and trailers were pretty excellent and got me psyched for it's release. Then when it comes out, the story is average, and far too short for such a great idea. There so many missed setpieces that could have made the characters more human then standard cardboard cutouts. The multyplayer is pretty good, but the graphics and lack of weapon choices overall, leave something to be desired Expand
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most average game ever. Fair voice acting, fair graphics, fair controls and fair campaign length. Two things set this apart and earn this a 6 instead of 5. 1. The story takes risks. The setting is interesting and the portrayal of it, while thin, is fairly plausible. Then there's great stuff like hiding in a mass grave, missions gone awry and the murder of women and children. 2. Unlike the Call of Duty franchise, the story follows a very linear narrative. You are running from place to place with an occasional conversation between NPC's. It keeps you guessing and wanting more. Worth $5-$10. A great bargain bin game. Expand
  46. May 11, 2011
    5
    I feel like I bought a 2002 game in 2011 and paid 2011 money for it. It's weak. Awhile back it would have been good but games have come too far to put out crap like this. The story is interesting, compelling, it would make for a great movie. The gameplay though, is so broke. You get snagged on things, it's a task to jump over an object sometimes. The graphics are less than you would expectI feel like I bought a 2002 game in 2011 and paid 2011 money for it. It's weak. Awhile back it would have been good but games have come too far to put out crap like this. The story is interesting, compelling, it would make for a great movie. The gameplay though, is so broke. You get snagged on things, it's a task to jump over an object sometimes. The graphics are less than you would expect these days. The campaign is way too short. Mutliplayer is weak too. We have been spoiled with MMO war shooters so the bar is high, this game can't reach the bar, I think you would have a hard time seeing the bar from this game. If you have to play this, pick up a used copy when it costs about $20. Pick it up when Gamestop does those buy 2 used get one free deals. Expand
  47. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    7
    All in all Homefront is a decent game. That said it really has some tragic flaws such as the painfully short campaign and dated graphics. The situation is also just so rediculously improbable that it tends to be laughable. That's not to say it isn't fun to play however. It feels good and the controls are familiar. Despite complaints that people have about the control scheme copyingAll in all Homefront is a decent game. That said it really has some tragic flaws such as the painfully short campaign and dated graphics. The situation is also just so rediculously improbable that it tends to be laughable. That's not to say it isn't fun to play however. It feels good and the controls are familiar. Despite complaints that people have about the control scheme copying COD...well it's a bloody fps what the hell do you expect? Multiplayer is fun as well with 32 player battles and a good integration of vehicles. I give it a solid 7. I wouldn't recommend its purchase, at least right away, but a rent or a preowned copy are pretty good. Expand
  48. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    Homefront would be an amazing game if it were still 2008 because that's when this game looks like it was made. Many of the key components such as graphics, voice acting, and menus really give this game a dated feel and hold it back from being one of the better games to come out this year. Thankfully, there is fun to be had in the online multiplayer. While many of the ideas implementedHomefront would be an amazing game if it were still 2008 because that's when this game looks like it was made. Many of the key components such as graphics, voice acting, and menus really give this game a dated feel and hold it back from being one of the better games to come out this year. Thankfully, there is fun to be had in the online multiplayer. While many of the ideas implemented (leveling up, perks, etc) are borrowed from COD, there are some pretty awesome new concepts and modes you will experience while playing with 31 other people online. The size of the maps and vehicles make this a great departure from COD and kept me playing for quite some time. If your buying this game for the single player compaign, then your buying the wrong game alltogether as it only takes about 5 hours to complete. If its online multiplayer you want, then this could be the game for you as long as you don't mind the dated graphics and loose controls. Expand
  49. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    I only bought this game for the Multiplayer so the Campaign is just an added bonus for me.

    In theory this game is beyond awesome. But once you get to the nitty gritty, this is an unfinished game, bugs galore, dedicated server netcode that places you in games in other continents rather your own. The game is a mess and everything might be resolved in this so called patch 2, but who knows
    I only bought this game for the Multiplayer so the Campaign is just an added bonus for me.

    In theory this game is beyond awesome. But once you get to the nitty gritty, this is an unfinished game, bugs galore, dedicated server netcode that places you in games in other continents rather your own. The game is a mess and everything might be resolved in this so called patch 2, but who knows when that will be coming.
    Expand
  50. May 8, 2011
    5
    DARTHGAMER79

    ¨Men i fell like i buy only a piece of a game for the price of a complete one. i fell ripped off. i think that´s lame. a dlc must be an addition to the hole experience of playing a game and not another part missing on the original game. very very poor and deception¨.
  51. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    Homefront is not as bad as people think from my point of view and it has no reason for it to earn lower than a 5. The Mutli-player was fun to play, the only problem is that the graphic and there were too many camping spots, which is very annoying and I was very disappointed about it. The single player was too short, however its atmosphere was brilliant. THQ just created it which isHomefront is not as bad as people think from my point of view and it has no reason for it to earn lower than a 5. The Mutli-player was fun to play, the only problem is that the graphic and there were too many camping spots, which is very annoying and I was very disappointed about it. The single player was too short, however its atmosphere was brilliant. THQ just created it which is disappointing. The first level you may find out that it was so interesting and you want to know more, on the other hand if you play alone you will feel like it was unfinished. From my point of view, the war in Homefront was complicated and it has no reason to end it so easily. We want to see more aspects from it. Overall, the gameplay was normal, atmosphere was amazing, poor graphic, satisfying controls, created badly compare to people high expectations. It worth a 7 for me. Expand
  52. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    i dont know why ppl give this game a bad score i finished it in 3 hours ok but the gameplay was very entertaining + the battles where on a much better scale then COD more action and harder gameplay COD is much easier this is a real teamplay based war game much more realism then other war games if u like rough gameplay buy this game it wil entertain u till the end.

    my conclusion : shorts
    i dont know why ppl give this game a bad score i finished it in 3 hours ok but the gameplay was very entertaining + the battles where on a much better scale then COD more action and harder gameplay COD is much easier this is a real teamplay based war game much more realism then other war games if u like rough gameplay buy this game it wil entertain u till the end.

    my conclusion : shorts gameplay but much fun / without tactics u wil not survive+ i got COD4 and the gameplay was much to easy - my opinion. HF - less missions but way more harder gameplay - so more realism
    4 the ones wo make wanna give it a try have fun and good luck :D
    Expand
  53. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    The game could be more polished but the story is great any shooter fan should try the single player out its the same 5 hour crap but its worth the rent fee
  54. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was coming in expecting something amazing. I loved the premise - in fact, I love researching things about North Korea. I thought this game was going to be much longer, even stretching to Asia. So, the beginning of the campaign was great. You're dropped right into the action with North Korean soldiers torturing civilians on the streets, and you're stuffed into a bus because your character was a pilot. The bus is ambushed and you're saved by some ragtag freedom fighters, because, once again, your character was a pilot. So, the grand entrance to the game left me expecting something phenomenal, and a game of phenomenal length. After all, this is a lengthy subject. However, at the end, you traveled to San Francisco to deliver fuel to the U.S. Army. So basically, this game is a payload mission with a fancy backdrop. I was absolutely stunned in a negative way when the game ended on the Golden Gate Bridge. The game didn't leave me WANTING more, like a good game should. It left me EXPECTING more. I thought the campaign was going to be a solid 10-20 hours, but instead it was 4. It definitely wasn't worth my money at release, but now it might actually be worth it. The gameplay itself, such as controls, are pretty uniform with approximately every other shooter game on the XBOX 360. One thing that stood out, though, was the lack of ammo. You're pretty much ammo starved half the game and you're forced to pick up a North Korean gun. The latter part was pretty standard, but the kicker is that for every 10 enemy soldiers, only one has the gun model you're after, which is the only way you get ammo. Even then, he probably has half a clip left of ammo. It's a pretty good game, but once you dig deep and realize that the whole game was a payload mission, you feel cheated. Expand
  55. Jul 28, 2011
    7
    Now I just got this game today. When I was buying this game at Gamestop, The guy even asked if I had xbox live because the story was short. So when I got home, I jumped straight into Multiplayer. If you ask me, it's a mix between COD and Battlefield. Personally the only faults I see are: Not so good voice acting, Okay graphics, and kind of slow running. Besides that I think it's well worthNow I just got this game today. When I was buying this game at Gamestop, The guy even asked if I had xbox live because the story was short. So when I got home, I jumped straight into Multiplayer. If you ask me, it's a mix between COD and Battlefield. Personally the only faults I see are: Not so good voice acting, Okay graphics, and kind of slow running. Besides that I think it's well worth the 40 bucks. If you can rent it to see if you like it. It's one of those games where half the people hate it and half the people enjoy it. Me? Im in the middle. Expand
  56. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    "Homefront" really had potential to be a great FPS, but certain aspects of the game prevented that from happening. The campaign was creative and enjoyable, but the shallowness and shortness of it held it back. Multiplayer works, but takes getting used to. The rewards system (BP) could have been developed further with more rewards, but ultimately does its job in the end. THQ threw together"Homefront" really had potential to be a great FPS, but certain aspects of the game prevented that from happening. The campaign was creative and enjoyable, but the shallowness and shortness of it held it back. Multiplayer works, but takes getting used to. The rewards system (BP) could have been developed further with more rewards, but ultimately does its job in the end. THQ threw together "Homefront" with bare minimum effort; if more time was invested in this, they may have had a winner. Expand
  57. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    Average thats what it is the story is fantastical how could North Korea do this there is so much potential missions in North Korea and where is the UK and Canada. The multiplayer is pretty fun but it still dosen't make it good and the graphics are ok
  58. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    Homefront is far from a bad game, it's a pretty good game, but that's it. The gameplay is essentially a copy and paste of any Call of Duty game. The story and premise is outstanding however. The idea of a global war on our Homefront is a simple, yet amazing idea, but I feel like THQ didn't capitalize enough on that idea. My expectations were low so I find this to be a good game, but that'sHomefront is far from a bad game, it's a pretty good game, but that's it. The gameplay is essentially a copy and paste of any Call of Duty game. The story and premise is outstanding however. The idea of a global war on our Homefront is a simple, yet amazing idea, but I feel like THQ didn't capitalize enough on that idea. My expectations were low so I find this to be a good game, but that's it. It's not a masterpiece of a game (Unlike GTA V) it's just a good game. It's very forgettable. A good game, and a fun one, but not at all a groundbreaking one. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    One of the most interesting shooters of the year. [Issue#108, p.114]
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    50
    The core focus of Homefront is online but with rival releases doing this just as well if not better, there isn't any real incentive. A fun rental perhaps, but spend your money elsewhere and you'll thank us.