User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 377 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD. Comparing games like BFBC2 and Homefront to COD is akin to comparing Gran Tourismo to Ridge Racer...HF is a squad based game, if you run around by yourself like a headless chicken hunting for kills you will be dead continuosly. Over HF does a great job in recreating large scale battles in a (somewhat) fresh environment, 32 players on a map is something we dont see too much of on console, vehicular combat, drones etc are easy to control and offer a satisfying experience regardless of skill level. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Excellent game. Ashame the CoD fanboys feel compelled to ruin its user rating though. Which is obvious by the 2 ratings. You can know without doubt that those people did not buy and certainly did not play Homefront. Any website that host user ratings should require some kind of verification that the person actually played the game and played enough of it to offer a review. One way for websites to confirm this would be to link the persons XBLA tag or PSNID. Doing this would allow for a check of trophies and achievements. People who stoop to this level or any FanNerd are beyond help and live in a pathetic world devoid of human contact. They are delusional and do nothing but hurt the hobby they claim to love. These people are fans...they are not gamers...not even close.

    Play Homefront...if you are a True Gamer you will enjoy it.
    Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Finally a new FPS!!! Multiplayer is phenominal with the dedicated servers. The story line is unique and thought provoking. . A great addition to my collection...
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This seems to be one of them love or hate games, with majority of the hate coming from fanboys of Cod games, this game is an absolute great time with a great alternative to Cod, finally a FPS with a really interesting story something never before seem. Homefront=Innovation in FPS
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Being a fan of Battlefield, of course you might be interested in this game. People will try to compare it to COD, but it doesn't have anything to do with COD, it is very similar to Battlefield Bad Company 2, with new features and new concepts. It is a really great game if you are getting it for the multiplayer

    I give it 10 for the multiplayer part alone
  6. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Homefront offers MP features unique to the competition, and is QUITE a bit of fun to play. Awesome maps, a unique mix of infantry/vehicular warfare, and the feeling of fighting in your own backyard are truly welcome additions to the FPS genre. As others have mentioned, graphically Homefront could have used some additional polish. In order to stand up to other FPS competition, Kaos had its work clearly cut out, as CoD and BF have created some truly memorable vistas and set pieces to battle within. While there is nothing WRONG with the visuals, it seems like they world created simply needed more time. The art IS there... the polish IS lacking.

    Bottom line - MP players, worth the buy. Single players (who don't touch MP), the campaign is short and intense. 6-8 hours tops on Normal difficulty.
    Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Call me old fashioned, but I play games for fun. Not that eye-popping graphics or a lengthy campaign can't add to the fun provided by a game, but I've played way too many games with "amazing graphics" lately that bore me to tears. After playing Homefront all night, I can say without a doubt that, though the graphics may not be anything special (they certainly aren't terrible), the game is extremely fun to play. And that sort of seems like what games are supposed to be about. Expand
  8. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Here's the beautiful deal. FPS games are NOT for the single player anymore. Out of the box, the multiplayer is stellar. It doesn't have the destructible like BF, and lacks bullet penetration that made COD innovative years ago, but it does three things perfectly: 1. It has dedicated servers. 2. It's level of customization and perk/killstreak system is second to none. 3. The game is very much "warlike" as opposed to other FPS games that are simply arcade shooters. Anyway, to all of those that downgrade a game because multiplayer is the focus, for shame! Serious gamers don't buy FPS games for single player anymore, it just doesn't provide the gratification from online warfare. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Multiplayer is the highlight of this title. Single player is on the short side but tell a pretty good story. The battle commander feature make the game unique
  10. pip
    Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Homefront provides the gamer with a realist experience of what it's like to fight for your country and your community. It feels real. It's not just a FPS where you blow through people on a map but also provides a human element. The story is totally exciting, new and original and the gameplay is something I have yet to find in other FPS.
  11. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    This game is all about the multiplayer, single player is cool but short. I give 9 because it has room for a lot of fun. I have had some issues with the servers and lag but I am sure that as time goes on THQ and kahos will straighten this problem out. I would definately recommend
  12. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    MULTIPLAYER REVIEW: The multiplayer is best described by saying that it has the vehicle and squad elements of Battlefield: Bad Company 2, It has the pace of Halo Reach or Halo 3, And it has the customization,guns, and graphics of COD 4. The multiplayer is phenomenal i bought this game strictly for the multiplayer, though the campaign is a nice addition, Its has sort of squad elements in it (team strategy) In some situations you may need your friend or other player to start to show targets by marking them in a drone; But you can go lone wolf , though it may be better to stay team focused in Ground Control. The first hour i played this game i did have trouble connecting to a match, but i later found out this was because of the high and unexpected traffic on the servers for this game, this problem has already been addressed by THQ which they have said theyll be putting more servers up. For any one who is having trouble connecting to a match try the skirmish mode as instructed by THQ to get into a match easier. The gunplay is similar to that of COD but it has a sort of halo feel since you can jump rather high. The vehicles control like warthogs (or any other vehicle in halo) from halo. The maps are incredible! They're big an open you dont get that boxed in feeling you get from COD maps, plus theres a map with white castle and hooters, which is awesome!. The battle points make things interesting, its sort of like the kill streaks of COD but less stressful since you can die and still maintain your amount of BPs (Battle Points). This makes things alot funner considering you dont have the frustration of being one kill away from your blackbird or chopper gunner. Over all this games multiplayer is fantastic! Its great and right now i prefer it to COD. Definite buy! GET OUT THERE AND DEFEND YOUR HOMEFRONT! Expand
  13. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. Multiplayer is the most fun I've had since Bad Company 2. Battle Commander and Battle Points are the best thing to happen to multiplayer since killstreak awards. I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of tactical squad base multiplayer. Kill whores stay out. You would be disappointed.
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I must applaud to THQ for creating a game that's risky yet touches emotions. Never thought anyone would recreate the classic gameplay of Half-Life and give it a new twist. Despite the graphics not being competitive with Battlefield and COD, it was the least of my concerns since the campaign was so unique and inspiring with multiplayer features topping recent FPS games.
  15. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Great game. Storyline is well written, captivating and at times a bit scary. Battlepoints in the mulitplayer makes every game well balanced. Way to go THQ and KAOS.
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Great, bold storyline. Eventhough the campign is short, I think it's just the right duration since multiplayer compensate the lifespan of the game. Hope THQ makes a sequel for it. Keep it coming!
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Refreshing new story line. I am glad I bought this on the first day. It is well worth the price of admission. It is better to live it first hand instead of hearing about from others. Just like seeing a new movie, best to see it on the first weekend. I didn't find it that short at all, since all the other games are sometimes long and boring after awhile, however I really hope they can add a few missions. This will make it even stronger. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. I love the story line, it is very unique and evokes a lot of emotion. Everyone seems to agree that the multiplayer is awesome, and if you have not tried it, you are missing out on the best feature of this game.
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Homefront is truly a fantastic game that deserves more credibility than it deserves. It is a truly astounding game that does set new standards in terms of multiplayer and story plots. Homefront is the first game I have ever played in my life that has truly let me see a real war like environment. For example, there are mass graves where the North Koreans dump dead Americans into. That truly shocked me because they dared to be different. They dared to be unique. The people who gave this game a low rating based only on graphics and sound should be ashamed. Comparing Call of Duty to Homefront would be comparing Fallout 3 to Dragon Age Origins. They are two separate games branched off by FPS tags. Graphics, in my opinion, mean art. And there are different types of art, you don't criticize it just because it is different from one standard. The voice acting could be better, yet nevertheless it gets the message across and allows the person to relate to the characters. The story is short and could be beaten in a short time, but if you only want the game for the story, you are really missing out. The multiplayer features a new system that differs greatly from the standard Call of Duty or Battlefield series. You have to earn your vehicles and even special types of killstreaks that you set up. From helicopters to flying drones, from tanks to Napalm strikes, it is unique. It is a very addicting experience and will keep you occupied with a couple of friends as well. Be warned as the servers are not the best as of right now but should be fixed in a patch later in the future. I recommend this game to anyone because it is quick to grasp if you put in effort, and offers a great story and touching story. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    When I was in college I bought my 1st computer to play Delta Force 2. This was in 1999. Since 1999 I have evolved as a online gammer play the Delta Force Series / COD series / etc.. you get my point. This game is ABSOLUTLY AWSOME if you are a true old'skool gamer!!! I have been waiting for a game like this for over 6 years. This game takes skill, actually all the skills that were needed for OLD-SKool games like DeltaFocre. I assume that non-skilled gammers that compare a game to Blackops etc will not like this game cause they are n00bs and do not have the gamming skills that old-skool gamers have. They need lag and tin can maps to try to win. This game is OLD-SKOOL BABY!!!! IF you have no skill don't bother getting it. Granted it is a bit buggy it is 100% better that Blackops and battlefield bad company 2. The people that give this game a bad review are children that base there gamming experience on the call of duty franchise. This game will go far.. Expand
  21. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I just bought the game today and, so far, I am enjoying it. The single player follows are great story (but its to short!!!) and has a neat style. The real gameplay is at the multiplayer, where you can play in a 16 v 16 match! The unique features such as battle points and the realistic guns make the multiplayer enjoyable. However, the graphics and sound could use some major tweaking. The graphics need to be good in order to match up to other FPS's. But I still like the game and will continue playing and liking it. Expand
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This was a great game and much different than the other shooters out now, so graphics aren't spectacular, but the game play is very impressive. Overall, an amazing shooter that will stand alone compared to the other shooters out now.
  23. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT! Lives up to the hype! Playing right now! Graphics are good Gameplay is GREAT! The Battle Point system is similar to CoD, but there are new and more interesting toys.
  24. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Coming from BlackOps, where every time I played it got less and less fun, to this is refreshing. I'm not big into single player, but this one pulled me in, and while i'm not an excellent player, I found turning off aim-assist and playing normal mode was challenging. Multiplayer I got my a** handed to me for the first hour till i got a good feel, then i got enough points to get vehicles and ride in choppers. Really does level the playing field, which is full of chaos! Thank you! Expand
  25. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    great game holds its own for a thq game witch thq is mostly known for sports and mx vs atv games.....they did a great job. i have no idea why you guys think its so bad sure its not comparable to call of duty and battle field BC2 but its some thing new and its a lot of fun.
  26. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    Homefront is a decent FPS. It looks a little dated but over all very playable. The whole North Korea taking us over storyline is a very cool concept. The multiplayer is definitely great with the up to 32 players involved in the game. It takes more teamwork in this game during the multiplayer than with Call of Duty. I think it is a cool direction to go in with FPS. If the graphics were better, I would give it a 10 but since they aren't it gets a nine. Expand
  27. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    Homefront brought a great fresh look to the FPS genre that is being run into the ground by COD with yearly game releases with the same bland story and generic setting. Homefront took the time to make an incredibly immersive, powerful story that, while being much too short, brought emotions out that no game has before. The entire time playing the game, I felt like I really was the character, while dashing between cover when facing that first sentry, while assisting your team in the raids, while fighting every last KOR soldier, I felt immersed in the game. The graphics and AI are a little dated, with other minor issues, but overall the singleplayer was very well done.

    The multiplayer added a few fresh things to the genre as well. The "killstreak" system of high priority targets in Commander mode was a nice twist, and generally gameplay was crisp and rewarding. Overall, despite a few flaws in the design, the stylistic environment of the game, great story, and fresh gameplay make Homefront worth checking out if you appreciate good story and atmosphere over "prestige."
    Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    I don't play campaign modes so will not comment on that. The developer has mixed a bit of COD and BFBC with their own flavor in to a fun and fresh multi-player adventure featuring a great variety of guns, tanks, choppers and much more. The action is intense and the maps large, well designed and offer everyone an opportunity to play according to their style. The perks system is great and varied once again allowing the player to have a vast amount of choices. The graphics are good the sound is particularly well done allowing for judgement of distance. This is a great game worth every penny and congrats are in order to the development team that was ably to break in to the FPS monopoly. There's only so much you can do to a war game to make it different and if you go to far you risk ruining it. I think Homefront has nailed it! It's got just about all you would want a good war game to have.

    It's sad to see the "pro" reviews, clearly there is something working behind what we read...cash?..advertising deals? I don't know, but any once of reputability they had with me is now gone.

    As for the brain washed fayboy morons posting scores of 0, 1 and so on, it's expected and to be disregarded as pure ignorant horse crap.

    Great game! See you guy's at Hooters!
    Expand
  29. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really can't understand why a lot of people are hating on this game. The campaign is short, yes, however that's the only thing that I don't like about it. The story itself is very good, something new. And at the moment I'm having the best multiplayer experience I've had in any game so far. Graphics look nice, don't really think their outdated at all. So I would recommend it. Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Homefront provides the gamer with a realist experience of what it's like to fight for your country and your community. It feels real. It's not just a FPS where you blow through people on a map but also provides a human element. The story is totally exciting, new and original and the gameplay is something I have yet to find in other FPS. Expand
  31. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Honestly, this game is great. Its a multiplayer game, and not so much of a campaign game. The campaign may not be so good, but i give a 10 just for the multiplayer. It's definately not CoD, which makes it different and fun as hell. I can guarantee that all the people who dont like this game were just expecting another "CoD-like game". well its not, so get over it. On the other hand, the graphics arent that bad. i dont see why everyone is saying that they are terrible, Im not saying they're the best.. but they're not bad. This is going to keep me playing for a while Expand
  32. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    An intriguing shooter, storyline makes you ponder future possibilities of life and war. I was able to get into the multiplayer twice and liked what I saw. I'm itching to get back in there. Hopefully they get more servers up to take care of the demand with overwhelming intial response of the game. I'm glad somthing new is finally out.. Got to give it some time to really see its capabilities... Expand
  33. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Well where to begin yeah sure all games have their flaws and in somecases the game glitches people have to remember this in a brand new game line there will be many more to come from what i have seen. Homefront seems like it can become a great franchise game because the story has its twists and turns and it dosent have all of the same animations as call of duty everytime you play call of duty people jump out of the map and into it either that or jump out of helicopters come on home front is not doing that it has a solid story behind it the graphics are amazing. they are using the same graphics set as the new battlefield 3 game. call of duty is dieing out at a slow pace either call of duty changes stuff up or it will be forgotten. Expand
  34. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Like Medal of Honor before it, Homefront has two distinct personalities but in this instance is all the better for it. While the story mode is an engaging, brilliantly written and emotionally wrenching experience, its brevity may deter gamers not interested in dropping dozens of hours into the addictive multiplayer aspect. In their case, a rental is strongly encouraged. On the other hand, if youâ Expand
  35. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    This is a very good game and don't let some of these fools make you think otherwise. Sure the single player didn't really live up to my expectations but I am REALLY enjoying this game. The story just wasn't there for me, I enjoyed the idea and attempted to care about the story and characters but I just didn't at all. The SP is nothing different from any other PFS you will find out there and it is pretty short, but there are some very cool scenes to experience. The multiplayer is the meat and 'tatoes of this game. I can't express enough how much I enjoy it, the past couple of years I only really played the last two Call of Duty's as far as console MP games and it was such a nice change of pace. There is a big sense of teamwork and I find a lot of players attempting to communicate with their team while in MW2 and Black Ops everyone is too focused on maintaining their immaculate K/D and getting an obnoxious killstreak.

    The battle points system takes the focus off of the long term of your stats and really makes you care about the battle at hand and how you can use them the right way to help your team to win. Although there are few guns I've found myself sticking to a couple anyway and with all the other things you can do in this game it doesn't even phase you. You can use humvees, APCs, tanks, helicopters, and drones. The battles really get crazy after a while with cluster bombs going off and tanks rolling around everywhere, they really captured the sense of a full scale battle. The hit boxes in this game seem really small though. You can be sniping with your cross hairs directly on their head and not hit them at all but in close quarters you don't notice it really. There is also no aim assist and it makes the gunplay tougher due to it but I personally enjoy it, you can't just spray at medium range and take someone out. Also, I've only experienced a noticeable frame rate drop once since I started playing this game and I'm almost a level 50... I have no idea what that reviewer was talking about.

    There are a few quirks about this game though, for one you can't shoot through almost any surface which is pretty odd to me. Also some of the guns sound very cheesy which really bugged me at first but you get over it. Sometimes when i send out a parrot drone it wont let me change the altitude, but I merely just have to leave it and go back then it works fine. Trying to find a game can be difficult but recently it has been running perfectly. With any new game there will be little issues but nothing that is a game changer to me. On the whole this is a good game and very well worth your money if you are looking for a good multiplayer shooter. Some people might be sad because it's not Activision's money whoring machine but considering this being a new IP from a smaller developer I think they did a great job. With huge battles like this there are a lot of different ways to play this game that appeals to a lot of different play styles. I think if people merely gave it a shot they would really enjoy it.
    Expand
  36. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    I think that this game is really good, and it's being criticized for being a COD replica. But here's the thing... why can't anyone just play a game without saying it's not as good as cod, or it is cod? I mean seriously, this game is Homefront, not cod, so stop saying that it's cod. Saying that homefront is like cod is like saying Oblivion is like Dragon age, they are the same genre but totally different story and game play etc. Plus this game is BETTER than black ops anyway, since it has better game modes, and the maps are just fantastic. I would have given it a 10 but the single player is too short and the AI is stupid as **** lol. I would recommend this game, even if some COD fanboys want to downgrade it... Expand
  37. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give it a 9. More like a 9.5, but since the meter doesn't allow that, just 9. I'm going to split this into campaign and multiplayer sections each with my own score in them. Since the controls fall under both sections, I'll just list it here. The aiming vertically seems to be rather slower than aiming horizontally, which sort of bugs me, and moving the selection box while moving around the main menu, multiplayer menu, etc. it doesn't register me moving the stick up unless I push it so far forward and hold it there, just for it to start jumping up rather quick. I'm sure the stick will start to bend soon if I have to keep doing this. It isn't my controller either, everything else works just fine for me. Also, it's rather annoying to get used to having knife and crouch switched on the controls after every other FPS game I've played had the option to have B as knife and right stick as crouch while leaving everything else the same.


    Campaign: 9.0
    -The campaign was quite entertaining, especially the goliath sections. However, it just seemed to have ended too short. Don't get me wrong here (if you somehow do), I wanted it to go on longer because I was thoroughly entertained with the campaign. So long as they didn't repeat the segments they already did twice (ie. the sniper missions, slow mo moments and goliath rampages) it could have been quite more entertaining.

    -AI were rather annoying. They often got stuck in Hallways meaning I couldn't get past them either so I had to restart from last checkpoint just to get them out of my ways. It's quite annoying also with them having a sort of big invisible box around them where you can't go and if you do you get pushed out of the way. This was one of the reasons why I got stuck.

    -There are parts in the game where if you step on certain things, you get stuck. I went over by a bus on the golden gate bridge and crouched on a pile of random junk sitting there, and I couldn't move and was rapidly moving up and down. I had to restart from the last checkpoint because of that.

    -Movement feels rather clunky, and I often would get caught on a box or stuck on a shelf trying to run behind it for cover, only to be shot in the back because of that.

    -Slow mo moments like in CoD were something I've always hated in FPS games, and this was not different. The 2 times it happened it was rather more annoying than fun.


    Multiplayer:10
    Best multiplayer I've played in a while. I haven't been able to put it down since day 1. Whether with or without friends, it's still rather fun. It still has an issue or 2 though, but nothing that's so bad it would really affect the score. The weapon unlock and attachment unlock system is rather good at making you want to unlock stuff for a gun or the gun in general.


    Bottom line: It's a game not focused on campaign otherwise it would be longer, but the multiplayer is a must have. This game seriously needs better reviews. It doesn't deserve some of the extremely low ones shown here, but maybe it's just because I got the hang of multiplayer rather early on that I think so highly of it. GET THIS GAME.
    Expand
  38. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This is one of those games you have to play before you judge. A lot of reviews are saying it's good at best. I bought this game this afternoon and finished it in about five hours. But it was some of the best five hours of my life. Sure, the graphics aren't groundbreaking like some of the games coming out later this year but that doesn't really matter to me. It still looks great. The soundtrack fits perfectly but the voice acting isn't the best. The story itself is great. I haven't been this immersed in a game since Half-Life 2. The campaign has some epic moment especially towards the end of the game. It could have been longer but I'm very happy with what I got. Multiplayer is amazing... when it actually works. It could be just me, I don't know, but my friend and I weren't able to join a match together. Then when we did finally get into a match we were on opposite teams. It also lagged a lot to the point where I got incredibly frustrated and may have broken my controller. But when it does decide to work, it's perfect. Guns are balanced, vehicles are easy to use and the emphasis on teamwork really makes the game more fun. It is very similar to Bad Company 2 but I'm finding it more fun. The BattlePoints system is a great little invention and can save your ass if you use it right. The maps are huge and perfect for the 32 player ground control matches.

    In my opinion, Homefront is a great game. The campaign is short but sweet, and the multiplayer will keep you playing for a long time.
    Expand
  39. ALL
    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This game is terrible!!! It looks like an old Xbox game! I'm sure the story line would be great, but the game looks so terrible and is so glitchy that it's not even worth playing! Unfortunately, it's even worse on multiplayer! Computer and Video Games says that it's multiplayer is better than CoD??? Insane!! It's the worst!! Glitchy, hack ridden, and awful to look at, and that's if you can get into a match. Of course none of the 32 player matches work either because the developers didn't know what they were doing and had no Quality Control. They should take the 32 player advertisements down, because it's impossible to get into those matches. Expand
  40. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I must say that the single player isnt all that bad but it is a nice compliment to the extremely fun multiplayer. This is not cod and thats the reason why people prob dont like it. You can camp in corners it it new and fresh. Alot of the server issues have been fixed and the graphics are well done and with all the vehicles and explosions that are going on you will be suprised that the game does not slow to a crawl. before you spawn in you see a over view of the field so if there is a spawn camper you dont get cheated. I has a buddy play it and couldnt get enough of it he loved all the action going on and all the vehicles and weapons you could purchase with battle points. I tried to go to black ops but couldnt get into it for the main that is just that it isnt much fun. If you want something differant and you give this game a chance you will love this game and esp if you play your role as either a sniper or you like to assault youll get the bang for your buck but if you cod no scope try to kill people you will get schooled. Play it give it a chance youll love it and wont go back to cod trust me I did and cod will get traded in. Expand
  41. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    This game is refreshing. It is nice to play a different game besides Call of Duty for a change. And letâ
  42. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Played the SP in 3 hours so not the longest game but i had fun for all that time. NPC char animation is not the best but works. MP is whole different thing. Its hectic, fast and ofc FUN. It breaths some fresh air to the genre. Think like COD+BF-BC2 with abit arcade touch. Played few matches and had no lag to say. Fast load times etc. Good variety of maps with nice themes. Really hoping we get more maps and stuff to use in MP. Expand
  43. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    A lot of the reviews I've read about this game really irk me to no end. While it is understandable for publications to focus on the single player aspects of a game a bit more than the multiplayer portions as many people who purchase games do not have xbox live, I nonetheless find this focus entirely off-base. The single player campaign only serves as a backdrop to Homefront's outstandingly enjoyable online package and is nothing more than a diversion to spend a few hours time once online becomes somewhat stale; THQ's marketing campaign is probably most at fault for over-hyping the campaign while under-selling multiplayer. It sickens me that so many Metacritic users are ignorant **** when it comes to rating a game. I mean, I understand if Homefront isn't your thing, but is it really deserving of a 0? It's a solid yet somewhat unspectacular multiplayer rich game that should be appreciated by any Bad Company 2 fan. Expand
  44. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    OK so the single player is short and buggy. I love the Multiplayer! It is to me a great blend between battlefield and COD games. The battle point system is very unique and lets skill be a determining factor instead of who gets to what first, or constant spamming of noob tubes. Very good system. and 32 person Multiplayer experience on the 360 with this much carnage is very very cool. Environment is not destructible but to me that is just a minor drawback. Awesome Multiplayer. Crappy single player. Expand
  45. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Poor quality PC game, unfinished and rushed out 1 week before before Crysis 2 to try and mop up some sales. 5 year old game engine (Unreal one) and it shows, 3 hours to complete the single player, multiplayer awful, took it back to the retailer and got a full refund (UK) under the Sales of Goods Act 1979. If you have not yet commited to buy, dont bother,save your cash as this best summed up as woeful. Expand
  46. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The part about recent games like COD and MOHAA is that you play as an "operator" an expert in killing and doing your countries bidding no questions asked. This was a departure from the wonderful history and sometimes funny history of those games that I loved. It was not about the skill of the killer but the story of the war and the person fighting, just an average joe making good. Who cant remember fighting armed German Shepards or Nutcrackers. I loved the story here and got immersed in it. That is what I look for a little escape, a little indignant righting of wrongs at the expense of an old foe.

    The Homefront Story put you in the middle of those who have lost the ability to question what they are doing and those that have not yet lost that little piece of humanity that says, "crap I am killing people." I think the story telling in this game is so worth the play and ownership. I look forward to the next addition to what I hope will be a great franchise. The company, I think we are seeing the beginnings of greatness. I have started companies, you have to make the best of what you have. I think that is what we are seeing of the graphics. But yet my old 360 kept up with this game just fine.

    With the crap stories out of the likes of COD lately I have not been able to break myself from playing HALO 3, I think I have found something new to play. I wish they would return to storytelling. I mean really, I would kill a room full of North Koreans who invaded my country but I would never mow down innocent civilians in a russian airport even if ordered to. Here I was a volunteer and not an operator.
    Expand
  47. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How peoples can hate on this game is understandable, it is not doing anything new(except game mods). I will say if you are not any grafikk nazi you should try this game. The game smash together CoD and BFBC2. In a great way. But peoples have any new fps been super new lately?

    Instead of camping like a noob and getting the 25-ks you earn "BP".(The game has campers, but doesn't every game have it?) With BP you buy rewards(Kill streaks). The game has a focus on teamplay that makes the game fun to play with friends. You can buy from little uav's to giant tanks. From Air to ground, you name it. Tons of fun with new weapons and camos!
    CoD players should not come here and complain about the game grafikks. If you ask me, i haven seen ay changes in the grafikk on the CoD since MW1.

    Great game, you should probably give it a shot!
    Expand
  48. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    I gave this amazing game a 10/10 because the single player was good and believable and the MP is AMAZING. Atleast it was much better then CoD's. The MP is pretty much the large scale warfare of BF and the fast pacing of CoD
  49. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    What is it with reviewers.I have my favorites but sometimes they just get it wrong completely.This game was hyped up yes but so was black ops.Actually black ops, to me,is the most hyped game in history.Side by side they have there strong points and weak points and at the end of the day there both awesome but both even in score.Homefront is the game that we all think of in the back of our minds and wonder about and THQ goes ahead and makes the game we have all wanted to play and WOW is the game good.Everyone says the single player is to story well it's not and to top it off it's one of the most emotional campaigns I have ever played in a war game.Play the game once,you got around 7 hours and the emotion factor alone will make you play it twice, at least,so go figure.The graphics have been done better but still spot on,the multi-player is killer,replay factor--Amazing.We all want more of a story in war based games,it happens and you still complain.It deserves a straight 9 with no doubts. Expand
  50. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I've played CoD:MW3 and although it's a great shooter, it feels claustrophobic; the game play is "in your face". That said, Homefront feels open and strategic, which is my preferred FPS type. My only gripe that as of the date of this post, I am finding fewer battles on the DLC servers. What's the point of DLC maps when no one is using them? Otherwise, I will continue to enjoy this game for a long while! If you play look me up on Xbox Live: lucas38. Expand
  51. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    After having spent time with both the campaign and multiplayer I can say with certainty that the people who claim only that "the graphics suck", "the game is too short", and "the multiplayer is laggy" are not being entirely honest with you. On the topic of graphics the game uses a cell-shaded finish similar to but not as distinct as the game Borderlands to reduce the contrast of the colors making it easier on the eyes when played over long periods of time. When you read that the length of the campaign is too short they are not inaccurate, the story is not very long (took me 3.5 hours to complete on normal) but it is worth a solid 200+ gamerscore for those who just "rent" games from GameStop. As far as the content of the campaigns story goes you get a solid story about survival in enemy occupied territory with a cast of strong if sometimes unwilling heroes trying to survive that has caused some people to denounce the game only on the basis that you see dead Americans or that you kill fellow Americans but this isn't really a good enough reason to say a game sucks cuz it strikes close to home for some. Now on the topic of the games unique multiplayer a few misconceptions need to first be dispelled which can rectify Homefront as a very solid shooter experience that makes it worth having over COD or MOH. First when you read that alot of people were unable to connect or that the game is laggy it isnt due to a server issue but rather people with crap internet getting put as host and then going on to whine about it on the internet, second the people who claim that the damage tables are unfair need to use the flax vest item more often, and third the vehicles in the game may be less realistic than BBC2 but they work better for a more speed-ball type shooter than an APG type game such as BBC2. All in all I in my own humble oppinion think that Homefront while not a major title like Halo, BBC, or COD is a shooter that can hold its own and deserves a decent rating. Expand
  52. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    OK people keep giving bad scores because of the campain well in my opinion the campain is very good and acually its more unique than the call of duty's campains. And they say its to short, well so are the call of duty games but people still like them. The story is interesting, the graphics are pretty good, the guns are pretty cool and the story has that kinda grip you get on a character that you like then they make you wander if he will die or live. There are alot of WOW moments and some are are just kinda "sick" (im not going into detail) This is a good twist away from the CoD series. The multiplayer matches can hold up to 32 players per match which is pretty cool but this also had the same amount as bad company. I thought this was a really good buy, it has everything you could ask for. Good graphics, good guns, good story, lots of explosions. The story also has moment you might want to go back to once you complete them and can replay that mission as well. This was a solid 9/10 Expand
  53. May 30, 2011
    9
    This game is hugely underrated. the multiplayer is brilliant and so is the campaign. and the campaign isn't actually that short its around the same length as black ops. must buy.
  54. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Homefront has a multiplayer like no other, i believe better than most games out even today. I have more fun playing online on Homefront than any other FPS because of one reason. Its different! Sure the core gameplay might be pretty standard but the gametypes and "Battle point" system is unique and fun. Much better than any kill-streak rewards system. Another great feature is the 32 person multiplayer, which is one of the most(if not THE most) players than on any other FPS game. It really makes the games hectic and fun. The vehicles are nicely done in Homefront multiplayer, allowing players to customize their vehicles to their play style. The way you need to earn points before buying a vehicle is a great way to stop "vehicle spawn camping" and make everyone go into battle before setting foot in any vehicle. The single player campaign was not horrible, but not great. It was too short to have been worth $60, but while you are playing the campaign, you will most likely be having great fun. Homefront is great game, but was burdened bad reviews since it was released around the time of Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2 owning the FPS playerbase. Expand
  55. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Dis GRorious game proporly dipicts the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. The Korea's People Army faught groriously agianst the whtie pigs of America. Kim Jong Un approfves of this game. XBOX BEST CONSOLE. NORTH KOREA BEST KOREA. It is like Skyrim with CoD.
  56. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Homefront is not just another Call Of Duty wannabe - it's a truly stunning game. Although the story is a little short, and the voice acting can be patchy.
    To look at the good points, the game has great, albeit generic, mechanics and a brilliantly realised campaign. The campaign may seem a little far-fetched, however, once you delve through the first hour or so of the game, you see just
    how realistic the game is. Whereas in other shooters, such as Call Of Duty, you feel no real empathy for the characters, in Homefront we see soldiers suffering with an illness called 'PTSD' (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), which shows how much though the developers put into it. The campaign is genuinely touching at times, and it doesn't feel like faceless enemies you're shooting, as in other shooters. You genuinely feel a reason to dislike these enemies. Throughout the course of the game, you become strongly attached to the characters. It's clear the game is inspired by Call Of Duty by its mechanics. Even the multiplayer is outstanding, As I've mentioned, its mechanics are brilliant, and this combined with tactical killstreaks and large maps creates an immersive experience.
    The few reasons the game does not achieve a rating of 10 include the generic gameplay - it's similar to other shooters, but the exceptional campaign and multiplayer certainly make up for this.
    I think that this game is awfully underrated - a brilliant game. A forgotten gem, which is certain to make it into any shooter fan's top ten list.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    70
    One of the most interesting shooters of the year. [Issue#108, p.114]
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    50
    The core focus of Homefront is online but with rival releases doing this just as well if not better, there isn't any real incentive. A fun rental perhaps, but spend your money elsewhere and you'll thank us.