Homefront Xbox 360

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 397 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2016
    3
    Homefront is a terrible futuristic FPS.

    The gameplay is an awful COD rip-off,and keep in mind I really don't rate many of the COD games.The AI for both your allies and enemies are stupid.The level design is ridiculously linear too. The graphics are decent,with consistent framerate problems. The story is interesting admittedly,but it is not as well-developed as I'd have liked.
    Homefront is a terrible futuristic FPS.

    The gameplay is an awful COD rip-off,and keep in mind I really don't rate many of the COD games.The AI for both your allies and enemies are stupid.The level design is ridiculously linear too.

    The graphics are decent,with consistent framerate problems.

    The story is interesting admittedly,but it is not as well-developed as I'd have liked.

    The sound design is mediocre,and the soundtrack is hilariously bad.

    Overall,Homefront is a straight-up waste of your time.
    Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2016
    5
    There is incredible potential, potential that's wasted on a game that can be knocked out in an afternoon. The multiplayer has its moments, but it's not enough to help just a largely forgettable game. Homefront feels like a discount Call of Duty with Red Dawn thrown in just for fun. This game has rightfully been forgotten.
  3. Sep 9, 2015
    0
    my f*cking god it's so baddddddd eh eh MEHHH MEEEHHH MEEWEEEWEEE terrible gaym bad gwafikz bad voys actyn nd bad shuutin not enuff liek cod lulz rainbow land im trippy af dawgz yh i be sm0kin dat kush um.. anyway this gaym iz bad no buy it plz.... i beg u plzzz
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Dis GRorious game proporly dipicts the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. The Korea's People Army faught groriously agianst the whtie pigs of America. Kim Jong Un approfves of this game. XBOX BEST CONSOLE. NORTH KOREA BEST KOREA. It is like Skyrim with CoD.
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Homefront is not just another Call Of Duty wannabe - it's a truly stunning game. Although the story is a little short, and the voice acting can be patchy.
    To look at the good points, the game has great, albeit generic, mechanics and a brilliantly realised campaign. The campaign may seem a little far-fetched, however, once you delve through the first hour or so of the game, you see just
    Homefront is not just another Call Of Duty wannabe - it's a truly stunning game. Although the story is a little short, and the voice acting can be patchy.
    To look at the good points, the game has great, albeit generic, mechanics and a brilliantly realised campaign. The campaign may seem a little far-fetched, however, once you delve through the first hour or so of the game, you see just how realistic the game is. Whereas in other shooters, such as Call Of Duty, you feel no real empathy for the characters, in Homefront we see soldiers suffering with an illness called 'PTSD' (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), which shows how much though the developers put into it. The campaign is genuinely touching at times, and it doesn't feel like faceless enemies you're shooting, as in other shooters. You genuinely feel a reason to dislike these enemies. Throughout the course of the game, you become strongly attached to the characters. It's clear the game is inspired by Call Of Duty by its mechanics. Even the multiplayer is outstanding, As I've mentioned, its mechanics are brilliant, and this combined with tactical killstreaks and large maps creates an immersive experience.
    The few reasons the game does not achieve a rating of 10 include the generic gameplay - it's similar to other shooters, but the exceptional campaign and multiplayer certainly make up for this.
    I think that this game is awfully underrated - a brilliant game. A forgotten gem, which is certain to make it into any shooter fan's top ten list.
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    I have played many games in my life, most shooters have the same story line but instead of Communist its aliens. Homefront is for the most part a horrible game, controls are dated, shooting is down right broken, and the AI is annoying. The idea is there, this could of been a really good futuristic shooter since it takes place twenty years from now but instead it goes for bad voice acting,I have played many games in my life, most shooters have the same story line but instead of Communist its aliens. Homefront is for the most part a horrible game, controls are dated, shooting is down right broken, and the AI is annoying. The idea is there, this could of been a really good futuristic shooter since it takes place twenty years from now but instead it goes for bad voice acting, predictable endings to chapters and worse of all it takes it self way to seriously. I get that the whole world is under control and all but i don't care about any of the characters simple because they are all cliches. Even you are a cliche, the silent hero who is thrown into a situation because quote" you have Korean blood on your hands, welcome to the resistance." Why is the person in charge trusting a complete stranger to help them fight. This same guy also had another person who was his "friend" help him get weapons to fight back the KPA and he betrays his ass. He is bad at been a leader. All of this together makes for one of the worst games I played this year. Homefront gets a three out of ten because of its lack of creativity, yes this game does have a cool idea but it holds to many punches and is a let down. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    Average thats what it is the story is fantastical how could North Korea do this there is so much potential missions in North Korea and where is the UK and Canada. The multiplayer is pretty fun but it still dosen't make it good and the graphics are ok
  8. Aug 14, 2012
    4
    Homefront was a major disappointment. I was excited by the hype and the unique advertising campaign. Plus, I respected the nod to cult classic Red Dawn. The concept was ambitious, but the game fell through in execution. The primary complaint was with the short and easy solo campaign. It took less the 3 hrs on the hardest difficulty. I started after breakfast and it wasn't lunch by the timeHomefront was a major disappointment. I was excited by the hype and the unique advertising campaign. Plus, I respected the nod to cult classic Red Dawn. The concept was ambitious, but the game fell through in execution. The primary complaint was with the short and easy solo campaign. It took less the 3 hrs on the hardest difficulty. I started after breakfast and it wasn't lunch by the time I finished. But even deeper, the environmental interaction was lacking, the set pieces were static, and the graphics were sub par. As for minor gripes, why were there so few weapons? I understand that the Korean military may have standard armaments, but where was the variety associated with American personal arsenals? Where were the hunting rifles from the good old boys and the MAC-10's from LA's street gangs? Further, where were these groups in the game in general? As I'm running through the story, the conquest of America seemed to be very easy compared to any semblance of reality. Sadly, the potential character development is lost in the rush of the barely present plot. So potentially interesting characters are one-note. Will all that said, yes there is multiplayer to up the replay value a little, but it's nothing you haven't seen before and doesn't compare with top tier games like COD and BF3. Much like the solo campaign, the multiplayer is anything but remarkable. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    Homefront has a great setting. The campaign, while short, is excellent while it lasted. Multiplayer is surprisingly fun. Now, while I'm not one to really complain about graphics, the graphics for this game really needed more polishing. Even on my HD TV, grenade markers were almost impossible to see, and trying to shoot someone from a distance was problematic. This game is fun - but if youHomefront has a great setting. The campaign, while short, is excellent while it lasted. Multiplayer is surprisingly fun. Now, while I'm not one to really complain about graphics, the graphics for this game really needed more polishing. Even on my HD TV, grenade markers were almost impossible to see, and trying to shoot someone from a distance was problematic. This game is fun - but if you hate game mechanics that needed more polishing (e.g. sprinting is a bit broken) and a bad graphical game, don't buy this. If you can handle all the problems of this game has, you will have a lot of fun playing this Expand
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    Homefront has a multiplayer like no other, i believe better than most games out even today. I have more fun playing online on Homefront than any other FPS because of one reason. Its different! Sure the core gameplay might be pretty standard but the gametypes and "Battle point" system is unique and fun. Much better than any kill-streak rewards system. Another great feature is the 32 personHomefront has a multiplayer like no other, i believe better than most games out even today. I have more fun playing online on Homefront than any other FPS because of one reason. Its different! Sure the core gameplay might be pretty standard but the gametypes and "Battle point" system is unique and fun. Much better than any kill-streak rewards system. Another great feature is the 32 person multiplayer, which is one of the most(if not THE most) players than on any other FPS game. It really makes the games hectic and fun. The vehicles are nicely done in Homefront multiplayer, allowing players to customize their vehicles to their play style. The way you need to earn points before buying a vehicle is a great way to stop "vehicle spawn camping" and make everyone go into battle before setting foot in any vehicle. The single player campaign was not horrible, but not great. It was too short to have been worth $60, but while you are playing the campaign, you will most likely be having great fun. Homefront is great game, but was burdened bad reviews since it was released around the time of Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2 owning the FPS playerbase. Expand
  11. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    Haven't played the multiplayer, but reviews say it's good. Single-player campaign is hugely enjoyable, very polished, and great fun. However it only took me around 6 hours - therefore I would suggest renting it, not buying it (unless you're a huge multiplayer fan.)
  12. Jun 12, 2012
    5
    I was fairly excited for Homefront when it was released. A group of about 3 of my friends and I all bought it, with the expectation that we'd play it online together. What wound up happening wa, after playing a little bit online, we all shelved it and never spoke of it again. The campaign is pretty short and forgettable, where you ultimately spend most of your time waiting around forI was fairly excited for Homefront when it was released. A group of about 3 of my friends and I all bought it, with the expectation that we'd play it online together. What wound up happening wa, after playing a little bit online, we all shelved it and never spoke of it again. The campaign is pretty short and forgettable, where you ultimately spend most of your time waiting around for someone to move tipped over refrigerators so you can continue to the next area. Multiplayer is... well... it felt like a cross between Battlefield and Call of Duty, and not in a good way. Guns sound and function almost exactly alike, there is little customization, and killstreaks are bizarre and unbalanced. Expand
  13. May 30, 2012
    5
    It doesn't do anything that new. Feeling like an uncomfortable blend between the familiar elements of COD and Battlefield. There's really not enough here to recommend it. The campaign is way too short and a lot of the multiplayer maps are very similar. The fighting itself is actually pretty decent, but spawn camping with vehicles is a major problem on some maps and with games that do theIt doesn't do anything that new. Feeling like an uncomfortable blend between the familiar elements of COD and Battlefield. There's really not enough here to recommend it. The campaign is way too short and a lot of the multiplayer maps are very similar. The fighting itself is actually pretty decent, but spawn camping with vehicles is a major problem on some maps and with games that do the same things better, why would you honestly bother? Expand
  14. May 10, 2012
    8
    I purchased Homefront as a pre-order and read the book in advance if it's release, so I was a "fanboy" before it arrived on store shelves. The day it came out my wife picked up the game and I headed to Metacritic and saw that it was receiving poor reviews from both gamers and critics. I returned the game, unopened, that day. Having played the online and single player version the past 30+I purchased Homefront as a pre-order and read the book in advance if it's release, so I was a "fanboy" before it arrived on store shelves. The day it came out my wife picked up the game and I headed to Metacritic and saw that it was receiving poor reviews from both gamers and critics. I returned the game, unopened, that day. Having played the online and single player version the past 30+ days and having put in over 40 hours so far I can honestly say I wish that I had never read the reviews and had just enjoyed the game! I put the game on its hardest setting and spent a good 15 hours slugging it out with what I felt was a good AI in single player mode. I have put in another 30 or so hours on multiplayer and I am still enjoying it! I would say given its current price-point it is a good buy for $19.95. Given that you need a code that comes with all unopened copies of the game, you should buy a new version or you will need to spend the MS points to get to the multiplayer option. Lastly, the add on multiplayer levels are on a separate server and there are very few players using them, don't waste your money on these unless you have a friend who wants to duke it out with you on these levels! I give the game an 8 out of 10. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2012
    0
    Gotta give it a zero. Expand the page for more information.. Like, the beginning scenes are horrible. That is the most obscene, brutal, emotionally and mentally changing scenes. If you look out the window of the bus in the beginning, I saw things that made me want to cry. I got 10 minutes in and had to stop just from my mentality. These THQ tards should be thrown in jail for suchGotta give it a zero. Expand the page for more information.. Like, the beginning scenes are horrible. That is the most obscene, brutal, emotionally and mentally changing scenes. If you look out the window of the bus in the beginning, I saw things that made me want to cry. I got 10 minutes in and had to stop just from my mentality. These THQ tards should be thrown in jail for such emotionally nerve-racking, brutal, and graphic scenes. Expand
  16. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got this game just yesterday. And am sincerely disappointed with the reviews fellow gamers are giving this game. I give this game a generous 8 only because of the choppiness that occurs at times throughout the game. Although the single player campaign is short is very well written and it actually triggered an emotional response at the very beginning of the game when you're being taken on the bus and being driven through the city. Shockingly, even this far out after release there is a strong presence online for the multiplayer. The game worth a look if you're looking for something outside of the mainline garbage that is being spewed by most studios. Expand
  17. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    "Homefront" really had potential to be a great FPS, but certain aspects of the game prevented that from happening. The campaign was creative and enjoyable, but the shallowness and shortness of it held it back. Multiplayer works, but takes getting used to. The rewards system (BP) could have been developed further with more rewards, but ultimately does its job in the end. THQ threw together"Homefront" really had potential to be a great FPS, but certain aspects of the game prevented that from happening. The campaign was creative and enjoyable, but the shallowness and shortness of it held it back. Multiplayer works, but takes getting used to. The rewards system (BP) could have been developed further with more rewards, but ultimately does its job in the end. THQ threw together "Homefront" with bare minimum effort; if more time was invested in this, they may have had a winner. Expand
  18. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    Simply a horrible game, it's like someone described COD to someone over a cell phone going through a tunnel and then made a game out of what they could make out.
  19. Feb 1, 2012
    7
    What really frustrates me about Homefront is that the idea was so good. Plus the advertisments and trailers were pretty excellent and got me psyched for it's release. Then when it comes out, the story is average, and far too short for such a great idea. There so many missed setpieces that could have made the characters more human then standard cardboard cutouts. The multyplayer is prettyWhat really frustrates me about Homefront is that the idea was so good. Plus the advertisments and trailers were pretty excellent and got me psyched for it's release. Then when it comes out, the story is average, and far too short for such a great idea. There so many missed setpieces that could have made the characters more human then standard cardboard cutouts. The multyplayer is pretty good, but the graphics and lack of weapon choices overall, leave something to be desired Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I've played CoD:MW3 and although it's a great shooter, it feels claustrophobic; the game play is "in your face". That said, Homefront feels open and strategic, which is my preferred FPS type. My only gripe that as of the date of this post, I am finding fewer battles on the DLC servers. What's the point of DLC maps when no one is using them? Otherwise, I will continue to enjoy this gameI've played CoD:MW3 and although it's a great shooter, it feels claustrophobic; the game play is "in your face". That said, Homefront feels open and strategic, which is my preferred FPS type. My only gripe that as of the date of this post, I am finding fewer battles on the DLC servers. What's the point of DLC maps when no one is using them? Otherwise, I will continue to enjoy this game for a long while! If you play look me up on Xbox Live: lucas38. Expand
  21. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    What is it with reviewers.I have my favorites but sometimes they just get it wrong completely.This game was hyped up yes but so was black ops.Actually black ops, to me,is the most hyped game in history.Side by side they have there strong points and weak points and at the end of the day there both awesome but both even in score.Homefront is the game that we all think of in the back of ourWhat is it with reviewers.I have my favorites but sometimes they just get it wrong completely.This game was hyped up yes but so was black ops.Actually black ops, to me,is the most hyped game in history.Side by side they have there strong points and weak points and at the end of the day there both awesome but both even in score.Homefront is the game that we all think of in the back of our minds and wonder about and THQ goes ahead and makes the game we have all wanted to play and WOW is the game good.Everyone says the single player is to story well it's not and to top it off it's one of the most emotional campaigns I have ever played in a war game.Play the game once,you got around 7 hours and the emotion factor alone will make you play it twice, at least,so go figure.The graphics have been done better but still spot on,the multi-player is killer,replay factor--Amazing.We all want more of a story in war based games,it happens and you still complain.It deserves a straight 9 with no doubts. Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    With all the hoopla surrounding Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and Battlefield 3, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a Battle Code for Homefront Multiplayer. I purchased the game used, and thoroughly enjoyed the (short) campaign, but couldn't get into multiplayer as only new copies come with the online Battle Code. I think it's bad business for companies to charge extra for onlineWith all the hoopla surrounding Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 and Battlefield 3, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a Battle Code for Homefront Multiplayer. I purchased the game used, and thoroughly enjoyed the (short) campaign, but couldn't get into multiplayer as only new copies come with the online Battle Code. I think it's bad business for companies to charge extra for online play on something they've already made their money on. Still, the map packs were on sale on XBLA and I did want to play online pretty badly, just for a change of pace from Call of Duty and Battlefield. Instead of dropping 10 bucks for the Battle Code on XBLA, I found several codes for half that on eBay! Now I can tell you that this multiplayer is great fun. Though not as silky smooth as Call of Duty or Battlefield (not sure if it runs at 60 frames per second), it's still a blast with similar unlocks and progression as the bigger games. The controls are basically the same as COD, which makes it very comfortable, though you may have to tweak the sensitivity settings a bit. The graphics aren't going to knock anyone out, being at a level of the first Battlefield: Bad Company, but they are good. Level design is brisk, but the maps might be a little too big - a very microscopic complaint. Homefront is a solid game and great fun to play, particularly the multiplayer. Also, it's only 15 bucks this Black Friday (2011) at Best Buy - cheap!!! Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most average game ever. Fair voice acting, fair graphics, fair controls and fair campaign length. Two things set this apart and earn this a 6 instead of 5. 1. The story takes risks. The setting is interesting and the portrayal of it, while thin, is fairly plausible. Then there's great stuff like hiding in a mass grave, missions gone awry and the murder of women and children. 2. Unlike the Call of Duty franchise, the story follows a very linear narrative. You are running from place to place with an occasional conversation between NPC's. It keeps you guessing and wanting more. Worth $5-$10. A great bargain bin game. Expand
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    3
    The campaign was way to short and not very enjoyable. The multiplayer was ok, but not great. I traded it in after about a month. Overall I would not buy it again.
  25. Oct 12, 2011
    3
    This game is pretty bad. It's not too often that I find myself returning a game, and Homefront is definitely going back. I can tolerate the poor storyline, graphics, and vioce acting, but broken gameplay is something I will not put up with. The story, weapons, and gameplay are recycled and regurgitated from of one of those "other" popular FPS titles that... well... doesn't suck. But theThis game is pretty bad. It's not too often that I find myself returning a game, and Homefront is definitely going back. I can tolerate the poor storyline, graphics, and vioce acting, but broken gameplay is something I will not put up with. The story, weapons, and gameplay are recycled and regurgitated from of one of those "other" popular FPS titles that... well... doesn't suck. But the thing is, Homefront does. It doesn't bring anything new to the table and completely misses its mark. I had a hard lockup occur in the second chapter and within the first 3 hours of play time had enemies randomly appearing and teleporting on top of me at least a dozen times. The campaign is short and I will not even tolerate the game any longer to try out multiplayer. At times collision and aiming seem broken and enemies are able to shoot through hard cover while standing protected behind it. The AI of your teammates in campaign mode is extremely poor as well. Spend your money and time on MW or COD - you quite literally have NO reason to play this game over those. Expand
  26. Sep 28, 2011
    3
    First of all, let's talk about the great big elephant in the room. Homefront's story is about North Korea somehow reuniting with South Korea, then taking over Japan and large portions of Southeast Asia, and ultimately invading and conquering most of the continental United States. This situation is farcical and clearly makes no sense at all. Why did they choose to tell such an idioticFirst of all, let's talk about the great big elephant in the room. Homefront's story is about North Korea somehow reuniting with South Korea, then taking over Japan and large portions of Southeast Asia, and ultimately invading and conquering most of the continental United States. This situation is farcical and clearly makes no sense at all. Why did they choose to tell such an idiotic story? Well, from what I've gathered, the original story was going to be about China taking over the US. That also would've been a bit far-fetched and unlikely, but it would've been far more realistic than North Korea. Blair Herter was right, those North Koreans can't even keep their populace from starving, much less mount a credible invasion. But apparently commercial interests in China would've been a bit upset at THQ, so they changed the adversarial role. I find it repugnant that corporate pressure perverted creative integrity, but that's business I suppose. In any case, the resulting game turned out to be a failure, and would've been so with or without the goofy plot.

    The guns in this game have no way to switch firing modes. The M16, for example, is a semi auto assault rifle, and cannot be fired in three round burst mode. Well, that's no good. That's no good at all. Why would this game depict modern warfare/near future warfare if it can't even get something as simple as the M16's three round burst right? Everyone knows that assault rifles have fire selectors that let you switch from semi auto to three round burst to full auto. This makes no sense. All the Rainbow Six games let you switch between firing modes. This is an important detail that the Homefront developers just forgot? That's inexcusable. All they had to do was map it to the D-pad, am I right? In Medal of Honor singleplayer, you could press the D-pad and it would switch firing modes. It made sense. I don't know where they thought people didn't need firing mode switches anymore. Sometimes, you might want to just fire single shots, to conserve ammo. Other times, you might want three round burst or full auto for more firepower. That's the whole point of having multiple firing modes.

    Homefront is supposed to take place in the modern world. It's supposed to be a game about modern combat, of a sort. Modern assault rifles all have this feature, so why would they drop it from the game? Who do they think they are? All the Rainbow Six games were very good about being realistic and having the ability to switch fire modes! Those games were amazing, why have we gone backwards as the years have gone by? Who thinks this is a good idea?! I don't. I wish Rainbow Six would make a resurgence, I really do! This sort of casual nonsense has to end, damnit. M16A2s are renowned for having three round burst. It's what makes them different from M4A1s and CAR-15s, which fire full auto. Homefront takes place in the future, but that doesn't excuse the lack of fire modes. Are future guns going to be designed without fire mode selectors? I doubt it, I really doubt it. And I can guarantee you that in the future, people are still going to be using M16A2s and A4s (M16A2s with an RIS built in). In the near future, those guns will still be readily available.

    There's nothing appropriate about making a game about modern or near-future warfare when you can't even portray the fire mode switching. This is a basic feature of most assault rifles and submachine guns. It is paramount to the experience. The lack of this is a disgrace.

    I'd like to single out the grenade throw animation as particularly silly in presentation. It basically looks like you're throwing the grenade at something two feet in front of your chest, instead of actually winding back and throwing an overhand toss towards a target out in the distance. We're all familiar with throwing baseballs out to the outfield or back to the infield, and that's what you'd expect for the grenade animation. Instead, the character looks like he's a LARPer at a D&D convention throwing a magical pretend-fireball at a friend he's talking to a few paces away. It's just awfully conceived and realized, much like the rest of the game.
    Expand
  27. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    I admire your courage in the age Call of Duty vs Battlefield THQ dare to release a game so weak. Graphics and disappointing plot. Multiplayer in the shadow of others FPS. He tried to cure the boredom of the successful Black Ops, and plunged into a deep depression! Do not buy this garbage ...
  28. Aug 27, 2011
    4
    While Homefront has an amusing multiplayer, the singleplayer is obnoxiously short and boring. You can't really feel like this is America because it lacks some of America's defining traits: Suicidal self-preservation by NRA members, a huge military and nuclear weapons. While it is very possible for a foreign nation to invade the US, it is not possible for the North Koreans to invade anyone.While Homefront has an amusing multiplayer, the singleplayer is obnoxiously short and boring. You can't really feel like this is America because it lacks some of America's defining traits: Suicidal self-preservation by NRA members, a huge military and nuclear weapons. While it is very possible for a foreign nation to invade the US, it is not possible for the North Koreans to invade anyone. Maybe the Chinese could, but not North Korea Compared to South Korea, the North Koreans outnumber them in military, but have much less oil, civilians and weapons. The game also fails to explain why the Koreans don't know how to make their own guns. These same guns seem to have been ripped from thin air. For example, the M16 looks like and is used as a Sniper Rifle. The killstreak system is a bad idea, as is the idea of drones. Makes one feel like playing Call of Duty or Medal of Honor (2010). One very obnoxious feature is that one must have a Battle Code to play past level 5 in multiplayer, which means if Gamestop recommends a Used copy to you, they have never played the game. Expand
  29. Aug 4, 2011
    0
    This is the worst game ever made, im not even joking, the story line sucked because it was short and the story line wasnt very good either the multiplayer had some good combat, but the lack of wepons that you could actually get was crap and its defently not a game i would play forever, the maps were alright... but they just grabbed bits from the campagin and stuck them in the multiplayerThis is the worst game ever made, im not even joking, the story line sucked because it was short and the story line wasnt very good either the multiplayer had some good combat, but the lack of wepons that you could actually get was crap and its defently not a game i would play forever, the maps were alright... but they just grabbed bits from the campagin and stuck them in the multiplayer and that was pretty boring... The graphics on the game are a huge let down. pretty much anything in the distance was just a pixel and was so hard to see, so theres sniping gone... when i went to the shop and bought this i was like "Yeahhh Homefront!" and then i get to my Xbox pop it in and play the game expecting to be playing a campagin that was like 5 hours long but actaully took me about 1 hour to finish. Every day i ask myself "why did i buy this?" I could have bought Operation flashpoint red river or crysis 2 that were the same price. The case makes the game look a million times better than the actualy game, so i guess you cant judge a book by its cover... the very fact that i actually went to sell this about 2 days after i bought it shows how bad this game is, only to realise that the price has went down from about £40 to like £20 in like 2 days... if another HomeFront is made im defently never buying it, unless reviews say its the best game they have ever played, witch i strongly doubt becuase the game is utter balls and i cant see anyway of improving on this terrible game. Expand
  30. Jul 31, 2011
    4
    For a game that touted itself as a "Call of Duty Beater" ever since it was announced, the final product is far from anything that could consider itself in the same league as Call of Duty. About the only thing that works in the game (other than a semi-decent multiplayer) is the story, which is written by John Milius who also wrote the 1984 film Red Dawn which has the same concept ofFor a game that touted itself as a "Call of Duty Beater" ever since it was announced, the final product is far from anything that could consider itself in the same league as Call of Duty. About the only thing that works in the game (other than a semi-decent multiplayer) is the story, which is written by John Milius who also wrote the 1984 film Red Dawn which has the same concept of "Baddies try to invade America". The plot and backstory are well written using plausible fictitious events that lead up to the beginning of the game. Shame then that the single player campaign is so shockingly bad that is manages to screw up the whole experiences, visuals are rough around the edges and appear very last generation. Levels are deceptive in that they appear open and roamable, but end up funnelling you in a very tight direction with invisible walls and obstacles you cannot jump over. The teammate A.I. must always be the first down ladders or through doors to the point where the game won't let you go anywhere until your slow and stupid team mates catch you up. Shooting is standard but weapons like any real stopping power, often relying on half a magazine to put someone down. The campaign itself is short, VERY short. On my first go on normal I did it in 4 hours, just when you think the game is starting to show signs of getting good you are surprised to find the level ends and the credits role. Multiplayer is semi-decent with an interesting approach to buying equipment and resources via points earned for performing actions, but all the while you'll wish you were playing Call of Duty or Battlefield. I feel sorry that Kaos Studios the developers were shut down, the game stinks of publisher controlled decisions and I believe this is why the game ended up so shoddy. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. games(TM)
    Apr 25, 2011
    70
    One of the most interesting shooters of the year. [Issue#108, p.114]
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    50
    The core focus of Homefront is online but with rival releases doing this just as well if not better, there isn't any real incentive. A fun rental perhaps, but spend your money elsewhere and you'll thank us.