Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2027. The world has suffered a decade-long energy crisis, and economies have crumbled. Reduced to a mere shadow of the super power it once was, the United States became the target of a North Korean takeover. American malls, suburbs and city streets are now battlegrounds as the civilian resistance fights for freedom. Featuring a compelling single player story crafted by John Milius (Apocalypse Now, Red Dawn), Homefront immerses gamers in an interactive and cinematic FPS experience where they assume an infantry role or take command of a wide variety of aerial and ground vehicles. In a land stripped of freedom, the brave will fight for their home. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    93
    Combining so many elements into such a cohesive story, THQ has reminded me why I love gaming. The only fault I could find other than the character models was the relatively short single player campaign; on the hard level I finished the game in less than 7 hours.
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    85
    Kaos Studios should be proud as they have done a highly commendable job of reinventing ideas we've seen in Frontlines , piecing them into a more cohesive palatable story and releasing a new game which feels accomplished and easy to play.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    A decent title game a campaign that doesn't meet expectations, but with a great and unique multiplayer mode.
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    There's enough material within Homefront's concept for it to spiral into something more interesting, and with plenty of talk about a sequel it's clear that's what THQ and Kaos is looking for, but this first crack of the whip falls far short of the competition.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    70
    Homefront is a game that will live or die based on its online component. For $60, if you are investing solely for the single-player campaign, you are truly wasting your money. The multiplayer has the potential to be something amazing with a few tweaks and a better selection of maps, currently there just aren't enough.
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    THQ should have made a deal with MGM to turn Homefront into a tie-in for the upcoming Red Dawn remake. That game would have been way better than what we have now.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    30
    Games as an art form are ready for that next big step, I think. We're ready for that true war game that explores all of a conflict's facets and ramifications, but for now we're stuck with drivel like Homefront that's still about Buff McRockHard fighting evil foreigners. Homefront is the most insidious kind of bad game-it's the kind that masquerades as something more special.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 205
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD. Comparing games like BFBC2 and Homefront to COD is akin to comparing Gran Tourismo to Ridge Racer...HF is a squad based game, if you run around by yourself like a headless chicken hunting for kills you will be dead continuosly. Over HF does a great job in recreating large scale battles in a (somewhat) fresh environment, 32 players on a map is something we dont see too much of on console, vehicular combat, drones etc are easy to control and offer a satisfying experience regardless of skill level. Collapse
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The part about recent games like COD and MOHAA is that you play as an "operator" an expert in killing and doing your countries bidding no questions asked. This was a departure from the wonderful history and sometimes funny history of those games that I loved. It was not about the skill of the killer but the story of the war and the person fighting, just an average joe making good. Who cant remember fighting armed German Shepards or Nutcrackers. I loved the story here and got immersed in it. That is what I look for a little escape, a little indignant righting of wrongs at the expense of an old foe.

    The Homefront Story put you in the middle of those who have lost the ability to question what they are doing and those that have not yet lost that little piece of humanity that says, "crap I am killing people." I think the story telling in this game is so worth the play and ownership. I look forward to the next addition to what I hope will be a great franchise. The company, I think we are seeing the beginnings of greatness. I have started companies, you have to make the best of what you have. I think that is what we are seeing of the graphics. But yet my old 360 kept up with this game just fine.

    With the crap stories out of the likes of COD lately I have not been able to break myself from playing HALO 3, I think I have found something new to play. I wish they would return to storytelling. I mean really, I would kill a room full of North Koreans who invaded my country but I would never mow down innocent civilians in a russian airport even if ordered to. Here I was a volunteer and not an operator.
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Played the SP in 3 hours so not the longest game but i had fun for all that time. NPC char animation is not the best but works. MP is whole different thing. Its hectic, fast and ofc FUN. It breaths some fresh air to the genre. Think like COD+BF-BC2 with abit arcade touch. Played few matches and had no lag to say. Fast load times etc. Good variety of maps with nice themes. Really hoping we get more maps and stuff to use in MP. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    Short review: Single player is absolutely wasted potential. It's interesting enough, but stops way short, like a nascar car hitting the wall at lap 10. However, multiplayer is enjoyable enough and is the only online MP that I'll stick with until I hit the level cap. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    The title really doesn't live up to its name. The campaign was exciting and had a very fitting story, but it was a bit short, try 4 hours. The ending was abrupt and unsatisfying. Graphics were pretty good. The multiplayer is fair, at most. What I've noticed is that it is a campers paradise. And if you buy it used, why do you have to pay to continue in multiplayer? The weapons are pretty good, along with the different perks and vehicles. The maps are pretty good too. I just don't understand why first-person shooters now-a-days have shorter and shorter campaigns though. They put too much work in the mutliplayer. I look for a good, long and challenging campaign. Not a 4 hour campaign with an unfitting ending. Expand
  6. May 30, 2011
    4
    Don't buy this game. I believed the hype and the story looked interesting but it is very badly executed. The gameplay is average, voice acting average, graphics average. It is simply not a triple A game. The single player campaign was way too short and very obviously "on rails" as you're guided through the levels. The multiplayer is okay, with large areas to fight in with several others but it's just not worth the asking price. Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    0
    Honestly, one of the worst games I've ever played. Short story with stupid ai, bad graphics, and **** controls. It felt like a beta. The multi player seemed like it might be okay, but I rented the game and couldn't get past level 5 thanks to the code **** so I can't say. Expand

See all 205 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.