Hunted: The Demon's Forge Xbox 360

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 107
  2. Negative: 28 out of 107
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 2, 2011
    2
    I really wanted this game to be good. I love top-down dungeon crawlers, action RPG's, and fantasy games in general and have been looking forward to this game almost since it's announcement. That being said, I was really disappointed with this game. Money is too hard to come by now to just throw it at any game that comes out and this game is not worth the money; if I had known just howI really wanted this game to be good. I love top-down dungeon crawlers, action RPG's, and fantasy games in general and have been looking forward to this game almost since it's announcement. That being said, I was really disappointed with this game. Money is too hard to come by now to just throw it at any game that comes out and this game is not worth the money; if I had known just how bad it was I wouldn't have bought it at all. Even if the price is substantially reduced I will not re-purchase it. I got lucky and bought mine pre-owned, the first bad sign (I bought it pre-owned on the day of it's release!), so I was able to return the game for a full refund. I brought my copy home eagerly threw it in my xbox and was immediately unimpressed. The graphics at the menu were atrocious and that filled me with some worry. Once the game started it was obvious that there is a serious lack of graphical prowess and for a game hyped that much it should have been at least a little nicer. The introduction hastily introduced the main characters without really giving us any reason to care about them at all, the voice acting was horrible (even Lucy Lawless couldn't help this game out; her voice acting was just as bad as the main characters). Once again I have to go back to the graphics. What the hell were they thinking!? My wife usually will sit with me when I get a new game to check it out to see if she wants to play it and she couldn't even stand watching it for more that 15 minutes! This is supposed to be an action RPG but there is no inventory at all; all you can do is switch out your current weapon and only have one piece of armor at a time. In a hack and slash you would also think that there would be some potion inventory to regain health or mana but you could only carry one of each at a time. the combat was lackluster at best. I never actually felt drawn into the game. The archer shoots as if she is on speed or cocaine and the warrior can't take a hit to save his life. Whats the point of designing the dynamic around tanking with the warrior while the archer picks them off from afar when he goes down like a sack of dirty laundry when ever a few enemies get too close. I didn't try the co-op at all. I couldn't force myself to play the game anymore; i have no idea if it is any good or if it is broken as some claim. If the developer had spent just a little more time tweaking the graphics and the controls and added some sort of inventory system this could have been a playable game but as it stands right now I don't see much value in this game. If I were thinking about buying this game I would wait if I were you. This was completely disappointing. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    4
    4.0 I was expecting a great fantasy action/rpg game but it's not this the case: Hunted is very boring and repetitive, the graphic is old, very old-gen, the animations are chunky and there are very few numbers of moves and combo. The magics are realized in a very bad way, they don't seems powerful and they don't look cool...The skills are very limited, the Rpg side of the game is very4.0 I was expecting a great fantasy action/rpg game but it's not this the case: Hunted is very boring and repetitive, the graphic is old, very old-gen, the animations are chunky and there are very few numbers of moves and combo. The magics are realized in a very bad way, they don't seems powerful and they don't look cool...The skills are very limited, the Rpg side of the game is very poor...But most of all you can't switch between the 2 characters whenever you want, you can switch only when you find a kind of purple stone...so if choose the wrong hero you have to keep it until the next check-point/stone or reload the check-point...what a stupid system is this!! The dialogues are ridiculous (the warrior is afraid of the insects!!! and the elf seems talks like an erotic line...This game is ugly, is not funny and it's not worth your money...this is not a game to sell out in 2011, that's all! (sorry for my bad English anyway :)!) Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    2
    Amazing. Simply amazing.
    I' m a french user and it's the first time the dubbing is really killing a game...... just awfull, pathetic..... i really lack words to describe the french version (most french version are bad, but here it's far worse than bad). And not just dubbing/actor plays, even the translation is catastrophic as much of speeches have no sense at all. Too bad 'cause the game
    Amazing. Simply amazing.
    I' m a french user and it's the first time the dubbing is really killing a game...... just awfull, pathetic..... i really lack words to describe the french version (most french version are bad, but here it's far worse than bad). And not just dubbing/actor plays, even the translation is catastrophic as much of speeches have no sense at all. Too bad 'cause the game have some things that are not so bad : the universe is nice, coherent (at least graphically, hard to say for the story....), coop play, dungon editor...... but also gameplay a little light (especially rpg part) and not well balanced at all. Overall an average game that is more than drag down here in france by it's pathetic adaptation. Please, next time just add subtitles like Rockstar studio.
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    1
    Though it is promoted as a hack and slash game the characters are fragile and underpowered. If combat becomes heavy the "tank" completely lacks the toughness to take the hits or the stopping power to dominate mobs. The archer is even more fragile and the bow lacks impact. In multiplayer get used to watching your partner bleed to death on the ground because you can't stock up on healthThough it is promoted as a hack and slash game the characters are fragile and underpowered. If combat becomes heavy the "tank" completely lacks the toughness to take the hits or the stopping power to dominate mobs. The archer is even more fragile and the bow lacks impact. In multiplayer get used to watching your partner bleed to death on the ground because you can't stock up on health vials.

    To add to the fun what little progress we have been able to make in multiplayer has been lost on 2 occasions, for example we were at stage 2.1 and next time we came to play we were locked to 1.2. After the second time being knocked back as much as a full level of progress I give up on this dog.

    I might somewhatly enjoy this game if I'd spent $5 on it, but having paid full price really stings. i could have spent the money on a decent game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    2
    Here is the straight scoop on this one. Avoid at all cost. I put this game in and I swear to god I thought I was looking at a PS1 game. The graphics are that dated. The animation on the enemies awful, the story been there done that. Your character shouts out the same few lines over and over which gets old real quick. The level design uninspired, the loot hunting boring, even the text andHere is the straight scoop on this one. Avoid at all cost. I put this game in and I swear to god I thought I was looking at a PS1 game. The graphics are that dated. The animation on the enemies awful, the story been there done that. Your character shouts out the same few lines over and over which gets old real quick. The level design uninspired, the loot hunting boring, even the text and UI looks like it was stripped out of a game made in the 90's pre-next gen. The co-op online is serviceable but how much longevity you can suck out of this will depend on weather are not the community buys the game and I do not see alot of support for this game in the coming months. Very, very disappointed. Wait a few days and save your sixty dollars for either Infamous 2 or Red Faction. Or better yet go back and play or pick-up the excellent L.A. Noire. "Pass" -Stu- Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    1
    I bought this game with my friend today because we wanted a good co-op experience. When the game loaded up, I thought I was playing a Dreamcast game. We booted up splitscreen and it melted my eyes. After 4 hours of mind numbing, pointless gaming, we returned the game. The gameplay is actually quite difficult for a hack and slash, which wouldn't be a problem if it actually hadI bought this game with my friend today because we wanted a good co-op experience. When the game loaded up, I thought I was playing a Dreamcast game. We booted up splitscreen and it melted my eyes. After 4 hours of mind numbing, pointless gaming, we returned the game. The gameplay is actually quite difficult for a hack and slash, which wouldn't be a problem if it actually had replayability. It isn't fun redoing an hour of work because you can't save. Or get a checkpoint. Don't buy this spawn of satan. Please. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    crap crap crap crap!!!!! glitches galore, restarting last checkpoints to make a cutscene work, boring enemies, im not even going to mention the b button cutscenes were your forced to watch these two idiots walk through skinny passage ways, or open doors, or jump a 4ft gap. This game was rushed, and if it wasnt then shame on the creators. every once in a while i take a 59.99 plus tax chancecrap crap crap crap!!!!! glitches galore, restarting last checkpoints to make a cutscene work, boring enemies, im not even going to mention the b button cutscenes were your forced to watch these two idiots walk through skinny passage ways, or open doors, or jump a 4ft gap. This game was rushed, and if it wasnt then shame on the creators. every once in a while i take a 59.99 plus tax chance on a game i dont know much about this game reminds me not to do that. Horrible graphics, voice overs and a lack luster adventure. great concept bad follow through. i hope i can get at least 20 bucks when i trade it in tomorrow but i doubt it. Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    Easily one of the worst games of the year, this glitch-fest is as dull as dungeon crawlers come. With minimal amount of story and character development, poor enemy A.I. and enough glitches to force you to restart checkpoints several times throughout, you can only hope that no one from Bethesda who worked on this game put too much time in Skyrim. Otherwise it could be a rough year overallEasily one of the worst games of the year, this glitch-fest is as dull as dungeon crawlers come. With minimal amount of story and character development, poor enemy A.I. and enough glitches to force you to restart checkpoints several times throughout, you can only hope that no one from Bethesda who worked on this game put too much time in Skyrim. Otherwise it could be a rough year overall for on the industry's bigger developers. The only way I would recommend playing this game would be if you got it as a gift and had absolutely nothing else to play. Steer clear in all other cases. Expand
  9. Jul 27, 2011
    4
    I was thoroughly disappointed by Hunted: The Demon's Forge, being a fan of RPG's and Third Person Shooters, the concept of a Gears of War meets Dungeon Siege game appealed to me instantly. Upon playing the game I was less than impressed, yes the game is about dungeon crawling for loot and dungeons are typically dark, but when you have to turn the in-game brightness and the brightness onI was thoroughly disappointed by Hunted: The Demon's Forge, being a fan of RPG's and Third Person Shooters, the concept of a Gears of War meets Dungeon Siege game appealed to me instantly. Upon playing the game I was less than impressed, yes the game is about dungeon crawling for loot and dungeons are typically dark, but when you have to turn the in-game brightness and the brightness on your TV to maximum just to barely make out where you are going, you know you are in for a frustrating experience. An equiptable torch or lantern would have been nice, as it gives off the impression the development team were so ashamed of the bland visuals they felt it neccessary to enshroud them in darkness. There is the odd nice looking vista, but these are few and don't make up for the fact you are constantly wandering around blind. As for gameplay, an area that shouldn't be too hard to get right in an action RPG, the game just becomes even more annoying. Elara who is the elven bow master barely inflicts any damage even with the strongest of bows while Caddock the warrior is overwhelmed and has his health drained so quickly you wonder if the core gameplay was ever tested at all. You'd think the game's co-op would be its saving grace, but this just highlights the character's weak health limits even more as you both constantly scramble to revive each other with the limit of 3 health potions each, the cropped splitscreen view doesn't help things either. On the whole it was a game with a lot of potential, but due to weak story, bad dialogue, boring characters, bland graphics and frustrating gameplay it fell pretty far from expectations. The only reason it gets a 4 instead of a 3 is because it is longer than the current trend of 6-hour games being released at the moment. Expand
  10. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    I really wanted t like this game, I really did. Tgis game just isn't very interesting though. Even the constantly jiggling elf get boring after a while
  11. Jun 10, 2014
    2
    This game is boring as hell, please don't buy it! Even In co-op mode you find yourself always doing the same thing over and over again. Here's how it goes ; a door blow up and a wave of enemies comes at you( I think there's 4-5 different enemies in the entire game), walk a bit, defend a strategic point ( by killing waves ) and then start all over again. Can It be saved by the storyline?This game is boring as hell, please don't buy it! Even In co-op mode you find yourself always doing the same thing over and over again. Here's how it goes ; a door blow up and a wave of enemies comes at you( I think there's 4-5 different enemies in the entire game), walk a bit, defend a strategic point ( by killing waves ) and then start all over again. Can It be saved by the storyline? Not at all ; 2 miserable mercenaries killing monsters. Also It's one of this RPG with no loot and also no point of getting money whatsoever since there's no shop and no upgrades. I was able to do the entire game with the same sword that I had at the beginning, not because I wanted to but because there was nothing else! You get a small skill tree that is totally useless and that's all. It's not like the game was developed by an indie company, it was made by Bethesda softworks!!! This game is bad and it will hunt me for the rest of my life. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2017
    1
    Un jeu pensé pour la coopération mais que ce soit à deux ou en solo, son abondance de médiocrité dans bien des domaines le rend chiantissime. Le combat des plus basiques ne le met même pas au rang des BTA les plus cons et son "scénario" (si on peut l'appeler comme ça) n'est pas au niveau du plus infâme des téléfilms.

    Il est encore plus difficile dans ces conditions de s'y impliquer un
    Un jeu pensé pour la coopération mais que ce soit à deux ou en solo, son abondance de médiocrité dans bien des domaines le rend chiantissime. Le combat des plus basiques ne le met même pas au rang des BTA les plus cons et son "scénario" (si on peut l'appeler comme ça) n'est pas au niveau du plus infâme des téléfilms.

    Il est encore plus difficile dans ces conditions de s'y impliquer un minimum lorsque les graphismes sont aussi laids et la version française complètement ratée (c'est pourtant devenu rare de nos jours !). Je m'étonne et m'insurge encore que Bethesda ait pu éditer une telle daube.
    Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    78
    Brian Fargo's new pet project turned out to be a cross-breed of Gears of War and God of War. Medieval co-op experience is somewhat nice snack between larger meals. The team has worked in haste, which can be seen in almost every aspect. There's a lot of potential, which has been sadly wasted. [Aug 2011]
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    Hunted: The Demon's Forge suffers from an identity crisis. It can't quite figure out if it is a thirdperson shooter or a action RPG. The combat tendens towards being boring and the level design is less than inspirational. Some of the side quests are good, but that's just not enough for this game.
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    65
    If you're not sure on the game, wait for a price drop or two, and a weekend where you and a buddy don't have much to do.