Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a dark fantasy world, Hunted: The Demon's Forge is an unforgettable cooperative action game, pitting you and your partner against waves of vicious enemies. Taking control of either E'lara, a ranged weapon expert, or Caddoc, a master swordsman, you must use a variety of weapons, powerful spells, and cover tactics to battle your way through menacing dungeons, overgrown ruins, and downtrodden towns. Discover secrets and complete co-op-based puzzles whilst exploring the sinister world to discover answers to the game’s deep, dark mysteries. The dark ages have become corrupted. Heinous creatures have emerged from underground. Townsfolk across the land are disappearing. Upon the promise of their fortune in gold, mercenaries E’lara and Caddoc take on the daunting task of discovering where the innocent villagers have been taken. Their journey will lead them on a dark and twisted path where they will encounter death, slavery, and sacrifice. Travel deep within the world of Kala Moor...and to the secrets of The Demon's Forge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    Add in an epic, bombastic orchestral score by Kevin Riepl (he also worked on Gears of War) and a surprisingly robust and easy-to-use level creation tool and you have one of the better games to be released so far in 2011. Highly Recommended.
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    70
    Gloomy dungeons, contorted medieval alleys plus a felicitous soundtrack.
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    69
    Hunted isn't an amazing game, but it will entertain action-RPG fans with hours of good old-days gameplay.
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    60
    Only worth playing in co-op, where the fluid controls, half decent mechanics, some basic teamwork, and mindless action elevates what is decidedly mediocre into something that although average, can be a lot of fun.
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    60
    An action game in the Trojan horse of an RPG. There are better co-op experiences, but if you've already played those, Hunted will entertain for a little while.
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    56
    You probably won't want to play through this lengthy, unpolished, one-note adventure more than once, let alone make your own maps with the included level-builder.
  7. 40
    A real lazy effort where the much-hyped co-op doesn't do squat.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 62
  2. Negative: 19 out of 62
  1. May 31, 2011
    10
    Epic FAIL Bethesda on this game - worst split screen co-op game i've ever seen can't believe i spent the money on this. The co-op mode is simply terrible, stressful play, unable to navigate properly and kept getting stuck in spaces. Split screen mode was barely visible on our 42 inch screen tv, can't imagine playing this on anything smaller.. TRULY DISAPPOINTED on game release day, what a let down. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Wow..so much drama for a game.. Its an RPG. COD Fan boys (which i assume are the neg reviewers) wont care for a game like this but people who have a broad interest in RPGs and Gears alike should give it a try.. Im having fun with it. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    I have only just started playing this game and so far I am pretty impressed. The presentation is a bit lacking and the voice acting for Caddoc I feel doesn't suit him that well. The game is linear and the graphics are not as good as Gears of War, but they are still good enough. Gameplay is very similar to Gears in a lot of ways. I am loving the humour though and it's good to see that this game doesn't take itself too seriously. If you are playing single player then I would probably rate 7 out of 10, but I think this game really comes into its own in co-op and deserves an 8.5 or 9 out of 10 if you are playing with a mate. There really is not much lacking in this game and with a bigger budget, more polish and more variety/customisation could be something really special. Hopefully a sequel will accomplish this and realise it's full potential. Collapse
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    OK, the user reviews on Metacritic are getting ridiculous. I understand kiddies on the net like attention and like to exercise their fanboy muscles whenever they can, but with comments from users like ALL you might as well just shut down the user review section. Since the DA2 debacle, gamer kiddies are overly anxious to flash rate games down or up without having played them and to get internet attention for their "heroic" efforts. So now you have users like ALL saying that anyone who writes something positive about Hunted has to be a company employee, which is inane, childish drivel. READ ALL's review - is there anything, ANYTHING about that review that suggests this reviewer has even played the game? Nope. Like a ton of the game user reviews lately, it boils down to "OMG the worst ever" or "OMG the best ever." One of the most obvious signs is his comment that exploration is non existent (still in anti-DA2 mode, I'd say, and anxious to start up that party again) which is totally untrue, as anyone should know by the time they exit the first dungeon in the game (you'd have to have exited having missed the treasure hunt which requires exploration, for a start). The type of post from ALL is not a review, it is an internet disease.

    I'm only about close to the end of chapter 2, and my biggest complaint with Hunted is that it feels rather clunky and bit awkward overall. The controls, camera and combat are a bit clumsy, and take some getting used to. During the prologue and during about the first hour of the game, I was feeling mostly disappointed. By the time I finished the first chapter, which requires a very long dungeon crawl, I was warming up to it and I'm now enjoying it. It's an odd mix of stripped down as an RPG and not stripped down in that I can imagine a good deal of gamers who are unfamiliar with RPGs will be a bit confused by things that are not explained as clearly as they could be (such as the very first time you encounter enchanted weapons stands, where it took me a while to figure out how to get inside the room to get at them). Voice work is good, the graphics are mixed - I find they look quite good in places, but uninspired and a bit ugly overall elsewhere. One aspect I'm not crazy about it you are often entering one way doors which prevent you from going backward and exploring an alternate route or an area you hadn't gotten to yet, which feels a bit like an way to artificially get people to reply chapters. Judging by the first long dungeon, they may be the strongest aspect of the game, as they have a surprising variety and change in appearance a good deal (not like cut and pasted caves etc you sometimes encounter in RPGs). Textures seem better in these more enclosed spaces as well, as some of the exteriors have a sort of chunky design where low res textures jump out at you. The character models are passable, but nothing special. One fairly unique quality is some areas in the first dungeon are very DARK, darker than you find in most RPGs and there is a pretty pronounced "horror" feeling in some areas, where cries and screams and ominous music work to a good effect. The difficulty feels like it was given a bit of a Demon's Souls inspiration in spurts, as you will suddenly encounter some enemies who are capable of taking away most all of your health with a successful attack, and it feels a bit out of balance with other enemies in the game. The dead bodies you find on the ground add notations to your journal which instruct you on how to beat specific enemy classes, so it's spelled out for you in a more obvious way than Demon's Souls trial by fire and learn from your mistakes model. It's no Demons's Sous, and it's no The Witcher 2, but Hunted is proving to be entertaining and quite passable in my book. I would expect that critic reviews will wind up somewhere between a 70 and an 80.
    Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    This game is only playable in co-op. It's quite fun that way. The single-player experience is atrocious though. The game is also ugly as sin. Too bad the graphics don't match its awesome soundtrack. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2013
    5
    this game is good for about 2 chapters the you begin to find its problems. buy this game if you're one of the following:

    1. You like
    fighting waves and waves of uninspired and identical enemy over and over again
    2. You can swallow a rpg with weapon choices fewer than your fingers
    3. You find it reasonable epic weapons sucks worse than normal weapons
    4. You have no where else to spend money



    I gave this a 5 because it entertained me for about the same number of hours, fun initially, but no, this game sucks
    Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    crap crap crap crap!!!!! glitches galore, restarting last checkpoints to make a cutscene work, boring enemies, im not even going to mention the b button cutscenes were your forced to watch these two idiots walk through skinny passage ways, or open doors, or jump a 4ft gap. This game was rushed, and if it wasnt then shame on the creators. every once in a while i take a 59.99 plus tax chance on a game i dont know much about this game reminds me not to do that. Horrible graphics, voice overs and a lack luster adventure. great concept bad follow through. i hope i can get at least 20 bucks when i trade it in tomorrow but i doubt it. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews