Hybrid Xbox 360

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Sep 23, 2012
    70
    Like tuna salad in the sun, Hybrid is decent while we write, but it's definitely a case of eat it now or eat it never. [Issue#89,p.83]
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Aside from these nit-picks, Hybrid is a brilliant game and deserves its place in the Summer of Arcade. While there are better squad-based games available out there, Hybrid offers a very different style of gameplay and has a decent levelling system that will have you fighting for your side for quite some time. If you have the spare MSP it might be worth giving this one a go.
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    This is a rich, interesting design, then, but one whose capacity for long-term competitive play is questionable.
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    It's good in the sense that it takes a specific aspect of multiplayer from cover-based shooters and does it better than most. However, said aspect won't appeal to everyone. Moreover, Hybrid is a hard sell at 1200 Microsoft points - in addition to the micro-transactions you will need to unlock every weapon.
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    70
    It's walking down a treacherous path being online only and offering some quite forgettable maps. The lack of bot play means that the 1200 point asking price could end up being all for nothing in the future, which is quite a hefty risk to take.
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    Hybrid has frenetic gameplay and good and accessible gunplay. It's an interesting product for multiplayer Third Person Shooter lovers, but has some problems with servers and his generic audiovisuals.
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    70
    Hybrid is decent, but not essential. The well-executed mechanics that make up the core gameplay are interesting for a little while, but how long it holds your interest for depends on how willing you are to look past the game's niggling problems.
  8. Aug 15, 2012
    70
    All problems that I had aside, Hybrid is a decent game, in which a lot of people will likely sink a lot of time into. The concepts that it introduces such as the persistent world of seasons and cover to cover combat are clever, and the game can be fun at times, but I would play the 60 minute demo before dropping the fifteen dollars, considering there is nothing outrageously new being brought to the table.
  9. Aug 13, 2012
    70
    If multiplayer shooters aren't your thing, you simply won't enjoy Hybrid. There's nothing to the game outside of multiplayer. I guess that rules out any Silver-tier Xbox Live members as well. What Hybrid does to separate itself from other games is commendable, but it might not appeal to everyone. At its best, players will find themselves caught up in Hybrid's universe. At its worst, players will... not be able to find a match.
  10. 70
    Sure, the levels are all much of a muchness, and despite the variety of game modes, it can get samey. But the persistent online game - a fight for Dark Matter between Paladins (humans) and Valiants (aliens) - adds long-term appeal, and once you've mastered its quirks, it's an absolute blast in small doses.
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    70
    It's a solid, enjoyable shooter, but one that ultimately fails to leverage its strange control decisions into a truly unique experience. It should be different yet, for all its bold ideas about movement, it ends up feeling strangely generic over the long haul.
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    65
    The semi-automatic rush from cover to cover gives this arena shooter a unique rhythm while clever drone deployment leads to tense moments. Unfortunately the battle arenas are as conventional and predictable as the weapons or the game modes.
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    65
    Hybrid is a game with good ideas, but that is heavily tainted by an absolutely bland and uninspired level design.
  14. Aug 16, 2012
    65
    5th Cell does some remarkable things with the still-evolving cover-based shooting mechanic, but Hybrid is ultimately hindered by lingering matchmaking issues, dumb AI companions, and limited multiplayer depth.
  15. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Seasonal faction war and unlock tiers provide depth. The small maps and limited movement will not appeal to some players, though, and the inclusion of cash-for-unlocks does not belong in a full-priced arcade title. [Oct 2012, p.53]
  16. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    It's destined to be nothing more than a forgotten idea, stuck behind a wall, trying desperately to get noticed.
  17. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    Hybrid does some interesting things with gameplay, but it is ultimately tripped up by poor matchmaking, periodic lag and an unbalanced meta game. Genre fans will enjoy the change of pace, but most players should probably look for greener pastures.
  18. Aug 17, 2012
    60
    Hybrid can scare at the beginning, but with time and practice, one does start to really enjoy it and its aerial feeling. Nevertheless, don't expect to sink many hours in it. It lacks content, and the combat system remains odd enough for many not to like it.
  19. Aug 16, 2012
    60
    Hybrid is a fast, fun, and innovative online shooter that is hampered by repetitive gameplay and a world so vague that it stops you from ever really understanding it.
  20. Aug 16, 2012
    60
    In all, Hybrid may shy away from the full potential of its selling-point via lacklustre map design and unimaginative weapons, but as a complete game its mechanical innovations make it stand apart from the crowd. At the very least, this desire to innovate and bring to the foreground the action of the shooter while removing the movement makes it a unique experience within a crowded and tired genre.
  21. Aug 16, 2012
    60
    Hybrid has a great idea that separates it from many similar games, and it's also presented quite well. The shooting itself is aided by the twist in the actual gameplay, but the lack of variation in the level design stops it from achieving greatness.
  22. Aug 13, 2012
    60
    Hybrid proves that you can't depend on a few flashy additions to rev up the shooting genre; innovation needs to go into every area possible for a game to stand out. The jetpacks and cover system are twists on standard third-person firefights, but lose their allure quickly due to uninteresting maps and the reliance on modes from other popular games. That's not to say the game isn't entertaining, but it lacks the staying power to keep you hooked. The goal is noble, but Hybrid doesn't turn the third-person shooter on its head.
  23. Aug 13, 2012
    60
    On a conceptual level Hybrid stands out as an above-average shooter in a packed genre, but its reality is dogged by inconsistent matchmaking, server problems and an inessential devotion to some contemporary multiplayer fads. Seeing its true potential one match in every three just adds to the frustration.
  24. 60
    Getting such an odd idea to work is worth praise alone, but Hybrid feels more like a hypothetical experiment than a genuinely useful innovation.
  25. Aug 20, 2012
    55
    If originality were the bar through which we grade games, Hybrid would've scored a lot higher, because this third-person shooter contains some good ideas. The ideas are unfortunately killed by big mistakes, which show that the developer isn't comfortable with the shooter genre.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisonedI am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand the overworld metagame of slowly capturing regions throughout the world it is very compelling and I am exited to get home a play more. I wish the metagame's world map was online so I could check it while at but I tweeted 5th Cell and they said, "Maybe Someday" Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better.The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better. But this game worth a look at. Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades andThis game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its the very first one i've ever played and i love it its so cool also adding the duck and cover type feel makes it war like and i feel awesome. Full Review »