Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    Addicting and fun, Hybrid proves to be a fresh and enjoyable experience on the XBLA. You will easily get your $15 out of the experience thanks to the drive to come back and get to the next level.
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    88
    By spicing up the mechanic that is used so often in games with more going for them, Hybrid proves its worth as a definite gaming gem, and is well deserving to be given a shot by gamers everywhere.
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    87
    Hybrid is a game that you might not expect from the creators of Lock's Quest and Scribblenauts, but if the sort of imagination behind this jump-jet cover based space shooter is anything to go by, the connections aren't all that difficult to make.
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    85
    By removing peripheral complexities, Hybrid focuses completely on what makes, or should make cover-based shooters fun. It reminds me a lot of NBA Jam - not in the sense that you'll pull of crazy tomahawk dunks as a futuristic mech soldier, but in that it creates basic, tight, and rewarding experiences by focusing on a few core gameplay mechanics.
  5. Aug 9, 2012
    85
    Hybrid is refreshing, and those who are tired of playing the same kind of multiplayer game all the time, or simply those who love action multiplayer games, should give it a try. Getting used to the inability to move around freely might be difficult at the beginning, but then you find out that it's part of the gameplay and what makes it different. Everything is different in Hybrid. It's yet to be seen whether the players will embrace the idea and wait for the issues to be fixed, but the risks taken by 5th cell deserve our support.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    83
    Hybrid is a unique experiment in multiplayer cover-based shooting, and it succeeds gloriously.
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    83
    But still, it's definitely worth checking out. Hopefully the server and connection issues can get ironed out over the next couple weeks, because this is a multiplayer experience that I'd like to see continue on for a while, and can see myself jumping back into whenever I have some free time. Despite some of those issues, I definitely think it's worth the asking price, and think you'll find that it is too.
  8. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    I really recommend you play this game and see for yourself that an online shooter does not have to be a Call of Duty clone. [10/2012, p.76]
  9. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    A great multiplayer shooter video game proving that radical innovation is still not uncommon even among titles of such frequent genre as multiplayer action games.
  10. Aug 23, 2012
    80
    Hybrid's peripheral shortcomings are easy enough to ignore, though, since the core idea is so well executed.
  11. Aug 23, 2012
    80
    A breath of fresh air in the Third Person Shooter genre. Hybrid might alienate gamers with its predetermined cover system and the only-for-6-player modes, but it is different from most other games in this category and is doing a good job in entertaining fans of online shooters.
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    A bland design style makes Hybrid look like a budget shooter, but the fast shooting action, navigation between cover and firefights between players in jetpacks will keep you entertained for days to come.
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    In a crowded market, it's extremely refreshing to see a developer trying something that's so completely different from everything else out there. The cover-based flight combat is a brilliant idea that fits in perfectly with the overall tone of the game.
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Frenzy TPS with cool ideas and persistent map. Game sometimes lacks balance and graphics are not so great, but Hybrid is definitely a thrilling online experience.
  15. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Hybrid has some good ideas and does a fine job in implementing them.
  16. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    If the name Hybrid means anything – other than some story point that obviously didn't grab us – it's the way the game has blended third-person shooting with tactical, almost turned-based combat. Moving from cover to cover on autopilot doesn't make for restrictive gunplay, it facilities furious flying combat and desperate mid-air maneuvers.
  17. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    With better server consistency, Hybrid could hold onto gamer attention long after the big hitters like Halo 4 and Black Ops 2 are on shelves. Hopefully the servers will improve in the future and the player base will stick with the game in the long run, but neither of those things can be relied on with any degree of certainty. For now, Hybrid is a fun but flawed experience, with sheer brilliance waiting for those patient enough to join a match.
  18. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    It's not a ground-breaking title, but it definitely offers a cool twist on the shooter genre. While I wasn't completely sold on the cover-only gameplay, after a few matches, I found myself really enjoying the time I had put into the game.
  19. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    It's done some brilliant things with its genre to create a brand new experience, but no game mode aside from team deathmatch is well-balanced or interesting, and there are precious few maps.
  20. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Putting such a heavy emphasis on cover and limiting player movement in intriguing ways is a risky move that pays off in Hybrid. With its quirky play style and captivating global meta-war, it's easily one of the most unusual and interesting online shooters out there.
  21. 80
    We wish the developers had included some offline bots instead, though, or allowed players access to so much as the main menu when the servers are down, as they were on launch day. Thankfully, Hybrid's combat is so pleasantly addictive, it's tough to hold a grudge.
  22. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Opposing teams taking potshots at one another from cover is nothing new, and Hybrid doesn't really turn the concept on its ear, but supplanting the usual ground game with an entirely aerial one is a delightful twist. It turns every movement into a serous commitment, a dedicated choice. When that choice is to glide into the air and gently lob a grenade behind a pair of unsuspecting adversaries, that's just gravy.
  23. Aug 10, 2012
    80
    Deftly blending tried-and-true mechanics with a brand-new way to move, Hybrid is a fresh, exciting shooter.
  24. Aug 10, 2012
    80
    Between the well-designed maps and the revolutionary gameplay, Hybrid does plenty for the price, but I couldn't help but think that a campaign would be a lot of fun. If 5th Cell could make a sequel with wide-open level design and A.I. that can handle the complex tactical gameplay, it would be a blast.
  25. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    Hybrid represents a good attempt for 5th cell in the TPS multiplayer genre, that will surely entertain you during this summer. The engine runs smoothly at 60 FPS, the gameplay is solid though not innovative, and the game will prove worthwhile whether played alone or with a couple of friends.
  26. 77
    It isn't the prettiest game in the world, but with a consistently high frame rate, quick action packed matches and a unique form of game play tailored for the XBLA platform, Hybrid is definitely the game to play in this year's Summer of Arcade.
  27. Aug 13, 2012
    76
    Technical issues already dampened its prospects since its debut, and long matchmaking times are only compounding the problem. But with rock solid mechanics and genuinely interesting ideas behind it, 5th Cell's innovative shooter still has a fighting chance of bouncing back.
  28. Aug 13, 2012
    76
    This is a really good game that would be a nice compliment to any shooter fan's library. And for 1200 MS Points, it's hard to argue the price.
  29. Aug 26, 2012
    75
    Hybrid is a nice multiplayer game for the Xbox Live Arcade. There's a war between the Variants and the Paladins. It's up to you to fight with one of them and to beat the other. Unfortunately the game doesn't have a single player.
  30. Sep 23, 2012
    70
    Like tuna salad in the sun, Hybrid is decent while we write, but it's definitely a case of eat it now or eat it never. [Issue#89,p.83]
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand the overworld metagame of slowly capturing regions throughout the world it is very compelling and I am exited to get home a play more. I wish the metagame's world map was online so I could check it while at but I tweeted 5th Cell and they said, "Maybe Someday" Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better. But this game worth a look at. Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its the very first one i've ever played and i love it its so cool also adding the duck and cover type feel makes it war like and i feel awesome. Full Review »