Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    Putting such a heavy emphasis on cover and limiting player movement in intriguing ways is a risky move that pays off in Hybrid. With its quirky play style and captivating global meta-war, it's easily one of the most unusual and interesting online shooters out there.
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    80
    Deftly blending tried-and-true mechanics with a brand-new way to move, Hybrid is a fresh, exciting shooter.
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    80
    Between the well-designed maps and the revolutionary gameplay, Hybrid does plenty for the price, but I couldn't help but think that a campaign would be a lot of fun. If 5th Cell could make a sequel with wide-open level design and A.I. that can handle the complex tactical gameplay, it would be a blast.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    60
    Hybrid proves that you can't depend on a few flashy additions to rev up the shooting genre; innovation needs to go into every area possible for a game to stand out. The jetpacks and cover system are twists on standard third-person firefights, but lose their allure quickly due to uninteresting maps and the reliance on modes from other popular games. That's not to say the game isn't entertaining, but it lacks the staying power to keep you hooked. The goal is noble, but Hybrid doesn't turn the third-person shooter on its head.
  5. Aug 9, 2012
    70
    It's a solid, enjoyable shooter, but one that ultimately fails to leverage its strange control decisions into a truly unique experience. It should be different yet, for all its bold ideas about movement, it ends up feeling strangely generic over the long haul.
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    Hybrid does some interesting things with gameplay, but it is ultimately tripped up by poor matchmaking, periodic lag and an unbalanced meta game. Genre fans will enjoy the change of pace, but most players should probably look for greener pastures.
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    83
    But still, it's definitely worth checking out. Hopefully the server and connection issues can get ironed out over the next couple weeks, because this is a multiplayer experience that I'd like to see continue on for a while, and can see myself jumping back into whenever I have some free time. Despite some of those issues, I definitely think it's worth the asking price, and think you'll find that it is too.
  8. Aug 13, 2012
    70
    If multiplayer shooters aren't your thing, you simply won't enjoy Hybrid. There's nothing to the game outside of multiplayer. I guess that rules out any Silver-tier Xbox Live members as well. What Hybrid does to separate itself from other games is commendable, but it might not appeal to everyone. At its best, players will find themselves caught up in Hybrid's universe. At its worst, players will... not be able to find a match.
  9. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Frenzy TPS with cool ideas and persistent map. Game sometimes lacks balance and graphics are not so great, but Hybrid is definitely a thrilling online experience.
  10. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    If the name Hybrid means anything – other than some story point that obviously didn't grab us – it's the way the game has blended third-person shooting with tactical, almost turned-based combat. Moving from cover to cover on autopilot doesn't make for restrictive gunplay, it facilities furious flying combat and desperate mid-air maneuvers.
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    85
    Hybrid is refreshing, and those who are tired of playing the same kind of multiplayer game all the time, or simply those who love action multiplayer games, should give it a try. Getting used to the inability to move around freely might be difficult at the beginning, but then you find out that it's part of the gameplay and what makes it different. Everything is different in Hybrid. It's yet to be seen whether the players will embrace the idea and wait for the issues to be fixed, but the risks taken by 5th cell deserve our support.
  12. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    In a crowded market, it's extremely refreshing to see a developer trying something that's so completely different from everything else out there. The cover-based flight combat is a brilliant idea that fits in perfectly with the overall tone of the game.
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    70
    All problems that I had aside, Hybrid is a decent game, in which a lot of people will likely sink a lot of time into. The concepts that it introduces such as the persistent world of seasons and cover to cover combat are clever, and the game can be fun at times, but I would play the 60 minute demo before dropping the fifteen dollars, considering there is nothing outrageously new being brought to the table.
  14. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    This is a rich, interesting design, then, but one whose capacity for long-term competitive play is questionable.
  15. 80
    We wish the developers had included some offline bots instead, though, or allowed players access to so much as the main menu when the servers are down, as they were on launch day. Thankfully, Hybrid's combat is so pleasantly addictive, it's tough to hold a grudge.
  16. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    It's destined to be nothing more than a forgotten idea, stuck behind a wall, trying desperately to get noticed.
  17. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    Addicting and fun, Hybrid proves to be a fresh and enjoyable experience on the XBLA. You will easily get your $15 out of the experience thanks to the drive to come back and get to the next level.
  18. Aug 13, 2012
    80
    It's not a ground-breaking title, but it definitely offers a cool twist on the shooter genre. While I wasn't completely sold on the cover-only gameplay, after a few matches, I found myself really enjoying the time I had put into the game.
  19. Aug 20, 2012
    83
    Hybrid is a unique experiment in multiplayer cover-based shooting, and it succeeds gloriously.
  20. Aug 20, 2012
    65
    Hybrid is a game with good ideas, but that is heavily tainted by an absolutely bland and uninspired level design.
  21. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    Hybrid represents a good attempt for 5th cell in the TPS multiplayer genre, that will surely entertain you during this summer. The engine runs smoothly at 60 FPS, the gameplay is solid though not innovative, and the game will prove worthwhile whether played alone or with a couple of friends.
  22. Aug 26, 2012
    75
    Hybrid is a nice multiplayer game for the Xbox Live Arcade. There's a war between the Variants and the Paladins. It's up to you to fight with one of them and to beat the other. Unfortunately the game doesn't have a single player.
  23. Aug 20, 2012
    55
    If originality were the bar through which we grade games, Hybrid would've scored a lot higher, because this third-person shooter contains some good ideas. The ideas are unfortunately killed by big mistakes, which show that the developer isn't comfortable with the shooter genre.
  24. 60
    Getting such an odd idea to work is worth praise alone, but Hybrid feels more like a hypothetical experiment than a genuinely useful innovation.
  25. Aug 15, 2012
    70
    Hybrid is decent, but not essential. The well-executed mechanics that make up the core gameplay are interesting for a little while, but how long it holds your interest for depends on how willing you are to look past the game's niggling problems.
  26. Aug 14, 2012
    87
    Hybrid is a game that you might not expect from the creators of Lock's Quest and Scribblenauts, but if the sort of imagination behind this jump-jet cover based space shooter is anything to go by, the connections aren't all that difficult to make.
  27. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    Hybrid has frenetic gameplay and good and accessible gunplay. It's an interesting product for multiplayer Third Person Shooter lovers, but has some problems with servers and his generic audiovisuals.
  28. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    It's good in the sense that it takes a specific aspect of multiplayer from cover-based shooters and does it better than most. However, said aspect won't appeal to everyone. Moreover, Hybrid is a hard sell at 1200 Microsoft points - in addition to the micro-transactions you will need to unlock every weapon.
  29. 70
    Sure, the levels are all much of a muchness, and despite the variety of game modes, it can get samey. But the persistent online game - a fight for Dark Matter between Paladins (humans) and Valiants (aliens) - adds long-term appeal, and once you've mastered its quirks, it's an absolute blast in small doses.
  30. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Hybrid has some good ideas and does a fine job in implementing them.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    I am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisonedI am loving Hybrid from loadouts and guns that feel completely different from eachother, to perks that are really unique, like poisoned bullets and a grenade that turns a person's drones against them. Movement takes some times to get used to but then but the 3-D arenas with cover points upside down and on the side of walls make it well worth the time to get to know. Once you understand the overworld metagame of slowly capturing regions throughout the world it is very compelling and I am exited to get home a play more. I wish the metagame's world map was online so I could check it while at but I tweeted 5th Cell and they said, "Maybe Someday" Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better.The game is one of the best shooters I ever played the game is disappointing because 3 people per team is a bit low maybe 4 would be better. But this game worth a look at. Full Review »
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades andThis game is amazing i love it at first i thought the concept was strange but later on it became addicting. All of the guns and grenades and the abilities are amazing me and my friend love this game we play it all the time some times you get a little tired of it but once you take a little break then go right back boom your sucked in again. The 3rd person shooter aspect is awesome its the very first one i've ever played and i love it its so cool also adding the duck and cover type feel makes it war like and i feel awesome. Full Review »