I Am Alive Xbox 360

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 68
  2. Negative: 8 out of 68
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    45
    I Am Alive has great ideas and poor execution. It ends up being a flat, frustrating game that isn't worth your time or money.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    42
    All in all, I Am Alive does most things well on paper – it's tight and succinct, priced as such, and it's a type of game we've yet to really explore (a gritty and realistic look at post-apocalyptic survival). Unfortunately, in spite of how cool it could have been, it ends up missing the mark by quite a big margin.
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    42
    I Am Alive is a strong game premise that really fails to launch. Its great mood and solid combat system are overcome with poor design choices and story that just goes nowhere. I can't recommend it to anyone but the most ardent of supporters or diehard fans of The Road or other destroyed world apocalyptic fiction.
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Ah well. One final tinge of guilt for an awful, disgusting, unsettling thing I never wanted to do. That sums up I Am Alive concisely.
  5. games(TM)
    Apr 17, 2012
    40
    It comes nowhere close to living up to its title's protestations. [Issue#121, p.112]
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Apr 2, 2012
    40
    The fighting and climbing become exercises in frustration, and there isn't enough depth here. [Issue#83, p.100]
  7. Mar 14, 2012
    40
    I Am Alive is extra disappointing because it has so much potential right up front, and then wastes no time squandering all of it. Its premise is exciting but its promise goes wholly unfulfilled, and at some point you've got to stop lauding a game's good ideas and think about how much you actually enjoyed playing it.
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    40
    I am Alive is a failure. After launching it you quickly understand why Ubisoft has held it on the back burner for so long. Instead of a survival game in a big city you get a few hours of slow fighting with platforms, emotionless shooting and a couple of quick-time events.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 52
  2. Negative: 10 out of 52
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Wow, I Am Alive is a fantastic game, is so interesting, the gameplay is fantastic, the story is amazing, this is one of the biggest sorprisesWow, I Am Alive is a fantastic game, is so interesting, the gameplay is fantastic, the story is amazing, this is one of the biggest sorprises of 2012, and I never believe that. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    For a 15$ game it is outstanding. Are the graphics great compared to a regular 60$ xbox title? No. But it honestly looks pretty damn goodFor a 15$ game it is outstanding. Are the graphics great compared to a regular 60$ xbox title? No. But it honestly looks pretty damn good for an arcade title.

    Bad: There are occasional moments of frustration with gameplay. Too linear. I wish that problems could be approached from many different angles, instead of essentially one angle of attack.

    Good: Many people will probably detest the combat. You essentially cannot beat two opponents if you are out of ammo and there isn't a cliff or a fire around. But this made ammo precious. And made every fight a tough tactical battle. I have to put the guy with the gun down right away, and if I don't intimidate the other two right away, before they can scoop up his pistol, I'm done for.

    I loved the look of the game. I liked the look of the bad guys.

    The dark tone of the game is awesome. When I was in a tight spot and badly wounded I had to eat some human meat to survive. I let an innocent guy die, because I really didn't want to use my last bullet to save him. These were awesome moments.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    No, seriously, don't trust the IGN review. It's true that they said it was bad, but it's false that it's bad because it's good, good notNo, seriously, don't trust the IGN review. It's true that they said it was bad, but it's false that it's bad because it's good, good not great, but definitely not bad. not good good, but just good. good enough. good enough for me and good enough for yo momma' i've waited a long time for this game. years. and now i'm playing it. not only am i playing it, but i'm also enjoying myself as i'm playing it. so if you have 1200 points and you aren't afraid of the future, because we all know this game is more than a game, it's a warning sign for things to come in this country and the world and the good men and women of ubisoft are doing us a kindness in releasing this game and helping us mentally prepare for the coming global social breakdown of social society. no more facebook. no more smartphones. no more hot pockets. Full Review »