Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's an ingenious puzzle game that's sure to challenge and please every type of gamer and comes highly recommended from this author.
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    90
    Cozy graphics and great puzzles. Get it now!
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    89
    A beautiful, innovative game with loads of details and content – you can feel the love of the game designers and will be bound to Ilo and Milo in this puzzle madness. But: Nothing for action freaks.
  4. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Ilomilo is an absolutely delightful game full of charm and character.
  5. Jan 10, 2011
    91
    The lovely settings and cheery sound effects help soften any feelings of frustration that can build up during a particularly challenging puzzle.
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    90
    Overall, these issues are minor annoyances. ilomilo is an endearing, thought-provoking, and addictive puzzler. And with a selection of bonus mini-games and a well-balanced co-op mode, gamers are sure to get their money's worth.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    93
    There's no reason not to pick up ilomilo unless you just totally detest puzzle games.
  8. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    It may be over before you want it, but we'd much rather be left wanting more than feeling the game has worn out its welcome. If that's even possible with ilomilo, it sure wasn't obvious to us.
  9. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    A dreamily pretty and astonishingly compulsive puzzler that's a good deal more polished than many full-price retail releases.
  10. Dec 13, 2010
    88
    The overall experience of playing Ilomilo is absolutely addicting; it's as much fun as I've had with a puzzle game in ages. [Jan 2011, p.87]
  11. 90
    Strong, simple concept, executed beautifully. [Mar 2011, p.102]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    First impressions when you look at 'ilomilo' is the style, the colourful and somewhat bohemian style are a easy on the eyes. There is a different soundtrack for each different world and is constantly refreshing and relaxing. The game is pure 3 dimensional puzzles, this means there are no health bars, plat-forming or skill involved which may be a turn-off to some. From having completed indy games such as 'Braid' and 'Limbo' I thought I was average more or less at puzzle games, the later levels prove to be very challenging and only truly great minds will complete it first time without having to come back.

    My only gripe with the game was the camera, it always seems to be either too far away or too close when toggling between the views with the Y button, also it moves at ninety degree angles and is not as flexible as I would of hoped and therefore caused me some motion sickness after a couple hours.

    Visuals-9, Originality-9, Game-play-7, Sound-9.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    The style and presentation of this game are wonderful. However, you don't expect the puzzles themselves to be so clever and enjoyable. This is one of the most wonderful XBLA titles I have played, right up there (but just below) Trials HD and Shadow Complex.
    Let us hope they release more levels via DLC.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    I was surprised by ilomilo. It really is a fantatsic puzzle game. It also has an excellent soundtrack. If you are sitting on the fence about this one at least play through the trial. Full Review »