Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    95
    One of the best all-around fighting experiences you’re likely to find—and fans of both DC Comics and Mortal Kombat-style fighters will be blown away by this high-quality brawler of epic proportions.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    91
    Injustice: Gods Among Us can easily be called one of the best, if not THE BEST, fighting games of 2013. With its addictive story mode and fantastic fighting engine, it is an experience to behold. Fans of Mortal Kombat or any fighting game in general will find something to like here.
  3. May 9, 2013
    90
    Injustice looks great, plays great, and feels like a breath of fresh air for the fighting game genre.
  4. 90
    Injustice: God Among Us is a safe evolution of Mortal Kombat. Based on the DC Comics universe, its greatest asset is the deep and innovative gameplay, despite having Mortal Kombat as its starting point.
  5. May 5, 2013
    90
    It takes the best parts of MK but refuses to rest on its laurels, building on a solid blueprint to create a fighting game with its own identity and unique fighting system. It remains accessible but manages to retain a hidden depth, making for a complete package that’s fun to play no matter your skill level.
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    Injustice is now among us and it serves up some sweet justice for DC comics fans that have been waiting for a great fighter starring their favorite comic characters.
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    90
    Injustice: Gods Among Us is a great fighting game that just so happens to be a love letter to fans of DC Comics. Those who enjoy at least one of the two will no doubt get their money’s worth with NetherRealm’s latest.
  8. 90
    With fantastic presentation, impressive graphics and voice acting, a surprisingly interesting story, a great control scheme, and a huge amount of content, I highly recommend Injustice: Gods Among Us to not only comic book fans and fighting game veterans, but to anyone looking for a game that’s extremely entertaining to play.
  9. Apr 19, 2013
    90
    Incredible storytelling and fantastically executed single-player modes. Even its online offerings, which may not be NetherRealm's best work, are worlds better than the majority of other solutions being floated by Capcom and Namco Bandai.
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    90
    NetherRealm clearly had a blast creating Injustice. The team’s appreciation of the DC universe blends nicely with their well-worn Mortal Kombat formula to create an experience that is a success on both fighting and comic book levels.
  11. 90
    Injustice is fast, destructive, and extremely accessible without sacrificing its hardcore edge, and its slick visuals and nonstop craziness put it in a class by itself. This fighter is DC and NetherRealm at their finest, and while certain aspects (like Super Moves) wear thin, there’s enough great content here to keep fans busy for months.
  12. Injustice: Gods Among Us is as complete a fighting game as I’ve played. It’s set up to cater to both beginner and experienced players and has a story mode that manages to almost completely hide its contrivances. Top-notch animation, voice acting and multiplayer options round out the offering. It’s also a great homage to DC superheroes that comic book fans are sure to love.
  13. Apr 17, 2013
    88
    Despite the fact we’re finally getting Mortal Kombat here in Australia next month, you couldn’t go much better than Injustice: Gods Among Us for your fighting game fix. It feels like a classic NetherRealm game with all the mechanics and balance they’re known for when they bring their A-Game, and it has Batman duking it out with Superman. Honestly, what’s not to love here?
  14. May 13, 2013
    87
    A very good 2D beat 'em up, where DC Comics's legendary superheroes and villains battle it out. The story explains why the wildly different characters are evenly matched, but it still feels a bit odd. [May 2013]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 95
  2. Negative: 7 out of 95
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. Although I never could get the hang of several fighting games (including Mortal Kombat), Injustice collects the best aspects of the genre, and definitely aims for a wide audience. One minor nit: I wish the tutorial would demo the moves so you'd know what it looked like when correctly executed (ala Soul Calibur). Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I now had few days (some stores don't care about the street-release-date, I guess) to check out the game and I have quite few positive things to say about it!
    As a comic book fan and a fighting game fan I was interested in the game from the very first beginning.
    So obviously I instantly bought it, when it got released and boy was that a good purchase.

    Now keep in mind that your typical fighting game does not always offer you a lot of content. Very often it's all about the fighting and for the most part your only option is online play, if you desire to get the best out of the game.
    While Injustice offers you all that as well, it also offers just like MK9 before a TON of single player content. There is a long story mode with an interesting story over all. There are many minigames in the STAR Labs mode and even unlockables (yes, some games still do that).
    The tutorial mode is perfect for beginners and the amazing practice mode is even better.

    The roster of the game consists out of 24 characters, while NRS (the developer of the game) is working on other characters to release them later on as additional DLC characters.
    Out of these 24 characters there are NO clones in the game. Every character has his own interesting playstyle. That all gets intensified by the character specific superpower that offers even more variety: Superman for example enters a rage mode, where he deals more damage and ignores armor from the enemies (armor lets them take few hits for free). Batman summons Bat-drones which he can use to attack the opponents and extend his combos. Joker parries the opponents attacks and collects HaHaHa's to gain speed and so on, and so on.
    The best thing about the roster is that nearly everyone has something dirty up to their sleeve. Every character is a threat and overall very viable, something you don't have very often in fighting games. In other fighting games you often have the characters who are so good that they overshadow everything else, while in Injustice it looks like quite a few character will be able to offer you the playing experience you wish for. But only time will tell if that will stay the same.

    Many people were worried about the Netcode, but the Netcode got better. You might have some problems at the beginning, because I personally expect many people to pick the game up and their servers could have some problems right at the beginning, but from what I can tell so far the netcode is much better than the MK9 netcode, which means that you're online play will be less lag free and that is a huge plus.

    Unfortunately Injustice does have some flaws:
    The graphics in the story mode for example are not the prettiest. They look like some last gen stuff at some parts. In the game itself, when you play Versus modes the graphics are simply amazing, surpassing even Soul Calibur 5 which was the prettiest fighting game until Injustice arrived at least in my eyes.

    A different lackluster point is the actual story. There are some writing flaws, but you will think like that only if you're a hardcore comic book fan, who knows a lot about the actual characters and stuff in the comics, so that few things are quite: "What? That's so stupid!"

    The music is also well, the game has a good soundtrack, but in my own personal opinion it's not the hypest soundtrack you can have for a fighting game. I'm pretty sure that I will put in my own music, to have even better fights.

    I recommend this game to every fighting game fan out there (especially because it does many things much different and much better than Mortal Kombat 9) and the interactibles and the clash mode are a new, fresh addition to the genre.
    If you're into comic books be sure to pick the game up as well. The story as well the cameos of well known characters in the story and in the STAR Labs mode will be a highlight for you. I obviously don't need to tell you about the great cast itself.

    I give this game 9 out of 10 points.

    It's a great package overall.
    The only significant negative point about this game would be the unhype soundtrack of the game. Some might argue about some characters in the cast like for example Killer Frost and Ares who took the spots of more beloved charaters like Captain Cold and Circe, but that's nothing to take points away from the rating. I'm trying to be unbiased, when it comes to that and I hope you will be it as well. We still have DLC characters and maybe our favorites will make it into the game as well
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Absolutely incredible. A worthy fighter from the creators of Mortal Kombat and filled with fan service. Great visuals for a fighting game, except in a couple of cutscenes the textures might be a little lackluster. Graphics don't make a fighting game, the gameplay does and does it deliver? Sure does. Every character has a personality of their own and require quite some time to master. Big dudes like Bane feel like, well big dudes. They're slow and have a good weight to them. This of course is balanced by powerful attacks and special moves. The characters are very well detailed. The costumes are a mix of Comic books and Animated shows. There's so much to touch on but i really need to get back to play the game. If you're a DC comic book/Animated fan or a fighting game fan this game is a must buy. Kudos to the guys a Netherrealm and WB for giving us this amazing brawler. Full Review »