Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Injustice: Gods Among Us is the first in a new fighting game franchise that introduces an original story featuring a large cast of DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and a variety of others. Set in a world where the lines betweenInjustice: Gods Among Us is the first in a new fighting game franchise that introduces an original story featuring a large cast of DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and a variety of others. Set in a world where the lines between good and evil can often be blurred, players experience heroes and villains engaging in epic battles on a vast scale. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    95
    One of the best all-around fighting experiences you’re likely to find—and fans of both DC Comics and Mortal Kombat-style fighters will be blown away by this high-quality brawler of epic proportions.
  2. 90
    With fantastic presentation, impressive graphics and voice acting, a surprisingly interesting story, a great control scheme, and a huge amount of content, I highly recommend Injustice: Gods Among Us to not only comic book fans and fighting game veterans, but to anyone looking for a game that’s extremely entertaining to play.
  3. May 12, 2013
    85
    Gods Among Us provides a robust cast of DC fighters, gameplay mechanics that cater to gamers of all levels, and an extensive amount of content that will leave gamers delighted.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Mechanics and content can make or break a modern fighting game, and Injustice delivers on those fronts.
  5. May 9, 2013
    80
    Despite some balance issues, Injustice is spectacular and satisfying, and should please many a DC comics fan. [June 2013, p.61]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Another good fighting game made by Ed Boon and NetherRealm, with enough personality and new features to distinguish itself from Mortal Kombat.
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    60
    Even though NetherRealm Studios has packed Injustice: Gods Among Us with fanservice and added a really nice single-player mode, the fighting engine just isn't good enough.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    What can i say first that wont make me sound like a geek, this game has a bunch of the best DC characters in the universe. Injustice godsWhat can i say first that wont make me sound like a geek, this game has a bunch of the best DC characters in the universe. Injustice gods among us is the next fighting game from Netherrelm Studios the developers of the excellent Mortal Kombat reboot of 2011. What i enjoy most about this developer is that Netherrelm bothers to include an actual story, and the story here in this game is a blast, its action packed, well voice acted with a good soundtrack and special congratulations to Kevin Conroy the voice of batman, he was my favorite. Here is a short summary of the story, first off yes it is a multiverse story taking place in two dimensions, but it starts off with Joker has detonated a nuclear device in the heart of Metropolis by having superman kill lois Lane with the detonator linked to her heart beat and when lois died the bomb went off. Now you ask how did Joker get superman to kill the woman he loved, well scarecrow uses his fear toxins to drug superman into thinking he was fighting doomsday, then when pushed to the edge during questioning Superman just murders the joker despite batman's protest. This paves the way to Superman becoming a dictator of his world. Then it jumps back to the other universe where batman is heading to Arkham to find Joker but instead is greeted by death stroke, defeating him then goes to the Justice Leagues base to only uncover Joker in Metropolis about to detonate a nuclear device given to him by Lex Luthor. So Batman goes to face Joker but in the heat of the battle some weird thing happens and Batman along with Joker and a couple of other heroes such as Aquaman, Green Lantern and wonder woman, they get transported into a parallel universe the one i mentioned at the beginning where Superman murders the joker. What results from there is that the heroes and Joker realize that this isn't their world, and that they are hunted by a tyranical Superman they try to find out what is going on, and how to fight Superman's regime. Trust me this story is well worth the ride because the stakes are constantly raised to epic proportions, with some shocking team up like Death stroke and Cyborg. Now lets get to the games positives, as i said the story is well written and voice acted with a good supporting soundtrack. Now lets get down tot he fighting mechanics, it is the best in its genre, you have a bounce cancel dash system to break in and extend combos, you have environmental based attacks like knocking a character into another section of a level, you have a new wager class system where you bet an amount of your characters power meter to win a clash and a chance at dealing extra damage and regaining a bit of health. Also just like most fighting games you have a super meter to where to you can either use to supercharge you special attacks or save it all to perform a massive super that does a lot of damage. Also the combo layout has a light medium and heavy attacks with the 4th triggering a character trait that seems unique to each character, my personal favorite one is doomsday's where it gives him temporarily a strong protective coating that soaks a lot of damage. Also the unlocks you gain as you level up, like access cards, and armory keys tot he hall of justice where you can purchase things like concept art and alternate characters costumes three of my favorites are Bane Regime, Raven Regime, and Joker Insurgency. Also the using a modified version of unreal the graphics are fantastic to the point of during a fight you actually feel like you are watching and participating in a fight with two deadly superheroes or the classic villain versus hero. There are also tons of stuff happening int the environmental background, and the lighting works really well where if a character is wearing armor and say you are standing in a spot light it actually looks like light is shining off of the armor. In my opinion there is better extra content then in mortal kombat because, you have a list of challenges that put different spins on battles like Mirror Match where at the beginning of each fight the game selects a character and you fight as that character and so does the ai. Also there is a big massive challenge mode called star labs missions where each of the 24 characters on the roster has 10 missions unique to them, and there is about over 200 of these missions some of them difficult to three star. One other positive is that the fight combos themselves flow really smooth when performed, and there is an extensive tutorial mode to teach you everything you need to know. Now there are just two negatives i found with the game and they are not with glitches or framerate those are fine but there is no tag team mode like in mortal Kombat plus while the story is good multiverse stories have been done before but none of these two issues really bothered me enough to deduct anything from the score, so i recommend this game to anyone who likes fighting games, or the DC characters or if you like blockbuster stories Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. AlthoughI am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. Although I never could get the hang of several fighting games (including Mortal Kombat), Injustice collects the best aspects of the genre, and definitely aims for a wide audience. One minor nit: I wish the tutorial would demo the moves so you'd know what it looked like when correctly executed (ala Soul Calibur). Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    awesome game love the fighting mechanics the screen transition are pretty good and it just isnt a reskin of mortal kombat far from itawesome game love the fighting mechanics the screen transition are pretty good and it just isnt a reskin of mortal kombat far from it reccomend it to all fighting game lovers Collapse
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    It's very, very good! I'm more a fan of the Mortal Kombat series, and a stronger Marvel fan than a DC fan. BUT Injustice does DC justice *badIt's very, very good! I'm more a fan of the Mortal Kombat series, and a stronger Marvel fan than a DC fan. BUT Injustice does DC justice *bad pun, sorry*. Fantastic visuals, excellent sound, great roster line up (I'm a bit sad there's no Power Girl *DLC, DLC, DLC*) great story (although I'm sure die hard fans will moan.) Not to mention Injustice has probably got the nicest learning curve of any fighting I have ever played. I haven't touched the Multiplayer and online aspects yet, but so far I am greatly impressed.

    Like I said I am a bigger fan of MK so when I say this game is better than the Mortal Kombat reboot, that's saying something! If you have to own a fighting game, then make it this one!

    Side Note: -
    DLC characters I would want to see eventually:
    - Powergirl
    - Supergirl
    - Darkseid
    - Zatanna
    Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    This is one of the best fighting games I've ever played. The instant I heard these were the guys who made Mortal Kombat I had to try it out.This is one of the best fighting games I've ever played. The instant I heard these were the guys who made Mortal Kombat I had to try it out. The first thing I did was check out all the characters. The animations are great and everything looks great in general. The combat is really fun and the environmental things are very innovative plus they work well, but I did find some minor issues with the button only combos. It has a great roster, but it was annoying how Solomon Grundy and Raven were really big spam characters, especially in multiplayer. The story is amazing, especially because I usually don't really follow the stories of video games, yet this one impressed me. The set piece moments are amazing and even though they are somewhat annoying, the mini games are pretty fun. I also love the battles mode with all it's crazy modes and stuff. Then I tried the multiplayer. The combat is the same, witch is good, but the system is so bad I had to wait for 10 minutes total to get 2 matches, just to get spammed by Raven and Grundy. All in all, this is a great game but look elsewhere if you love good online fighting. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    Do I really need to give a valid reason to BUY THIS GAME!? Well the story is breathtaking, the action is amazing, and the character frameDo I really need to give a valid reason to BUY THIS GAME!? Well the story is breathtaking, the action is amazing, and the character frame animations are AAA quality!!! What's not to love. Another fighting game of the year! I just wished they added just a few more DC characters in here. Oh well... there is always MUGEN. Anyway....BUY IT TODAY!!!! Worth the $60!!! BUT....I lost some respect from Netherrealm studios when they decided to give us an ULTIMATE EDITION OF THE GAME??? Plus the game is lacking in basic modes and the constant dlc gouging for costumes! This game was a little disappointing because a lot fan requests for characters to be in the game WERE NEVER met. The game needed more than five dlc characters and characters SHOULD NEVER COST $5 EACH! It's fighting game of the year quality but much needed to be done with this game. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    1
    watchout mortal kombat, a new developer is about to show you a better game.this is another mediocre marvel game with a weird a** third personwatchout mortal kombat, a new developer is about to show you a better game.this is another mediocre marvel game with a weird a** third person camera angle, or is it first person view of the audience. all you have to do is button mash and roll a die to win. ive won before by clicking the start button over and over again. and you cant even use spiderman or tris prior (she would kick ass). spiderman made a cameo in the background of stryker island, but other than that, all you have to do is be hawkeye and shoot arrows to win (and they made hawkeye green...total ripoff of terrel dickson and katniss everdeen. seriously marvel?). its still my fav game though besides shrek go kart and mnm go kart. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews