Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Injustice: Gods Among Us is the first in a new fighting game franchise that introduces an original story featuring a large cast of DC Comics icons such as Batman, Harley Quinn, Solomon Grundy, Superman, The Flash, Wonder Woman and a variety of others. Set in a world where the lines between good and evil can often be blurred, players experience heroes and villains engaging in epic battles on a vast scale. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    95
    One of the best all-around fighting experiences you’re likely to find—and fans of both DC Comics and Mortal Kombat-style fighters will be blown away by this high-quality brawler of epic proportions.
  2. 90
    With fantastic presentation, impressive graphics and voice acting, a surprisingly interesting story, a great control scheme, and a huge amount of content, I highly recommend Injustice: Gods Among Us to not only comic book fans and fighting game veterans, but to anyone looking for a game that’s extremely entertaining to play.
  3. May 12, 2013
    85
    Gods Among Us provides a robust cast of DC fighters, gameplay mechanics that cater to gamers of all levels, and an extensive amount of content that will leave gamers delighted.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    Mechanics and content can make or break a modern fighting game, and Injustice delivers on those fronts.
  5. May 9, 2013
    80
    Despite some balance issues, Injustice is spectacular and satisfying, and should please many a DC comics fan. [June 2013, p.61]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Another good fighting game made by Ed Boon and NetherRealm, with enough personality and new features to distinguish itself from Mortal Kombat.
  7. Apr 16, 2013
    60
    Even though NetherRealm Studios has packed Injustice: Gods Among Us with fanservice and added a really nice single-player mode, the fighting engine just isn't good enough.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 95
  2. Negative: 7 out of 95
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    What can i say first that wont make me sound like a geek, this game has a bunch of the best DC characters in the universe. Injustice gods among us is the next fighting game from Netherrelm Studios the developers of the excellent Mortal Kombat reboot of 2011. What i enjoy most about this developer is that Netherrelm bothers to include an actual story, and the story here in this game is a blast, its action packed, well voice acted with a good soundtrack and special congratulations to Kevin Conroy the voice of batman, he was my favorite. Here is a short summary of the story, first off yes it is a multiverse story taking place in two dimensions, but it starts off with Joker has detonated a nuclear device in the heart of Metropolis by having superman kill lois Lane with the detonator linked to her heart beat and when lois died the bomb went off. Now you ask how did Joker get superman to kill the woman he loved, well scarecrow uses his fear toxins to drug superman into thinking he was fighting doomsday, then when pushed to the edge during questioning Superman just murders the joker despite batman's protest. This paves the way to Superman becoming a dictator of his world. Then it jumps back to the other universe where batman is heading to Arkham to find Joker but instead is greeted by death stroke, defeating him then goes to the Justice Leagues base to only uncover Joker in Metropolis about to detonate a nuclear device given to him by Lex Luthor. So Batman goes to face Joker but in the heat of the battle some weird thing happens and Batman along with Joker and a couple of other heroes such as Aquaman, Green Lantern and wonder woman, they get transported into a parallel universe the one i mentioned at the beginning where Superman murders the joker. What results from there is that the heroes and Joker realize that this isn't their world, and that they are hunted by a tyranical Superman they try to find out what is going on, and how to fight Superman's regime. Trust me this story is well worth the ride because the stakes are constantly raised to epic proportions, with some shocking team up like Death stroke and Cyborg. Now lets get to the games positives, as i said the story is well written and voice acted with a good supporting soundtrack. Now lets get down tot he fighting mechanics, it is the best in its genre, you have a bounce cancel dash system to break in and extend combos, you have environmental based attacks like knocking a character into another section of a level, you have a new wager class system where you bet an amount of your characters power meter to win a clash and a chance at dealing extra damage and regaining a bit of health. Also just like most fighting games you have a super meter to where to you can either use to supercharge you special attacks or save it all to perform a massive super that does a lot of damage. Also the combo layout has a light medium and heavy attacks with the 4th triggering a character trait that seems unique to each character, my personal favorite one is doomsday's where it gives him temporarily a strong protective coating that soaks a lot of damage. Also the unlocks you gain as you level up, like access cards, and armory keys tot he hall of justice where you can purchase things like concept art and alternate characters costumes three of my favorites are Bane Regime, Raven Regime, and Joker Insurgency. Also the using a modified version of unreal the graphics are fantastic to the point of during a fight you actually feel like you are watching and participating in a fight with two deadly superheroes or the classic villain versus hero. There are also tons of stuff happening int the environmental background, and the lighting works really well where if a character is wearing armor and say you are standing in a spot light it actually looks like light is shining off of the armor. In my opinion there is better extra content then in mortal kombat because, you have a list of challenges that put different spins on battles like Mirror Match where at the beginning of each fight the game selects a character and you fight as that character and so does the ai. Also there is a big massive challenge mode called star labs missions where each of the 24 characters on the roster has 10 missions unique to them, and there is about over 200 of these missions some of them difficult to three star. One other positive is that the fight combos themselves flow really smooth when performed, and there is an extensive tutorial mode to teach you everything you need to know. Now there are just two negatives i found with the game and they are not with glitches or framerate those are fine but there is no tag team mode like in mortal Kombat plus while the story is good multiverse stories have been done before but none of these two issues really bothered me enough to deduct anything from the score, so i recommend this game to anyone who likes fighting games, or the DC characters or if you like blockbuster stories Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I am a casual fighter gamer, and picky about games. The tutorial has been very helpful. Graphics are fantastic, controls are great. Although I never could get the hang of several fighting games (including Mortal Kombat), Injustice collects the best aspects of the genre, and definitely aims for a wide audience. One minor nit: I wish the tutorial would demo the moves so you'd know what it looked like when correctly executed (ala Soul Calibur). Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    If you are playing the game for its single player story mode, then dont even buy it. If like most people though you see this as an opourtunity to have some fun with close friends, maybe some online play, then this is the game for you. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Injustice provides the technical aspects that the hardcore fans love, the depth and longevity that casual fans love and throws in some new features and a cinematic game flow. Anyone who plays fighting games should be pretty impressed with Injustice. Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    8
    Injustice: Gods Among Us is a way of Netherrealm Studios' developers make money before launch a new Mortal Kombat, showing a game very similar but with own game-play. The plot of Injustice isn't very original, I saw a Justice League Unlimited episode with same plot, just changing the characters: Lois to Flash and Joker to Luthor, but yes, is a good game. The list of characters is very strong, and the design of each fighter is very good, but the combos and special attacks make them unbalanced. The scenario interactivity is one of aspects that surprised me. In the end, if you want to buy Injustice, buy; if you want to spend less money in a game, wait a while and buy the complete version; if you like DC universe and fighting genre, this game was made for you.
    CAUTION: don't think you are good in MK you'll succeed in Injustice, both are very similar, but are different games.
    Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Even though the story is simple and some of the fights are contrived, Injustice: Gods Among Us has enough content and fan service to keep you entertained for several hours. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    4
    Injustice: Gods Among us comes very close to being a flawless fighting game in the DC universe, but falls short for one reason: Lack of 2vs2 tag modes in both local & online play.
    ---------------
    One of the major factors about fighting games is multiplayer, a fact seemingly forgotten by Netherrealm Studios since releasing the widely successful Mortal Kombat reboot. Mortal Kombat returned to it's "2d" fighting game roots in full 3d gory pleasure. Tones of extra features, unlockable characters, unlockable moves an fatalities provided immense replayability.
    ------------------
    In Mortal Kombat (9), Player 1 could form a tag team with Player 2 and play other 2-man tag groups online over Xbox live. This provided simple yet crucial enjoyment to people with friends which is just about everyone. Locally, 4 players could go head to head in a 2 vs 2 tag match resulting in many fun nights with my group of friends & I.
    -----------------
    Then Injustice comes along, builds upon the MK9 model in many ways but leaves this crucial feature out. You may not think this a big deal, but it is huge considering these games are meant to be played against other people competitively. No one buys a fighting game to fight against AI longer than he has to to complete the main campaign. Netherrealm Studios however thinks otherwise. It is unknown to me why this feature has been removed. Perhaps it was to force groups of friends to all buy their own copy of Injustice.-----------------------Overall the game is very smooth. Anyone who says the game is for casuals isn't too bright, In fact casuals will be destroyed. Various improvements over cheapness in MK9 has been implemented such as changes to blocking, fairy jumping (Jumping straight up and punching sending the enemy downward, bouncing up in preparation for your combo) and others. The characters are interesting and the mechanics enhanced over MK9. The special attacks are very great. It's very rewarding to watch Lex Luthor call down a satellite superstrike on your target and you grabbing that energy and chucking it at your opponent. Each character is truly unique. My friend and & tried them all out and not one was similar in any way.---------Conclusion: For months my frirends & I have been looking forward to taking the MK9 formula and enhancing it. They have definitely done that, but the lack of 2vs2 tag modes for local & online play seriously negate any enhancements. After all, what does it matter how great it is when we can't even play Co-op, VS eachother at once, or test our skills together against online opponents?
    Expand

See all 95 User Reviews