Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 51
  2. Negative: 12 out of 51
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    55
    It's not a terrible game, but it's in those moments in which you glimpse it's unrealised potential that really brings it down.
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    40
    Inversion isn't clever in the slightest. It's about as trite as a shooter can get, and its attempts to jazz things up with gravity-based antics come across as a jumbled mess, rather than as the clever invention it so badly wants them to be. Inversion is a third-rate knockoff full of cheap thrills, subpar acting, and a hefty dose of cheese--fun for a B-movie-style evening of masochistic punishment, but like most guilty pleasures, it's probably best to keep this one to yourself.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    60
    What we're left with is two-thirds of a campaign that competently rips off Gears of War, and some multiplayer modes that aren't bad. That's not enough to justify a rental, much less a $60 purchase.
  4. Jun 5, 2012
    60
    It's a completely mediocre shooter that's actually weighed down by its distinguishing gimmick.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    50
    A bad game? Not really: just an underwhelming one. Your pulse may quicken occasionally, but your world is unlikely to turn upside down.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    But with an average length (6-8 hours) single-player campaign, and no real reason to replay ir, Inversion holds on to be only a few notches better than passable.
  7. Jun 25, 2012
    74
    Everything has been done better elsewhere, but some set pieces are genuinely impressive. [August 2012, p.71]
  8. Jul 6, 2012
    65
    An average third person shooter, with some nice ideas which never reach their truly potential. Ugly story and characters.
  9. Jul 9, 2012
    68
    We have liked Inversion much more than we expected, as it is an enjoyable product with some good moments and ideas and spectacular modest, despite being quite a modest production. It could have been much better, of course, and it has room of improvement in almost every area, but it entertains and the idea of gravity manipulation is good, although it could have been made the most if only the developers had been more ambitious.
  10. Jul 11, 2012
    60
    There's an overall level of polish to Inversion that shows a developer improving its skillset. Though the game never fully stretches its ambitious premise beyond the confines of the cover shooter genre, it's a game with the noblest of intentions: to provide wall-to-wall, or, rather, floor-to-ceiling, entertainment.
  11. 60
    Your journey quickly settles into an endless slog of interchangeable shootouts, broken up by little more than hold-the-door-for-me-bro tedium and boss battles that range from serviceable arena showdowns to infuriating cover-free patience-drainers.
  12. Jun 13, 2012
    50
    I can't see much reason to play this unless you are just a shooter fanatic, and even at that, this one is mediocre.
  13. Jul 12, 2012
    60
    If only the gameplay was as well realised as the engine that runs it, Inversion would be far more recommendable. Regrettably, as it stands, Saber Interactive has created a mechanically robust game, but one that doesn't do enough with the ideas it can lay claim to as its own.
  14. Jul 12, 2012
    55
    Although is an ambitious game, Inversion is let down by its generic gameplay and boring story.
  15. Jul 13, 2012
    65
    As a third-person shooter, Inversion has some fun and long-lasting single-player gunplay (even if it does a huge amount of copycatting off of Gears of War). That's despite an utterly incomprehensible and confusing single-player story filled with too many plot holes along with a very sparse online presence to date.
  16. Jun 20, 2012
    42
    Inversion is yet another derivative third-person shooter with a gimmick. This time around you control gravity in the most limited way possible. Although there are plenty of strong moments, the game is ultimately brought back down to earth with the never ending cinemas, repeating bosses, ugly graphics and frustrating level designs!
  17. Jun 12, 2012
    50
    All that matters is that there's a lot of heart in Inversion, but absolutely nothing going on the brain department. There is desire, with absolutely no thought.
  18. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Inversion has some nice shooter gameplay but when it comes to controlling gravity, it's little world is suddenly turned upside-down.
  19. Jul 6, 2012
    55
    Inversion is a mediocre title. The gameplay shows some interesting ideas, but at the same time too many similarities with Gears of War. Recommended only to those who are very addicted to shooters.
  20. Oct 13, 2012
    75
    A decent cover shooter which gets better towards the end. The gravity effects are nice, but they could be much nicer, if you could control the direction of gravity, not just the amount of it. [Aug 2012]
  21. Jul 20, 2012
    60
    That Inversion has been released without publisher Namco Bandai even making a sound about it, says it all. Inversion doesn't do anything particularly well and mostly just copies other games. But the shooting is descent enough and keeps you busy for about six hours at a high pace. It's mediocrity in its purest form.
  22. Jul 13, 2012
    30
    Combat and storytelling are boring beyond belief, but what's worst about Inversion is that you can sense the far more interesting game it could've been just beneath the surface.
  23. Jun 13, 2012
    58
    It is yet another game with potentially interesting mechanics that fail to deliver on their promise, making Inversion's approach to gravity feel more plodding than liberating.
  24. Aug 3, 2012
    30
    Regrettably, it amounts to a barely-competent shooter with an off-putting aesthetic, ludicrous plot, gimmicky hook, and a frustrating tendency to repeat its boss-battles more than a JRPG.
  25. Jul 5, 2012
    68
    Inversion is at its best when played cooperatively, and the gravity mechanics are built around that fact.
  26. Aug 13, 2012
    40
    It's been about a week since I finished Inversion, and I've already forgotten most of what happened in it. There were two plot twists that were mildly interesting and a couple of cool uses of the gravity powers, but as a whole the game is strangely lifeless. Most of the time, Inversion was boring me, and when it wasn't doing that, it was frustrating me.
  27. Jul 23, 2012
    60
    It's seeing how players make the most of such limited tools in a constrictive environment that hints at what could have been for Inversion.
  28. Jul 26, 2012
    60
    A masterclass in how to make the absolute least of your own unique selling point. [Issue#87, p.82]
  29. Jul 17, 2012
    30
    It's never satisfying to condemn any game but it's hard not to with Inversion. There are glimmers of nice ideas within, but the water is too muddied to see them clearly. All that's left is a bunch of mechanics that we've all seen before, and better implemented elsewhere.
  30. Jul 6, 2012
    55
    Inversion isn't terrible, but it's nothing we all haven't seen before in other games.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    Inversion is a new 3rd person Shooter by Namco-Bandai that involves the classic shooter gameplay with a gravity manipulation of the scenariosInversion is a new 3rd person Shooter by Namco-Bandai that involves the classic shooter gameplay with a gravity manipulation of the scenarios ans structures,
    that although said to be innovative, we have already seen it, in games like Fracture and Deep Black.

    The game's story tells of a town (Vanguard) that is invaded by a savage alien race called the Lutadore that use technology to manipulate gravity sites that attack and spread chaos. Are you a police officer, and together with your partner Leo, are facing is the threat and at the same time trying rescue your daughter Leila, who was kidnapped. Despite the short story core, I liked the way the story progresses, and gets to hold my attention.

    The game's graphics are good, overall: the highlight is the scenery and effects of destruction and fragmentation, with the cumulative damage (you can destroy
    cover structures) and anti-gravity effects scenes, that have very good detailing, along with good general details, like bullets in the walls and characteristics of the characters (Especially in cut-scenes). Overall the Havok Destruction engine, used in the game seemed very good, and does a great
    work.

    The lighting effects and gravitational effects were very well done, and despite the game doesn't have a top-notch polishing to every detail, there is a great attention to details of the stages overall. The design of Lutadore recalls a mix of Gears of War with Borderlands.

    Regarding the audio, the game features a sound-track of generic action games, which suits it and gives the general mood of the game. The general performances
    are good and so are the sound effects.

    The gameplay is based on the traditional 3rd person shooters, with the touch of gravity manipulation, for which you use an alien device: to be able to manipulate objects, you need find charge units, and you can choose between positive or negative gravity fields, alternating this by pressing the RS.

    With this you can levitate objects or enemies, or make them fall into the ground and become slower, also you can manipulate the environment, create structures to cover and use objects (or enemies) lifted with the LB to be thrown at targets. The rest of the game is the usual: they use different structures for cover, going through checkpoints with your partner, and using various weapons and experiencing occasional bosses. The stages are interesting due to the chaos effects generated by the gravity.

    The gameplay has some downfalls: the protagonist movement it's not very fluid, and some controller commands issues, such as the A button used to multiple things as running, cover and out of the cover (and there are not options to configure buttons) - another command that I didn't like is the use of LT, that usually serves to aim, but unlike other games, once pressed, you just get out of the aim mode by pressing it again, not letting it go, a thing that annoys a little in the action parts.

    The multiplayer has two forms, both online or via System Link: the coop, conducted the campaign with a friend, and competitive, with several known "mainsteam" modes. The campaign in Coop is nice when playing along with a friend, and the competitive modes have the differential of the gravity, which makes it interesting at least.

    I can sum up the game as a mix of Gears of War with Fracture, but without a great shooter mechanics and controls, but despite the flaws in such points, it presents interesting and very detailed graphics and quite nice general effects. This shooter may be not a AAA, but it surprised me and exceeded the expectations I had about the game, and I think it's worth to be played by those who enjoy a good 3rd person shooter, particularly in Coop.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    I knew this game was going to get crappy reviews because of its familiarity. GOW rip off they'll say, but cover shooters have been around longI knew this game was going to get crappy reviews because of its familiarity. GOW rip off they'll say, but cover shooters have been around long before GOW. I like this game not because of its differences but it does feel familiar, and its a compelling story. Just like other cover shooters it has solid mechanics cool weapons and lots of gore. The drawbacks are Max Frustration 3 type problems. Short action sequences followed with cutscenes. Also the main character has got the worst head of hair I've ever seen. Note to all developers allowing the player to walk while advancing the story is better than a cutscene. Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    1
    They promised local co-op play and even sent me an email that it was included the day before release...i preordered and no local co-opThey promised local co-op play and even sent me an email that it was included the day before release...i preordered and no local co-op play.......these companies have to stop misleading us about this
    ghost recon fs did the same thing but they sent an apology.
    i want my money back as this was for me and my wife 2 play
    ign and co-optimus also had 2 pull the local co-op promise that they stated as they were fooled as well
    Full Review »