User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 66
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 66
  3. Negative: 8 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    What a fun surprise. Trenched is essentially a first-person tower defense game. You have some towers you can lay down and upgrade, but the most fun comes from being a tower with legs. There isn't the depth that you would expect in a dedicated FPS or TD, but this hybrid more than makes up for it with style and fun. the single-player mode Aline is worth the pric of admission, but being able to play online co-op puts this game over the top. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    Do you like piloting mechs and customizing their gear? Do you like tower defense games? Or do you just like to blow **** up? If you answered yes to any of these you will love Trenched! Double Fine have made a very fun and polished hybrid mech/tower defense game with even some RPG elements mixed in. While it can be played alone where Trenched really shines is with a group of friends. With up to three friends you can cover more ground and specialize each members trenches to compliment each other. I did experience some connection issues but nothing serious. Overall it is a very fun game and well worth the $15 in my opinion. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Double Fine delivers yet another exceptional gaming experience at an exceptional price. And once again making AAA devs/pubs look like greedy non-creative chumps. Trenched delivers on all fronts. Try the trial...then buy the game! It is after all a measly $15. XBLA and PSN are stacked with high quality games. Delivering as good an experience you can find in any $60 game. Most of the time they surpass those games with ease. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    One of my current favorite downloadable games of all time. And I usually hate tower defense games. Takes a bit of time to get into but every aspect is incredibly addictive. Not to mention that making badass mechs alone is half the fun. Tons of replayability as well.
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Are you STILL waiting for a reboot of the original Mech Assault? Please make it happen someone! Did you enjoy Defense Grid but felt a little left out of the action? Well you might as well stop reading right here and go buy Trenched. Trenched is THE best Xbox Live Arcade title to hit the Xbox Live marketplace. After playing cooperatively with a few friends online you'll soon discover what makes this game so damn good. I can already tell you Trenched will be a memorable game for me, almost as memorable as the original Mech Assault. Although it's mainly single player and co-op, the fun factor is still full force. I'm usually a multiplayer deathmatch kind of guy but the online co-op of Trenched keeps me just as interested and just as entertained. You need to play this game with friends online, it was meant to play with friends online. There is a surprising amount of customization, every Trench/Mech is different. Everything from the Trench/Mech chassis, paint job, weapon load out, field emplacements/turrets, and pilot/marine outfit are all customized by each player. There is a lot of strategy involved in picking the right weapon load out and field emplacements/turrets. To make it a little more user/beginner friendly the game suggests weapon load outs and field emplacements/turrets you should consider based on the map and enemy type. When you have friends involved, which you should, you can decide who's going to bring the up close and personal power and who is going to bring the long range precision stuff. The campaign is not too long but there is a good amount of replay value in getting gold medals on each map. When you have unlocked better weapons and better emplacements you can then further help your friends online in getting their gold in every map. Every map can be replayed once unlocked, so you can go back and try to get gold medals on any map that you haven't already. I've been on Xbox Live for 8 years now, since the days when Mech Assault was the hottest online multiplayer game going, well Rainbow 6 was probably tied for hottest. I'm STILL waiting for an HD reboot of Mech Assault (Please someone read this and make it happen)!. Until then I'll be playing Trenched.

    **Message to developers, anyone involved in this game: Trenched NEEDS a survival/horde/firefight mode! The inclusion of a survival/horde/firefight mode would keep the replay value of this game up for a long time. Please consider it along with DLC, my friends and I enjoy the game so much and we want MORE Trenched!!
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Very fun game, tons of customization, fun missions with varied weapons, turrets, and mech choices. I really enjoyed this game. My only compliant is that the rank limit is way too low you practically reach it before the campaign is over which cuts back a little on replayability. There are tons of stats and accomplishments to achieve but I lose the sense of progression when the rank became capped. I still replay the stages trying to gold medal them, but would have liked to have seen a higher rank limit. Other than that though, this game is a blast to play alone, with randoms or with friends. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    This game is a great spin on a classic type of games, both tower defense as well as mech combat! While the story is kinda "meh" and you can't skip past the cut scenes, this games allows for expansive game play with lots and lots of customization! Countless weapons for countless types of enemies! The only mega-beef I have with this game is that everytime I've tried multiplayer, my cohorts always end up being disconnected. While not having any issues with any other multiplayer games, I'm lead to believe that it's a server issue on their end. Bummer! Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This is a great arcade game, would love to see a 60 dollar version, I want Trenched 2. These scores of anything less than 8.5 are extremely harsh for a game that's 1200 microsoft points. The game has serious style and fun factor, extremely addictive. Did miss a difficulty change that the programmers forgot to add; although I didn't steamrole gold metals all the way through the game neither. Loved upgrading guns, armor, mech types, entrapments, soldiers outfits, etc. don't understand why people complained about the frustrations of levels on one player campaigns, it's a strategy game, if one way doesn't work evaluate your weaknesses and switch your turrets and guns up to your advantage. It took me a bit to get all gold medals throughout the one player campaign, but the challenge didn't feel unfair, it felt rewarding, do people just want a game that one buys to just show the end credits and instantly download all the achievements to you....... Sissies. Use your brains. Collapse
  9. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Best downloaded game I've played since owning the Xbox 360. For the price I paid, it has given me more than my money's worth in entertainment. If you want something with an easy-to-follow story (it's a little crazy, but the basic concept is easy to understand) and lots of stuff to shoot at with a plethora of weapons, this is your game.
  10. May 22, 2012
    8
    Some issues are present, but if you can pick this up for a decent price go for it. You are a robot in the year 2525, televisions have become your master as humankind are on Spring break. It is up to you to decide the fate of the multiverse. If you are looking for a cooking simulator this is it. Give it a robot beat and dance to this with Kinect, winner winner chicken gizzard.
  11. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice combination of elements including leveling, tower defense, gear customization and multiplayer. The menu systems and game play are intuitive and the graphics are high quality. The instructions/tutorial at the beginning of the game are great for getting new users started quickly. Although you have the opportunity to customize your mech, on some levels it's superficial. For example, on one of the levels the mission states 'tubes in this level have thicker armor, you'll need explosive weapons'. However, the level only offers 1 chassis that is capable of handling artillery weapons (even in the shop). You can still go with another lesser chassis, so technically you have an alternative, but without the proper equipment for the way the level is configured, you will be at a significant disadvantage pecking away at them with a machine gun or shotgun. NOTE: On level 3 (Trainyard) the game crashed. I actually had to unplug my XBOX as pressing the front power button would not reset it. When I started the game again, it appeared to start me at the beginning again, but was able to LS down to get back to previous level. However the mech (trench) I built was completely reset, so I had to customize everything over again. It would be handy if the system would SAVE this information at the beginning of each mission since it doesn't allow you to SAVE manually. Expand
  12. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Iron Brigade is yet again another great addition to the XBLA. The combination of mech-based combat and tower defense work well, offering tons of strategy, customization and fun.
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    This game was one of November's free game for XBL and it is a very good arcade game. It has a tower defense feel to it but you are much more involved. The best part is the co-op campaign and survival (which is a $5 add on). With four players it's a very enjoyable game and is not just a straight up shoot em up. You need to be strategic with the kind of weapons you equip to your character because of the various kinds on enemies. Overall, its a very enjoyable game whether you're playing by yourself or with a team of 3 others. Iron Brigade is a winner in my books! Expand
  14. Aug 9, 2011
    0
    This is a great arcade game, would love to see a 60 dollar version, I want Trenched 2. These scores of anything less than 8.5 are extremely harsh for a game that's 1200 microsoft points. The game has serious style and fun factor, extremely addictive. Did miss a difficulty change that the programmers forgot to add; although I didn't steamrole gold metals all the way through the game neither. Loved upgrading guns, armor, mech types, entrapments, soldiers outfits, etc. don't understand why people complained about the frustrations of levels on one player campaigns, it's a strategy game, if one way doesn't work evaluate your weaknesses and switch your turrets and guns up to your advantage. It took me a bit to get all gold medals throughout the one player campaign, but the challenge didn't feel unfair, it felt rewarding, do people just want a game that one buys to just show the end credits and instantly download all the achievements to you....... Sissies. Use your brains. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Iron Brigade is great on its own - not a perfectly balanced strategy game, but it's great fun finding out what works. With the flesh-filling and reasonably-priced downloadable content, it's an easy recommend.
  2. 80
    A refreshing take on the genre. [Issue #81, p.102]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    84
    A brilliant game if you're a fan of the Tower Defense genre or the Action genre.