Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trenched is the newest title from Double Fine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 92
    Trenched is, at the most basic of explanations, a tower-defense game crossed with a third-person mech shooter. But that's a pigeonholed description that doesn't do it justice because it's so much more.
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    90
    Trenched is the best downloadable game I've played all year. Its skillful blend of witty writing, fun shooting, and tactical tower defense makes for hours of replayable gameplay.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    90
    Trenched screams personality, polish, and customization. While it is labeled a tower defense game, it allows for so much more. Lack of split screen co-op is disappointing, but overall, Trenched is well worth the dozens of hours you will inevitably invest in it.
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    83
    Don't like tower defense games? Not impressed by the slow-moving nature of mech games? Me neither, yet I couldn't get enough of Double Fine's newest game. Trenched isn't perfect (it can be a tad frustrating when playing solo), but that shouldn't stop you from experiencing one of the year's most creative games!
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    80
    A very interesting title that blends succesfully third-person action with tower defense. Its humour, excellent level design and replayability make it a good choice for those looking for a different game.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    This is a satisfying genre crossover that follows through on what Brutal Legend attempted. I'd chalk that up as a victory.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    70
    Trenched lacks the usual amounts of Double Fine secret sauce. [Issue#112, p.116]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    What a fun surprise. Trenched is essentially a first-person tower defense game. You have some towers you can lay down and upgrade, but the most fun comes from being a tower with legs. There isn't the depth that you would expect in a dedicated FPS or TD, but this hybrid more than makes up for it with style and fun. the single-player mode Aline is worth the pric of admission, but being able to play online co-op puts this game over the top. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    One of my current favorite downloadable games of all time. And I usually hate tower defense games. Takes a bit of time to get into but every aspect is incredibly addictive. Not to mention that making badass mechs alone is half the fun. Tons of replayability as well. Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Double Fine delivers yet another exceptional gaming experience at an exceptional price. And once again making AAA devs/pubs look like greedy non-creative chumps. Trenched delivers on all fronts. Try the trial...then buy the game! It is after all a measly $15. XBLA and PSN are stacked with high quality games. Delivering as good an experience you can find in any $60 game. Most of the time they surpass those games with ease. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Best downloaded game I've played since owning the Xbox 360. For the price I paid, it has given me more than my money's worth in entertainment. If you want something with an easy-to-follow story (it's a little crazy, but the basic concept is easy to understand) and lots of stuff to shoot at with a plethora of weapons, this is your game. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Iron Brigade is yet again another great addition to the XBLA. The combination of mech-based combat and tower defense work well, offering tons of strategy, customization and fun. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    This game was one of November's free game for XBL and it is a very good arcade game. It has a tower defense feel to it but you are much more involved. The best part is the co-op campaign and survival (which is a $5 add on). With four players it's a very enjoyable game and is not just a straight up shoot em up. You need to be strategic with the kind of weapons you equip to your character because of the various kinds on enemies. Overall, its a very enjoyable game whether you're playing by yourself or with a team of 3 others. Iron Brigade is a winner in my books! Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    This game is a great spin on a classic type of games, both tower defense as well as mech combat! While the story is kinda "meh" and you can't skip past the cut scenes, this games allows for expansive game play with lots and lots of customization! Countless weapons for countless types of enemies! The only mega-beef I have with this game is that everytime I've tried multiplayer, my cohorts always end up being disconnected. While not having any issues with any other multiplayer games, I'm lead to believe that it's a server issue on their end. Bummer! Expand

See all 13 User Reviews