James Cameron's Avatar: The Game Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 82
  2. Negative: 14 out of 82
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertoR
    Dec 4, 2009
    6
    For a game that promised to take you through the same emotional path as the movie, this game falls flat. It's hard to feel attached to such one-dimensional characters. The game asks you to pick a side too early in the game, before you really have a change to identify with both sides. Combat is fun and the special skills add a layer of strategy, but it doesn't make up for the For a game that promised to take you through the same emotional path as the movie, this game falls flat. It's hard to feel attached to such one-dimensional characters. The game asks you to pick a side too early in the game, before you really have a change to identify with both sides. Combat is fun and the special skills add a layer of strategy, but it doesn't make up for the flimsy storyline. Expand
  2. Mike
    Dec 12, 2009
    7
    The planet Pandora is beautiful. The player character works ok. sometimes it gets clumsy on xbox 360. I finished the RDA campaign and now I'm working on the Na'vi campaign. I also liked the Pandorapeida feature. Lot's of sci fi and science mixed together.
  3. May 14, 2012
    6
    It's common knowlege that movie games are mediocre and are usually only worth a rent. However Avatar shakes this assumption somewhat. It's story is somewhat bland and theres definite gameplay flaws but it succeeds more then it fails. It offers plenty of interesting missions, weapons and vehicle to keep you entertained. Pandora is the true main character of the game and is well represented.It's common knowlege that movie games are mediocre and are usually only worth a rent. However Avatar shakes this assumption somewhat. It's story is somewhat bland and theres definite gameplay flaws but it succeeds more then it fails. It offers plenty of interesting missions, weapons and vehicle to keep you entertained. Pandora is the true main character of the game and is well represented. The Multiplayer is also fun although getting a match is difficult. All in all this is a great game for Avatar fans and a slighty above average game for everyone else. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    7
    When I first saw this game I thought "Oh, it's another terrible license-game". Later I found the game at a low price and decided to give it a go. This game is actually surprisingly good. Yes, it's got it's flaws like mediocre gameplay and a mediocre story, but something here made me have fun. One example is the Pandorapedia. An excellent feature. I spent at least 4 hours there readingWhen I first saw this game I thought "Oh, it's another terrible license-game". Later I found the game at a low price and decided to give it a go. This game is actually surprisingly good. Yes, it's got it's flaws like mediocre gameplay and a mediocre story, but something here made me have fun. One example is the Pandorapedia. An excellent feature. I spent at least 4 hours there reading through information about things i had scanned with my scanner. The graphics are also good, and the multiplayer is good for a move-licensed game too. Even though I'm pretty late to the party here, I would recommend you to buy this game if you find it at a cheap price. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    Overall, decent, but not the best.
  6. Apr 5, 2013
    6
    For me this game is just average but does capture Cameron's vision quite well and the multiplayer is decent for a few days but after a while it just loses its touch...but at least the multiplayer is unique in a way and doesn't straight out copy the standard multiplayer formula
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    I have to admit I really enjoyed the movie, I think one of the best science fiction films of recent years. But not influence anything when testing the video game, unfortunately. Boring, repetitive, full of errors, it certainly was a big disappointment.
  8. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    its a little kids game. its not worse game but it aint gonna win a game of year award. graphics are ok. story is bland as tasteless grilled cheese. movie wasnt that good ether
  9. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    a decent game, and for a movie licensed game it is top class. a prequel to the movie you can play as the navi or humans battle your way through a semi open world while leveling up your characters abilities using light RPG elements. Incredible graphics, but all of the endings in the game fall awfully flat.
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. 60
    It does little to endorse Ubisoft's claim that it's been in development for years, as underneath the admittedly high-detail visuals it's a pretty rudimentary thing. It's a long way better than bilge like the Quantum of Solace, but it's certainly got no sense of a landmark pop-cultural moment, in the way we're repeatedly told the film will.
  2. Pandora could well lend itself to a great film, and would lend itself fabulously well to a good third-person action game. Unfortunately, despite providing two third-person action games here for the price of one, both of them are dull and forgettable.
  3. While the presentation is great and the combat generally enjoyable, the missions leave a lot to be desired - and there's little of the sense of wonder that the movie promises. Had the two campaigns been packed with superbly entertaining moments, the missions been more diverse in their structure, and the "vehicles" been more fun to man, then yes, Avatar the Game might have reached the heights its source material looks set to achieve.