Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    Even twelve year after its original release on the Dreamcast, Jet Set Radio is still a must-have, blessed by an incredible soundtrack and visuals that didn't age much, thanks to the cel shading rendering.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    If you've played Jet Set Radio already, then you'll be a fool not to get this version, there is no looking through rose tinted retro glasses, it is still an amazing game and one you need to play again.
  3. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    Jet Set Radio's still capable of making people say, "What the hell is that?"
  4. 90
    It's quirky enough to turn off the unadventurous, but for the rest of us, it's every bit as relevant as it was in 2000. [Nov 2012, p.84]
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    It can be an extremely difficult experience when hampered by the control issues, and some occasions of frustrating level design, plus a distinct lack of gameplay variety, can drive you to pull your hair out. That being said, it's also extremely fun, addictive and stylish as all heck, and I for one am willing to take a little bit of bad in order to experience the cornucopia of excellence that comes with the game.
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    A charming, stylish Japanese manifesto, full of ideas, revamped HD graphics and a really bombastic soundtrack. Maybe gameplay may somewhat suffer the weight of time, but this game still remains a unique experience.
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    Outside of the HD remastering being a mixed bag and the camera controls not being completely fixed, JSR is still a blast to play and well worth your time and money. A mere $10 gets you the best version available – not possible, but available - of an outstanding game with a sense of style all its own.
  8. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    Smilebit, led by Masayoshi Kikuchi – who has since moved on to work on the Yakuza series, another franchise that pivots around vivid city-building – swam upstream with JSR, defying the rush to photorealism, celebrating rebellion and individuality in one of the most memorable genre mash-ups you're ever likely to come across. Its HD revival is every inch that game, serving as a reminder that originality and passion retain their lustre when all else fades, and that such treasures are worth buffing up to display again.
  9. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    If you are willing to let the issue of controls pass, then you will be presented with one exciting and beautiful piece of gaming history, and one of Sega's crown jewels from the Dreamcast era. Fans who want to play Jet Set Radio again will have no problem with this HD release – unless you were expecting a remake. For people who have never played it and want to know what the fuss is about, you might not fully appreciate why this game was so damn cool back in 2000, but at least you get to listen to the brilliant music and take in all the pleasant visuals. That still leaves you with a win-win situation in my book.
  10. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    One of the most beloved Dreamcast franchises returns with fancy new HD graphics, the original OST and all the charm of its original gameplay. There are some problems with the audio balance and some stuttering when played from a fragmented hard drive, but although not perfect (and it has never been) this game is still a masterpiece.
  11. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Despite its technical hiccups, Jet Set Radio is a joy to play, even 12 years after its release. Its varied missions will keep you coming back for more and the added treat of hearing its eclectic soundtrack makes playing them all the more fun. If you never owned a Dreamcast before, you now have no excuse to miss out on one of Sega's most enjoyable and original titles.
  12. Sep 17, 2012
    75
    Players looking for a game with finely tuned mechanics and thrill-a-minute gameplay will want to look elsewhere. But fans of the original, or those wanting to engage in some funk-fueled civil disobedience should definitely take the ride.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Loved it on the Dreamcast and it has aged very well. Still every bit as relevant today. The style, the feel of the game is fantastic. ThisLoved it on the Dreamcast and it has aged very well. Still every bit as relevant today. The style, the feel of the game is fantastic. This is what games are all about; atmosphere and a great fusion of style and substance. Sega hit the nail on the head with this game, it transcends the usual monotony of another generic shooter or sports title. Missing this (especially at the price this time around) would be a mistake for those that love games and gaming. Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    6
    I played it on my son's DC back when and I liked it OK, but it didn't grab me. But when I played Jet Set Radio Future (the sequel to JSR) onI played it on my son's DC back when and I liked it OK, but it didn't grab me. But when I played Jet Set Radio Future (the sequel to JSR) on the Xbox, I was blown away. The gameplay was much better. Now had they released a revamp of JSRF, I would get it, because IMO, that was the better game. Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    5
    Just as No Association said to ignore the Critic Metascore I must warn you of the nostalgic user score. This is an awkward game that is inJust as No Association said to ignore the Critic Metascore I must warn you of the nostalgic user score. This is an awkward game that is in every way worse than its sequel. It's stumbling and slow, but the music and personality is vibrant and will stick with you. Ten bucks you get what you pay for; Don't get much else though. Full Review »