User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    For a first attempt at a union game and a lack of funding, this game is an incredible attempt by sidhe. Beautiful to look at, good gameplay licenses for all club teams aswell as some international teams and a customisation tool as good as any. The only flaws have to be the career mode which lacks any real depth and seems lazy at best. Hopefully sidhe will push on with a Rugby Challenge 2 and with more funding could make a great game! A VERY solid platform and the best rugby game ever by far. Rugby fans, this is a MUST. Wipes Rugby World Cup 2011 right off the slate! Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    I found that Jonah Lomu Rugby Challenge gives the user an excellent visual experience and a real buzz during its games. However, I feel that it lacks certain elements which ruins it for me. 1 element of the game which frustrated me very badly was the lack of skill when passing the ball between your backs, meaning, in general it was all guess work when you passed and hoped the ball actually went to the other player. Another element which bothered me was the international mode, almost all players apart form New Zealand, South africa and Australia, the names were incorrect and some players had skills which were far too exagurated. All in all its a decent rugby game but does have competition with Rugby World Cup 2011. 7/10 Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    1
    its very unreal and it has the rules of rugby badly stated so it is not a pleasant game to play due to those flaws it has. having the possibility of doing a lot of offloads makes the game boring because you are never tackled and when you are tackled automatically you lose the ball. moreover, some teams are unbeatable like the crusaders, when playing against them they are too hard to tackle and that is why i do not like this game at all, it gets on my nerves in some way when i play the game. Expand
  4. May 2, 2014
    0
    How can this game have such a positive review? If anyone gives it a good review they must never have played rugby in their life. You have 50+ offloads in a single game ? You can pass pinpoint from anywhere? You have a slow-mo kicking setup which is awesome but utterly useless if your backline is FULL of forwards? Why cant you pass the ball to forwards to drive or pick&go to make safe gains ?
    Scrummages can be won by anyone ? How unrealistic is that?
    Kicking is the most annoying part - it uses no basis but timing on a single scale ?
    Players can run through you and not get tackled ?
    Your backline stands still after you run ? Whats the point of a backline then ?

    I can go on for days about how many BASIC SIMPLE things are wrong with this game. I;ve changed all the settings and it makes the smallest difference. I'd rather burn it than play it.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    80
    Just misses the conversion to make it a champion, but still a great rugby game. [Jan 2012, p.96]
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    But Rugby Challenge is the nucleus of a truly great rugby sim. It's certainly the best rugby game currently available and one can only imagine the heights it could scale if a publisher with enough cash were to throw its weight behind it.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    75
    I have to stress that this is not a "pick and up and play" game if you're new to rugby. There's a lot of learning involved as rugby, turns out, is a pretty complicated sport. Still, Jonah Lomu Rugby Challenge, from the perspective of a novice rugby fan, is a great starter game.