Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Just Dance 4 features more than 40 new tracks, ranging from chart-topping Billboard hits to classic dance party tracks. Whether it's pop, Hip-Hop, rock, R&B, country or funk, there is something for everyone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    90
    Bottom line, regardless of age, gender, or experience, this is a game that everyone will have fun with.
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    90
    Just Dance 4 is the obvious choice when you feel like you want a party game to play with your friends. It has developed a lot since last time, the songs are really good and its choreography is very entertaining and easy to pick up. Dance Central has to look out.
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    81
    Start up, choose your song, have fun. It is as easy as that. And you can even enjoy the dancing with up to four players. Nonetheless Just Dance could improve on a level of motion recognition. Sometimes it still is too easy to mislead the system into giving you credit for something you didn't do properly.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    78
    Just Dance 4 gives you the illusion of dancing with its flashy backgrounds, brightly dressed dancers, and high-scoring gold stars. But it does this by sacrificing accuracy and feedback: You probably won't become a better dancer after playing this game. If you can accept these limitations (or just want a decent fitness routine to do at home), you'll find a lot to like here.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    75
    Sure, Just Dance 4 doesn't bring much in the way of new features to the party, but if all you want is to have one hell of a fun, energetic, and hilarious time, there really is no party quite like a Just Dance 4 party.
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    73
    It's a fun scoring system, but it can get frustrating if one player is significantly better than the other. [Christmas 2012, p.94]
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    There is no doubt that Just Dance 4 is lagging behind Dance Central 3 in terms of features, modes, and even just accurately sensing your moves. But sometimes that added depth can be a pretty big barrier for entry, especially in such a physically demanding game genre. Just Dance 4 may not have all of the right moves, but bust it out at a party and everyone is sure to be on their feet.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    "Dancing Games are the most boring thing ever, and Just Dance is the sh***st saga ever, the gameplay is bad, the music is awful and no one has fun" said no one EVER. Just Dance 4 is in some aspects better than its predecessors, and while everyone is nuts for Dance Central, I'm staying with JD4, why? Because Dance Central is not as stylish, funny or even weird enough as JD4, making it one of the most awesome dance games ever made. The track list is phenomenal. We have everything! Literally! Time Warp, Never Gonna Give You Up and My First, My last, My Everything are SOME of the oldies, while we also have some new hits like Call Me Maybe and Beauty and a Beat. And as the title states, you just have to dance. Not like in Dance Central, where you have to practice every move 100000 times before dancing, as if you move the incorrect finger, the whole dance is wrong. Just Dance 4 is a little bit more for rookies in that aspect. It's really fun to generate a video after your dance and share it (If you dare) to your friends and family, and also the Just Sweat Mode, which isn't too extense unfortunately, is so fun for the first time it is enjoyable to put down some pounds. The only thing this game lacks of (And Dance Central nails it every year) is a campaign mode, something challenging, a story, doesn't matter how silly or non-sense it is, to make us return to the living room to dance even when we are alone. Just Dance 4 lacks of appeal to play it again. Except, of course, when you got homies at your living room and want to have fun. Also, not choosing the difficulty of the song is sort of a bummer, and if Ubisoft would just get to work on this small details, Just Dance would be the dance game of the year. Fortunately, that doesn't keep me from playing the fun, crazy, energetic and somehow addictive Just Dance 4, with a deserved 8.5, but I will give it a 9 as we have to made our punctuations solid. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    GREAT game; a party game that is so much funnier than DC series, up to 4 people (=maximum laughter) can dance at time and all dances have a unique background to admire and distinct dancer to follow. its fun to play but after a day or two of constant play you have to give yourself a break, since you can get bored of the same song/dance routine even if there are over 40 song to dance to + extreme and alternative mode to keep the fun going. buy. play. laugh. cant wait for gangnam style Collapse
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    this game is nice. justdance 4 is better than the just dance 3. the people can sport and dance in the just dance4. this just dance is very new.okay/ just just dance.buy it. Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    7
    This is a VERY fun game. Although the choreography is pretty easy (which is a bit of a problem if you're a fan of Dance Central) they're fun to dance along with, and the dancers and backgrounds are nicely designed. There are some cool features too, like Just Sweat, mashups, and alternate routines. There's even Just Dance TV, where the game records you dancing so you can upload it for the world to see. The only problem I have is the song list. There are many good ones on there (We No Speak Americano, Rock N Roll, Good Feeling, ect.) but some are kind of bad (Everybody Needs Somebody to Love, Can't Take My Eyes Off You, ect.). I recommend this game if you want a fun dance experience that's great to play by yourself or with friends. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    It's a very fine game, which helps the lineup of Kinect games, however it doesn't lend itself to a good learning curve. Unlike the Dance Central franchise that has a very intuitive and helpful "Break It Down" mode, Just Dance is better suited for veterans and doesn't offer a very good step by step dance walkthrough. The title cards at the bottom of the screen are not only small, but irrelevant to the upcoming dance making it more difficult to know exactly what you will be doing next. Another gripe I had was the faux Katy Perry music video silhouette characters you play as. It doesn't highlight areas you can improve on or show personality to what's on screen. It's a very weird thing to watch when playing with friends. On the bright side, this game has a great implementation of coop for parties of 2 or greater. It makes good use of tracking people on screen and is very accurate. Although I wanted to love this game, it was just subpar. I had high expectations, but the game is just a crude dance video to go along to. Expand