User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 104
  2. Negative: 45 out of 104

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    3
    To emulate the experience of Kane & Lynch 2, it is best advised that you take TV's power cable and jiggle it in and out while watching a muted episode of That's So Raven while listening to the Wu Tang Clan. It has all of the gore and language a crime game will have, while pixelating the female body and some of the more grotesque head shots as if you were a twelve year old. Perhaps I missedTo emulate the experience of Kane & Lynch 2, it is best advised that you take TV's power cable and jiggle it in and out while watching a muted episode of That's So Raven while listening to the Wu Tang Clan. It has all of the gore and language a crime game will have, while pixelating the female body and some of the more grotesque head shots as if you were a twelve year old. Perhaps I missed the part about a game where you can wield automatic weapons, swear like a sailor, and shoot cops being kid-friendly. You can see all the violence in the world but nudity is out of the question. I half expected a death penalty to have been me getting sent to my room to time out. The game has no problem treating you like a child on the otherwise case anyway. It's like watching Godfather on Cartoon Network. This isn't a game for kids, quit acting like we're kids. I only just got through two hours of Kane and Lynch before turning it off and possibly never touching it again. Two hours, only because this brilliantly refined game froze on me and my brand new copy. Usually you're supposed to tweak the bugs out before you release it so your buyers can get more than two hours packed in it. In my short-lived two hours, I was already overwhelmed by a pretty major bug: audio. It's not there. If there's important audio in a cut scene, I'd like to hear it. Couldn't at least make the characters use sign language to guide me? What about pop-up cards to act as a visual cue? Clearly this game is intended for the deaf-lip reading gamer. The controls are clunky. It feels like I need to add half a pound of WD-40 to my controller just to get my character to move. The whole cover system is schizophrenic and only works when it's in a good mood to, on the otherwise case, it decides it wants to ping pong the player between walls of cover while you're trying to get off of it. In terms of level design, the game is like this. Linear corridor, random obstacle, linear corridor. Yeah, that's basically it. Every now and then, I get to kick in some random door off the main path that led me into a -- get this -- linear corridor. Since I didn't get to finish it due to my glitch-messed copy, the plot will be summarized like this. "Hey, want to chillax in China?" "Sure." "Wait, let's shoot this guy's girlfriend." "Okay." "Oh hi weird British friend whom I've known for 12 seconds." "You killed a mob boss's daughter." "Damn!" Then it froze on me. To end, maybe I would be easier on it if this weren't my very first impressions. The first game was spectacular. A gameplay nightmare, but plot gold held together with great dialogue and brilliant character progression. This game froze on me within the first two hours, had audio out of synch (sound travels over 700 MPH, I know that if I'm 10 feet from the guy and he axes a door, I shouldn't hear the sound 4 seconds later), and had no audio at all during important a cutscene. I can't read lips. I can't control my idiot character from running smack into a wall or a volley of bullets. I can't actually play through more than two and a half hours of the game. That short amount of time I just spent struggling with this trash really were the dog days. Kane and Lynch, prepare to collect dust! Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    Whether you judge the sequel on the first absolute flop your going to end up at the same place and thats a waste of time and effort. Kane and Lynch 2 again tried to ride the wave of hype and promise that it will deliver and learn from its mistakes.

    Well as many games before it and Im sure many more to come, it delivers nothing new, with little excitement and tries to push grit and gore
    Whether you judge the sequel on the first absolute flop your going to end up at the same place and thats a waste of time and effort. Kane and Lynch 2 again tried to ride the wave of hype and promise that it will deliver and learn from its mistakes.

    Well as many games before it and Im sure many more to come, it delivers nothing new, with little excitement and tries to push grit and gore on you in cut scene's as it knows the gameplay will just simply bore you to tears. Kane and Lynch 2 follows more in the footsteps of Reservoir Dogs ( the game ), Stranglehold, WET, Army of Two ( 1 and 2) and then every other FPS out there. However the story lines, game play, graphics, physics, and general game play were done so much better even from games made long before this coaster or dust collector. Whether it be from incredible poor AI, a graphics system destined on providing you an image of grainy gameplay in an attempt to create atmosphere yet even on a 50 Inch LED comes of as just old and outdated ( God I would hate to play this on an old 68 cm CRT ) or even have gore and risk in the cut scenes only to actually blur or cut out anything that would warrant the game get some sort of mention for pushing boundaries. I know I wasnt expecting much, and surely got even less than I expected but to see games on new consoles being delivered with hype time and time again and then seeing nothing more than out dated, heartless, boring, run of the mill rubbish its a wonder that people arent just packing up the console and moving on to something else. Yet as we come out a global financial crisis, people are still getting payed to release absolute rubbish, dont waste your time or money just hang in there and hope this crap is just a bad dream.
    Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    0
    I didn't know a game shorter than Call of Duty existed. This game proved me wrong. The visual 'artifacts' are just used to cover up the crappy textures and shoddy AI. The animation of the characters was horrible as well. Its just a poor shooter overall, when you can play games like Gears of War. I admit the online was kinda fun for a while, but I imagine its going to be dead in a fewI didn't know a game shorter than Call of Duty existed. This game proved me wrong. The visual 'artifacts' are just used to cover up the crappy textures and shoddy AI. The animation of the characters was horrible as well. Its just a poor shooter overall, when you can play games like Gears of War. I admit the online was kinda fun for a while, but I imagine its going to be dead in a few months. Rent it, or pick it up from the bargain bin in a years time, but I really can't recommend buying this at full price. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2010
    0
    This game is absolutely awful. It is pathetically short at only five hours long, the cover system is crap, the A.I. is cheap, the camera is broken and the multiplayer just plain sucks. The worst part is that it is being sold as a $60 game when it isn't even complete. The main menu has menus and items that are locked which require you to purchase the upcoming DLC. That means that content isThis game is absolutely awful. It is pathetically short at only five hours long, the cover system is crap, the A.I. is cheap, the camera is broken and the multiplayer just plain sucks. The worst part is that it is being sold as a $60 game when it isn't even complete. The main menu has menus and items that are locked which require you to purchase the upcoming DLC. That means that content is already on the disc and they expect you to pay more for it on top of the $60 you already paid for this miserable excuse of a game. Don't make the same mistake I did. Keep far away from this game at all costs. Your wallet will thank you. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2010
    4
    No joke, this game plays as if Ed Wood made it. The absolute most wretched hit detection I have seen in a game involving guns. Insanely disorientating, at all times. Laughable voice acting, seemingly phoned in by several of the developer's angry uncles. I have not even attempted the multiplayer, too busy laughing my butt off at the single player campaign. Rent this P.O.S. to find out forNo joke, this game plays as if Ed Wood made it. The absolute most wretched hit detection I have seen in a game involving guns. Insanely disorientating, at all times. Laughable voice acting, seemingly phoned in by several of the developer's angry uncles. I have not even attempted the multiplayer, too busy laughing my butt off at the single player campaign. Rent this P.O.S. to find out for yourself, you cannot possibly prepare for the laughs you will be having. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2010
    0
    Absolute garbage! Do not even rent it. I rented it and wish I had kept my six dollars. It is much worse than the first and has no redeeming qualities. This is coming from someone who played and liked all four Hitman games and the first Kane & Lynch. Trust this review and skip it.
  7. Aug 20, 2010
    2
    It's really puzzling how IO didn't seem to learn anything from the mistakes made in the first episode, which was one of the most boring and frustrating TPS I ever got to play gameplay-wise, and that was in spite of a pretty good storytelling and characters. In fact, so much things were broken in this game that I thought this was due to some lack of time and polish near the end of theIt's really puzzling how IO didn't seem to learn anything from the mistakes made in the first episode, which was one of the most boring and frustrating TPS I ever got to play gameplay-wise, and that was in spite of a pretty good storytelling and characters. In fact, so much things were broken in this game that I thought this was due to some lack of time and polish near the end of the development (even though the game had been developed and teased for years), but now it seems pretty clear to me that IO just doesn't have the right people who understand how to build a good action game. Combat is so boring and the AI is so grotesque in this game, that I felt like I got warped 15 years back in time to play some Virtua Cop! When your enemies don't lean back and forth endlessly out of cover (sometimes they just won't do anything at all), they'll just run around aimlessly and often right in front of you or your partner. Speaking of him, he's not any better when operated by the AI and will also often cause a lot of frustration (but at least, they had the decency to not make it possible to have him die like in Resident Evil 5 for instance) or just some more embarrassment. Worst of all, the story is really weak this time and almost nothing really interesting gets to happen (apart from one scene which I thought was pretty nice). You'll just spend a few hours wandering through bland corridors of pretty much the same kind of scenery, while fighting your way through countless waves of silly enemies. All of this for an pretty insulting ending that just shouldn't happen in a game that inspires to do cinematic storytelling (unless they were of course going for some kind of Z-Movie ending, which I sincerely doubt).

    All in all, this just seem to me like another of those game where the lead designers are just so blind by their own "vision, that they just don't seem to care enough about suggestions, critics or even external playtesting. Let's be honest for a second : how else would stuff like that absolutely insane shaky cam have ended up in the final product? (there's just no way they didn't have time to tweak this the way they wanted to)
    Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2010
    0
    This is not a game, it's a mess with bad graphics. The control is terrible and the camera is (no joke) the worst I have ever seen in games today. The game and the AI are broken. Do not buy this! You will regret it!
  9. Aug 31, 2010
    3
    unfortunately i have to say the graphics and sound fall below me expectations, although the blood and gore is pretty next level. i would also have 2 say that the point of a crime game is to get you pumped up about killin innocent people and everyting but the muck ups in diss game are quite bothersome, vi$$er out
  10. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    This is a complete abomination to video games. Do NOT believe any positive reviews, these are people paid by the makers of the game. The creator of Giant Bomb Jeff G. was fired from Gamespot.com because he didn't give the first Kane and Lynch a high enough score. Gamespot was paid money to give it a 9+ score and Jeff wouldn't do it, and was given the ultimatum of either giving the game a 9This is a complete abomination to video games. Do NOT believe any positive reviews, these are people paid by the makers of the game. The creator of Giant Bomb Jeff G. was fired from Gamespot.com because he didn't give the first Kane and Lynch a high enough score. Gamespot was paid money to give it a 9+ score and Jeff wouldn't do it, and was given the ultimatum of either giving the game a 9 or higher or get fired. He quit and gave it a 7.5. Then they had the gull to say "REWRITE" the review with a 9 or higher. What a joke. This franchise if you want to call it that, more like crapchise, sucks. Plain and simple. Boycott this corporate bullying and trying to buy sales. It may deserve a 1, but I give it a 0 to offset positive reviews. Thanks for reading the Truth. Expand
  11. Aug 30, 2010
    2
    Yikes! What the heck? Bad action. Bad story. Bad graphics. Bad this, bad that, bad everything. There is so little value in this game that I feel completely ripped off. I only give it a 2 because the game is not buggy to the point of non-playability. But I can't recommend this to anyone who wants more than a few hours of lousy game play and absolute garbage story and game play mechanics.
  12. Oct 20, 2010
    3
    Having seen the previews and some early footage i had a genuine feeling that this may be something of a new direction for games.Much was made of the grainy graphics,adult theme and hand held camera work,and admittedly on the demo this was a very exciting and interesting prospect,however after buying the game i realised that's where the fun stopped.Although the first couple of hours wereHaving seen the previews and some early footage i had a genuine feeling that this may be something of a new direction for games.Much was made of the grainy graphics,adult theme and hand held camera work,and admittedly on the demo this was a very exciting and interesting prospect,however after buying the game i realised that's where the fun stopped.Although the first couple of hours were quite exciting,nothing actually happened-ok there were some interesting cut scenes ,but im not happy to pay for those when the game happens to be so poor . i can understand how this may seem like a slightly odd statement to make but this game was a complete let down.Maybe i got sucked in by the hype,maybe i just fancied something different,i felt really let down, I paid forty quid for this game...40 QUID.Go into an area-shoot the bad guys -move on and repeat.Its not the worst game ever ,but it is a big disappointment. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    Quite possibly the worst game I have ever played in my 22 years of gaming experience. The cover system is pointless and only serves to get you killed multiple times by magical enemy bullets that defy logic. The weapons, aiming, and corresponding ability to hit an enemy seem to be tied completely to chance and incredibly absurd accuracy balancing. However, when those same weapons are put toQuite possibly the worst game I have ever played in my 22 years of gaming experience. The cover system is pointless and only serves to get you killed multiple times by magical enemy bullets that defy logic. The weapons, aiming, and corresponding ability to hit an enemy seem to be tied completely to chance and incredibly absurd accuracy balancing. However, when those same weapons are put to use by an enemy, they have the accuracy and aiming ability of a hawk hunting a mouse in a hay field. I'm shocked that Naughty Dog allowed Eidos and Square Enix released this pile of excrement without bothering to even play it themselves, as there is no other valid explanation for allowing people to purchase this turd. Avoid at all costs and save yourself the frustration. Expand
  14. Jul 26, 2013
    1
    This game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I only played less then half of this game because it was so bad it made me feel like i was wasting my time. I got it at gamestop for like a buck but still it wasn't worth it at all! I played it for the achievements and i regret having this game on myThis game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I only played less then half of this game because it was so bad it made me feel like i was wasting my time. I got it at gamestop for like a buck but still it wasn't worth it at all! I played it for the achievements and i regret having this game on my profile. Avoid this game at all cost. Collapse
  15. Nov 23, 2010
    1
    The 1 in my score is only for the general look of the game and about 2 moments where I thought it was fun. Now everything else is HORRIBLE. I remember playing this at E3 and the camera was so bad. I asked the rep, is this how this game is going to ship?! Whoever thought that was a good idea should take his/her head out of their ass and look at other games for christs sake. It feels like anThe 1 in my score is only for the general look of the game and about 2 moments where I thought it was fun. Now everything else is HORRIBLE. I remember playing this at E3 and the camera was so bad. I asked the rep, is this how this game is going to ship?! Whoever thought that was a good idea should take his/her head out of their ass and look at other games for christs sake. It feels like an earth is shaking when I sprint. The weapons in this game are so **** I don't know where to begin. Just thinking about the shooting in this game makes me want to drop that 1, to a ZERO. I love the style of the game, I played the first one and enjoyed it (even if it didn't have online co-op, which was RETARDED). So I thought I'd play the sequel to a game I enjoyed playing. I thought wrong. I even borrowed this game FOR FREE and I can't defend this game at all. Bad on so many levels. Ok, I'm done. Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    -- [THE GOOD] -- - Good voice acting (apart from Glazer's stereotypical "cor blimey, mate" English accent)

    - The handheld camera idea produces a decent platform of immersion - The beginning of the 'naked' level is gruesome! - All forms of the colourful lighting look banging! -- [THE BAD] -- - Crap graphics; poor character models, textures and environments. Pretty much everything is
    -- [THE GOOD] -- - Good voice acting (apart from Glazer's stereotypical "cor blimey, mate" English accent)

    - The handheld camera idea produces a decent platform of immersion

    - The beginning of the 'naked' level is gruesome!

    - All forms of the colourful lighting look banging!


    -- [THE BAD] --

    - Crap graphics; poor character models, textures and environments. Pretty much everything is graphically poor

    - Controlling the character is a bit iffy and annoying

    - The cover system is utter ****

    - Poor A.I.

    - Delayed sound when a lot is happening on screen

    - Serious framerate issues when explosions occur

    - Haven't we seen this stuff many, many, many times before?


    Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear! Ohhhhh **** dear, Kane & Lynch. Look, I never had much hope in this game being even remotely good in the first place, but I thought they'd have at least hired a team of semi-skilled developers instead of four blind Sixth World country inhabitants slapping at a keyboard for twenty two hours a day without food or water. **** hell... Okay, I'm really starting to wonder if OXM were being sarcastic giving this splat of slow-roasted pig **** a nine out of ten and deeming it a "lovingly crafted, full-bodied shooter." I'm also starting to wonder whether the handheld camera idea was just a sly way of covering up the poor graphics and very frequent visual screw-ups, such as jittery enemies and, more specifically, an invisible Kane holding a cigarette at the beginning of the "Laying Low" mission, in which they were most definitely not laying low as yet another wild gun battle ensues not long into the opening of the mission. Speaking of which, this game is yet another disgusting bottle of perfume using the same formula: running, encountering enemies, fighting them and then moving on to repeat the process not even a minute later...

    For the full review, y'all can find it on my blog at www.garygamesouparchive.blogspot.com/2011/06/kane-lynch-2-dog-days.html
    Expand
  17. Dec 7, 2011
    3
    I have played this game with a friend in splitscreen on hard and it was a pain to go through. Definitely not a difficult game but the whole shooting element feels off. Sometimes your enemies won't drop, even after unloading a full clip while getting all most all your bullets on target. The story isn't also that great and some of the set pieces are just unbelievable stupid.

    There was no
    I have played this game with a friend in splitscreen on hard and it was a pain to go through. Definitely not a difficult game but the whole shooting element feels off. Sometimes your enemies won't drop, even after unloading a full clip while getting all most all your bullets on target. The story isn't also that great and some of the set pieces are just unbelievable stupid.

    There was no satisfaction at all finishing this game. My advice; stick with the first game.
    Expand
  18. Jul 15, 2012
    2
    I'm don't see how people are giving this full 10s out of 10, or just over 7/10. How can one even sleep at night for firing a guy because he gave the game 6.5 out of 10? That's Gamespot by the way. But this game seriously lacks in the brains department with its poor plot, its shooting gallery gameplay and horrible looking environments. If I wanted disturbing and reality, I'd play theI'm don't see how people are giving this full 10s out of 10, or just over 7/10. How can one even sleep at night for firing a guy because he gave the game 6.5 out of 10? That's Gamespot by the way. But this game seriously lacks in the brains department with its poor plot, its shooting gallery gameplay and horrible looking environments. If I wanted disturbing and reality, I'd play the Otherworld act of The Darkness, NOT this. Combat is an unbalanced mess where shotguns beat all, meaning you'll not experiment or bother using a "right tool for the job". The multiplayer is its only redeeming factor, because the single player is only 3-6 hours long. A poor effort, and one of Square Enix's worst choices. Though that's not saying much. Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2013
    1
    Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is the worst game I have ever played in my life. It is ugly, mean, gross, boring, monotonous, short, laughable, and worst of all: pointless. It is a game that just should not exist. And yet, it does. That is why I think everybody should play it. It’s an exercise in the trashiest aspects of interactive art, and really gives the player a glimpse into a trulyKane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is the worst game I have ever played in my life. It is ugly, mean, gross, boring, monotonous, short, laughable, and worst of all: pointless. It is a game that just should not exist. And yet, it does. That is why I think everybody should play it. It’s an exercise in the trashiest aspects of interactive art, and really gives the player a glimpse into a truly malicious creation straight from the depths of hell. In that sense, it is unique and worth experiencing.

    Just like with the first game, I automatically distrust any publication that gave either game anything more than a 5.

    The only saving grace (if you could call it that) Dog Days has is a chapter in which you stumble around naked and bleeding in the rain and the ability to experience this catastrophe with a friend so you can make fun of the nightmare and go through hell together.

    Curse this game, curse the sorry suckers who put their names on it, and damn the rotten publications who, pressured by the potential loss of ad revenue, gave this game or it’s despicable little brother a rating anywhere near a 6 or more.
    Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    3
    Playing Kane & Lynch 2 it's like falling into the spiral of inconsistency, that just gives as a result a punishing experience and a confusing a mediocre storyline.

    The game's biggest problem it's that it doesn't follow the rules that the game presents to the player in the first minutes of gameplay, and story. The characters that you know and meet throughout the game seem to forget
    Playing Kane & Lynch 2 it's like falling into the spiral of inconsistency, that just gives as a result a punishing experience and a confusing a mediocre storyline.

    The game's biggest problem it's that it doesn't follow the rules that the game presents to the player in the first minutes of gameplay, and story. The characters that you know and meet throughout the game seem to forget completely why are they even in Shanghai, (the city where the game takes place), not only that, but some of them tend to be unfamiliarized and forgotten, since one of their most noticeable elements as characters, manage to be forgotten and left into the darkness, seemingly trying to forget that there was a game before this one.

    Gameplay wise, the game is also at it's worst, sadly. Each game mechanic is doubtful, and punishing, because non of them tend to follow the basic inherent rules, that the game gives you, as a player, often times i found myself, dying immediately, meanwhile other times, i found my character falling down, like a sack of potatoes, before i started mashing the, "a button", in order to get up. The worst part of the game lies on the outgoing repetition, the problem is that, Square Enix, had several different times where they could, and should have, added a lot more variety into the gameplay, there are often times where the game could have used, stealth mechanics, or even times where character development could shine if it was represented in a better way.

    You can tell that what, Square Enix, was trying to do, was to create a somehow, "cinematic experience" such as games like, "The Last of Us", or "Shadow of the Collosus", or even "Half Life 2", do, but sadly, they try, and fail miserably at it, mostly because the game it's trying really hard to shock the player, and give some, attachment, to some, irrelevant characters while doing it.
    They start relaying a lot in the superficiality of "violence", in order to get a point across, when they don't realize that the point they're trying to sent is something irrelevant, to the plot line, and the game itself.
    Trying to shock the player by adding a scene of torture, and then a mission where all you do it's the exact same thing you been doing the entire game, only cut up, bleeding, and naked, doesn't mean anything, and only appears out of place, the way that Square Enix does it.

    So truly all you're getting it's a pathetic, excuse, for an, "adult oriented", game that, brinks into the concept of insanity at times, respecting only it's true level of inconsistency, and giving mediocre excuse, of not following, even at it's slightest, it's own plot line, only to, try, and i repeat, try, to "shock the player".
    It's a huge waste of potential, of what could have been one of the most mature, and complex, adult themed, games, aside from Grand Theft Auto. Yes, i truly believe this game could've been revolutionary, even while keeping the core of the concept of the unapologetic result that was, Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days.
    Expand
  21. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I only played less then half of this game because it was so bad it made me feel like i was wasting my time. I got it at gamestop for like a buck but still it wasn't worth it at all! I played it for the achievements and i regret having this game on myThis game made me sad. It is boring, the shooting is horrible, the game just wanted people to care and guess what no one cared at all! I only played less then half of this game because it was so bad it made me feel like i was wasting my time. I got it at gamestop for like a buck but still it wasn't worth it at all! I played it for the achievements and i regret having this game on my profile. Avoid this game at all cost. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 80
  2. Negative: 11 out of 80
  1. Arguably succeeds more as a mood piece. [Issue#100, p.134]
  2. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is an interesting beast because it really shouldn't exist. Outside of a unique art style it brings nothing new to the genre and does little to improve over the original game, which I might add, was far from a good game.
  3. Its most striking ideas don't fulfil their promise, and its successes are etched by pervasive minor flaws. The towering, terrifying city, and the lens through which it is shot, drag you onwards through the game's lesser parts, but you sense that the real crime in this whole bloody escapade is that it doesn't live up to its dark flashes of imagination.