User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 325

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. B.G.
    Dec 8, 2007
    7
    Great characters and story, they're well fleshed out and more three dimensional than the rest. The gameplay is pretty good, the nightclub scene is probably the highlight. Still, there are gameplay flaws, the guns are underwhelming and the cover system isn't as crisp as others.
  2. TravisL.
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    i'll admit, the graphics are crummy, but the story line, and gameplay are awesome! cool shoot 'em up game. i'd like to see more like this game.
  3. IntruderG.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    This game is not the worst game ever nor is it the best game ever. If anything it is terminally mediocre. Whie it has some fun scenarios, there are entirely too many technical flaws that make the experience below average. The graphics, especially in game animations, are are below average. The vertical split screen on co-op seriously hampers your peripheral vision. The controls are a This game is not the worst game ever nor is it the best game ever. If anything it is terminally mediocre. Whie it has some fun scenarios, there are entirely too many technical flaws that make the experience below average. The graphics, especially in game animations, are are below average. The vertical split screen on co-op seriously hampers your peripheral vision. The controls are a little loose. The music and story are the highlights of the experience and the unique multiplayer is a nice diversion from Team Slayer and the like. Unfortunately, the few fun parts are outweighed by the bad. Kane and Lynch is worth playing, but only as a rental. It is definitely not worth $60. Expand
  4. ChrisM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    Thsi is possibly the worst game ever made for 360. The mechanics are pathetic. The camera is total garbage. Do yourself a favor, don't buy this garbage.
  5. Sam
    Mar 23, 2008
    4
    With the badass trailers and the very appealing character concept, I was expecting this game to be IOI's finest since Hitman: Silent Assassin. They proved me wrong. While this game isn't as bad as the Gerstmann sympathizers say, it's still pretty bad. Which is a shame, because IO had everything they needed, every tool to make this game great. They just didn't use them. With the badass trailers and the very appealing character concept, I was expecting this game to be IOI's finest since Hitman: Silent Assassin. They proved me wrong. While this game isn't as bad as the Gerstmann sympathizers say, it's still pretty bad. Which is a shame, because IO had everything they needed, every tool to make this game great. They just didn't use them. First of all, the gameplay is trial-and-error based, and is overly frustrating. There's no open-endedness to the game at all, which was what IOI made their name from: letting you decide what you want to do. There's none of that here. You just go around shooting, escorting, and doing what the game tells you to. You don't get to plan out the heists, or any of that. The poorly written script plans it out for you. But the game does its best to keep you from sticking to that. It is a very buggy game. The controls don't do anything to help it, either. The aiming is horrible. You will never hit who you're trying to the first few tries. This applies for every time you attempt to shoot someone. And beyond firing and team commands, they're very hard to use, often involving drawn-out button combinations just to perform a simple action. What's worse is that after you've put in that sequence, the action you're supposed to perform has a high chance of not working. The biggest example of this is taking cover. Now, unlike the rest of the game's controls, the input for taking cover is pretty simple. Unconventional, but simple. You just run up to a wall and slap the analog stick to press up against it. The problem is, 9 times out of 10, it doesn't work, and even when it does, the horrible collision detection this game sports will get you killed anyway. Your character often just runs up to the wall, rather than sticking to it, often leaving you open to enemy fire. And speaking of enemy fire, you'll get it a lot. The enemies in this game have decent AI, but they are often crack shots, which is more than what can be said for the ally AI. These are by far the worst teammates you'll ever see in a video game. They pretty much do nothing but get shot, and when they aren't getting shot, they're either missing their targets or shooting you. Yes, it is just that bad where your friends kill you twice as much as the bad guys do. In actuality, you're better off just sending them to draw fire, as that's all they'll succeed at. Just make sure you're close to them, because they don't revive each other, and if they die, it's game over. The story doesn't do the game any favors, either. It's never particularly well written at any time, and what's worse is that it doesn't explain everything that it should. It also doesn't quite hold its own against several games that came before it, which is a total shame, but isn't totally unexpected. Strong plots and interesting stories have never really been a part of IOI's traits. But at least you'd think it has decent dialogue. Unfortunately, it fails there, too. First off, it's not cleverly-written, and it uses the F-word more than any single piece of media you'll ever find. There are very few sentences said in this game that don't have it. It was an obvious attempt to make the game seem grittier than it is, but all it did was just take away the drama and strong feeling that the word evokes. Most of all, it really just feels like they hired an angst-filled teenager to write out the dialogue. It's just that poor. However, the game has one good point: Its multiplayer concept. Fragile Alliance is a very well-thought out concept that follows the game's themes of trust and betrayal very well, in that the outcome of a match is entirely in the players' hands. You can stick to the plan and be a team player, or you can pull a Kane and leave everyone of your partners for dead. Unfortunately, the very same flaws that the Campaign mode has are carried over to this mode, save for the ally AI. You'll still have the same control problems, the same poor collision detection, and the same horrible aiming. It doesn't flat out ruin it, but it doesn't do anything good for it. All in all, this game could have been so many things, but achieves none of it, not even its main selling point: Its own story. The only way I can really recommend this game is if you have absolutely nothing else to play at all. It is a rental at best. Expand
  6. JoeF.
    Nov 21, 2007
    4
    Crappy graphics (original Xbox-esque), worst hit detection I've seen in a next-gen game, lame voice acting, horrible AI. The story is okay, the scenarios are cool. I wanted to like this game so much. I had been waiting for months to play it and I was so hyped. Talk about a let down.
  7. ChadL.
    Nov 29, 2007
    1
    This game had potential but it falls flat on its face with the poor controls, horrible interface and Xbox 1 like graphics. Dont buy this game its a huge waste of money and time plus i heard its been bricking consoles Stay Away.
  8. JohnP
    Feb 22, 2009
    5
    This game is so fun. But oh my god, the glitches and difficulty is can be atrocious. The story line makes up for the glitches. Would love to see a sequel with everything worked through.
  9. JasonManley
    Dec 4, 2007
    0
    Wow, just wow, i was amazed at how horrible this game was. It was a difficult affair but i think they only made it hard to cover up how short it is. Not worth a $60 price tag, not worth a $9 rental.. only play this game if someone is paying you to play it.
  10. JohnR.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    This game is just plain broken. Horrible characters, horrible animation and a story that aspires to Heat like levels of greatness and ends up more like L.A. Takedown.
  11. PeteB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    Just trash, pure unadulterated trash. Absolutely painful to play through.
  12. Itsnotthatbad
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    Overall its fun but unpolished. The cover and inventory systems definately need more work and the AI is mediocre. The redeeming features here are the story and voicework. Its problems disapoint but don't completely ruin it.
    People saying that this is the worst game of all time are just overreacting to the Gerstman-gate fiasco. There are plenty of worse games out there.
  13. DanielM
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. On the other hand the cover system is terrible, the online mode is glitchy to say the least, the difficulty suddenly increases for no particular reason halfway though (at which point the plot and nice environments takes a dip)and there is no online I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. On the other hand the cover system is terrible, the online mode is glitchy to say the least, the difficulty suddenly increases for no particular reason halfway though (at which point the plot and nice environments takes a dip)and there is no online coop. All though there are many design flaws i still really enjoyed it and think others would too, dont risk the full price get it at a big discount or rent it as there's not much replayability. Expand
  14. AshR
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most games out there and the story certainly takes some twists. If you're looking for a game that has action, then this is damn close to being in Michael Mann's "Heat", especially on the Tokoyo levels. Expand
  15. JoseF.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    I really had fun with the game, the ending pretty sucks but the story is very good the multiplayer may be repetitive but its good and unique, the controls may be tweaked but you can hang on to it, the co-op is a blast. recomended
  16. whizzm
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    People who give this game 0 are clearly idiots. just bought this game and it is brilliant. great cinematic feel to it, graohics ARE good, great storyline, all out action. you can get this game very cheap now so dont mind the idiots who gave this 0. not the best game ever, but a very very good game.
  17. MikeS.
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Max Payne 2. Now there's always military, great wars, world saving... And I'm tired of it. I loved K&L because it's FRESH. And it has those incredibly awesome levels on L.A. and Tokyo Streets - one of "the bestest" levels in history of modern entertainment. I'd give it 10, but the level in Hawana during the revolution made me grind my teeth. Expand
  18. JohnMorgan
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    i havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot and tops everything in shear awesomeness, admitidly, the orange box is a little better, and the graphics are a little flawed, id say this ould of had a 9 if it included online co-op and more multiplayer scenarious, the multiplayer mode is pure genous, justi havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot and tops everything in shear awesomeness, admitidly, the orange box is a little better, and the graphics are a little flawed, id say this ould of had a 9 if it included online co-op and more multiplayer scenarious, the multiplayer mode is pure genous, just lacking in community,
    really, this is deffinatly worth a look in!
    Expand
  19. S.L.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner." QFT. Saves me the trouble of writing anything. Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    Yes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercializedYes this game does have it's share of issues. The aiming can be off at times. There were a few occasions where I had to restart a section because of a glitch. And lastly the cover system really does not work very well. Actually I found myself hoping I could turn off the cover system all together. However, this game is so gritty and stylish, I would play this over the commercialized games like Modern Warfare 3 any day. Yes, I said it. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2014
    1
    Playing this game made me cry. It was one of the worst experiences of my life. Why was this game even made. I having nothing to say about this game. I give it a 1 because some of its story was alright, and if the game was remade with normal controls, mechanics, physics, gameplay, online and this wasnt the most cliched thing ever, it would be sort-of playable.
  22. JohnMorgan
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    Having actually seen the game, it's a mediocre shooter with ok graphics, a bad cover system, and bad AI. What is truly shameful, however, is that Eidos the publisher had Jeff Gerstmann of Gamespot fired for writing a negative review of the game. I will never buy another Eidos product or visit Gamespot for additional reviews, and I urge others to do likewise.
  23. CarlosF.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    With the amount of games out this is not even worth a rental. The story is to cocky, the gameplay is horrible and they overuse the word F$$$k. Even the multiplayer is bad. It does not have a online coop.
  24. Farid
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    Anyone who's actually played the game knows it's lots of fun and packs ten times the balls and ambition of other so-called 'gritty' games. Definitely worth picking up.
  25. JonathanS.
    Dec 6, 2007
    1
    This game is unbridled crap - from low quality graphics (compared to COD4), to more swearing more than was in Goodfellas. Couple this with unlikable characters, and you have this, a game that should receive a 1 out of 10 from every reviewer out there.
  26. M.B.
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    X0 version - Game has few exellent maps, some mediocre maps and rest are just plain horrible. Storyline is something you really don't even think of, so it really doesn't play that big of a part, more just an excuse for next set of enviroment. If IO interactive would just had kept the quality from those exellent urban city maps and continued from there we'd have a X0 version - Game has few exellent maps, some mediocre maps and rest are just plain horrible. Storyline is something you really don't even think of, so it really doesn't play that big of a part, more just an excuse for next set of enviroment. If IO interactive would just had kept the quality from those exellent urban city maps and continued from there we'd have a masterpiece in our hands. Controls aren't all that bad, apart the "cornering" seems to be working only in some walls and obstacles. What they should have done is to have it under a button and that it work to everything. Also the group controls and the aiming weren't as bad as some reviews out there are indicating, few minor tweaks here and there, they could a lot better thou. That said, this game is between 7-8. Is few exellent maps enough to justify the price tag of a full game? Expand
  27. MikeW.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    I really wish people would rate the game they are talking about, and not the spectrum of games around it. Kane & Lynch is a solid, character driven gun-fest. I don't know how people thought it would be anything else. The story is well crafted and the characters, while not people you would invite to Christmas dinner, are intense, gritty and multi-dimensional. While I understand the I really wish people would rate the game they are talking about, and not the spectrum of games around it. Kane & Lynch is a solid, character driven gun-fest. I don't know how people thought it would be anything else. The story is well crafted and the characters, while not people you would invite to Christmas dinner, are intense, gritty and multi-dimensional. While I understand the complaints with the cover system I don't see how the game loses 40 review points for it. The aiming is fine if you take the time to set your control options and the hit boxes, or whatever else people are blaming for missing their targets are just fine. Despite what Master Chief may show you, the bullet doesn't go right in the center of where you aim every time. If you fire a gun there is recoil and a thousand other factors that influence how accurate your shots would be. This game takes those into account. It's not the game of the year, that's obvious, but seriously it's an enjoyable game that people would have fun with, if they had reasonable expectations when they sat down with it. Expand
  28. NikM.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    The single player is a let down and the AI is ussually terrible, but the multi player is this games saving grace. The Co-op turns a mediocre game into a fun shooter with a friend, and the online is so great and unique. The game wont appeal to everyone, but its worth a look.
  29. LewisH
    Jun 1, 2008
    8
    Kane and Lynch is far from a perfect game. However, it was a breath of fresh air for me from all the recent games falsely touting moral questions. BioShock, Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, these games all left me with a sour taste in my mouth after realizing that the supposed moral ambiguity was nothing more than black and white good and evil, usually as cut and dry as the two buttons Kane and Lynch is far from a perfect game. However, it was a breath of fresh air for me from all the recent games falsely touting moral questions. BioShock, Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed, these games all left me with a sour taste in my mouth after realizing that the supposed moral ambiguity was nothing more than black and white good and evil, usually as cut and dry as the two buttons used to make your ethical "decisions". So with that in mind, I was very pleased with K&L's unapologetic or judgemental portrayal of two lead characters who are flawed. Not good, not evil, but men with somewhat good intentions who manage to cock everything up multiple times throughout the game. In K&L, IO Interactive has painted two sympathetic characters who in all honesty shouldn't deserve your sympathy. From there, I was able to play through the entire story without the game ever pressing its judgements of good and bad on me, free to participate in an objective tale. You've already heard everything about the sub-par graphics, buggy gameplay/A.I. and every other problem that plagued this game, but in the end, it's worth your time. If only for a rental, the surprisingly satisfying gunplay and engrossing storyline may very well become the unsung hero of video game writing. Expand
  30. YoungSamR.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    Very fun, but the missions seem a bit short. but over all i am happy that i didnt believe the negitive reviews and made the purchase. If you are on the fence on this one at least rent it first.
  31. LigarW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    5
    I'm amazed that people are actually enjoying this game. I've been looking forward to this title for months, the previews made it seem so, so good, if not great. Every aspect of this game falls very short of being even passable, except for the story, and even that should have been put together in a better manner. Overall the gameplay is so sub par that I can't even stomach I'm amazed that people are actually enjoying this game. I've been looking forward to this title for months, the previews made it seem so, so good, if not great. Every aspect of this game falls very short of being even passable, except for the story, and even that should have been put together in a better manner. Overall the gameplay is so sub par that I can't even stomach finishing it. The core of the game - moving and shooting is at about a Pre GTA3 level of execution... Aiming is horrible, moving through the environment is horrible, finding/using cover is horrible. I must state that I'm getting really tired of review sites hyping up games for months, until they come out, and then releasing reviews that clearly point out how average (at best) a game is). These sites know from the early builds how good a game is going to be, yet they hype up every piece of junk...just to get more web site visits....shame on you...then they release a scalding review, wondering how anyone could ever release a game this crappy. So, if you've been playing games like Halo 3, COD 4 etc, you'll more than likely be very disappointed with this title. If you haven't, or you just like to shoot stuff and hear 'adult' dialog, then you may like it. Expand
  32. ButchD.
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    It's a fun game.... check it out if you're looking for a simple shooter. Some truley epic battles can be found here.. but not worthy of a nine or ten.
  33. RR
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    Jeff Gerstmann of Gamespot was fired for giving this game a 6. That tells you how upset Eidos was for sponsoring Gamespot only to have them give it a bad score. It also tells you that Gerstmann was being totally honest and this game is only worth a 6/10. Poor graphics, poor AI and another AAA title that hasn't deliverd on it's promises.
  34. MarioV.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    This game is horrible. Do not buy this game and do not rent this game. The game play is awkward and clunky. It's hard to shoot anything and the cover system is useless. A terrible experience that no one should pay for.
  35. mrfreezie
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    This is hands down, the worst game ever. I doesn't even deserve a 0 because that means I acknowledge it's existence. It does not deserve even that.

    In the gaming community, before Kane and Lynch, if you asked someone what the worst game ever made was, the surefire answer would be "Superman 64." Well, now that KaL is out I can honestly say that Superman 64 is no longer the
    This is hands down, the worst game ever. I doesn't even deserve a 0 because that means I acknowledge it's existence. It does not deserve even that.

    In the gaming community, before Kane and Lynch, if you asked someone what the worst game ever made was, the surefire answer would be "Superman 64." Well, now that KaL is out I can honestly say that Superman 64 is no longer the worst game. In fact, in comparison to KaL, Superman 64 is Game of the Year material.
    DO NOT make the mistake, avoid this game at ALL costs.
    Expand
  36. JerryHerdez
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    If this game gets nominated to any awards this year, it should be for worse game of the year. The game looks and plays like a last gen PS2 game (if you take out the HD capabilities). However, I don
  37. JonnyL.
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    This game is total garbage. Cover system is broken. Aiming is off. Squad system and AI is totally useless. Story is mediocre at best and dialog is horrible. Characters are trying too hard to sound like tough guys. I'm really surprised this game wasn't made following a movie. It feels really rushed and just thrown out there. Probably not a great way to even waste your rental on, This game is total garbage. Cover system is broken. Aiming is off. Squad system and AI is totally useless. Story is mediocre at best and dialog is horrible. Characters are trying too hard to sound like tough guys. I'm really surprised this game wasn't made following a movie. It feels really rushed and just thrown out there. Probably not a great way to even waste your rental on, no less buy it. Expand
  38. MykeD.
    Dec 10, 2007
    1
    It's like playing a dumbed-down version of Gears Of War with Sega Saturn quality graphics, pathetic.
  39. PeterS.
    Dec 2, 2007
    1
    I really enjoyed the premiss of this game when I first fired it up, but soon found many flaws that spoiled what would otherwise have been an enjoyable shooter. The control system is far too buggy and there were awful clipping problems when zoomed in. There are many better third person games out there to choose from.
  40. PaulA.
    Dec 29, 2007
    1
    This game is garbage. It's repetitive, and extremely boring. All the guns are the same, all the A.I. are the same, all the textures are the same. Theres nothing else to describe this game but crap. There is no redeeming qualities.
  41. Paul
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Falls very very short of it's promise. A co op shooter sounds good, but they did everything wrong. Terribly implemented controls, it feels like the developers didn't want it to be good.
  42. MadsC.
    Dec 31, 2007
    7
    I found this an enjoyable coop experience. Appearantly I'm one of the few who enjoy that IO made game about killing hundreds of people and then decided that the main characters then had to be psychopaths actually capable of doing such deeds. The shooting controls are hard to master, but I like that it forces the player to spend time aiming before shooting, opposed to the auto-aim I found this an enjoyable coop experience. Appearantly I'm one of the few who enjoy that IO made game about killing hundreds of people and then decided that the main characters then had to be psychopaths actually capable of doing such deeds. The shooting controls are hard to master, but I like that it forces the player to spend time aiming before shooting, opposed to the auto-aim fiestas otherwise available to the Xbox 360. The cover system on the other hand is a nigthmare, half the time you'll find yourself firing in to the windowframe in front of you eventhough your crosshair is on an opponent. All in all Kane & Lynch is a decent title that lacks the final polish to make it great, but it does have it moments. Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Utter rubbish. A triumph of advertising and hype over substance and polish. Thank god for the reviewers who actually told it like it is (even loosing their jobs for it).

    Advertising and hype is the new way to judge a game it seems but user scores and honest reviewers will always be around to nip them in the bud.
  44. DavidT.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    This is one of the worst games in the history of gaming. It is completely broken, it is ugly, it is glitchy, and most importantly, it is no fun to play. This game could possibly be worse than the notorious ET game for atari back in the day. You could fill a whole landfill with copies of this game because it's not worth anyone's money. Not even a few dollars to rent it. Stay far, This is one of the worst games in the history of gaming. It is completely broken, it is ugly, it is glitchy, and most importantly, it is no fun to play. This game could possibly be worse than the notorious ET game for atari back in the day. You could fill a whole landfill with copies of this game because it's not worth anyone's money. Not even a few dollars to rent it. Stay far, far away from this! Expand
  45. MattK.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Do not buy this game. There are so many problems. The shooting machanics are just plain broken, the story is nhilistic and boring and the cover system is aweful.
  46. biosoulz
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    this game is not bad there may be some problems here and there but it is great fun i just love the car chase part if u like shooting police and swat teams or being the bad guy go for it but i think they use the f word too much.
  47. JohnJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner. Expand
  48. Shatananshnasha
    Jan 14, 2008
    7
    You can run, crouch, throw some rubberballgrenades, aim and shoot. That's pretty much all. I'm not sure why I liked the demo. Maybe because Kane&Lynch is so damn simple! It's nice to have a game like this, when you just want to relax and shoot some people :P
  49. Zaggy
    Jan 9, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever! The graphic is like a bad PS2 game and the sound/music suck big time..and the control is to be ashamed over....Big disapointment
  50. LeeB.
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    A solid, fun shooter. The aiming mechanics are fine, and although occasionally frustrating, the cover system is ok too. The only thing that is bad is the AI, and that accounts for enemy and friendly AI. The online play is quite fun, especially if you find a good group of people to play with. I really don't understand the bad user scores that this game receives, because it isn't A solid, fun shooter. The aiming mechanics are fine, and although occasionally frustrating, the cover system is ok too. The only thing that is bad is the AI, and that accounts for enemy and friendly AI. The online play is quite fun, especially if you find a good group of people to play with. I really don't understand the bad user scores that this game receives, because it isn't THAT bad. Expand
  51. FrankP.
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Dude, it seems like only nerds are panning this game. It was a blast, graphics were good, the cinematic dialouge blended in perfectley with the story. fun online.....great game.
  52. DemothH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    The game is certainly more strory driven than most games which can cause the action to have breaks than are longer than desired, but it's still an outstanding game. The gun fights can get hectic, though the AI can be pretty stupid and uncoordinated. The online is -sorta- fun, but the fact that there are only a very limited amount of AI resistence can make things kinda boring.
  53. K.L.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    Fun tactical shooter with the best crime genre video game story in years.
  54. NathanT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix it with an original story, good voice acting, and a well made atmosphere, and you have one of the best singleplayer experiences on the 360. The multiplayer is unique and fun, it's not just another thrown in deathmatch game mode. On the other hand it can be frustrating due to lag and other people robbing you of all your hard-earned loot. I definitely think you should not pass this one up, and go out and buy it. Expand
  55. Nate
    Nov 27, 2007
    4
    Disappointed is the best way to describe how I feel about this game. It had so much promise! The story is good and the videos between missions are cool, like watching a decent crime flick. The gameplay is so simplified, shoot until evrything in front of you is dead, thats basically it. The graphics are not great either, there is a part when kane and lynch are hanging out the back of a van Disappointed is the best way to describe how I feel about this game. It had so much promise! The story is good and the videos between missions are cool, like watching a decent crime flick. The gameplay is so simplified, shoot until evrything in front of you is dead, thats basically it. The graphics are not great either, there is a part when kane and lynch are hanging out the back of a van shooting the entire police force and the animation is awful. It looks like a game from 1998 or something. I had high hopes as I loved the Hitman series but they are very different games. Don't bother Expand
  56. JJ
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    The biggest under rated game of the year. Reminds me a lot of the Max Pane series. Great game play, good story line, and most important fun to play. It does take some getting used to with the cover and what not but a good over all game. Have fun killing people at will.
  57. Chammolookefo
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    Well i would have gave this game a higher score but for recent events including the fireing of a populor reviewer for giving a 6.0 to this game and the publisher Edios freaking out on gamespot threatining to pull its ads im thinking they paid off people for good reviews The games not very good any dont waist your money.
  58. SteveF.
    Nov 30, 2007
    0
    This game blows the big one. I hate 3rd person shooters with crap graphics and lame controls. Why not first person? I should have rented this turd before buying. Cool idea for a game lame execution.
  59. NunyaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    Not a bad game in my honest opinion. Certain things could have used some work like the aiming and the AI.
  60. BrentW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    This game is terrible and completly unpolished seems like it was rushed out for the xmas rush, the story is also trash and the characters are unbelievable, buy hitman instead a much better game buy the same creators
  61. OldeEnglish
    Dec 1, 2007
    0
    There are many other top notch games out this Christmas Season. There is definitely no reason to even play this game. Or even rent it. I would say buy this game for someone you despise but then you would actually have to purchase it and give money to Eidos which would sadly trickle back to the corrupt the corrupt owners of Gamespot/Cnet/Metacritic.
  62. AnthonyFalco
    Dec 13, 2007
    6
    Wasn't perfect but wasn't horrible as people say. I hate it when people can't beat a part and give it a bad review, just because they are frustrated. Just SUCK IT UP AND PLAY THROUGH THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN GAME. I personally love the characters and love the story, but that doesn't save it from a semi-broken control scheme. This is especially enjoyable to every Michael MannWasn't perfect but wasn't horrible as people say. I hate it when people can't beat a part and give it a bad review, just because they are frustrated. Just SUCK IT UP AND PLAY THROUGH THE ENTIRE GOD DAMN GAME. I personally love the characters and love the story, but that doesn't save it from a semi-broken control scheme. This is especially enjoyable to every Michael Mann fan. So don't listen to these dim-witted reviews, just play this game if you want a deep story and ok gameplay. Basically play this when you have nothing else to do. Expand
  63. CameronMcAndrew
    Dec 19, 2007
    7
    Well I know one of the designers and I recieved this game as a early christmas gift along with my xbox 360. And when i played this game it was pretty good in gameplay but when i got to the level with the dump truck i freaked out. And the language horrid but it is ok so im giving it a 7 out of 10.
  64. SakkeJ.
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    Seems like this is going to be the most underrated game for years. Kane and Lynch is a great shooter that takes the player(s) through intense shootouts and different scenery. Shooting system is fun, not every shot is a bulls-eye (like in all IOI's games), so the shootouts last longer. Close combat moves are neat and fun to look at. Storyline and the characters are interesting, which Seems like this is going to be the most underrated game for years. Kane and Lynch is a great shooter that takes the player(s) through intense shootouts and different scenery. Shooting system is fun, not every shot is a bulls-eye (like in all IOI's games), so the shootouts last longer. Close combat moves are neat and fun to look at. Storyline and the characters are interesting, which is rare in video games. Game suffers from a couple of severe flaws. First promblem is the length, gameplay lasts hardly 7 hours, it really could have used some more street shootouts. Then there is the general roughness, there are many bugs in the game and some features are halfway developed.Cover system works pretty well, unlike is generally said. One more checkpoint per map couldn't have been too much to ask for. I haven't tried out the multiplayer, so I haven't got anything say about that, the coop is great though. Overall the game is a pretty fun to play through, even a couple of times, but the length and some major issues reduce the grade from 9 to 8. Expand
  65. TuckerS.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time since Max Payne. People cal it a GOW rip off, but this is much faster paced. And with Mass Effect, well lets just say you can blind fire. I don't get these bad reviews. I've played through the game many times, coop and whatnot, all very fun. The story is one of the best ever in a video game, it deserves a 10 out of 10 al together. The reason I didn't give it a 10 is becuase there's some loopholes in the multiplayer mode, the graphics (although better than expected) are not on the same track as games such as Call Of Duty 4, Mass Effect, or Half-Life 2. And the last reason is becuase the glitch were the game crashes if you lose 5 times in a row. It pisses me off but happened only twice in my playthroughs. Overall, get the game if you like shooting, third person, or having a fun coop expierence. Also, since not so much people like or play the game, the small comunity makes it more fun. Most of the time I'm playing a game with someone I know. Awesome game! Expand
  66. A.K.
    Dec 28, 2007
    8
    The game is pretty good considering the targeting system flaws and the cover system needs much improvement. nevertheless I think the game is very challenging and very fun. There are a few frustrating levels but I think the story line is one of the best out there and the squad control concept is always fun. The cool of the game outweighs everything else. I hope they make a sequel.
  67. AnonymousMC
    Dec 4, 2007
    0
    Boycott this game!

    EIDOS are trumpeting preview comments from E3 in July as 5 star reviews on the K&L website and they tried to bully gamespot by pulling all of their advertising funding. Which actually seemed to work because a gamespot editor who had been writing for the online site for the past 11 years was fired after his poor review of the game. This game, and the company behind
    Boycott this game!

    EIDOS are trumpeting preview comments from E3 in July as 5 star reviews on the K&L website and they tried to bully gamespot by pulling all of their advertising funding. Which actually seemed to work because a gamespot editor who had been writing for the online site for the past 11 years was fired after his poor review of the game.

    This game, and the company behind it, are polluting the games press waters, show them what you think by refusing to buy it, it's a mediocre game at best anyway.
    Expand
  68. CruithneM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    3
    In a year of AAA titles for all consoles, this game stands out as the runt of the litter. So much promise, so many good idea, so little delivery. Seriously, there's never been a better year for games in the entire history of gaming, go buy one of the good games.
  69. CodenameONE:SIX
    Jan 18, 2008
    7
    Well, I'm going to start off by saying this was a game I played almost entirely in split screen Co-Op mode on 50" HDmi. So with that in account, I can say I thoroughly enjoyed this game, regardless of completing it in a few hours, my friend and I found ourselves in love with the film-like dialogue. Being a bit weird ourselves it was nice to see some (bad)good-guys for once, not Well, I'm going to start off by saying this was a game I played almost entirely in split screen Co-Op mode on 50" HDmi. So with that in account, I can say I thoroughly enjoyed this game, regardless of completing it in a few hours, my friend and I found ourselves in love with the film-like dialogue. Being a bit weird ourselves it was nice to see some (bad)good-guys for once, not entirely fighting for the right cause, and it is exactly that reason why GTA was so popular - because of its moral bending ways. Aside from the story and dialogue, everything else was pretty standard, graphically it was hit and miss, with some levels looking amazing in HD (a mention to the Ratamoto bulding) and others seem out of place and very outdated. The aiming had been slated a lot by people before we'd played this but our immediate reaction was "they arnt good at shooting thats why" with this mental note, we found the aiming a breeze, dont take the crosshair for granted and use the tracers to guide you to headshot heaven (47 headshots is an achievement by the way). The other thing was the cover system, but with a few twiddles of the stick and guess work, we had understood its principle, and that is it is camera relative. So many people think the cover system doesnt work, but they dont realise, there is no need lock to a wall unless they are going to submit blind fire. In this you just need to make sure the camera stick is facing the enemy and the character (kane or lynch) will go onto the wall infront, and from there you can do as you please, fire or not. Simple. Finally, online is a bit of fun but it's fragile alliance mode is only good on paper, unfortunatly to idiots who just become traitors from the beginning, so with recommendation to a game on that with people you know from your friends list. To conclude this game has its ups and downs but its ups are good enough to forgive the downs, especially in Co-Op mode. Oh, and dont forget the secret ending! Expand
  70. SeniorS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome! Who cares about the crappy graphics, stop being so damn shallow and appreciate the awesome plot and good gameplay.
  71. T.L.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story also is excellent. If you like the "Hitman" game series, you will probably like this too. Expand
  72. mikecorlioni
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    this game deserves a ten
  73. GarethG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is pure unadulterated awesome, from the characters to the story itself.
  74. JamesB.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person shooters, I guarantee you will like this game as much as I did. Expand
  75. DC
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This game is about an 8, if they would have put more into the graphics and tweaked the game play alittle more it would have been a 10. The idea is great, if you like the movie Heat go pick this game up.
  76. FSFeeEF
    Nov 26, 2007
    3
    It had alot of potential, but the overall gameplay is just crappy. Graphics are below average and A.I. is awful. For me its just unplayable
  77. AlexG.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    The central characters are all unlikeable. But you know what? It doesn't matter. Because there's depth to the characters, they're intriguing and draw you in to their world. It's a fun but flawed shooter. The cover system is worse than the system in Mass Effect, and that's not even an action game.
  78. JasonG.
    Dec 16, 2007
    0
    Horrible game Hit boxes and aiming are worse then a N64 game, your cross hair is aiming right at a guy as you duck behind a wall and you still hit the wall. the "duck and cover" doesn't even work as half the time you can't hit anything else you come out from behind the walls. The friendly AI is terrible as well, they will run out into 10 things firing and die super fast. The AI Horrible game Hit boxes and aiming are worse then a N64 game, your cross hair is aiming right at a guy as you duck behind a wall and you still hit the wall. the "duck and cover" doesn't even work as half the time you can't hit anything else you come out from behind the walls. The friendly AI is terrible as well, they will run out into 10 things firing and die super fast. The AI can shoot through most walls Oh...and if you die 5 times in a row, the game crashes.... Complete waste of money, sad coming from the creators of hitman. Expand
  79. JoeM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    I can see why people think the game is bad, but I can also see why people think it is a good game. Shooting could have been better, but I thought overall it was a pretty good game.
  80. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The multiplayer is undoubtedly a failure and some of the gameplay is a little bit predictable, but "Kane And Lynch: Dead Men"s delightful co-op, engaging narrative, and interesting characters leave it at a fairly worthwhile level.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Part thug brutality, part capers and hijinks, the latest wild ride from the developer of "Hitman" has its fair share of rough edges--maybe even more than its fair share--but its epic missions are so thrilling that they'll sear away the nuggets of disappointment you'll ocasionally feel. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  2. 60
    Sure, the gritty atmosphere and balls out gunplay offers up some thrills, and yes the multiplayer options hold some potential but the hard-boiled noir tone and interesting amalgam of varied ideas never truly comes together to form the cohesive action thriller that the game aspires to be. [Dec 2007, p.121]
  3. 75
    We rarely see scenarios and story structure this good in a game, and that makes it easier to forgive some of the more hardcore technical game-design issues. It's definitely more of a popcorn game for the action-movie crowd than a hardcore shooter, but there's nothing wrong with that.