User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 325

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AshR
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most games out there and the story certainly takes some twists. If you're looking for a game that has action, then this is damn close to being in Michael Mann's "Heat", especially on the Tokoyo levels. Expand
  2. JoseF.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    I really had fun with the game, the ending pretty sucks but the story is very good the multiplayer may be repetitive but its good and unique, the controls may be tweaked but you can hang on to it, the co-op is a blast. recomended
  3. MikeS.
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Aside from the ridiculously hard level in Hawana (I guess), the game is almost perfect in terms of delivering the brurtal, sad story in a satysfying form. It's something that had been lost in gamemaking years ago: a shooter about men doing thing for their own, not because some military jackasses ordered them to. It a crime movie on X360, and there hasn't been any in gaming since Max Payne 2. Now there's always military, great wars, world saving... And I'm tired of it. I loved K&L because it's FRESH. And it has those incredibly awesome levels on L.A. and Tokyo Streets - one of "the bestest" levels in history of modern entertainment. I'd give it 10, but the level in Hawana during the revolution made me grind my teeth. Expand
  4. S.L.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner." QFT. Saves me the trouble of writing anything. Expand
  5. Farid
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    Anyone who's actually played the game knows it's lots of fun and packs ten times the balls and ambition of other so-called 'gritty' games. Definitely worth picking up.
  6. JohnJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs retarded/confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner. Expand
  7. FrankP.
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Dude, it seems like only nerds are panning this game. It was a blast, graphics were good, the cinematic dialouge blended in perfectley with the story. fun online.....great game.
  8. DemothH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    The game is certainly more strory driven than most games which can cause the action to have breaks than are longer than desired, but it's still an outstanding game. The gun fights can get hectic, though the AI can be pretty stupid and uncoordinated. The online is -sorta- fun, but the fact that there are only a very limited amount of AI resistence can make things kinda boring.
  9. NathanT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix I think people are mistaking the aiming and covering system as being bad, instead of different. It feels quite touchy at first, but I guarantee that you can get used to it quickly. The gameplay is fun, faced paced, and exciting. There are all sorts of weapons to use and it looks pretty awesome when you're shooting them. A whole lot of things are breakable too. Take all that and mix it with an original story, good voice acting, and a well made atmosphere, and you have one of the best singleplayer experiences on the 360. The multiplayer is unique and fun, it's not just another thrown in deathmatch game mode. On the other hand it can be frustrating due to lag and other people robbing you of all your hard-earned loot. I definitely think you should not pass this one up, and go out and buy it. Expand
  10. JJ
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    The biggest under rated game of the year. Reminds me a lot of the Max Pane series. Great game play, good story line, and most important fun to play. It does take some getting used to with the cover and what not but a good over all game. Have fun killing people at will.
  11. TuckerS.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time Wow is the game really that bad? Well the answer is no, of course in my opinion. I though GOW was fun though very over-rated, and Mass Effect was a letdown but nonetheless fun. Kane & Lynch is a realstic break away from those. The aiming is realistic (which some people don't like), your fighting humans on Earth for the frist friggin time in a 3rd person shooter in the first time since Max Payne. People cal it a GOW rip off, but this is much faster paced. And with Mass Effect, well lets just say you can blind fire. I don't get these bad reviews. I've played through the game many times, coop and whatnot, all very fun. The story is one of the best ever in a video game, it deserves a 10 out of 10 al together. The reason I didn't give it a 10 is becuase there's some loopholes in the multiplayer mode, the graphics (although better than expected) are not on the same track as games such as Call Of Duty 4, Mass Effect, or Half-Life 2. And the last reason is becuase the glitch were the game crashes if you lose 5 times in a row. It pisses me off but happened only twice in my playthroughs. Overall, get the game if you like shooting, third person, or having a fun coop expierence. Also, since not so much people like or play the game, the small comunity makes it more fun. Most of the time I'm playing a game with someone I know. Awesome game! Expand
  12. SeniorS.
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    This game is awesome! Who cares about the crappy graphics, stop being so damn shallow and appreciate the awesome plot and good gameplay.
  13. T.L.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story Excellent multiplayer just like the movie "Heat" you can perform bank robberies with others and try to get away with as much money as possible. If you get killed in heist mode, you come back as a bank guard and try to get the robbers instead! You can also betray your teammates if one of them is getting away with more money than you are by killing them and getting their extra money. Story also is excellent. If you like the "Hitman" game series, you will probably like this too. Collapse
  14. mikecorlioni
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    this game deserves a ten
  15. GarethG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This game is pure unadulterated awesome, from the characters to the story itself.
  16. JamesB.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person It really isn't the best shooter I've ever played. The cover system is dodgy. The aiming is sloppy. It's weird to say that weak gameplay doesn't really detract from how excellent of an experience Kane and Lynch is. The voice acting is better than most movies, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty. If you like crime dramas or third-person shooters, I guarantee you will like this game as much as I did. Expand
  17. DC
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This game is about an 8, if they would have put more into the graphics and tweaked the game play alittle more it would have been a 10. The idea is great, if you like the movie Heat go pick this game up.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Part thug brutality, part capers and hijinks, the latest wild ride from the developer of "Hitman" has its fair share of rough edges--maybe even more than its fair share--but its epic missions are so thrilling that they'll sear away the nuggets of disappointment you'll ocasionally feel. [Dec 2007, p.68]
  2. 60
    Sure, the gritty atmosphere and balls out gunplay offers up some thrills, and yes the multiplayer options hold some potential but the hard-boiled noir tone and interesting amalgam of varied ideas never truly comes together to form the cohesive action thriller that the game aspires to be. [Dec 2007, p.121]
  3. 75
    We rarely see scenarios and story structure this good in a game, and that makes it easier to forgive some of the more hardcore technical game-design issues. It's definitely more of a popcorn game for the action-movie crowd than a hardcore shooter, but there's nothing wrong with that.