Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 322 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kane & Lynch: Dead Men is a dark and gritty drama featuring two men, one is a flawed mercenary and the other a medicated psychopath. Forced together on a violent and chaotic path of redemption and revenge, no action is considered too harsh as this volatile partnership is pushed beyond reasonKane & Lynch: Dead Men is a dark and gritty drama featuring two men, one is a flawed mercenary and the other a medicated psychopath. Forced together on a violent and chaotic path of redemption and revenge, no action is considered too harsh as this volatile partnership is pushed beyond reason in this brutally realistic, character-driven third person action shooter. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Kane and Lynch is quite a good crime drama experience and serves as a plausible move away from the Hitman stealth series that IO Interactive is very well known for.
  2. In a year that has seen more than its fair share of outstanding titles in the action/shooter genre, Kane & Lynch manages to set itself apart with an outstanding compilation of levels that are a joy to play through. Therefore, it is all the more disheartening that at the same time, it manages to fumble some of the fundamentals, chief among them the broken hit detection.
  3. A missed chance at an iconic franchise that literally shoots wide of the target, Kane & Lynch: Dead Men will be enjoyed by a select few, so try it without expecting too much and you might just find yourself won over.
  4. Poor aiming and dodgy weapon accuracy ruins what is otherwise a spectacular story. [Christmas 2007, p.54]
  5. Kane & Lynch is very much a case of what could have been. With a little more time for polish and tweaking Eidos could have had a game worthy of the hype and its British Academy Video Games Award nomination (which was somehow secured before the game’s release).
  6. There's an inconsistency to the overall design quality that really kept me at a distance while playing Kane & Lynch. [Dec 2007, p.75]
  7. All in all, Kane and Lynch is a bad game. With characters like Kane and Lynch, we should have seen more variety in the plot and gameplay -- with developers like IO Interactive, we should have seen better shooting mechanics and level design.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 80
  2. Negative: 33 out of 80
  1. AshR
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls Despite all the gaming nerds out there calling this the worst game of all time. I fully enjoyed the story of this game and the controls really arn't as bad as people are making out and after 10 minutes of playing, you're used to them and already taking advantage. The Music is great, then again anything Jesper Kyd does is like gold. The voice-acting is a lot better than most games out there and the story certainly takes some twists. If you're looking for a game that has action, then this is damn close to being in Michael Mann's "Heat", especially on the Tokoyo levels. Collapse
  2. S.L.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a "I really don't get these bad reviews. I enjoyed playing this game way more than Gears of War, the story is great and told in a convincing way compared to GoWs confusing story. I didn't have any problems with the controls, they felt pretty solid to me and the cover system is great fun and matches Mass Effects cover system almost exactly. The gameplay itself is varied and fun, shooting feels real, not robotic and stiff like in most other shooters. Ducking in and out of cover and getting to a position where you can get a clean shot is also fun and exiting. The graphics are not as god as other recent games, which is why I wont rate this 10, but in funness(tm) it's up there with best. And to all the people rating this 0 og 1, when everybody has to agree that it is at least average no matter what your concers may be, try acting a little responsibly and give it a fair rating. It's hard to take the user rating here on metacritic seriously, when it is abused in this manner." QFT. Saves me the trouble of writing anything. Expand
  3. DanielM
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. I quite enjoyed the game, the first half being excellent in characterization and plot feeling like a Micheal Mann film which is no bad thing. On the other hand the cover system is terrible, the online mode is glitchy to say the least, the difficulty suddenly increases for no particular reason halfway though (at which point the plot and nice environments takes a dip)and there is no online coop. All though there are many design flaws i still really enjoyed it and think others would too, dont risk the full price get it at a big discount or rent it as there's not much replayability. Expand
  4. JohnMorgan
    Dec 15, 2007
    7
    i havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot andi havent finished it yet, but ive only had it one day, and i a in love, this beats halo in multiplayer, this beats call of duty in plot and tops everything in shear awesomeness, admitidly, the orange box is a little better, and the graphics are a little flawed, id say this ould of had a 9 if it included online co-op and more multiplayer scenarious, the multiplayer mode is pure genous, just lacking in community,
    really, this is deffinatly worth a look in!
    Expand
  5. Nate
    Nov 27, 2007
    4
    Disappointed is the best way to describe how I feel about this game. It had so much promise! The story is good and the videos between Disappointed is the best way to describe how I feel about this game. It had so much promise! The story is good and the videos between missions are cool, like watching a decent crime flick. The gameplay is so simplified, shoot until evrything in front of you is dead, thats basically it. The graphics are not great either, there is a part when kane and lynch are hanging out the back of a van shooting the entire police force and the animation is awful. It looks like a game from 1998 or something. I had high hopes as I loved the Hitman series but they are very different games. Don't bother Expand
  6. JohnMorgan
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    Having actually seen the game, it's a mediocre shooter with ok graphics, a bad cover system, and bad AI. What is truly shameful,Having actually seen the game, it's a mediocre shooter with ok graphics, a bad cover system, and bad AI. What is truly shameful, however, is that Eidos the publisher had Jeff Gerstmann of Gamespot fired for writing a negative review of the game. I will never buy another Eidos product or visit Gamespot for additional reviews, and I urge others to do likewise. Expand
  7. Chammolookefo
    Nov 29, 2007
    0
    Well i would have gave this game a higher score but for recent events including the fireing of a populor reviewer for giving a 6.0 to thisWell i would have gave this game a higher score but for recent events including the fireing of a populor reviewer for giving a 6.0 to this game and the publisher Edios freaking out on gamespot threatining to pull its ads im thinking they paid off people for good reviews The games not very good any dont waist your money. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.