Killer Is Dead Xbox 360

Killer Is Dead Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest title from the mind of game creator SUDA51 serving as a spiritual successor to previous cult favorites No More Heroes and Killer 7. Stylish cel-shaded visuals set the mood in this gritty, bloody, ultra-violent world where biomechanical augmentations increase the power of criminalsThe latest title from the mind of game creator SUDA51 serving as a spiritual successor to previous cult favorites No More Heroes and Killer 7. Stylish cel-shaded visuals set the mood in this gritty, bloody, ultra-violent world where biomechanical augmentations increase the power of criminals and “executioners” alike. Mondo Zappa, a newly recruited executioner, hunts criminals wielding a Japanese sword in his right hand, and powerful biomechanical engineering in his left. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. 90
    At this point, though, you already know, if Killer is Dead is for you. It's shrill, chaotic, stupid and quite simply all sorts of genius. Finally, Suda did that one final step to grow as a game designer, no longer banking solely on the weird.
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    Pure Suda, Killer is Dead is a really good action game with lots of flavor and many of the elements that have made special this director.
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    This is as surreal as stylish, as uncompromising as relentless, as odd as any other game from Suda 51. But is also more mainstream than ever before, which is admirable.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Killer Is Dead packs the style and swagger that's defined Suda 51's output to date, highlighted by the smart, well-designed boss battles. It's only really let down by awkward pacing and the padding between those boss battles.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    65
    Killer is Dead is a Suda51 game. If that makes you smile, there is probably something here you will enjoy. If not, then its mediocre combat and weird direction are not going to carry you through the whole experience.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The high-contrast art style lends a cool flair to characters and environments, but works against you on the gameplay front.
  7. 40
    I've not felt wronged by a game to this degree in a long time. Hatred just about captures the emotion. Killer is Dead has the kernel of an acceptable game, swathed in unlikable characters, a Benny Hill attitude to women, alienating self-regard and some obnoxious gameplay decisions. It's impossible to recommend.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Stupid journalists do not understand games. Do not listen to them.

    Killer is Dead is a great game. If you are a fan of Japanese style and
    Stupid journalists do not understand games. Do not listen to them.

    Killer is Dead is a great game. If you are a fan of Japanese style and hurricane slashers, then you must buy this game without a doubt.

    About the sexualisation of women in it. I laughed. Play your glamorous Mass Effect with gays and lesbians, stupid idiots!
    Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    Awesome game, truly. You'd have to be a pretty boring person to not enjoy it. Fast and visceral action, awesome boss fights and a ridiculousAwesome game, truly. You'd have to be a pretty boring person to not enjoy it. Fast and visceral action, awesome boss fights and a ridiculous plot, what more do you expect from a Goichi Suda game? If you see comments about loading times it's because they haven't installed it. Go ahead and do that like me, my 'loading screens' are just a flash of text. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game is fun. I don't care about the silly plot.The action is great and I'm loving it. The graphic design is a welcoming fresh change. TheThis game is fun. I don't care about the silly plot.The action is great and I'm loving it. The graphic design is a welcoming fresh change. The sound effects and voice acting are very good. The gameplay is varied and at times it is challenging, but not because of an 'artificial difficulty'. This game needs some skill to get through some levels. I don't have the slightness clue why this got low reviews. 10/10 Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Yes, Killer Is Dead is worth the purchase, if you are a fan of the Studio. I agree with many out there, that this game may have focused toYes, Killer Is Dead is worth the purchase, if you are a fan of the Studio. I agree with many out there, that this game may have focused to much on the experience with Women, but at its core Killer Is Dead tells a wonderful, heart touching story. The combat becomes better and better the more you focus on getting your upgrades and learning how to use them right. While the shooting can feel a bit unnatural it still helps you throughout the game. Some of the End Bosses are weird and absurd, but still fun to fight against. One of my favorite final End Bosses is in this game.

    Killer Is Dead is a wonderful game, with great combat and a beautiful story.
    Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    It's very hard to recommend Killer Is Dead really to anyone, just because of how easy (for lack of a better word) it is to hate this game. TheIt's very hard to recommend Killer Is Dead really to anyone, just because of how easy (for lack of a better word) it is to hate this game. The plot is barely there, and what little of it there is is practically unintelligible (for instance, the phrase Killer Is Dead is repeated at least twice in every mission for no apparent reason); the game's portrayal of women is, on average, a step backwards in gaming's progress towards gender equality, and certain environments (primarily Sound Cloud Inc. and the castle in the Sebastian DLC, should one have purchased the Limited Edition) are practically impossible to see in, making certain sections of the game frustrating from a visual standpoint. There isn't a lot to dislike here, but the game's few faults are pretty large.
    There are also several things about Killer Is Dead that could be left up to every player's personal opinion. Firstly, though poorly handled, the art style as a whole lends the entire game a sort graphic novel feel--to anyone out there who played the incredible No More Heroes games, Killer Is Dead looks like if that art style went from a happy and vibrant teenager to a dark and cynical adult. Combat is hectic and flashy, with neon blues, reds, and purples constantly slicing through the air, and the character models themselves are quite nice to look at, when you can see them--one scene that immediately comes to mind as an example of the good and bad of the graphic design is within the first ten minutes of the game, in which half a character's face is completely in shadow, while the other, robotic half is being beautifully illuminated by the headlights of passing cars.
    The sound is similarly both incredible and difficult to work with; though the game has a few amazing tracks of music, rarely did I have the chance or ability to focus on them, due to the cacophony of sword swings, demonic cries, and gunshots that was always surrounding me. Then, during the cutscenes, which had far less interesting music, I would sometimes have to struggle to hear the character's voices over a slightly-too-loud ambient soundtrack. The voice acting is yet another mixed bag; everyone in the cast, especially insane antagonist David, performs their parts well--it's just that some of those parts could have been portrayed differently. This isn't a problem with the voice actors, but the director--Mika read all of her lines the way I assume the studio wanted her to, but her character as whole was, more often than not, grating.
    Speaking of the characters, nearly everyone in Killer Is Dead is interesting, but could use fleshing-out. In fact, everyone but Mondo and David is, by the end, shrouded in mystery. For the sake of spoilers, I won't go into more detail here, but I will say that players will more than likely want to see more of just about everyone when the credits roll--not necessarily because they like them, but rather because they don't really know who they are.
    The art, sound, and character development are all tough to really talk about, because one simply can't decide whether or not players will consider any one of them as truly "bad". Personally, I was able to look past all of them, and thus don't consider them to be that big of an issue, but--as influenced by the critic and user reviews--that isn't the case for everyone. Unfortunately, one would have to try this game for oneself to truly decide whether or not they could "handle it", for lack of a better phrase.
    Killer Is Dead does have two things going for it, which I'll cover in order of simplicity. The first is the combat--Killer Is Dead is, gameplay-wise, one of the best Grasshopper games I personally have ever played. The controls for the basic combat (not necessarily for a few of the more frustrating side-missions) are tight, simple, and precise, and much of the core game is challenging without being aggravating. The game's small number of bosses are hit-and-miss, with some being forgettable or irritating, and others being fantastic. Episode 4's concluding battle, in particular, ranks among one of my absolute favorite fights in any game, and (again, for No More Heroes players) is similar to climactic challenge of Alice Twilight from Desperate Struggle. In contrast, lots of people were impressed by the finale, but I myself found it too easy.
    The second thing is the payoff. This is not when you beat Killer Is Dead--this is when you understand it (or when you look up an explanation online, if you're so inclined). Quite literally the only reason this game received as high a score as it did from me is because, once one figures out what Killer Is Dead is truly about, the entire game and all of its faults make a lot more sense. Without spoiling anything, I can safely say that every fault in this game except technical ones (graphics and sound) is almost completely intentional...and that one should remember that for the whole game, they are Mondo Zappa.
    Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    I am done with the most of the game and so far it looks like an O.K rental to play for maybe 5 hours and get some achievements but pleaseI am done with the most of the game and so far it looks like an O.K rental to play for maybe 5 hours and get some achievements but please don't have high expectations or spend too much for the game. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2016
    1
    Great graphic style. Bullsh*t QTEfest instead of gameplay. Press X many-many times when it shows up or you will die. Games nowadays are allGreat graphic style. Bullsh*t QTEfest instead of gameplay. Press X many-many times when it shows up or you will die. Games nowadays are all miserable. For nobrainers only. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews