Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest title from the mind of game creator SUDA51 serving as a spiritual successor to previous cult favorites No More Heroes and Killer 7. Stylish cel-shaded visuals set the mood in this gritty, bloody, ultra-violent world where biomechanical augmentations increase the power of criminalsThe latest title from the mind of game creator SUDA51 serving as a spiritual successor to previous cult favorites No More Heroes and Killer 7. Stylish cel-shaded visuals set the mood in this gritty, bloody, ultra-violent world where biomechanical augmentations increase the power of criminals and “executioners” alike. Mondo Zappa, a newly recruited executioner, hunts criminals wielding a Japanese sword in his right hand, and powerful biomechanical engineering in his left. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. 90
    At this point, though, you already know, if Killer is Dead is for you. It's shrill, chaotic, stupid and quite simply all sorts of genius. Finally, Suda did that one final step to grow as a game designer, no longer banking solely on the weird.
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    Pure Suda, Killer is Dead is a really good action game with lots of flavor and many of the elements that have made special this director.
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    80
    This is as surreal as stylish, as uncompromising as relentless, as odd as any other game from Suda 51. But is also more mainstream than ever before, which is admirable.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    Killer Is Dead packs the style and swagger that's defined Suda 51's output to date, highlighted by the smart, well-designed boss battles. It's only really let down by awkward pacing and the padding between those boss battles.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    65
    Killer is Dead is a Suda51 game. If that makes you smile, there is probably something here you will enjoy. If not, then its mediocre combat and weird direction are not going to carry you through the whole experience.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    The high-contrast art style lends a cool flair to characters and environments, but works against you on the gameplay front.
  7. 40
    I've not felt wronged by a game to this degree in a long time. Hatred just about captures the emotion. Killer is Dead has the kernel of an acceptable game, swathed in unlikable characters, a Benny Hill attitude to women, alienating self-regard and some obnoxious gameplay decisions. It's impossible to recommend.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. j3f
    Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Killer is Dead is more than the sum of its parts. 1 part absurd story telling and 1 part fast paced action game. From the opening scene to theKiller is Dead is more than the sum of its parts. 1 part absurd story telling and 1 part fast paced action game. From the opening scene to the vignettes that are each episode, Killer is Dead will leave you with more questions than answers. But that's the point, it gives you just enough to make an educated guess as to how everything ties together. In the end you realize the game is set in a universe where you have to accept that anything is possible. The real fun in the story is theorizing how everything works much in the same way that people theorized the Zelda timeline before the release of the Hyrule Historia. Set pieces and over the top characters make every moment memorable.
    American critics have taken to bashing the game over the head in an attempt to not seem misogynist or out of line with other reviewers. The truth is there is nothing objectionable in the game, not a single nipple is shown in the game. Even the gigolo missions are a satire that is far more tasteful than its source material, James Bond. For one thing you can't sleep with any of the girls until the second date. The gigolo I felt to be very charming, as you have to build up guts in order to make a move to woo your current infatuation. Contrast this with any Hollywood spy movie star who can bed a woman with a snap of his fingers, no romance, no call the morning after. Go too long without see one of the girls, and they'll call you and remind you to spend some time with them, they aren't just some throw away fling. Mondo Zappa, if anything is human with human needs and human weaknesses.
    Combat is fast and furious. If Devil May Cry(1,3, & 4 not DmC) and Bayonetta are the Forza and Gran Turismo of Beat 'em Up's then Killer is Dead is Burnout. Put simply it's a distillation of those winning formulas with a few twists thrown in. You wield a katana in combocentric gameplay, enemies block and you can use a guard break or flank the enemy or move onto to another target. The key to mowing down enemies is to build up massive combos, after reaching as the combometer soars to 10, 20, 50, 100 hit you become a backflipping sword spinning trail of destruction as mondo attacks faster and harder, building up more hits accelerating at an exponential rate. One of the quickest ways to build up a combo is to perform a just dodge which allows you a few seconds to hammer on the x button to score a dozen hits. While similar to Bayonetta's witch time, it doesn't slow down the action because it doesn't last nearly as long and takes you straight to the button mashing action. What it's missing goes a long way to defining what it is. One of the unique things of Killer is Dead is its lack of autotargeting and lock on. Combine this with an arm cannon that runs off your most valuable resource, blood, and you have a great third person shooter. You'll be tempted to take out grunts with a single head-shot and you'll unload volleys into flying enemies. Right below your health meter is your blood meter, which you get from hacking away at enemies, blood allows you to heal, use your robotic arm, and let's you perform adrenaline bursts sacrificing blood to take out a grunt in a single strike(bigger enemies just block you). Killer is dead can be hard, but the quick loading times make restarting quick and painless. The bosses are all unique and some the more memorable do things I've never seen before. Levels are clever and nothing in the game becomes frustrating because of a failure of the mechanics.
    All together Killer is Dead is unique experience that everyone should enjoy. Suda51's brand of story telling is alive and well. Grasshopper Studios executed a superb action game similar and dissimilar to those that came before it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    It's almost impressive how ignorant and pandering the average reviewer is. Of course, it would take far too much thought to realize thatIt's almost impressive how ignorant and pandering the average reviewer is. Of course, it would take far too much thought to realize that "Gigolo Mode" was a rather clever commentary on the lack of depth in video game romance and the typical role of the player character as a "mary sue", a peerless sex god through which one can live out childish fantasies. Far easier to just cry about the evils of sexism so you won't be crucified by misguided feminists. The comparisons to games like Devil May Cry and Revengeance are even more pathetic, and just go to show how uninformed and out of touch these people are. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game is fun. I don't care about the silly plot.The action is great and I'm loving it. The graphic design is a welcoming fresh change. TheThis game is fun. I don't care about the silly plot.The action is great and I'm loving it. The graphic design is a welcoming fresh change. The sound effects and voice acting are very good. The gameplay is varied and at times it is challenging, but not because of an 'artificial difficulty'. This game needs some skill to get through some levels. I don't have the slightness clue why this got low reviews. 10/10 Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    This game is all types of crazy which is to be expected of a suda 51 title. I'm a big fan of his games and own and played them all exceptThis game is all types of crazy which is to be expected of a suda 51 title. I'm a big fan of his games and own and played them all except killer7. The combat is stylish and fun and the graphics are fantastic. The story is the moat absurd stupid and weirdest thing I've ever experienced but I love it! I know a lot of hate went towards the gigolo missions but they aren't that bad. More often they are funny and you get to stare at and seduce beautiful women (what's wrong with that) upgrades and challenges also are present as well as leader boards giving the game some good replay value and addictive gameplay of getting the best scores. Another plus I might add is if you get the game new it comes with the soundtrack, art book, and dlc pack which is really nice. Overall this game is exactly what I expected from suda 51 style over substance and that's completely fine because you know what... these kind of games are unique and different in a world where most videogames take themselves too seriously. I highly recommend this awesome game if you enjoy fun games or are a big fan of suda 51. It's not his best game but it has his magical demented touch most people will love. 9.3/10 Collapse
  5. Apr 2, 2015
    8
    Killer is dead, un juego con una historia extraña , pero interesante, con graficos tipo cell shading que le da un aspecto muy atractivo, unKiller is dead, un juego con una historia extraña , pero interesante, con graficos tipo cell shading que le da un aspecto muy atractivo, un sistema de juego bastante simple, pero no se torna aburrido(a mi gusto) muy rejugable con bastantes sub misiones que alarga mas la vida de este juego, con unas chicas muy atractivas;) Recomendable para quien busca algo diferente. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    It's very hard to recommend Killer Is Dead really to anyone, just because of how easy (for lack of a better word) it is to hate this game. TheIt's very hard to recommend Killer Is Dead really to anyone, just because of how easy (for lack of a better word) it is to hate this game. The plot is barely there, and what little of it there is is practically unintelligible (for instance, the phrase Killer Is Dead is repeated at least twice in every mission for no apparent reason); the game's portrayal of women is, on average, a step backwards in gaming's progress towards gender equality, and certain environments (primarily Sound Cloud Inc. and the castle in the Sebastian DLC, should one have purchased the Limited Edition) are practically impossible to see in, making certain sections of the game frustrating from a visual standpoint. There isn't a lot to dislike here, but the game's few faults are pretty large.
    There are also several things about Killer Is Dead that could be left up to every player's personal opinion. Firstly, though poorly handled, the art style as a whole lends the entire game a sort graphic novel feel--to anyone out there who played the incredible No More Heroes games, Killer Is Dead looks like if that art style went from a happy and vibrant teenager to a dark and cynical adult. Combat is hectic and flashy, with neon blues, reds, and purples constantly slicing through the air, and the character models themselves are quite nice to look at, when you can see them--one scene that immediately comes to mind as an example of the good and bad of the graphic design is within the first ten minutes of the game, in which half a character's face is completely in shadow, while the other, robotic half is being beautifully illuminated by the headlights of passing cars.
    The sound is similarly both incredible and difficult to work with; though the game has a few amazing tracks of music, rarely did I have the chance or ability to focus on them, due to the cacophony of sword swings, demonic cries, and gunshots that was always surrounding me. Then, during the cutscenes, which had far less interesting music, I would sometimes have to struggle to hear the character's voices over a slightly-too-loud ambient soundtrack. The voice acting is yet another mixed bag; everyone in the cast, especially insane antagonist David, performs their parts well--it's just that some of those parts could have been portrayed differently. This isn't a problem with the voice actors, but the director--Mika read all of her lines the way I assume the studio wanted her to, but her character as whole was, more often than not, grating.
    Speaking of the characters, nearly everyone in Killer Is Dead is interesting, but could use fleshing-out. In fact, everyone but Mondo and David is, by the end, shrouded in mystery. For the sake of spoilers, I won't go into more detail here, but I will say that players will more than likely want to see more of just about everyone when the credits roll--not necessarily because they like them, but rather because they don't really know who they are.
    The art, sound, and character development are all tough to really talk about, because one simply can't decide whether or not players will consider any one of them as truly "bad". Personally, I was able to look past all of them, and thus don't consider them to be that big of an issue, but--as influenced by the critic and user reviews--that isn't the case for everyone. Unfortunately, one would have to try this game for oneself to truly decide whether or not they could "handle it", for lack of a better phrase.
    Killer Is Dead does have two things going for it, which I'll cover in order of simplicity. The first is the combat--Killer Is Dead is, gameplay-wise, one of the best Grasshopper games I personally have ever played. The controls for the basic combat (not necessarily for a few of the more frustrating side-missions) are tight, simple, and precise, and much of the core game is challenging without being aggravating. The game's small number of bosses are hit-and-miss, with some being forgettable or irritating, and others being fantastic. Episode 4's concluding battle, in particular, ranks among one of my absolute favorite fights in any game, and (again, for No More Heroes players) is similar to climactic challenge of Alice Twilight from Desperate Struggle. In contrast, lots of people were impressed by the finale, but I myself found it too easy.
    The second thing is the payoff. This is not when you beat Killer Is Dead--this is when you understand it (or when you look up an explanation online, if you're so inclined). Quite literally the only reason this game received as high a score as it did from me is because, once one figures out what Killer Is Dead is truly about, the entire game and all of its faults make a lot more sense. Without spoiling anything, I can safely say that every fault in this game except technical ones (graphics and sound) is almost completely intentional...and that one should remember that for the whole game, they are Mondo Zappa.
    Expand
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    1
    what an awlful start for a game; i've completed 2 missions, scored leaderboards and yet i've did absolutely nothing!! can't believe how a gamewhat an awlful start for a game; i've completed 2 missions, scored leaderboards and yet i've did absolutely nothing!! can't believe how a game gets published like this. just remember the start from Farcry 3 folks; that's how you hook someone into a game. I'm a No More Heroes huge fan but i can't bear such lack of attention to game flow anymore. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews