Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    72
    The game is very well made and cand surprise many people for the great amount of content it offers, with around 25 hours of play, and its characters' charm. A very polished game that children will enjoy.
  2. games(TM)
    Jan 9, 2012
    70
    A generously long-lasting slice of festive entertainment for the peripheral. [Issue#117, p.120]
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    An interactive, magic and amazing visit to Disneyland that the youngest gamers will love. A game that Santa Claus shouldn't forget to get in his bag.
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    70
    Kinect: Disneyland Adventures is a very entertaining game, even though it sometimes just feels like a big product placement with waving and jumping, and despite the fact that the quick game option only works in games you've played before. It's hard to not get sucked into a nostalgic daydream and just smile your way through the game.
  5. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 8, 2011
    70
    The focus on repetition means while it's great for kids, adults are likely to lose interest. [Issue#79, p.83]
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    70
    The scores of happy families, the gentle and caring characters you've grown up with your entire life, and the chance to virtually wander around a place that is so beloved can't help but make you smile.
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    70
    The best original Kinect game this year, and if it wasn't for the vagaries of the controller itself one of the best video games around for the very young.
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    70
    It's an adventure for kids, but it's also a museum, a diorama, and a weird kind of historical document - and that's a combination that only video games could have given us.
  9. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2011
    60
    Richer than most kiddie Kinect options. [Feb 2012, p.107]
  10. Dec 14, 2011
    60
    Disneyland Adventures does a remarkable job of replicating the park and all its charms, but flawed controls put a damper on this excursion.
  11. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 6, 2011
    60
    It's all a bit on the Mickey Mouse side. [Christmas 2011, p.107]
  12. Nov 25, 2011
    60
    Disneyland Adventures is a fair kids game that can be fun to play with your children or your nephew.
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    While there is plenty to do around the park meeting characters and finding collectibles, the minigame experience is not enough to keep players, even young ones, coming back.
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    58
    Love's been poured into this, but the many frustrations will yank kids out of the fantasy.
  15. 55
    The controls are almost always downright woeful - mostly being either way too sensitive or barely responsive at all.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    3
    Very buggy. It was a big disappointment for the kids (ages 5-8). I really thought being a first party Microsoft game that this would be theVery buggy. It was a big disappointment for the kids (ages 5-8). I really thought being a first party Microsoft game that this would be the hit of our Christmas gifts but it has so many issues that it takes the fun out of it. Direction of the characters is poor, finding the rides i difficult, co-op is near impossible to play.
    Waste of money. I wish redbox had of had it so I could have rented it first and chose another game.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    While the park recreation is almost 100% accurate and perfectly captures the otherworldly magic of Disneyland, the use of the KinectWhile the park recreation is almost 100% accurate and perfectly captures the otherworldly magic of Disneyland, the use of the Kinect technology is SO vastly underdeveloped, there is no way to even know what you are doing in most of the Attractions, let alone figure out how to excel at them. While the idea is fantastic, numerous mini-games that use every form of movement-based gaming there is, the potential is simply never met, to an endlessly frustrating degree. Even just trying to get around the world and access an inventory menu becomes a tedious endeavor. Plus, giving this to a child almost feelsâ Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    I know Disneyland like the back of my hand, and the 3D recreation of the park in this game is spot on, down to every last trash can and ChurroI know Disneyland like the back of my hand, and the 3D recreation of the park in this game is spot on, down to every last trash can and Churro stand. Unfortunately it's difficult to navigate the environment and this game would have greatly benefited from allowing you to use your controller to walk around the park. The mini-games that make up the bulk of the content here are hit and miss and like most Kinect titles mostly consist of waving your arms around and hoping something will happen. Highlights include the Matterhorn skiing level, flying through Neverland with Peter Pan and bopping around the galaxy on Space Mountain. Conspicuously absent are Star Tours and Indiana Jones, two of my favorite rides. It's a shame that this game was developed before Disney purchased those properties (although that's the ONLY reason I'd be glad that Disney bought out Lucasfilm). All in all I would like this game a lot more if you could simply run around the park with a cap gun or lightsaber whacking tourists over the head. Look sharp for an NPC "dad" who looks a heckofalot like Barack Obama. Full Review »