Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This action sports compilation for the Xbox 360's motion-sensing accessory Kinect features boxing, bowling, beach volleyball, soccer, ping-pong, and traditional athletic events.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. If you want your Christmas to be characterised by tears of laughter, this is an essential purchase.
  2. Nov 8, 2010
    80
    There are moments of pure unadulterated joy packed into this sports compilation, and although it's all over rather rapidly, it's a great ride while it lasts.
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    80
    I can say that Kinect Sports is now my second favorite Kinect title, right behind Dance Central.
  4. 75
    The world won't be able to resist comparing Kinect Sports to Nintendo's Wii Sports gold standard, and the newcomer doesn't disappoint. Bowling and boxing are the two overlapping sports, and in the Kinect edition they're just as responsive and immediately accessible as you'd expect after four years of playing the Wii-mote version.
  5. Nov 15, 2010
    70
    As party games go, Kinect Sports is infectiously good fun. It's highly doubtful that this title will be enough to woo Wii owners over to the Xbox 360 on ts own. But for players who already own Microsoft's console and a Kinect sensor, it's more than worth a look.
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    65
    While Kinect Sports falls flat in the single player experience the fun to be had with friends carries it. Occasional motion control issues and the space required can hinder some of the fun but overall, and in a market flooded with choice, Kinect Sports holds its ground and should bring some high energy entertainment to your living room.
  7. Nov 8, 2010
    50
    First of all destined to all the family and festive, Kinect Sports is a preview of the capabilities of Kinect, but it's not with this title that the Xbox 360 will widen the gap in the race for motion gaming.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    This game is sooo much better then most of the reviews state. the average of this games reviews should be no less then I'd say about 85.This game is sooo much better then most of the reviews state. the average of this games reviews should be no less then I'd say about 85.

    Reviews who reviewed this low just don't want to say the Kinect can offer awesome games. But, it can, and no you can't be a lazy person and play this game. You actually have to get up off you butt and get active. You will lose weight playing this game. I was sore for 3 days straight after getting this game, but kept comming back for another game. Don't let mediocre reviews sway your decision this game is is. Me and my friends have had a blast playing this game and so will you! If you like fun interactive games that is!!!!
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    10
    This game is a blast. A great party game with friends, but just like the Wii not much for a solo game. My biggest complaint is that there isThis game is a blast. A great party game with friends, but just like the Wii not much for a solo game. My biggest complaint is that there is no story mode or adventure mode. Its sorta set up like Wii Sports and you level up every once in a while, but I can't tell what determines a level up??? The Achievements are pretty hard to obtain, there's like 30% of them you will get right off the rip, the other 70% are way to hard. So basically this gets a "6" a "10" if it included some kind of objective and the leveling up made some sort of sense. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    If you don't like a bit of getting off your feet or having fun with your friends and family, then avoid this title. But, if you are planningIf you don't like a bit of getting off your feet or having fun with your friends and family, then avoid this title. But, if you are planning for the upcoming holidays a get-together with family and wondered what you could do that will make all have a good time (aside from stuffing yourself) then you can't go wrong with Kinect Sports.
    I've played it alone, with my family and with friends over. Everyone - and even the skeptics - loved it, and wanted more. If you know Wii Sports (Resort) then this is at least ten times better and more enjoyable. The sports are presented in a very enjoyable way, and there are options to play with others or on Xbox Live. The mini-games are also great fun. This game is definitely a good buy for a fun night with friends and family in order to get sociable, but if you'd rather play Call of Duty: Black Ops online the whole weekend with your friends, then this title may not be your forte.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    OMG....I am totally amased and actually SHOCKED how good and fun this game is!!!! I've owned a Wii before and was TERRIBLY disappointed withOMG....I am totally amased and actually SHOCKED how good and fun this game is!!!! I've owned a Wii before and was TERRIBLY disappointed with Wii Sports, but now that I own a 360 and kinect, I decided to gets this. Even though the titles are similar, I assure you this game make right what wii sports did wrong. With sports including bowling, soccer, table tennis, hurdles, sprint,javelin, discuss, volleyball etc. this title is aimed to satisfy for a VERY LONG TIME!! BTW, table tennis is a complete addiction ;) Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    My family thinks this game is awesome! We have a 9 year old daughter and 6 year old son. The funniest one to play (and watch!) is the trackMy family thinks this game is awesome! We have a 9 year old daughter and 6 year old son. The funniest one to play (and watch!) is the track and field game! So funny to watch people run in place, jump and whatever else. :) Also a great workout if you can't go outside to play. The volleyball is also a good workout if you actually know how to play and do all the motions correctly - like you would in a real game. The soccer isn't as fun, but my son loves it. The table tennis is kind of funny. Again it's better if you play realistically, and don't just stand there waving your "paddle" back and forth. My mom and I played. I was all over the place, like I would if I were really playing. She was just standing still while barely swinging the paddle. :) She is in her sixties. :) The kids love the boxing. That can be tiring also!! These can be tiring games if you have a competitive bone in your body!!! :) Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    This is a VERY GOOD game! I am amazed at the critic reviews here, I agree with chuckyj1 this should be an 85 at least. I believe the majorityThis is a VERY GOOD game! I am amazed at the critic reviews here, I agree with chuckyj1 this should be an 85 at least. I believe the majority of these reviews are tailored towards the so called hardcore readership of their publications who, for some strange reason, feel threatened by Kinect and the mass consumer audience it appeals to. I am a hardcore gamer, I was brought up on Doom, Half Life and COD but I'm also open minded enough to appreciate new and exciting forms of entertainment. Kinect is certainly that and Kinect Sports a wonderful early example of the fun that can be had. Boxing is brilliant and introduces blocking as a fantastic tactical element making it a vast improvement on the Wii version, there is something entirely satisfying about blocking your opponents attacks before unleashing a combination of your own controller free shots.
    Table tennis is equally fantastic, a compelling game that allows the player to hit the ball with varieties of spin dependent upon the arm movement used. Soccer is a surprising revelation, I expected a turn based football game to be awful, Rare though have managed to come up with a beautifully simple game that once again uses the wonders of Kinect motion control to track your body movement perfectly enabling you to kick the ball in the direction you chose, again there is something deeply satisfying about taking a free kick and bending it around the wall into the top right hand corner!
    Whilst I haven't explored volley ball too much yet, the 3 mini-games above have kept me occupied for the last few days, my short practice game yielded another positive experience - it certainly wasn't a shocker.
    Bowling is good not so dissimilar to the Wii version, it's a good implementation but nothing new.
    Track and field is absolutely hilarious played with friends.
    Additionally since purchase Microsoft have released a free party update a brilliant compendium of all little mini-games perfect for a large group of people.
    All in all this is really an excellent game and whilst hugely enjoyable played alone really comes into its own when you have your mates around.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    A surprisingly frustrating experience. Most of the games feel inaccurate and the bowling, the one that I wanted to like the most, just plainA surprisingly frustrating experience. Most of the games feel inaccurate and the bowling, the one that I wanted to like the most, just plain sucks. I cannot believe I paid $50 for this trash when the price should have been dropped by now. Beware of this title. Kinect adventures is 10,000 times better and it is FREE. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews