Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    70
    If you like Star Wars and are looking for a reason to dust off Kinect, this is your opportunity. A game recommended for all ages.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    You don't have to be a Star Wars fan to have fun with the lightsaber battles for Kinect – but it helps tremendously so one can ignore little faults like the bad storytelling in the campaign. Even with the mostly entertaining minigames the game rarely taps its full potential.
  3. 50
    Kinect Star Wars isn't the worst Kinect game I have ever played, nor is it the worst Star Wars game I have ever played. It's just depressingly mediocre.
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    The campaign grows tedious in spite of its mixed-up gameplay, and the remaining mini-game modes are enjoyable more for their novelty and humor than for their actual gameplay. I'd still recommend the game for serious Star Wars fans, but if you're more of a casual fan and/or just have a passing interest, it's better worth renting than a full-on purchase.
  5. Apr 19, 2012
    40
    Avoid this game at all costs, young Padawan…and may the force be with you, always.
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Alas, Kinect Star Wars as a package is a mixed, if varied bag of motion tricks. For everything that works well, something else ruins the experience.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Despite suffering from many of the same issues that typify Microsoft's motion controlled experience, Kinect Star Wars is actually a very good game. The presentation is superb, and while some game modes are more fleshed out than others, none feel like they've been tacked on or overlooked.
  8. Apr 6, 2012
    40
    It says a lot that a dancing game is the best thing on offer in this muddled, cynical package. For the most part, Kinect Star Wars feels ill-conceived: kids will be bored, and adults will be embarrassed.
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    This is not the Kinect game you've been looking for. A cute array of mini-games and a decent length main campaign could make this a fun party game with a Star Wars theme, but if you were looking to finally feel like a Jedi, you might want to stick to the bathrobe and flashlight a little while longer.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    An incoherent and clumsy compilation, one driven more by brand synergy than any creative imperative.
  11. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    In the end, Kinect Star Wars wants to be a lot of things, but doesn´t achieve really much of anything.
  12. 60
    Kinect Star tries to be a complete experience of the franchise, but in the end, it's just further proof that motion controls are irrelevant to action-adventure games.
  13. Apr 24, 2012
    50
    Kinect's lack of accuracy is again the root of all problems. The dance minigame is cool, but the rest of the game fails because it's never clear which kind of audience it tries to appeal.
  14. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Kinect Star Wars has come a long way since it first was shown at last years E3, but it's still far too simple to leave a lasting impression. The controls are solid though.
  15. Apr 6, 2012
    50
    Kinect Star Wars is one of the poorest games for the Microsoft motion sensor. Its lack of precision ruins all good gameplay ideas and gets the player consistently frustrated.
  16. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Sure, the graphics are lacking and my arms were incredibly tired after Podracing, but these in no way detract from how fun the game is. If you like Star Wars and are looking for a reason to dust off your lonely Kinect, you should buy this game. But be warned, your inner-Comic Book Guy will never shut up.
  17. Apr 4, 2012
    55
    Kinect Star Wars is a bad game. If you go into it knowing that you are getting full-on camp like The Star Wars Holiday Special rather than a legitimate Star Wars experience, it can be fun, but you do have to tolerate faulty Kinect recognition the whole time. Ever since Nintendo introduced the Wii, I've been hoping LucasArts would deliver a great motion-based lightsaber experience, but Kinect Star Wars left me wanting a controller again.
  18. May 10, 2012
    52
    Despite all the problems, I actually had a few genuine moments of utter nerd glee as I sliced my way through a group of enemies. When it worked as it should, Kinect Star Wars was tolerable. Don't get me wrong, it's still laughably bad... and some of content is borderline insulting to Star Wars purists (especially the new song lyrics), but the fact is that I never felt like a Jedi, which was, of course, the point.
  19. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    Kinect Star Wars is full of shortcomings. Its playability is approximative at best, its very permissive difficulty, and average production values, despite a nice artistic direction. But despite all that, some mini-games are really fun, like the podracing, the Rancor full-on destruction sequences, or the dancing with Vader. It's a family game, no doubt, and a nicely marketed one, that will probably please its core target. But if you're a demanding Star Wars fan and core gamer, there's nothing here for you.
  20. May 3, 2012
    30
    While the feel of Star Wars is certainly present, helped largely by the Podracing, the developers dropped a huge ball when it comes to being a Jedi.
  21. Apr 9, 2012
    60
    This is probably the biggest production Kinect has seen so far (although that fact doesn't make it a good game). There are many modes that Star Wars fans (and mostly kids) will definitely enjoy, but you just keep getting a feeling that everything that happens on your screen is almost automated.
  22. May 15, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a double edged sword. On one side, using the force with the Kinect sensor is immensely satisfying. On the other side, Kinect is just what is holding this game back. All in all, it's just another shallow and lacking tech demo from Microsofts admittingly impressive motion sensor.
  23. 80
    To anyone expecting a poor dance game: yes there is dancing, it resembles Dance Central and the reason for it being in the game is explained by C-3PO as a corrupted file in the Jedi Archives. If that makes you cringe and abandon the game, then you will miss out on a great Pod Racer, a fun dancing game, a well made jedi campaign and other mini games using the Star Wars license respectfully. Recommended for all ages.
  24. Apr 27, 2012
    71
    Genuinely fun for all ages, but Kinect's stubbornness holds it back from greatness. [June 2012, p.76]
  25. Apr 7, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a hodgepodge of ideas that, either through the Kinect's limited functionality or slipshod execution, simply aren't cohesive enough to deliver the Star Wars experience that fans demand. Our advice? Go outside and pick up a stick.
  26. May 1, 2012
    60
    Surprisingly enough, Kinect Star Wars is not screwed as much as I thought it'd be. If I had an offspring, who had a liking for Star Wars, I wouldn't hesitate and bought the game. The reason would be this game works perfectly for kids. However, an adult must say to themselves what they are expecting out of this game. This piece of work is not a flawless one. However, it does belong to the above-average Kinect titles, and unlike the other ones, with this one the Star Wars brand does not suffer shame.
  27. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The writing in the main story put me to sleep. And the Kinect controls are so inaccurate that they take you out of what should be a magical fantasy experience. Clearly, more time wouldn't have helped this game. Better writers might have salvaged it, but it amazes me that no one told the team to start over and get it right.
  28. Apr 3, 2012
    50
    Silly dance sequences lighten the mood, but sluggish combat and a forgettable narrative make Kinect Star Wars a weak choice.
  29. Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Visually, the game is lacking, with muddy textures and graphics that hail from a long time ago. The Kinect controls are also unreliable at times (but also work brilliantly well most of the time). Overall, though, Kinect Star Wars fulfills most of the promise of a one-to-one lightsaber game, with enough variety (including that goofy dance mode) to make for a solid Star Wars experience.
  30. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    Many of the individual games exhibit occasional flashes of brilliance, and the absurdity of the Galactic Dance Off bears witnessing at least once. We just can't recommend picking up the entire package in order to do so.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 20 out of 42
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    After all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsiveAfter all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsive and quite frankly a dull boring kinect game. It's incredibly simple, enemies die way too easy .Basically all you do is fight/ cut scene / fight / cut scene/ shoot/ cut scene/ fight/ next stage. There is a lag issue and the game can be unresponsive most times. Pod racing is kool but it's nuthin that has'nt been done, Duel mode is very slow paced veeeeeeeeeery boring and laggy .
    Then there is dance mode DANCE MODE??? I lost all interest for this tittle when i saw they included a dance off mode. It said to me that this was'nt going to be hardcore but more family based which is fine but this is'nt the kinect star wars game I was expecting to experience. To me dance mode is a joke and I did'nt play it nor do I intend to. They should have used that effort to make a more in- depth story mode and to make a more precise kinect experience! In the end this falls in the same category as most kinect games: Disappointing , un - inspired, Control issues...Kinect star wars falls short. This game had alot of potential but because developers wanted to play safe we got a family kinect game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Since camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling forSince camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presser and saw the flaws but realized the game was in very early alpha or beta, so we had hope the game would live up to the expectations. ||| A year later, at E3 2011, the game was still in terrible shape. Most previews of that particular build complained, heartily, of tracking problems and sluggish controls. Then, later in the year, it started to come out that the whole premise of the game was so short that Terminal Reality had to start tacking on other modes to give more depth to the game, turning it into a mini-game compilation. Yet I still held out hope. ||| Picked up the game early this morning while shopping as an impulse buy. Three hours later, I'm wishing I had saved the money. From E3 2011, it feels like little has changed. Controls are sluggish and the tracking leaves A LOT to be desired. Far too many times I have taken hits in the main campaign because Kinect just doesn't react properly. I've spent an hour fiddling with Kinect tuner, and testing with Kinect Sports (which is tracking well), only for the same problems to crop up again and again in Star Wars. The story is cringe worthy and the on-rails movement could have been handled much better. As it stands the movement is very immersion breaking. ||| Sadly, the other "modes" are equally as bad. Podracing is graphically better than the Dreamcast/N64 game, but suffers from "Kinect Joy Ride" type controls that range from decent to outright bad. It's pretty shallow and you really won't be coming back to for many plays. Rancor Rampage is fun, for a little bit, and it's also very exhausting because you'll constantly be moving. I have no problem with the latter, and it'll be a great way to burn energy out of kids, but, ultimately, it's also shallow and really isn't worth coming back to after a play or two. ||| Dance mode is such a travesty I can barely speak of it. The premise is ridiculous and it's literally a direct copy and paste of Dance Central. Play Dance Central or Just Dance if you want a dancing game, not this. This is just a poor attempt to tack on humor by copying the most popular Kinect title. Sadly, it's also the only mode where tracking ISN'T absolutely atrocious. ||| Jedi Duels are slow paced, sluggish, and suffer the same tracking problems as the rest of the game. In fact, Jedi Duels plays like a series of quicktime events with motion controls. Boring after a couple of plays, if you get to "bosses" (Vader, Dooku) before you give up on the mode, you're a better person than I. ||| At the end of the day, I'm hoping my kids like it so it's not a complete loss. I can't help but feel this really SHOULD be the final nail in the coffin in regards to motion controls; The one IP that could have propelled motion controls into the limelight turns out to be just another collection of mediocre "me-too" shovelware. Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quel déception !! surtout n'acheter pas ce jeux ! Full Review »