User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 134
  2. Negative: 86 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    After all the hype and the push backs I was expecting to be blown away by Kinect star wars, Instead I get a repetitive, laggy, un-responsive and quite frankly a dull boring kinect game. It's incredibly simple, enemies die way too easy .Basically all you do is fight/ cut scene / fight / cut scene/ shoot/ cut scene/ fight/ next stage. There is a lag issue and the game can be unresponsive most times. Pod racing is kool but it's nuthin that has'nt been done, Duel mode is very slow paced veeeeeeeeeery boring and laggy .
    Then there is dance mode DANCE MODE??? I lost all interest for this tittle when i saw they included a dance off mode. It said to me that this was'nt going to be hardcore but more family based which is fine but this is'nt the kinect star wars game I was expecting to experience. To me dance mode is a joke and I did'nt play it nor do I intend to. They should have used that effort to make a more in- depth story mode and to make a more precise kinect experience! In the end this falls in the same category as most kinect games: Disappointing , un - inspired, Control issues...Kinect star wars falls short. This game had alot of potential but because developers wanted to play safe we got a family kinect game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    Since camera tracking and motion control came on the scene, Star Wars fans have been clamoring for a lightsaber combat game. The yelling for such a game reached deafening proportions when Nintendo unveiled the Wii. Fast forward to E3 2010 and Microsoft capitalized on this desire by showing Kinect Star Wars as a premiere title for Kinect. Many of us watched and rewatched the E3 2010 presser and saw the flaws but realized the game was in very early alpha or beta, so we had hope the game would live up to the expectations. ||| A year later, at E3 2011, the game was still in terrible shape. Most previews of that particular build complained, heartily, of tracking problems and sluggish controls. Then, later in the year, it started to come out that the whole premise of the game was so short that Terminal Reality had to start tacking on other modes to give more depth to the game, turning it into a mini-game compilation. Yet I still held out hope. ||| Picked up the game early this morning while shopping as an impulse buy. Three hours later, I'm wishing I had saved the money. From E3 2011, it feels like little has changed. Controls are sluggish and the tracking leaves A LOT to be desired. Far too many times I have taken hits in the main campaign because Kinect just doesn't react properly. I've spent an hour fiddling with Kinect tuner, and testing with Kinect Sports (which is tracking well), only for the same problems to crop up again and again in Star Wars. The story is cringe worthy and the on-rails movement could have been handled much better. As it stands the movement is very immersion breaking. ||| Sadly, the other "modes" are equally as bad. Podracing is graphically better than the Dreamcast/N64 game, but suffers from "Kinect Joy Ride" type controls that range from decent to outright bad. It's pretty shallow and you really won't be coming back to for many plays. Rancor Rampage is fun, for a little bit, and it's also very exhausting because you'll constantly be moving. I have no problem with the latter, and it'll be a great way to burn energy out of kids, but, ultimately, it's also shallow and really isn't worth coming back to after a play or two. ||| Dance mode is such a travesty I can barely speak of it. The premise is ridiculous and it's literally a direct copy and paste of Dance Central. Play Dance Central or Just Dance if you want a dancing game, not this. This is just a poor attempt to tack on humor by copying the most popular Kinect title. Sadly, it's also the only mode where tracking ISN'T absolutely atrocious. ||| Jedi Duels are slow paced, sluggish, and suffer the same tracking problems as the rest of the game. In fact, Jedi Duels plays like a series of quicktime events with motion controls. Boring after a couple of plays, if you get to "bosses" (Vader, Dooku) before you give up on the mode, you're a better person than I. ||| At the end of the day, I'm hoping my kids like it so it's not a complete loss. I can't help but feel this really SHOULD be the final nail in the coffin in regards to motion controls; The one IP that could have propelled motion controls into the limelight turns out to be just another collection of mediocre "me-too" shovelware. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    OMG !! c'est pas possible de faire des jeux aussi pourri, j'ai réussi a joué environ 45 minutes, mais au bout de 15 minutes j'en avait déjà plein le cul ! répétitif a souhait , on passe notre temps a secoué le bras et a sauté, pour un résultat médiocre. quel déception !! surtout n'acheter pas ce jeux ! Expand
  4. dz9
    Apr 8, 2012
    3
    I think like most people, I was very psyched for this game, we all wanna grow up to be a Jedi warrior! And the first time you hold out your arm to retrieve your saber in the career... The feeling of holding the saber is breathe taking. But unfortunately, the game loses its spark drastically after that! Where to begin, the motion controls only work accurately 10 percent of the time, they only work at a barable accuracy 40 percent of the time, and the other half you spend your time wailing your arms around frantically in a desperate fashion, and when a second person joins the action it gets even worse. Outside of the campaign, you get an embarrassing dance central knock off, a pointless rancor rampage mini game, a failing duel adventure, and a decent pod racing game. To add to the pile of mistakes, the graphics are out dated, voice acting is terrible, and story for the campaign is lacking which is much more essential in a star wars title. The good: few good ideas presented, does capture the overall feeling of star wars with the presentation, and a few genuinely fun moments. The bad: controls are unbarable, graphics are outdated, voice acting is awful, and the story is completely missing. In the end: overall, this is a dreadful game, children 7 and under may get a few good kicks out of this, but anyone above that age will be left scratching their heads wondering what the hell just happened. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2012
    1
    I wanted this game to be something that was at the very least fun in short burst but as you can probably tell from watching anyone play, or I should say attempt to play this mess of a game you know that this isn't the case. This game leaves you looking around for someone to blame for what is unquestionable a disguising waste or both engineers and artists time.
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    I experienced this game at my buddies house and it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. Now, I don't hate Star Wars at all but the fact that when they were previewing it, the game seemed very glitchy and unresponsive at the best of times just showed a lack of execution for a game that should have been really awesome. The animations are stupid and clunky and the lag between your actions and the game is really bad. It was fairly obvious this game was not going to be ready for a long time but MC felt the need to release this game just to appease the masses. It's as bad as I thought it was going to be and definitely is not the game that is going to sell more kinects in the future. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    0
    This "game" is a horrible disrespect towards Star Wars fans. I would call it an abomination. It fails both as Star Wars content and as a Kinect game. Unresponsive controls, the lightsaber moves are scripted, boring, repetitive gameplay and... Han Solo dancing and singing... Shame
  8. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Ok, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, and with this game happen the second. When much people heard about this game they think that a great idea can appear, but after when they watch the trailer, they think in a regular game, after comes the demo in the E3 and be a disaster, after we watching this dance mode, and all say "really?", the gameplay is really boring, jump and run other movements, and the dance mode, is really stupid, the detection of kinect is slow. Sorry, but Kinect Star Wars is a bigger disaster. Expand
  9. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    I'm still a big Star Wars fan, but Kinect Star Wars is one of the worst Kinect games since Rise of Nightmares. This is NOT a real Star Wars game. I thought I wanted to see action and lightsabers by using without a controller, but the dancing part is way over the limit. More like a Dance Central rip-off. For fans of the series, I should spend plenty of hours playing Old Republic or LEGO Star Wars. Shame on you, Kinect. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2012
    3
    I knew it was going to be bad. But this is BAD. Gameplay over all graphics- 2/10 looks like a wii game sound 4/10 controls 0/10 please please please stop making kinect games or fix the controls FUN 1/10 its cool for like 2 mins.. then you get the "oh no i bought this " feeling. total 3/10 Value overall... well i couldn't stand playing it so not sure, look like a 3/10 though Over all game? 3/10 easy... its playable, but barely, its not fun, and if it was the last game in the universe i rather take up knitting. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    3
    Star Wars has had it's fair share of good games and bad games, but I think this one may be one of the worst ones out there. Why would Star Wars be milking money like this? The kinect may be for kids even so, some controls don't work correctly. Story mode had it's fair share of fun moments, but the speed bikes were too hard to maneuver. Yet, the space battles were easy? Um...this is confusing. Cutscenes are weak and the story doesn't make much sense either. Podracing is hard as well. If turning right you'll turn left and vice versa. You may have to wipe off water and dirt sometimes, but you'll slam into a wall. Dancing was a weird idea. It's kind of a ripoff of Dance Central. What gave them this idea? Why? It's work really well but you'll get bored after hearing some of the lyrics. Rancor Rampage did work and it was the only mode where I had fun. You could just move your arms and legs and destroy everything. This was the only mode keeping me entertained the most and because it worked great. Lightsaber duels do NOT work. You defend, then kick them, and then attack. Rinse and repeat. This is not what we were expecting or what we wanted. I'm even a little ashamed to have played this, but luckily I rented it through Gamefly. I'm not a big Star Wars fan and even I found some of the references stupid. I'm going back to playing the Gunstringer in the meantime until another good Kinect comes out. Collapse
  12. May 22, 2012
    3
    Everybody was wondering at the start of this console's life cycle when we would get a crappy Star Wars motion control game. You wait is finally over, the chicks have flown the coup, gerbil poop. You are Action Skyhawkrr, a robot who doesn't want to stop, won't stop, can't stop. There is a bit of a twist at one point as the natives become restless, too much caffeine that late at night is no goody. Give it a shot if you have a mentally challenged hamster. Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2012
    2
    Kinect Star Wars is not for hardcore gamers and this is clear, is a game designed for the family and the Kineckt, but unfortunately was based on a franchise utterly distinctive.
    This resulted in what I consider to be a pure offense to Star Wars.
  14. Feb 7, 2013
    4
    When I first heard that a Star Wars game was coming out for the Kinect, I was so excited! Swinging your lightsabers around, playing missions from the movies, etc. I couldn't wait for this game to come out. I had high hopes for this game and what I played was nothing short than disappointing. A mini-campaign that is more forgettable than the plot from the prequels? A Rancor mode? A DANCE MODE??!! What is this s**t!! this ain't the Star Wars game I was expecting! I can live with these modes, however the most disappointing thing in the game is the lightsaber movement. I hate it when you have to control the lightsaber that the game wants you to swing it. I expected to swing my lightsaber around in any motion I want and have no issues whatsoever. The figure 8 you have to do to defend yourself from incoming droids, and "boss battles" is so boring and tedious. It sucks. Even though I do not like the game modes that Lucasarts, and Terminal Reality chose, it still manages to be fun, entertaining, and gives you a good exercise. The modes are fun, but it was not what I expected from a Star Wars game. Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    Good Graphics good story line. A game for young kids. Controls are not accurate. Its a chore to play with 2 people. If your tall at all its even worse the camera most likely wont completely see you. Very disappointing waste of money. Again fun for young kids but if you expect any reality or precision at all after the tutorial you will be let down. Don't waste your time renting or buying it.
  16. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    Star Wars has had it's fair share of good games and bad games, but I think this one may be one of the worst ones out there. Why would Star Wars be milking money like this? The kinect may be for kids even so, some controls don't work correctly. Story mode had it's fair share of fun moments, but the speed bikes were too hard to maneuver. Yet, the space battles were easy? Um...this is confusing. Cutscenes are weak and the story doesn't make much sense either. Podracing is hard as well. If turning right you'll turn left and vice versa. You may have to wipe off water and dirt sometimes, but you'll slam into a wall. Dancing was a weird idea. It's kind of a ripoff of Dance Central. What gave them this idea? Why? It's work really well but you'll get bored after hearing some of the lyrics. Rancor Rampage did work and it was the only mode where I had fun. You could just move your arms and legs and destroy everything. This was the only mode keeping me entertained the most and because it worked great. Lightsaber duels do NOT work. You defend, then kick them, and then attack. Rinse and repeat. This is not what we were expecting or what we wanted. I'm even a little ashamed to have played this, but luckily I rented it through Gamefly. I'm not a big Star Wars fan and even I found some of the references stupid. I'm going back to playing the Gunstringer in the meantime until another good Kinect comes out. Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 50
    A cynical package that doesn't do the Star Wars franchise any justice whatsoever. [Issue#85, p.92]
  2. May 15, 2012
    40
    Kinect Star Wars is a double edged sword. On one side, using the force with the Kinect sensor is immensely satisfying. On the other side, Kinect is just what is holding this game back. All in all, it's just another shallow and lacking tech demo from Microsofts admittingly impressive motion sensor.
  3. May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]