Kinect Star Wars Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star WarsEnter the Galaxy: True to the Star Wars you know and love, visuals transport you into the Star Wars universe, complete with iconic characters, vehicles, ships, Droids and much more. Drawing on iconic moments from the motion pictures, Kinect Star Wars allows you to enter the Star Wars universe and experience a variety of physical play. Swing your arms to wield a Lightsaber, reach out and use the Force, jump, dodge or kick to defeat your enemies. Easy in/out co-op lets a 2nd player jump into the fun at any time in some modes. Lightsaber combat, Force moves, piloting Speederbikes and iconic ships, Podracing and much more. Experience the breadth of the Star Wars universe as you wield a Lightsaber and train to be a Jedi Master, become a champion Podracer, master the Force, pilot iconic ships and Speederbikes, and much more. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61
  1. 80
    To anyone expecting a poor dance game: yes there is dancing, it resembles Dance Central and the reason for it being in the game is explained by C-3PO as a corrupted file in the Jedi Archives. If that makes you cringe and abandon the game, then you will miss out on a great Pod Racer, a fun dancing game, a well made jedi campaign and other mini games using the Star Wars license respectfully. Recommended for all ages.
  2. Apr 18, 2012
    70
    The campaign grows tedious in spite of its mixed-up gameplay, and the remaining mini-game modes are enjoyable more for their novelty and humor than for their actual gameplay. I'd still recommend the game for serious Star Wars fans, but if you're more of a casual fan and/or just have a passing interest, it's better worth renting than a full-on purchase.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    68
    Many of the individual games exhibit occasional flashes of brilliance, and the absurdity of the Galactic Dance Off bears witnessing at least once. We just can't recommend picking up the entire package in order to do so.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    58
    Kinect Star Wars is a rich Kinect title flawed by poor dialog, control issues and forgettable extra modes. Anyway kids will likely enjoy pods and dancing sessions while fans will be attracted by the chanche to wield a light saber.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    50
    Crappy in places, but frequently very fun. You might hate yourself for not hating it. [June 2012, p.74]
  6. 50
    Kinect Star Wars isn't the worst Kinect game I have ever played, nor is it the worst Star Wars game I have ever played. It's just depressingly mediocre.
  7. May 3, 2012
    30
    While the feel of Star Wars is certainly present, helped largely by the Podracing, the developers dropped a huge ball when it comes to being a Jedi.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. WhatIt is an amazing Kinect-Game and the best out there. The Presentation ist good, Controls great and there is a lot of Content to enjoy. What may piss people off is, that the Game is a family game and not a core game as many of us would have expected but regardless of that : A damn good family game. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GAMEPLAY IN EVERY SINGLE SECTION. I REALLY LOVE THE DANCE BATTLE PART OF THE GAME BECAUSE ITTHIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!! THIS GAME HAS AMAZING GAMEPLAY IN EVERY SINGLE SECTION. I REALLY LOVE THE DANCE BATTLE PART OF THE GAME BECAUSE IT MADE MY CHILDHOOD EVEN BETTER. THE ONLY THING THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDED TO THIS GAME IS TDM, DOMINATION, AND SEARCH AND DESTROY. ALSO KILLSTREAKS WOULDN'T HURT. BUY THIS GAME. 10/10 Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    So after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn'tSo after reading reviews, and opinions from what people were saying, i decided i was gonna take a shot in the dark and go for it. I wasn't disappointed at all. I read alot about people saying the controls are terrible, and that there is lag between what i do and what the game does, but i haven't noticed a bit of it. I primarily got the game for my roommate to play with her kids, and i didn't think i would even sit down to play it at all, but i ended up playing it for almost 2 hours. The graphics and the voice acting both lack a certain polish that other games have, but i wasn't expecting Skyrim going into it. The only gripe i have, because its a semi-rail shooter, is that when there is a small cut scene there should be a flashing icon that tells you you have zero control. I would try to dash forward, only to realize i was in a cut scene immediately after killing a few guys. Its nothing serious, but for a game where you use your entire body, arms and legs, it can get tiring to make needless actions. Overall, i enjoy the game, and it doesn't hurt that it's only a 50 dollar game. If you're a hardcore gamer, you'll probably want to just pass, unless you have a friend who has the game. If you like casually playing a game, or you're getting it for a kid, its worth the 50 dollars if you already have a Kinect. I wouldn't say go buy one just for this one game, but if you have one atleast give the game a try. I did and im glad i didn't just listen to the opinions of everyone else. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    Star Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and theStar Wars Kinect is fun in short play sessions. But with the confusingly lacking polish on the motion controlled portion of the game, and the un-intuitive play-style, both LucasArts and MGS should be ashamed of bringing this title to market as is. Best case scnario: they patch the game to allow for better interpretation of player movements. The game isn't terrible, but it's not the epic journey one would hope to have within the Star Wars universe. Then again, that's typical with Star Wars games. Most are flashed in the pan while few impress. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2016
    4
    I have many reasons why this is one of the worst star wars games ever made. The sensor can never see your movement, the story is no story, theI have many reasons why this is one of the worst star wars games ever made. The sensor can never see your movement, the story is no story, the game modes besides that are terrible. The graphics are not too bad, but could have been way better. I just cannot recommend this game for any star wars fan. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2016
    3
    This was easily one of the most hyped games for the Kinect, and what resulted was one of the biggest reasons to stay away from. Star WarsThis was easily one of the most hyped games for the Kinect, and what resulted was one of the biggest reasons to stay away from. Star Wars Kinect is, without a doubt, the worst Star Wars game yet. The controls are, well, it's the Kinect so take a wild guess, the story mode is very boring and requires no skill, the Rancor mini game pretty much explains everything wrong with the controls and the pod racing game also requires no skill and the controls are terrible there too. Don't get this game, it'll only be a waste of your hard earned cash.
    Oh and there's also a dancing minigame...I'M FEELING LIKE A STAR YOU CAN'T STOP MY SHINE I'M LOVIN' CLOUD CITY MY HEAD'S IN THE SKY I'M SOLO I'M HAN SOLO I'M HAN SOLO.
    Final Score-3/10
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Ok, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, andOk, we can watch that some companys do a great job with some kinect titles (Haunt, Rhythm Party, Your Shape, etc...), and some bad works, and with this game happen the second. When much people heard about this game they think that a great idea can appear, but after when they watch the trailer, they think in a regular game, after comes the demo in the E3 and be a disaster, after we watching this dance mode, and all say "really?", the gameplay is really boring, jump and run other movements, and the dance mode, is really stupid, the detection of kinect is slow. Sorry, but Kinect Star Wars is a bigger disaster. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.