User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    I'm 19 and I love this game. I get more exercise out of playing this than I have going to a gym. It also gives you a wide variety of mini-games to choose from so you don't get bored. The only complaint I would have is that during some of the contests it seemed the sensor couldn't figure out where my hand was. This might be an issue with the kinect itself though, or with my technique, rather than the actual game. As for kids, it's good because it uses a lot of energy and has a lot of different games to keep them entertained. We had a kid over last night and he was having a blast. You might want to keep an eye on them though, you don't need to use a lot of large, exaggerated movements for the kinect to pick them up, and you don't want the kids kicking in the TV or hurting themselves because they're throwing themselves around too much. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    A simply wonderful game for younger children. And surprisingly, even kids between 10-13 were entertained. Good graphics and presentation...and a great use of the Kinect technology.
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game is obviously meant for children, so this review will be based on that assumption. The game is easy to get into, has beautiful and colourfull graphics and steals your heart within seconds. There is enough variation to not get bored, but you can also just do the same thing over and over. The game never pressures you to follow a certain path and if the tasks are a bit too difficult then your animal will help you get through it. The game is great and perfect for kids, but I (35 years old) find it enjoyable too. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    Great animal design with great sound and structure to the game play to keep you doing new things but wanting to comeback and discover more of what previous areas. Easy for kids to play and fun new game mechanics using Kinect making it a lot more personable. Has a story to it that keeps kids wanting more and so many different tasks you can have a fun time just playing around without progressing the story. I have heard there are 35 unlockable wild cats and even some nods to Halo. Kids have short attention spans but whether they are playing the game or watching you hog it they will have a great time. Collapse
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    This game is okay not bad not great it has its fun moments though, you can enjoy it at points and I would recommend it but not highly. this game is mainly aimed at children but I have enjoyed it and I am not a child but the children will more likely enjoy this than any one who is not this game is just mainly aimed at them
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    0
    Great animal design with great sound and structure to the game play to keep you doing new things but wanting to comeback and discover more of what previous areas. Easy for kids to play and fun new game mechanics using Kinect making it a lot more personable. Has a story to it that keeps kids wanting more and so many different tasks you can have a fun time just playing around without progressing the story. I have heard there are 35 unlockable wild cats and even some nods to Halo. Kids have short attention spans but whether they are playing the game or watching you hog it they will have a great time. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    While there is a lot to like about Kinectimals how much you can enjoy it depends on how much difficulty you have with the motion controls.
  2. 72
    Kinectimals is adorable, cute and endearing all in one neat package. Despite a repetitive selection of mini-games, it remains the most efficient use of Kinect technology in crafting a game for children and casual gamers, who are the main demographic for Kinect at this stage.
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    75
    Kinectimals took me by surprise. It's not an amazing game by any means, but rather a cool pet simulator that doesn't dip too far into nausea-inducing cuteness.