Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    Deep, polished gameplay wrapped around an interesting and engulfing universe with all of the bells and whistles RPG and action game lovers crave spread across enough content to keep you busy for months.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning presents a world that is immaculately crafted and beautiful, yet still simple and accessible. Every corner reveals a person in need, a treasure to collect, a secret to uncover, a battle to wage. I don't know how much more time I'll spend in Amalur (dozens of hours? hundreds?), but I plan on savoring every minute.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    97
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning isn't the first action-RPG, but it is the first to put the focus on the action. This is easily the must-own, must-play RPG of 2012 so don't miss out.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    96
    KOAR is simply staggering; it's a tremendous achievement and an experience you shouldn't miss.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    93
    An amazing game. I can't suggest it enough. RPG fans will fall in love with the customization of both your character and equipment, action fans will love the thought out combat and fantasy fans will love the lore and story.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    93
    This is a must buy for anyone interested in fantasy RPGs.
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    The combat is what really sets the game apart, and once you play Reckoning you'll notice how stiff the combat in other RPGs is. I have to hand it to 38 Studios and Big Huge Games with their first RPG attempt. They have not only hit a home run, they hit it out of the park.
  8. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a hoot to play. It feels like Fable done right, like a third person Skyrim edited to a workable size.
  9. Mar 8, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a game for the nerdiest RPG aficionado AND the regular Joe who wants just a splash of fantasy. Featuring wonderfully original graphics, gameplay that is fun and approachable, and a story that entertains without entrapment, this game is definitely worth a spin. But even in light of all it does right, Amalur's greatest accomplishment is boasting a very complex and intricate game while giving the appearance of something straightforward and effortless.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    Its weaknesses – generic world, bland story and lack of innovation – are easily forgiven because the game is very well put together and extremely addictive. On every step it gave me a reason to spend 'just 15 more minutes' with it. I really couldn't wait to play it again at home. [March 2012, p.44]
  11. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning was clearly a labor of love from creative people with the ways and means to bring their ideas to fruition, and it shows.
  12. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    If you love any or all of the following - RPGs, rich fantasy worlds, action games - Reckoning is a rich action RPG with a deep narrative, even deeper character customization, and plenty of content right out of the box. Go get this game.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    An impressively strong showing from 38 Studios. Considering it's an original IP, the team have created a wonderful world for us to explore, and it wont be going anywhere. From the fantastic combat to the polished visuals and audio design, this title has so much to offer. The comparisons in quality to Skyrim shouldn't be laughed at - Reckoning is the first title to offer a legitimate challenge to the Elder Scrolls juggernaut.
  14. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    87
    Still, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is one hell of a game. It leads the way for action RPGs bringing with it a whole new level of awesomeness to combat without sacrificing expansive plotlines or an incredibly immersive world.
  16. Feb 7, 2012
    87
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a huge game and a good mix of genres born to prove that CRPGs can have a good combat system.
  17. 86
    In terms of laying the groundwork for future iterations, Reckoning does an incredible job of establishing the lore as well as the world of Amalur itself. On the other hand, it fails to dish up a compelling single-player narrative, as the main plotline lacks substance and culminates in an almost cliché boss encounter by today's standards.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    85
    Offering much more action-heavy gameplay and battling with weapons and magic than Skyrim, but lacking some of Skyrim's RPG complexity, Kingdoms of Amalur is still a long-lasting, adventurous game that will provide plenty of fantasy-infused dungeon-crawling fun.
  19. Feb 12, 2012
    85
    A very solid title, capable of successfully merging the depth and complexity of TES-like RPGs with a more spectacular and satisfying combat system. Nonetheless, it fails to really shine due to a somewhat generic and bland main story, even if the world and its background story are very well crafted.
  20. Feb 8, 2012
    85
    Fantastic and groundbreaking combat linked to a rich character building makes Reckoning a really enjoyable experience. There is a lot of content in Amalur and a remarkable passion for detail but the way it´s designed sometimes makes this hard to notice. However, it´s a highly recommendable experience, especially for ARPG fans looking only for loot and combat.
  21. Feb 7, 2012
    85
    If you are looking to fill the void left after you completed Skyrim then I can refer no other game than this one. It has everything you expect from the Elder Scrolls series and the combat is really good beyond its minor flaws.
  22. Feb 7, 2012
    85
    Kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning is not perfect. Its graphics and sound are nothing to sing about, and frequent loading times kind of spoil the experience. Still, it's a gigantic and deep action-rpg, with fast paced combat, an astonishing amount of quests and sub quests, and the best character development system we have seen in ages. If you love role playing games, you will love Amalur. It's a Big Huge Game indeed.
  23. Feb 7, 2012
    84
    38 Studios and Big Huge Games stayed true to old fashion Action-RPG games and delivered the game one would expect. Reckoning doesn't bring any true innovation to the genre, but is a great game and a very good start for the Kingdoms of Amalur series.
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    Mixes the best of action games with (some of) the best of role-playing adventures. [Apr 2012, p.94]
  25. Feb 22, 2012
    83
    While Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning isn't the best game I've played in this genre, for a first outing I must commend them on being so ambitious and trying new elements that appeal to many different players on the hopes to hook in a nice variety of gamers rather than just one. On the whole, I think Big Huge Games has accomplished this and they will find their audience or audiences as the case may be. I look forward to seeing what they have up their sleeves in the next go round.
  26. Feb 12, 2012
    83
    There's nothing groundbreaking about Reckoning, but fans of The Elder Scrolls will still find a lot to love.
  27. Feb 7, 2012
    83
    Occasionally, Reckoning plays it too safe. As good as the combat is, it cannot make fights against giant rats any more interesting. Crime follows the Fable route of, "if you disappear and come back later, all is forgiven." Reckoning teases with consequences, but either doesn't follow through or does so in wacky ways.
  28. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    A really hard game to grasp. It can't decide what it wants to be. Is it a hardcore RPG, a light-hearted action adventure or a serious and bloody action game? That said, once you come to terms with the overtly cute graphics and strange Nintendo-like dialogue scenes the action is fun and there is a lot to do. In the end it's a fun game, but be prepared to spend some time getting used to it. [Feb 2012]
  29. Feb 7, 2012
    82
    Though it leans a little too heavily on well-trod genre conventions, there's no denying that Reckoning has a whole lot to offer in terms of sheer breadth. Similarly, though the challenge tapers off dramatically toward the end, its combat is welcoming, gratifying, and hypnotic.
  30. Feb 8, 2012
    81
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning mixes the open-ended gameplay of games like The Elder Scrolls with a hack and slash combat system. The result is good, dynamic and fun, although lacks some more depth or strategic elements, and this can result repetitive in a game of this length. It is a huge world with plenty of things to do that can keep us engaged for weeks, and its only shortcoming is the story and its characters, which lack some more charm, and the repetitive design of the quests.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 422 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 177
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Well, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even IWell, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even I haven't played for that long, the game is very solid, and is so huge that u can do whatever you like. I really wanted a game like this for so long, and I am happy that KoA appeared. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Pretty fun game.. Story lacks any kind of focus and the lack of your character speaking or the npc's around having facial expressions youPretty fun game.. Story lacks any kind of focus and the lack of your character speaking or the npc's around having facial expressions you never really get attached to the story. Combat is a big improvement in the genre although judge up against counterparts of actions titles such as DMC or GoW the controls are "far" from tight and responsive and nowhere near as fluent. After 10 hours of play I can definitely recommend due to it's just plain fun factor and at the end of the day who really cares about the comparisons if a game is fun it's fun and this game is DEFINITELY fun! Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    I simply love Skyrim, Oblivion, and many other such RPGs and im adding KoA right to the list. Im not saying everything is perfect (difficultyI simply love Skyrim, Oblivion, and many other such RPGs and im adding KoA right to the list. Im not saying everything is perfect (difficulty and camera both been addressed by Curt in forums) but the fun of the combat makes it hard to put down. I love the environments also and i know the cartoon type graphics are a turn off for many but i love games that let me see fantasy and not something i can see in the real world. I wish all the best for 38 studios and this IP because with all the generic shooters out there good RPGs are hard to find and i think this is gonna be a great IP. Full Review »