Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    Deep, polished gameplay wrapped around an interesting and engulfing universe with all of the bells and whistles RPG and action game lovers crave spread across enough content to keep you busy for months.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    100
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning presents a world that is immaculately crafted and beautiful, yet still simple and accessible. Every corner reveals a person in need, a treasure to collect, a secret to uncover, a battle to wage. I don't know how much more time I'll spend in Amalur (dozens of hours? hundreds?), but I plan on savoring every minute.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    97
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning isn't the first action-RPG, but it is the first to put the focus on the action. This is easily the must-own, must-play RPG of 2012 so don't miss out.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    96
    KOAR is simply staggering; it's a tremendous achievement and an experience you shouldn't miss.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    93
    An amazing game. I can't suggest it enough. RPG fans will fall in love with the customization of both your character and equipment, action fans will love the thought out combat and fantasy fans will love the lore and story.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    93
    This is a must buy for anyone interested in fantasy RPGs.
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    The combat is what really sets the game apart, and once you play Reckoning you'll notice how stiff the combat in other RPGs is. I have to hand it to 38 Studios and Big Huge Games with their first RPG attempt. They have not only hit a home run, they hit it out of the park.
  8. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a hoot to play. It feels like Fable done right, like a third person Skyrim edited to a workable size.
  9. Mar 8, 2012
    90
    Ultimately, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a game for the nerdiest RPG aficionado AND the regular Joe who wants just a splash of fantasy. Featuring wonderfully original graphics, gameplay that is fun and approachable, and a story that entertains without entrapment, this game is definitely worth a spin. But even in light of all it does right, Amalur's greatest accomplishment is boasting a very complex and intricate game while giving the appearance of something straightforward and effortless.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    Its weaknesses – generic world, bland story and lack of innovation – are easily forgiven because the game is very well put together and extremely addictive. On every step it gave me a reason to spend 'just 15 more minutes' with it. I really couldn't wait to play it again at home. [March 2012, p.44]
  11. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning was clearly a labor of love from creative people with the ways and means to bring their ideas to fruition, and it shows.
  12. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    If you love any or all of the following - RPGs, rich fantasy worlds, action games - Reckoning is a rich action RPG with a deep narrative, even deeper character customization, and plenty of content right out of the box. Go get this game.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    An impressively strong showing from 38 Studios. Considering it's an original IP, the team have created a wonderful world for us to explore, and it wont be going anywhere. From the fantastic combat to the polished visuals and audio design, this title has so much to offer. The comparisons in quality to Skyrim shouldn't be laughed at - Reckoning is the first title to offer a legitimate challenge to the Elder Scrolls juggernaut.
  14. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    No matter what you're looking for, whether it be amazing gameplay, immersive storytelling or perhaps a riveting new world to explore as you fully customize and re-customize your character at will, Reckoning has it all.
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    87
    Still, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is one hell of a game. It leads the way for action RPGs bringing with it a whole new level of awesomeness to combat without sacrificing expansive plotlines or an incredibly immersive world.
  16. Feb 7, 2012
    87
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a huge game and a good mix of genres born to prove that CRPGs can have a good combat system.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 178
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Well, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even IWell, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even I haven't played for that long, the game is very solid, and is so huge that u can do whatever you like. I really wanted a game like this for so long, and I am happy that KoA appeared. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Pretty fun game.. Story lacks any kind of focus and the lack of your character speaking or the npc's around having facial expressions youPretty fun game.. Story lacks any kind of focus and the lack of your character speaking or the npc's around having facial expressions you never really get attached to the story. Combat is a big improvement in the genre although judge up against counterparts of actions titles such as DMC or GoW the controls are "far" from tight and responsive and nowhere near as fluent. After 10 hours of play I can definitely recommend due to it's just plain fun factor and at the end of the day who really cares about the comparisons if a game is fun it's fun and this game is DEFINITELY fun! Full Review »
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    I simply love Skyrim, Oblivion, and many other such RPGs and im adding KoA right to the list. Im not saying everything is perfect (difficultyI simply love Skyrim, Oblivion, and many other such RPGs and im adding KoA right to the list. Im not saying everything is perfect (difficulty and camera both been addressed by Curt in forums) but the fun of the combat makes it hard to put down. I love the environments also and i know the cartoon type graphics are a turn off for many but i love games that let me see fantasy and not something i can see in the real world. I wish all the best for 38 studios and this IP because with all the generic shooters out there good RPGs are hard to find and i think this is gonna be a great IP. Full Review »