User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 410

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Well, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even I haven't played for that long, the game is very solid, and is so huge that u can do whatever you like. I really wanted a game like this for so long, and I am happy that KoA appeared.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Pretty fun game.. Story lacks any kind of focus and the lack of your character speaking or the npc's around having facial expressions you never really get attached to the story. Combat is a big improvement in the genre although judge up against counterparts of actions titles such as DMC or GoW the controls are "far" from tight and responsive and nowhere near as fluent. After 10 hours of play I can definitely recommend due to it's just plain fun factor and at the end of the day who really cares about the comparisons if a game is fun it's fun and this game is DEFINITELY fun! Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    I simply love Skyrim, Oblivion, and many other such RPGs and im adding KoA right to the list. Im not saying everything is perfect (difficulty and camera both been addressed by Curt in forums) but the fun of the combat makes it hard to put down. I love the environments also and i know the cartoon type graphics are a turn off for many but i love games that let me see fantasy and not something i can see in the real world. I wish all the best for 38 studios and this IP because with all the generic shooters out there good RPGs are hard to find and i think this is gonna be a great IP. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    3
    I really wanted to love this game because I love R A Salvatores books. I've played RPGs since the late 80s so love the genre. Unfortunately the game doesn't live up to the hype. I really really dislike the cartoony graphics, they look 5 years out of date. The quests are repetitive, go here kill that, go there kill that over and over. The skill trees are ok, but they've been done in similar ways in countless games. The cut scenes are poor, your character just stands there staring of into the distance not reacting. There are no consequences to your actions so it doesnt feel like a living world. Bows are broken, you can't aim. All guards know when you've done something psychically which I hate. You can't jump, even over small things. it's not open, just interlinked blocks of space, the only good thing is the combat which is fun and well executed. Lets hope KOAR 2 is way more polished. Oh and the weapons degrade which I don't like either! Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    20 hours in, and loving it - Best RPG since ME2/DA:O in my books.. Skyrim was my king, until it became unplayable and I'm still packing a sad with it (until it is 100% fixed, then I will put it back on top :).

    Amalur is such a great world, light and fanciful - and how rad is the arcade style fighting? so dope!! I also love the lore/story that has been presented to me so far.. as far as I
    can tell, this will be one of those games that you either really like, or really don't... look at some of those review scores ; 100% from Joystiq/The Guardian and others.. 50% from G4.. wowsers.. that's some standard deviation right there!! Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    An all star cast, with great voice acting and a great sense of open world with beautiful scenery. This game has pulled off everything it said it would. The randomized loot and crafting makes an even deeper sense of play style,but look as well. The combat is well suited for this type of game and is ever changing, with every level and power you gain. Don't listen to the Skryim fanboys. You really can't compare the games as they are truly stand alone titles. I only give it a 9 for slight graphic errors but I can see those being fixed in the near future. This game honestly feels like what Fable promised it would be like, it goes above and beyond expectations. My #1 RPG for sure. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    Ignore the fanboys, they'll be out in force for this one, doing all they can to inflate the score. The game is mediocre at best. The graphics are sub-Fable. It suffers from terrible pop up and texture problems. There is literally nothing original on offer. The developers have made the length of the game a major selling point, but when a game is as bland and unmemorable as this one, that quickly becomes another minus. Especially when you realise most of the game is made up of fetch quests. This would have been much better if it had been released in 2005. Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    0
    This giant corridor maze is not an "open world" in the slightest. Look, but don't touch applies to 75% of the terrain areas you see. You can't jump, and the use of invisible walls is absurdly gratuitous. They are everywhere where they shouldn't be. It's getting a 0 due to the fact that it is being falsely advertised as an "Open World Game." Add the fact of how it rips off other games in graphics, and combat. You have your self a below mediocre game. Expand
  9. Feb 9, 2012
    4
    A Fable--esque corridor romp. Kingdoms of Amalur feels as if it blew all of its budget on big name writers and artists and failed to leave much room for anything else (also see Shadows of the Damned). Narrative is linear and character interactions are hollow, specifically the main character. I would say that combat delivers, but it failed to keep me entertained.
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Y'know, after experiencing the demo, it really got me hooked! So far, this would be my #1 RPG and the only RPG to get me back into gaming mode from a long time of missing long days due to uni. I really wanna thanked the devs for created such an awesome game for others to experience the awesomeness of the game. Amalur RULES!! I can't wait for OZ to release the game on the 9th then i can start spending almost most of my time 'dating' KoAR~ XD Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, went above and beyond my expectations. It feels like an MMO but plays like a great single player story with extensive lore. Love this game.
  12. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    Skyrim fan boys and fan boys of this game are going to collide. This game is not as good as Skyrim, but its not the mediocre garbage Skyrim kids think it is. This game is a solid experience, and is a lot of fun, but people cant stand when their favorite game has competition.
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    Game is a single player MMO with Fable-ish graphics. Combat feels a bit like Darksiders but not quite as fun. I feel the Penny Arcade mention was payola-esque in nature, calling this an open world game is like calling an escalator a roller coaster.

    It's an OK game, fine for killing some time. It's great for people who don't want to read any text, as they include color coded *get on with
    the action* text and everything is fully voiced. But, I find it lacks in character, I'm not particularly attached to any in game character or place and the designers seem to be "embarrassing uncles" on the humor scale. Expand
  14. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    No to much fun and boring dialogs all over the place with poor voice acting.
    Graphics are nothing special and very cartoony.
    Music sucks it's not something special.
    Combat is moderate it's fun but not for long
    If u want a real rpg play Skyrim
  15. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Exceeds all of my expectations for a game in the A-RPG genre. Gameplay is stellar and unparalleled by any of its competitors. If you're looking for a great game that will be one of the funnest you've played, then this is the one for you.

    I was also surprised at how well they integrated the fantastic combat into a lore-laden world. The immersion is instant and perpetual which as an
    RPG junkie, is a must. Expand
  16. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    Okay, if one has played the demo one has played this game! I really wanted to like this game. After only 12 hours of playing this game just grudging though boring fetch quest after boring fetch quest hoping that maybe the best is yet to come. I never want to pick this game up and play this game again. Back to Dark Souls for me. This game is all hype and no substance. First, lets start off with the story. The story is filled with so many unpronounceable words that it is largely forgettable and takes one right out of the experience. Second, if the experience isn't an immersive experience, who cares about game-play. Thirdly, the cut-scenes just felt very uninspired and dead. Fourthly, This game is not a true open world kinda game, nor is it truly linear either. So what do I mean? The main story itself is linear. The story itself will remain static from beginning to ending and nothing u do in the game will changed that. Which is ironic since this game is suppose to be about having no fate. But their are plenty of fetch quest to detour you from the main quest in other directions giving one the iIlusion of an open world. At best this game deserved a 6/10. I am giving it a 5/10 Expand
  17. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    Are the "professional reviewers" playing the same game I am? Because giving this game marks as high as Skyrim is ridiculous. The menu and dialog system is clunky and obtrusive, graphically the game's backgrounds look great but the character models look like they were made back in 2007. The music is decent, but nowhere near the same level as work by other composers for RPGs or MMOs (such as Blizzard's Russell Brower or Jeremy Soule) , and the sound effects range from so-so to ear grating. Texture pop in and texture glitches abound, the draw distance is absolutely horrid, the plot has been terribly disjointed, and the God of War-meets-Fable style of arcade-y combat gameplay rewards melee combat heavily over ranged and magic. The world isn't an "open world" format, it's an open area where players are limited to exploring specific areas with copious amounts of load time transitions between designated areas. ||| There is enough here for me to rate it slightly above average and keep me interested in the future of 38Studios and Big Huge Games, but compared to other games in the genre it's not worthy of an 8, 9 or 10 score. Ultimately, this is a game people might play for a month to tide them over and then trade it in so they can pick up Mass Effect 3. Aside: Now watch as all the fanboys come out to rate down this review because truth hurts. 12 hours in and I'm already deathly bored of the "great combat system". Oh, sure, I can make another class or build my class a different way - only to play essentially the same way. The game is mediocre and will NEVER be remembered in the same league as Bioware's or Bethesda's WRPGs. It's "Too Human", all over again: Lots of hype, lots of chest pounding, and ultimately forgettable. Expand
  18. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    in the first three hours i spent with KoA, my 360 crashed three times. i'm not a big fan of the cartoony look of the game either. also why are all the npc's teeth blue. its very distracting. other than that the combat is fun, but i haven't gotten far enough into the story to know if it will become interesting enough to keep me playing. for the $60 that i spent hoping this game would be worth it, i'll keep playing it. i just hope it gets better. so far i'm pretty disappointed. the demo preformed better on my 360 than the final product has which seems a little backwards to me. based on first impressions the best i can give KoA is a 6/10. Expand
  19. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    I started out by giving this game an 8, but how ignorant I was until I started playing it more, I am amazed by the hour, it is the most fantastic and addictive game ever, it's unbelievable how much this game has to offer, if you enjoy games like Fable or Darksiders, or any action adventure or RPG this game will blow your mind. it is an absolute classic! a rare Gem. Worth every penny and then some. 9.5/10 Expand
  20. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    What a fantastic game. While the graphics engine isn't perfect (some texture/draw issues), the art direction and environmental graphics are great. It's not just a giant,, ultimately empty, world filled with snow. And finally someone put actual combat into an RPG so i can enjoy fightinginstead of trying to avoid it. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of Elder Scrolls and similar games but it's time someone put something out that pushed passed the idea of "giant world=good game" and put some thought into the actual gameplay, instead of riding on the coattails of technical wizardry. Like open world RPGs? Like combo-based combat? Like deep-lore? Get this game. Expand
  21. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    I really wanted to like this game because of how much I love RA Salvatore books and how much I love fantasy. The cut scenes are terrible in this game, the lips don't move in sync with the lips all the time and the quests are way to similar to WOW quests, the only reason I suffered through these quests in WOW was because at least I could do them/interact with other people. The game play itself is really awesome, it is how they should make future MMO's instead of point and click. I liked how colourful the world was and how big it was but having to constantly move the camera around became annoying very fast. If you aren't done Skyrim yet don't bother picking this up you will end up going back to Skyrim. Not a bad game but very little greatness in it. Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    On receiving this game I thought it was fantastic Rpg/Adventure with great Action. I was really hoping to enjoy this game, BUT!, am now discovering how actually bland and simplistic this game is - esp once your about 7hrs inn!! I was hoping KoA:R would have varied quests and many options/decision- paths/discoveries as described and mentioned by the makers before this games release!!!!.. Now with 14hrs of game play(approx); all I've been doing is bashing the attack button, slaying creatures for the many samey side-quests, or, mostly collecting useless loot-items that still involve slaying everything!!!. While combat seems cool and engaging at first, it's nothing more then a series one button presses and occasional block pausing. You can easily take on groups of 4-7 guys with ease!! EVEN ON HARD LEVEL!!..This does start to drag at times, as it doesn't really require anything other then hitting attack, attack, attack!. You walk a few steps before you have to repeat the same action by attacking everything in your way, but without any real challenge, as enemies fall very easily... I actually just run past them now!...Within a few hours play the gameplay in KoA:R does start to become action repetitive, actually very repetitive!!! . This is made worse as KoA:R lacks any real challenge, or required skill, or even discovering enemy weak-points which could have made fighting more varied and interesting. There are many attack options at your disposal, but are not actually required, as you can get through wave after wave of enemies using one same technique with ease. I do find it rather stupid for a game of this sort, that annoyingly, you remain on flat ground!! You can't jump freely or even over anything!. Because of this stupidity!, you are forced to walk around everything just to reach a place you can see a few steps away, but can't, as its blocked by a small rock, fence, water, edge, lake..etc; forcing you to find a longer route or walk around everything just to reach there. You can't even fall/step-off the edge unless its at a very limited fixed game design place!!!!...The world, while attractive and fairly varied, is rather flat as you don't reach high places, no hills, no mountains, no ladders, no high peaks - everything is on ground floor! This is also not a true open world game in the sense of Oblivion, Skyrim, Fallout games, as you are funnelled into a one direction with many area architectural designs within the game world fairly similar - though painted with different textures ! The story isn't very engrossing at present (14+hrs played) and seems fairly generic so-far. Also there seems to be NO consequences to the actions you make!! I slaughtered a whole village(inc guards), yet no-one cared! , nothing happened,!!!..this destroys the feeling for a living game world. There isn't much activity gong on within the villages, and can be quiet and empty in many areas outside villages (so-far!). Cut scenes are poor as your character just stands staring of into the distance not reacting to anything; as do other characteres!!. Lip sync is bad too! like a badly dubbed movie. I will continue to play to the end, but it feels I'm using my thumb to bash buttons rather then making deep choices, figuring out things, making moral choices, discovering secrets and stories that effect game direction, or searching for meaningful items/loots to help progress (everything is just thrown at you without ant real discovering!)...KoA;R has become a rather simplified rpg with its streamlined and overlygeneric style. The game has taken away the depth and development of an involving rpg and has instead made it more an arcade large Hack n Slash game!!! If played games like Skyrim, Mass Effect 2, Dark Souls, Fallout 3, Divinity II:DKS, The Witcher 2 - KoA:R will seem rather bland compared to other better and deeper rpg's out there!!!! Expand
  23. Feb 7, 2012
    6
    I wanted to like this game but there's just so much holding it back, the color palette and graphic design is pretty upsetting. It's like they went through a World of Warcraft filter and picked out the worst color combinations imaginable. And the NPC faces, they make Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion facial animation look good. Along with wrestling with the camera throughout your play session this games leaves much to be desired. Expand
  24. Feb 13, 2012
    6
    If you combined the most recent Fable with the first of the Knights of the Old Republic, and took out all the engaging story elements of the latter, you'd fave Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. As an RPG junky, I'll probably play the heck out of this game until Mass Effect 3 comes out, but if you're not as into this genre as I am, this game is not for you. Most disappointing are the character interaction scenes. They are reminiscent of something on the original Xbox. Just not impressive. There is a kernel of a good game here, but it feels rushed. Only recommended for serious RPG junkies who've already finished Skyrim. Otherwise, just skip. Expand
  25. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    Plays out too much like an MMO. The zones feel like they were ripped out of any given fantasy MMO - just by their layout and content. There are a fair few fetch quests in the game and a lot of simple excuses to just have you clear out a dungeon. The combat is fine, but even on hard the game is very easy. I found it generally took one or two spells to kill most enemies, which is unfortunate given the decent combo system in the game. The crafting systems in the game are some of the best I've seen, at least. Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the best games you will ever play. Did you like Skyrim? This game is way better. Did you like God of War? This game is way better. Basically this game delivers everything and anything you hope for in an amazing game. They even give you free DLC on the first day! Big Huge Games & 38 Studios hit it out of the park with this one! It's awesome being able to customize your character any way you prefer. You aren't stuck with the generic mage class or warrior class. You can pick any combination and you are still rewarded for doing so! Go buy this game you won't be disappointed! Expand
  27. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game tops any action RPG out there. It reminds me of what Fable was supposed to be. The story isn't anything to brag about, but that's not the focal point here. The combat is where this game shines and it shines well. Do you want to be a Mage who is also good at up close combat? Go ahead, KOA doesn't restrict you like other games in it's genre. It encourages you to mold your character to your exact specifications. Sleeper of the year if I had to guess. Expand
  28. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    5 hours in and i'm loving it. Don't listen to g4 they are Skyrim fanboys. This game is great, the combat is amazing and there's loot everywhere. This story is less about decisions and more about being told a story. you should definitely get it!
  29. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Well, I think Kingdom's of Amalur is that kind of fantasy rpg that u can't really miss. It's world is absolutely astonishing, and even I haven't played for that long, the game is very solid, and is so huge that u can do whatever you like. I really wanted a game like this for so long, and I am happy that KoA appeared.
  30. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Awesome awesome awesome! Combat is amazing, no stale model here! You'll use all elements of combat not just magic or melee. Great story so far, great gameplay, huge game world I thought I was sucked in by Skyrim, man am I going to be in trouble with this one!!! GET IT!!!
  31. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game is an excellent game, it's been a long time coming for an RPG game to include great combat. Picked up the game last night at 12 and have loved every second if it. The story line is intriguing, the quests are very entertaining and the combat is superb. I would recommend this game to just about anyone who like a good rpg or action game, this game has the best of both worlds.
  32. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Having a very fun time with this game. The crafting systems in this game are most enjoyable, the combat is fluid and fun. If you can put up with some generic fantasy cliches this game is a must buy.
  33. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game is fun...which is more i can say about a lot of the newer games that get bogged-down in attempting technical or systems brilliance.

    Are the graphics dated? No, not really. They definitely are more colorful and brighter than Skyrim's...in a pleasant way. I suppose people who equate monochromatic worlds with excellence will be dissapointed... Personally I prefer this art style to
    the muted Bethesda one.

    Is the specialization system ground breaking? No, but it works well in letting you create an hybrid you care to dream up or the "pure" fighter, mage or rogue archetypes.

    Are the quests innovative? No, not really. They serve the basic purpose of sending you to x,y to do stuff and get rewarded for it. But then all RPGs do this. Even the most highly praised and innovative systems--like SWTOR for example--do exactly this once you strip off the fluff. I've played SWTOR enough to max 2 characters. The quests there are given in well-acted cut scenes which is it's innovative contribution to RPGs. However, 95% of those quests are all about wading through walls of mobs to kill the one (or 10) mobs that must be killed or fetch (or destroy) the 10 items. Along the way you get new "bonus" quests given that involve killing another 40 mobs for extra credit. Like I said, all RPGs do it and judging one poorly on the basis of lack of innovative quests (as Gamespot did) just tells me that the reviewer doesn't know how to look beyond the fluff to the meat of the game play: at their most basic, killing and fetching is what we do in RPGs.

    Combat is awesome with great graphics and movement and a multitude of combos to use and enjoy. And all classes get combos. Best of all, the mages don't get left out: they get combos too.

    Crafting options are also well implemented with a system that makes it relatively simple to make useful items as long as you invest points in your chosen skill(s)

    The last 3 games I've spent many hours playing have been Skyrim, SWTOR and this one. I'm having the most fun wioth this one...enough said.
    Expand
  34. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game came as a surprise. Its really good. I signed up on metacritic just so I could give it the rating boost it deserves. We need more good RPG's. Plus the company is based in Rhode Island, and that's where I live. But to remain unbias I will say the game is very easy so far, even on hard. There has only been one boss so far that had me ducking and diving. The combat in this game is awesome and alot of fun. Plus it looks good with explosions, sound effects, blocks, etc. The story has been fun to follow so far, they put alot of work into this game. Expand
  35. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    When this game was about to release i was really excited for it , i mean just take into account the pedigree of talent behind the development team alone plus all the previews and pre-launch talk, mostly on G4 made me want to play KoA . That was then, now it's a completely different story. this game can only be chalked up to a MASSIVE disappointment. i really wish now i had waited for the reviews, this one in particular instead of getting caught up in the hype and pre-ordering KoA. Granted the combat is engaging and better than just about every rpg on the market but that is all this game has going for it. The graphics are OK, the camera is sub-par , the voice acting and dialogue are dull and boring. my biggest fault with Amalur is that, with any good rpg, you have an emotional investment in your character as they are an extension of ourselves , and in this respect KoA fails miserably. i tried (45 hours into it) till i just couldn't feign enthusiasm anymore. at no point did the game give me a reason to care about my character or the multitudes of fetch -quests that i was being sent on. all you FANBOYS out there that are waving your pitch forks around need to realize that this game did fail on delivering what it set out to. thank you to the brave few who came out with an honest review of this game while the rest of the reviews pretty much rehashed EA talking points . Expand
  36. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    I loved this game it was so entertaining and loveable the graphics where so nice as well.This is a good game [worth a try] I'm sad that there company field bankruptcy I could see them making good games for next gen if they where still here
  37. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is what I have been waiting for in an RPG. Yes it's a mixture of a lot of other games out there but it takes what's great from them and does it even better. The story is so rich and well told that I can't find myself getting even remotely bored... ever! There are tons of things to do and see aside from the actual story, and are just as fun as the main plot. The world is beautifully done and I'm always finding myself stopping just to look around at the incredible environment. Now the main reason to buy this game (Aside from every other great aspect.) is the amazingly responsive and flawless gameplay. That right there is why I like this game WAY more then, Skyrim, Fable, Fall Out, and any other RPG out there. Expand
  38. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Si te gusta la mezcla entre Hack & Slash y el RPG este es tu juego, con unos graficos si bien no intentan mostrar realismo es sublime y los detalles lo hacen ver hermoso. Con una buena cantidad de horas de juego este se convierte en un Action-RPG que debes tener.

    Una cantidad enorme de quest, armas, puzzles y varios elementos que hacen de reckoning una experiencia que te cautiva,
    recomendable al 100%. Expand
  39. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    Just when you think nothing else can go wrong with this game the sound is out of sink, it is like watching the old foreign movies where you see the lips move and a few seconds later there is sound. It is the same for this game. They need to sort this out, if they got rid of all the faults this would be great game.
  40. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    All you Skyrim fan boys I am sorry you can not enjoy intercourse with your precious Elder Scrolls game, which is a great game, but if you are telling me that you do not have room in your heart for more than one open world RPG then you should contact your local government to legalize marriage to inanimate objects and get hitched and become Mr. or Mrs. Skyrim. Enjoy your honeymoon, as for me I will be playing any quality game I can get my hands on and not hoping for the next Madden to incorporate Dragon shouts into its game just to appease you head cases. Oh yeah don't worry those bugs in Skyrim aren't pubic lice (crabs) they are actual awful frustrating bugs so enjoy that while you are on your honeymoon. Maybe more games should have game crippling bugs that make game play impossible, that would be sick! BUGS BUGS BUGS!!! The future of gaming. Expand
  41. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    Elderscrolls and Fable had a baby and it is Reckoning. Beautiful sound and graphics. Rock solid controls and camera views. Very open-ended and deep RPG elements. There are alot of references to WoW (Example- Frostweave cloth) and the environments remind me alot of Azeroth! Reckoning is a keeper. The replay value is very high- definitely worth checking out.
  42. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Amazing combat, good story, great customization. You have to go into Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning with an open mind and not expect a 15/10. Solid game that will hold most RPG (And most video game fans) over until their next anticipated game.
  43. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This is a really good game for any true RPG fan. I will start with the bad news. The graphics are slightly outdated, and subtitles aren't synced very well at times. Other than that, it has a nice massive world, with tons of lore. Each person you talk to has something slightly different to say. The combat is ridiculously awesome and will have you immersed for a very long time. The game took many things from many other RPG's but polished them and implemented them in ways that make the game truly shine at times. Considering this is the studios first game they did an outstanding job. I've been playing RPG's for the past 16 years and this one is going right up at the top with the best of them...maybe not THE best, but its tied for 3rd at minimum. It's a great game that one should at least try. Expand
  44. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. However it's cross promotions with Mass Effect and it's cool art and screens seem to point to a unique and engaging experience. However this is not the case. The actual game is better then mediocre titles like Risen or Eco Draconis but feels extremely lazy and uninspiring compared to any of the genres staples. It's cartoonish look and fable cloned mechanics leave you wishing they bothered to put more thought into the core gameplay then trying to convince people it's good with flash and theatrics. Expand
  45. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This game is a way doesn't deserve the 10. However, it was developed so beautifully that Skyrim, Oblivion, Dragon Age, Fable, Mass Effect or other RPGs do not compare. The combat is so awesome and it brings a new dimension of ass kicking. Though the game looks like Fable 1, I have been waiting for a game that gives me a new combat system that really challenges the player. Skyrim combat system was a joke, but this game showed them differently. This game is a must have if you are a RPG fan or just want to wait for Mass Effect 3. Truly an epic game. Expand
  46. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I have changed my opinion from my previous review,after putting nearly 95 plus hours into the game so far and I still have not crossed the river to Klurikon and Alabastra I find that not only this game delivers upon what it promised which was great combat and a good RPG backbone element, it has some great lore which of course comes from the visionary mind of RA Salvatore and just plain overall addictive. I cannot find myself wanting to go back to Skyrim for any reason that Reckoning doesnt provide. I Suggest this game to all that enjoy gratifying combat with great leveling skill trees and ppl who enjoy a entertaining and long story. Nearly 200 plus hours of gameplay (not to mention the many more that will come with post launch DLC that I'm sure will be coming) but not only for those that invested in the Future Press strategy guide that is late to the party, but will add more to your game that you didn't come across before hand. I will be doing multiple playthroughs with many different classes and destinies. Again...thank you Big Huge Games and 38 Studios, and to all the Visionaries that made this masterpiece possibly. Here's hoping that you guys brought in enough revenue to create a lasting franchise, and that is not including the MMO "Copernicus" which i am hearing is still in development. Expand
  47. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    At 25 hrs into the game I'd say it is a solid 8-8.5. People giving this game a 10 or very low scores are either blind fan boys or jaded crybabies. I've been playing RPGs for 20 years and would say I have an open and fair attitude toward each game I play.

    KoA doesn't bring anything really new to the RPG field per se, but manages to take elements from great games and mash into one
    package. Combat is KoA's strong suit and it puts most games to shame in this category (Skyrim...). My only gripe is that I haven't encountered any opponents that require any real strategy to defeat, which is disappointing. Basically if you are somewhat competent player shouldn't ever die in this game (other than at the intro scene). I've been playing as a Shadowcaster (mage/rogue hybrid) and it's a blast. Switching between weapons and magic is smooth and fast. KoA has some of the best animations for stealth kills I've seen in any type of game. There's something beautiful about crawling up the back of a big Jottun, slitting his throat and watching the blood spray out.

    The main story and quests are on par with current popular wRPGs, nothing terribly impressive or highly engrossing but interesting enough that I'm curious in how it plays out. Main characters lack any real personalities which in turn causes you to be less drawn into the world. I find this to be a growing trend in field (played 160 hrs in Skyrim and I don't think there's a single memorable character in the game, same with my 7 NG+ playthroughs of Dark Souls).

    The world is quite large, but it's really not an open world like a Bethesda game. It's more along the lines of a MMO with interconnecting zones. Quests do a good job of moving you around the zones as does self exploration.

    The crafting systems are so-so. It would have been nice to actually have some type of leveling associated to them instead of the skill point system that's a direct pull from Dragon Age Origins. The talent trees are pretty solid and are reminiscent of WoW's talent trees. All the talents are useful and can cater to how you want to play the game.

    I've encountered a couple very minor glitches so far nothing really major though like Skyrim or Fallout:NV. The biggest issue I've had is with wonky camera angles. One time the camera went into the ground after I killed a guy and I couldn't see the other one I was fighting for 10 seconds or so when the camera righted itself.

    I installed the game on my Xbox HD and load times are generally pretty short.

    Conclusion:
    If you're looking for a fun RPG to waste some time on KoA: Reckoning is definitely worth your time and money. Just don't go in expecting the next best thing in the RPG realm.
    Expand
  48. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    What an awesome game! I love Skyrim and that doesn't stop me from enjoying it! It is not an open world like Skyrim but it's certainly not a linear world like Dragon Age 2. Combat is fantastic and the freedom of character design is great.
  49. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    This game is extremely fun. A lot of people are bashing it for not being "open world" like Skyrim. Since i can start in one place and walk to the other end of the map, I consider this open world enough for me. The fact of the matter is that Reckonings gameplay is some of the funnest I have ever played in an RPG. That is where it shines and that is what needs to be considered when buying this game. Skyrim had immense technical problems among its greatness. I have never had Reckoning freeze or glitch. This game runs smooth and the battles are big. The world may resemble the likes of Fable or WoW...But the settings are gorgeous none the less. I think this game takes the deep customization of Skyrim and adds a more fantasy art style like Fable and differentiates it self in regards to gameplay. Many missions are not innovative or anything i have seen before. But being sent to kill enemies and collect whatever it may be has never been this fun to me and i look forward to doing more of it. Expand
  50. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    There are few games that I love..and even fewer games that I feel strong enough to post about. Baldurs gate 1-2, Fallout games, elder scrolls,Dragon Age....1 that is, and now this. Kingdoms of Amalur is one of those rare games that feel like a labor of love made by gamers. Its whimsical and brutal at the same time. has a huge open world but it doesn't feel aimless. has great quests and 200 hrs of non stop action, that is at the pinnacle of the genre. 38 studios and Big Huge Games now have an avid fan....and a greatful one at that. Expand
  51. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    A generic RPG seemingly devoid of the all-star talent they've advertised at every opportunity. Todd McFarlane has either become extremely unimaginative, or produced a few sets of armor and weapons and called it a day. R.A. Salvatore urinated out the most boring dialog I've seen in an RPG. While this game delivers for the first hour or so, it's easily something that loses it's luster. The combat is solid enough, with a few skills that are pretty useless since that game can be beat by mashing "A" until everything is dead. This includes the several dozen boss fights that involve the boss summoning ten or so cronies to fight you at the same time. It becomes routine, mechanical, and boring. The lack of variation in character's attire and weapons offers no excitement for acquiring loot. The quest lines leave much to be desired, and are relatively devoid of any interesting elements. Some of the more interesting ones almost seem plucked from Elder Scrolls games of the past, with characters such as the Lord of the Hunt and curses involving such a person. Combat offers many paths, so long as you want to use one of the nine weapons provided. It feels rather limited for a fantasy RPG, to be honest. Many of the abilities provided for each of the classes (finesse, might and sorcery) are ultimately flashy and useless, especially in the games offered "hard mode" where stagger occurs with just about every hit. A majority of the game will be spent mashing that "A" button and guzzling health potions to get through the game, rather than any amount of skill.

    The game doesn't seem to be as free roaming as advertised. A lot of the area is inaccessible and the map leads you to believe it's a lot larger than it is. Unfortunately, a lot of the land if uninspired, and there's not a whole lot to get lost in when exploring. Most exploring will be pushed by quests, rather than wanderlust.

    The game's lore is well established, but the name-dropping by NPCs mid-dialog is intrusive and poorly done. If they are so well known, why haven't I heard about them before this point? While reading in game lore can be amusing, the game relies on it for any sort of feeling of grandeur in your actions, which leaves the player to respond "kay" everytime some random hero of the past is referenced.

    The only redeeming qualities of this game are the high points of the main quest. The main quest is entertaining enough, but there's enough fluff in between the main quest points to bore all but the most bored of players.

    I game with my girlfriend, and this is one of the few games that while looking across each one another's shoulder, we don't have the urge to buy another copy so we can both play.

    Overall, this game is mediocre at best. Those blinded by the promise of a new and interesting experience have clung to that idea, and let the lack of polished content go unnoticed. While this may be enough for some, those looking for a well refined RPG experience may want to wait for Mass Effect, or pick up Skyrim if they haven't already. KoA:R is unfortunately not in a shape that can be spruced up with patches, but rather, a complete retooling of a large chunk of the game.
    Expand
  52. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    A very solid game, that excels in its execution. KoA borrows from many games before it, and does a very good job of doing so. The main selling point of the game is its combat, which is much more visceral and interactive than what you will find in traditional fantasy RPGs, or any MMO. The 3 combat disciplines, might, finesse and sorcery have a fair amount of depth and customization; you can play the game how you want to, a mage, assassin, warrior, or an amalgamation of any of those 3 classes. The game production values shine with some excellent voice acting, amazing environments and art, a rich story and lore, and a fitting soundtrack. The sheer magnitude of content in-game is astonishing, and worthy of praise. It took me 80 hours to complete the game on Hard, and I still have a few achievements and couple quests left. You can really tell that a lot of effort went into the production and polishing of this game - I only encountered 2 bugs in my play-through involving getting stuck, and screwy camera. I highly recommend to any fans of the rpg, action-rpg, and mmo genres. That being said the game is not perfect and has room for improvement - my main complaints have to do with lack of inventory space for your main stash, and only having the ability to map 4 abilities to your controller. The variety of quest types could use some improvement, it currently functions identically to a MMO (fetch quests, quest hubs, etc.) and can get a bit repetitive. I also found that the game was too easy even on hard, which made drinking any potions unnecessary, and also that some skills were rather useless (lockpicking, and dispelling). Another thing that would benefit the game is if the NPCs were less static (it feels like everything in the game revolves around you - immersion killer), and it would also be nice to have character decisions have more impact and repercussions in the game (I found that dialog choices rarely affected any outcome). Expand
  53. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    A decidedly average RPG with not an original idea in sight.The story,touted as the work of Bob Salvatore,is bland.Some gameplay elements such as stealth and crafting are decent,but nothing you haven't done before.The good news is that the game is quite lengthy and the combat system is deep.However,tech issues not withstanding,compared to the truly great RPGs of this generation,namely Skyrim,Dark Souls,Fallout 3 and Mass Effect,KOA:R is just a bit meh. Expand
  54. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Go play Fable, Skyrim, Mass Effect, Fallout - really any other RPG. KOA is a huge let down. Boring story, generic acting, generic characters, generic quests, generic everything. The decent combat is not enough to save this game. You are better off playing another PG, trust me.
  55. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    As advertised from the very beginning, Reckoning is indeed a "guided" open world game. The combat is a breath of fresh air, combining elements of hack n' slash and action games residing over a sturdy and deep traditional RPG stat system that's sure to give you the satisfaction of both a standard RPG spreadsheet character along with the awesome combat of something similar to God of War. The world is alive and majestic, easily overtaking its peers in terms of immersion and sense of wonder. I'd like to reiterate that the game was never marketed as anything other than "guided open world". Folks who are upset that the game is not nearly as open as Skyrim have simply failed to be good consumers and do proper research into the product they are buying. The voice acting is phenomenal, rivaling some of the best RPGs to date. Although this appears to be an area of contention among reviewers, it's important to note that this is one of the more subjective categories of game review. Crafting is surprisingly deep, allowing you to customize your equipment to fit your playstyle rather than your standard spam professions present in World of Warcraft or Skyrim. The graphics are heavily stylized in a comic book fashion. It's no wonder with the likes of Todd McFarlane heading development there. The story is rich and unique, playing on several real life political themes as well as your standard fantasy flair. In terms of high fantasy, Reckoning stands apart from your cliche genre, introducing a new type of elf - the Alfar - which are quite different from your Lord of the Rings derivations you might be used to. In addition, many unique creatures call Amalur their home, including Jottun and Boggarts. I'd point out that most reviews here seem to be comparing the game directly to Skyrim, which makes me believe that there are more than a few angry TES fanboys who are non-too-happy about having a challenger to the open world throne. Unfortunately, they'll have to learn to deal with it, as Reckoning has finally provided RPG fans with a game that can have elements of other genres (particularly combat), while staying true to long-standing RPG conventions running behind the scenes, such as stats. I'd've given Reckoning a 10 but it is not without faults. The camera leaves a bit to be desired, and there could be a few more graphics options on PC. Expand
  56. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This cast of fantastic game designers have taken the best parts of so many games and have create one better than all of them. If you've enjoyed Fable, Darksiders, Torchlight even, you will love this one. It is so gorgeous, the music is incredible, reminiscent of Rockstar's Bully, The fighting system is loads of fun, you never stop improving your character, there is an incredible amount of things to do and ways to improve your character, the missions are fun and varied, the plot is interesting, and it seems to never get boring, the longer I play the more incredible it seems. The magic the weapons the special moves, just so many things to look forward to and so much loot it'll make you hungry for more. It is truly a game that is impossible to put down once you've started it. The camera isn't ideal but you'll get used to it, and the dialog and NPC textures might put some off a bit early on, but once you get into the game, all these things disappear into the background and you're left with an incredible experience that will get you hooked for very long hours. Haven't had this much fun in a long time. Expand
  57. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    First game in a long while I decided to plop 60 dollars on. Former WOW player who gave up on it due to time constraints. This single player game is perfect for me, since I can go at my own pace. Don't have to rely on 40 other people to take hours to assemble a team to do a raid. The game is a tad easy, but I'm sure they'll rectify that. I'm 61hrs in. Where else can you get that much entertainment for that price. Expand
  58. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    I think Yahtzee summed it up nicely when he called this game 'baby's first Skyrim'. However, it does a disservice to Reckoning's fun hack-&-slash combat mechanics. Here's hoping there's a developer out there with the talent (and cash) to merge the expansive world of Skyrim with the engaging combat of Reckoning.
  59. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    KoA is almost in a genre of it's own. It is more of a single player mmorpg than a true rpg, but I love it nonetheless. It's extremely hard to describe the scale of the adventure if you really get into the sidequests and various relic-like looting the game offers. It's in my opinion easily twice as large as Skyrim and as an enormous fan of Skyrim I don't take that saying lightly. Here's what I mean: In my playthrough so far, I've put in 40 hours, completed 3 main quest segments, completed 1 faction/guild storyline, 90 side missions, reached level 33 and I haven't even gotten to explore 1/4 of the world map yet. The combat is simple, fun and beautiful in action. The story is what you'd expect from a new fantasy rpg world with slight variations on elves, trolls, gnomes, faeries, etc. and it's great but only missing the feeling of any real change in the world through choice like you feel in mass effect or other western rpgs. The only thing worrying to me is the supposed 40 level cap. I feel like I could easily put another 100 hours in but I'm worried once I hit the cap, I'll lose interest. That is the only reason I'm not giving this amazing game a perfect 10. Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Sound:10
    Length:10
    Story:8
    Loot:9
    Leveling:????
    Hopefully we'll get some DLC soon with a raised level cap and new abilities and some armor and weapon loot variations. Summary: I love this game and recommend every fan of fantasy/rpg/action to buy this game. It's nearly perfect and could be pushed over the edge with the much needed DLC.
    Expand
  60. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    This is a very great game. I simply adored character progression and the fantastic combat. However, graphics can make or break your game, and when I'm exploring, I don't like seeing the ground literally load or just stay deformed. Also, the story isn't that good. It was interesting, but I couldn't even tell you a character name because of how uninteresting they are. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Expand
  61. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    KoA is an amazing new IP and I welcome it to the RPG genre.

    The combat is hands down some of the best you can have in a RPG, its fluid and feels like your doing damage.
    The art style works well and reminds me of Fable or borderlands.
    Don't listen to the reviewers that claim this isn't an open world, because if you get past the tutorial dungeon, it is as open as the fable or mass effect
    series.
    The loot system is superb with the WoW styled White
    Expand
  62. Feb 18, 2012
    7
    Decent start to a new RPG game series. Lacking in the story department and ending is lackluster but the combat was fun throughout. Worth the play through but do your self a favor and get it used in a few months.
  63. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game, and an early contender for RPG of the year (which says a lot with the likes of ME3 and such around). The story is amazing; you can tell the amazing amount of depth and care has been put into the games lore. The combat is one of the best any RPG has put to date, very fluid and rewarding skill and reaction time, but not being a button masher. Voice acting is top notch, bringing to life a variety of interesting characters you'll meet over a 200 hour journey. This is the game Fable wished it could be. Skyrim wished its combat could be as great as this. This has a story Dark Souls can't even touch. An excellent RPG by a new studio, and a worthy first entry to a new IP. Expand
  64. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Kingdom's of Amalur is a great game for beginners to the RPG genre. The world looks beautiful, it has an easy to use combat system, multiple crafts, and most of all the destinies. The weapons and armor so far looks great. The re-playability of this game will be high since the level cap is at 40. The dungeons aren't unique to each-other, but they do have differences compared to the other. I have enjoyed playing this game so far, but then as all games this one does have its negatives. The interactive wheel is the basic Bioware wheel from SWOTOR. Although the voice acting is nice to have instead of the silent treatment, its barely above skyrim in repetitiveness. The invisible walls are quite annoying when you cant jump down from a ledge except for the designated areas. Also, the whole point of being open world is going anywhere you want. Even though you can go alot of places in the game, it feels linear at certain times. All in all, the game is definitely worth a buy even to the seasoned and beginner RPG fans. With a good story, loot system, and many mobs to kill, there is a lot to do to keep you occupied or keep you going until Mass Effect 3. Expand
  65. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    This game is downright amazing. People that think this game is a 'rip off' of other games of a similar genre are absolute **** The art style that has been chosen for this game was really made big by (IMO) Fable (Oh and WoW), but many games are adapting this art style (DOTA 2, Diablo 3) because of how well it fits the RPG game play, it's an immersive art style that instills a sense of wonder and awe. The story in this game is made a little dull at times in how the voice acting is delivered in game, don't get me wrong, the voice acting is great, but the sync between the lips and the sounds is sometimes really... bad. Oh and people complaining about the lack of diversity in voice actors, you hire a hundred people to voice every singe character, Skyrim had about 3 voice actors, but I didn't see anyone complain? Just saying... Potentially the best part of this game is it's amazing combat system, If there are people complaining about a lack of innovation in this game, stfu. The combat in this game is probably the funnest and most diverse I have potentially ever played in an RPG, it's slightly God of War-esque but at the same time brings a whole lot more to the table, the incorporation of all 3 skill tree in one fight really keeps things fresh as there are hundreds of combinations for you to dispatch your enemies with. Finally there's the immense content, I haven't felt this over whelmed with things to do since Skyrim, and It feels really good. The colorful art style really encourages you to explore, and the fun looting in KoA really makes exploration fun. Overall this is a highly rewarding game that stays fresh, although not without it's faults, Is still an absolutely brilliant start to what will hopefully be a successful franchise! 9/10 Expand
  66. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    It's actually what I expected first time out the with an rpg from three powerhouses. two of which aren't game designers. I have been playing rpgs since they were pen, paper and dice. I am also a Skyrim fan. You shouldn't rate this game against Skyrim. they've been at this much longer. I love the color and vibrate. has fairytale fantasy look. combat kicks ass. are there things they could improve yes but can't we all use a little improvement. I really hope they make more single player KoA's, I don't do mmo's I live out in country no good internet.also if the put it on pc and make it mod capable it would give any rpg a run for its money. now I have two great fantasy rpgs to play. Thank u. Expand
  67. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    I really wanted to get into this game, unfortunately, its just not happening. It is obvious that this game started its development as an MMO and thats not a good thing. The world is completely forgettable. The NPCs keep telling my character how important he is but I never get the feeling that I've done anything at all. Its really too bad because this game has so much potential. Its so close to epic and exhilarating. The game is still fun and I would recommend it to anyone interested in a Western RPG with solid gameplay. Expand
  68. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur is an interesting game for sure. After the great Skyrim it is not easy to launch a role playing game and expect it to meet the now growing expectations of gamers. But all in all, Reckoning stand out on his own as a great game. It is not perfect, but the total package is well worth a buy. The gameplay is excellent, and should hold on for many hours of adventuring in the world of Amalur. Don't miss this quiet jewel. Expand
  69. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Great game! Love it! Goes way beyond my expectations. Combat is amazing! 20 hours into it and still going strong! KOAR has me hooked.Story is very good and holds one's interest. I can't imagine ever getting bored with it. Glad I bought the game!
  70. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    I had only been following this game for about, ~6 months before release, and it turned out to be everything i expected and more.

    The fluidity of combat, the varied environments, and all the rpg you can ask for! The world is big and open, not as open as a TES game, but it's openness is reminiscent of FF12.

    The combat it engaging, and deeply expansive. Different enemy types require
    different tactics. Trying to fight a mage like you would a boggart will only lead to failure. Enemies gain new tactics as you enter higher level zones, so it never feels like they are just becoming damage sponges. The combos are easy enough that anyone can pull them off, but are rewarding for those who want to explore them more and use them in the correct situations. Iv'e been playing for 40+ hours now and the combat has never grown stale, the only problem i have with it is that i kill so many enemies their's never enough! The environments are different, even moving from one forest zone to another. One forrest is your classic fantasy forrest, another is covered in the webs of it's arachnid denizens, and yet another is more akin to a swamp. So it never feels repetitive or stale.

    The rpgs systems and the loot is where this game sets itself apart from action rpgs and action games. The loot is completely randomized like in games such as borderlands and diablo. You may find yourself decking out in awesome new gear quite commonly. The game feature 3 unique ability trees and 9 non combat skills to customize your very own character. You get 3 ability points and 1 skill point every level. So this game is not an action-rpg, it is a full blown rpg. Never once did i feel like they skimped out on the rpg part of the game to add in more action.(though the combat is fast paced and incredibly fun)

    The story is pulling and interesting. There was one point when i thought i had to choose between to main characters and i was obsessing about it for a good ten minutes before i realized that wasn't the case. And every quest has some kind of back story that makes sense. No quests for the sake of quests here, though there is a LOT of fetch quest that require you to go to different parts of the map, but most involve some kind of unique twist at the end that they are all worth the effort.

    A game like this does not come without it's problems though. There are a few minor bugs, and in my 40+ hour playtime it crashed on me once. The auto saves are often enough that you will not lose anymore than ten minutes though and the game does not need to pause to auto save.

    If you are a fan of bethesdas rpgs, or have just found modern rpgs lacking, or rpgs in general, i would recommend this game to you.
    Expand
  71. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing quest structure and lore. Engaging and addictive combat. The world is beautifully designed. Controller integration is flawless and helps the game feel fast paced. I'm about 50 hours in right now and absolutely loving the game. Some of the skills are unbalanced and need tweaking, but this is a phenomenal first effort from 38 Studios/Big Huge Games in the Amalur world.
  72. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    I've just picked up Reckoning and I can say this is great game. The art style while not to everyones taste I'm sure, is vibrant and lively and busting with little details that can easily be over looked if don't take the time to slow down and appricate them

    The class and skill system is very well handled allowing the building of flexible, usuable toon and no choice feels like a wasted
    skill point or an invalid build.

    The combat is fast moving and fluid and is helped very much by the superb animations on show here. Some of the best combat in an RPG i think I've ever seen. While the game looks and plays very much like a run of the mill action game but don't be fooled not far beneath the surface is a deep well structured RPG with usual bits and pieces involved including a deep crafting system.

    There was some talk pre launch about how open this game would be and the fact that the zones are bubbles linked but tubes. Let me just say the zones are huge each is easily as big as a hold in skyrim its just that they are linked by specific routes.

    What loses this game a point for me is slightly generic nature of the story I expected a bit more based on the billing of a 'top rated fantasy author' Still wondering if you should get this? Ask yourself:
    Do I like open games that you can explore?
    Do I Like fantasy settings?
    Do I Like 3rd person combat games?
    Do I Like RPG's?

    If the answer is yes to two or more of these then do yourself a favour an check out this game.
    Expand
  73. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Not much too say. Ignore the trolls. I will freely admit I am a fan boy. I gave it a 9. It could use an extra difficulty level and first 15 levels can be made in about equal amount of hours, but no way is this game a pushover. Lots...LOTS of great random generated as well as hand tooled loot. Player housing is a source of income. HUGE world. Narrative is so in depth, take you time and enjoy the stories that are off the beaten path. There are some degree of fetch quests, but the reward, where they lack in lucrative pay out give a nice emotional twist. Expand
  74. May 24, 2012
    5
    Big colourful world which turns out to be very dull.. A few good moments.. some good combat for a while then becoming monotonous. The characters and story are just not worth investing in. You will have to have the patients of a saint once those cutscenes start to roll for the voice acting and characters are atrocious.. This is a game i can imagine a 10 year old liking.. maybe...
  75. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome! I'm having so much fun! IMO, it's what Fable should have been. The action is very fluid. Having a great time crafting equipment!
  76. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    I play RPG's. A lot. I played Fallout 1 & 2 way too much back in the day. I played the hell out of Fallout 3. Ive played Daggerfall, Morrowind and Oblivion so much I can quote much of the dialogue. I played Skyrim non stop for the last 2 months. Ive played Dragon Age: Origins and loved it. Kingdoms of Amalur is my new favorite RPG. It has charm and most imporatntly for me it's accessible. Gone are the worries of wasting countless hours only to restart because I made a bad choice in a level up. Any play style, hybrid, or jack of all character you can come up with is a viable option. This game is accessible. It's not too deep or too shallow. If you have 18 hours a day to sink into a game then KOA probably isnt for you. You'll be looking for something with more depth. But, if you're game time is limited this is the RPG you want to play. It's good. I was surprised. I watched the trailers, read the previews and guffawed. Then I tried it. I now feel like smacking myself for being so closed minded.

    At the very least give this game a chance. Don't play the demo. Rent it or borrow it. The demo does this game no justice.

    Pros:

    + A leisurely game
    + Beautiful game world full of interesting places and characters.
    + Tons of stuff to do. + Excellent pace.
    + Easy learning curve for RPG newbs.
    + As deep as you want it to be.
    + Interesting lore.

    Cons:

    - Graphics with deter some gamers.
    - Occasional Pop-In.
    - Framerate issues in larger battles.
    - Story falls a little flat.
    .- Dont expect this game to re-invent the genre.
    Expand
  77. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    I think that Reckoning has a great story and character development that can't be matched. The graphics are very detailed and the levels are huge. I feel like the difficulty is a little unforegiving, but I hope this changes as I get further in the game. This is simply a huge adventure that shouldn't be missed. I give it an 8 for some control issues at some times and the graphics are not the best that I have seen, but still make a beautiful world. Expand
  78. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    Kingdom of Amalur is a great RPG. Huge beautifully crafted world with loads to explore and do. Combat is epic for this genre. Having so much fun doing side quests that I'm actually not that far into the main story after 60 hours in. Game runs great and have had zero issues. Only real negative is a finicky camera at times, but not something that holds the game back from greatness. In terms of fun factor and being immersed in the game I rate this title close to Mass Effect 2 and as with that game I can see multiple play throughs of Amalur with different character configs being just as enjoyable. Expand
  79. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    KoA reckoning is not a 10 or even a 9 in my booksâ
  80. Feb 26, 2012
    2
    Repetitive, boring, no epicness at all, no roleplay at all, main character is boring. The world look like a fairy tale, some locatins look amazing, but still after 20 hours of playing i found no "wow" effect. This is not the way games should be made.
  81. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    There were to many samey side quests. Go here, kill x amount of y and bring back 12 of their such and such. There was never a point where I felt like I needed to continue playing because neither the story nor the gameplay were engrossing enough to continue. The combat is just hammer X to win, the ranged combat is just terrible (I don't know why they thought autolock and replenishing arrows was a good thing.), and I never got into the magic part of it. All in all it was a disappointing game and I really did want to like it but it was just so damn mediocre and bland. Expand
  82. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    While it's not perfect, this game was realy fun to play. The combat system is great. The story and character interaction are avarage, but overall this game is worth it for the fun factor alone. I enjoyed it.
  83. May 28, 2012
    8
    KoA felt like it should be classified as more of an action RPG. The combat is super deep and well polished, and the main story is great, but the side quests, something that most RPGs put a lot of time into today, all felt the same, and they don't suck you into the story like the main one does. The graphics are hit or miss, the environments looked gorgeous, but the NPC faces all looked like plastic. I really enjoyed KoA, and with hours and hours of gameplay, you should too. Expand
  84. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    One of the best games around, Reckoning delivers a good story but its real strength is the fluent game-play. The hybrid skill trees allow you to combine the classic mage/warrior/rogue combat styles with one another to your liking. Although the mage seems somewhat too strong, the classes are well executed and each allows a different game-play. This is one of the strengths of Reckoning: the experience is flawlessly fluent whatever you want to do as the controls remain simple yet effective (e.g. dodging is easy when well timed). While the main game is vast but not overly complex as the Elder Scrolls series sometimes seems to be, allowing for lots of hours for a single play-through, the real strength lies with the DLCs. They add a new layer of humour to the game which is simply amazing and makes Reckoning the best of its kind for me, even considering Skyrim, Darksiders and the other high-rated titles it draws from. This is the only game where I have bothered to unlock all achievements as it is just that great to explore the whole world available. A must have if you like the genre. Expand
  85. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    First let me say that I've put 78 hours into playing this game,actually beating it in that time.I have to say that it is a great game and deserving of an 8 but that is it.It in no way even comes close to Skyrim in any way shape or form.Fable 2 and 3 are better and oblivion is by far better so I just wanted to get that out of the way.This game is a awesome game,don't get me wrong but it does not belong up there with those titles I mentioned.It more belongs to how Baldur's gate was on the ps2 cause that's exactly where it should be regarded as.It's got it's wow moments but so does a lot of games trying to achieve something they just can't.By all regards it's a great title but it's a bunch of hours you spend that could of been spent better if the company would of thought this game through more,but that's what first outtings are about.There next game will be better,no doubt,but for what this game is,I will say great,awesome but not Oh my God like Skyrim! Expand
  86. rhe
    Mar 23, 2012
    8
    When I wanted to write this review I had to think about it for a long while. This is mainly because I had to consider a lot about the game and now when fully thinking about it the combat is extremely fun and frantic but apart from that this game feels like an extremely safe, by-the-book RPG that has very little else to entice gamer's which it's other RPG contemporaries do at greater level's. The voice acting runs the gambit from passable to pretty bad and none of the characters stood out enough to be memorable. While there is a good amount of regular loot drops to let out the loot hoarder in you if you go to a merchant they will almost always have better weapons than your own loot weapons which takes the fun out of it because it removes the sense of achievement you get from getting the rare piece of loot since the store will have something which makes it inferior. However, the high fantasy setting is very well built and the lore stones were very helpful as they provided useful insight into the world of Amalur. In addition to this, the graphics are beautiful and the art style works very well in creating this beautiful world. Yet even when all of this is taken into account I simply can't get over the fact that while the game was very good while I was playing it I got bored after i finished the main story because it just felt that there wasn't enough of a push to get me to go through all those side quest's and the rewards for the side quests don't do enough to keep me interested. Overall I would give this game an 8 because irrespective of these faults i still thoroughly did enjoy my time with this game and am quite a strong fan of RPG's which will probably color my impressions of the game. Expand
  87. Apr 21, 2012
    4
    Maybe I did not give it enough time, but I simply couldn't get into the game - I didn't get what I was supposed to do, the dialogues annoyed me and I felt like I ran around aimlessly, killing and looting. Graphics are ok - I think the lack of facial animation and the camera have more to do with why I didn't enjoy that aspect as much as the cartoony shading.
  88. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Despite of its dull characters, the slow beginning of the storyline, the game provides us many hours of entertaining of its interesting gameplay, good graphics, and a huge world. Although its creatures, area, and side quests are little generic, but it's worth to spend hours for this game.
  89. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    (My First Videogame Review, it somewhat lacks formatting)

    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning in one sentence: A pick-up-and-go, hack-and-slash LITE version of Skyrim that looks alot like World of Warcraft. The hard-core RPG aficionado will most certainly be annoyed by the limited geography (you can't jump, and areas are laid out most often like a series of paths or alleys), the relatively
    simplistic skills and abilities tree (you get Strength, Sorcery and Speed essentially for the skill trees, and the Abilities generally are only relevant in particular settings; like the Stealth Ability for example), and the somewhat necessity of re-specc'ing multiple times in order to flush out the whole game in one go, AND the ability that the whole game (pretty much) can even be flushed out in one play-through might ruffle some feathers. Finally, despite promoting the game somewhat on the basis of R.A. Salvatore's involvement in the story/world creation (his name is on the front cover, after all) the story of the game is vague and doesn't draw the player in that much, and the main quest-line only provides maybe 1/8 of the possible play-time (which seems to run for most ~70hrs).

    But I think the overwhelming majority of gamers will love this game. One's powers increase exponentially for the middle third of the game, and this is where I (and my friends who have picked it up so far) have all gotten hooked. The first 1/10 of the game is your basic start-up, and goes by relatively quickly since the mechanics are pretty easy to master and the initial areas aren't confusing. Then comes the initial striking out period, which, once the user figures out the relationship between the world map and the game landscape, should have the player picking up and finishing quests and gaining experience at a solid rate.

    The middle section of the game, as previously stated above, is where the meat of the gameplay is. As you feel out the various factions and are able to create equipment that is not only usable but also compliments your skills/abilities, and you accumulate Twists Of Fate (stat/ability bonuses that stack on your character throughout the game), your character will quickly be able to slaughter any but the hardest of enemies on any but the hardest of difficulties (somewhat similarly to Fable, if to a lesser degree).

    The last section of the game sort of becomes as challenging as you want it to be. By this point, at any difficulty, the economic resources available to your character make it such that entering into the entire last quarter of the game you can pretty much factor out the challenging aspects. However, due to the smooth combat style and attractive landscapes, it generally stays interesting to the very last hack and slash.

    The lack of mounts or vehicles is mitigated by a plethora of fast-travel locations, and the quick load-times (especially with installation) between fast-travel locations greatly reduces the fatigue experienced by any RPG gamer who is forced to watch entirely too many loading screens during the process of completing one particularly long string of quests.

    I would recommend to anyone with even a passing fancy for RPGs, and caution only those with no taste for the genre at all, or hard-core purists.
    Expand
  90. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    LOL @ Skyrim fanboys giving this game low scores! This game is better than Skyrim.. Why?? Because its more "FUN" i know the cartoon-ish style puts some people off the game! But believe me.. This game is sooo much better than skyrim! And guess wha its doesnt have game-breaking bug/glitches like skyrim
  91. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I dont care what people say.. This game is BETTER than Skyrim, i dont care if skyrim looks more "realistic" but KOA:Reckoning is millions times better and more fun the ln skyrim! I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer outhere
  92. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Fun combat mechanics. Combat can become as complex or simple as you want them to be. The feels a lot like World of Warcraft without other people. That isn't necessarily a bad thing but it does mean that this expansive world lacks a strong narrative and quests. Along that line quests lamentably are forgettable a lot of the time which is unfortunate give the writing talent behind the game. However the overall experience is a lot of fun and very addictive. While it does have it's flaws Kingdoms is a very good rpg buy Expand
  93. Mar 10, 2012
    5
    After playing the demo for this game I was very excited to play this game and chose it over The Darkness 2 to buy even though I had played and LOVED The Darkness 1. At first I thought I had made the right choice but as I continued to play the game I discovered that I wasn't really having any fun. I completed the game, doing all the side quests and faction quests and almost all of the achievements but it never really became fun. I don't know what was missing, just something very flat about the experience. The combat I will agree was excellent but there was nothing unique about the game. It seemed to be bits and pieces of many better games. In the end I just couldn't imagine paying more for dlc and so traded it in. Sadly , for a game I was so excited to play I felt very let down. I wanted to love it but just couldn't and can't even really say I like it. Expand
  94. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    i have put a good 20 hrs into this and i am loving it and its not got boring.
    the graphics are very nice and colorful much like Fable in the look
    its a nice change from Skyrim although i would not say it is better i do enjoy it very much though and its very good and you should support this new IP and developer because it is a great effort with many good ideas that are very well executed
    and hardly any probs or glitches except minor issues which can be found in any big open world RPG Expand
  95. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    I was still mourning having finished Skyrim when I bought this game. My initial impressions of the cartoon graphics were not good, but they grew on me. I still don't think much of the character progression. But the story lines are brilliant. Far more adult than witcher 2 (but then witcher 2 confused 'swearing' with 'adult'). No spoilers from me, but the Fae story lines in particular, were really excellent. A brilliant 'open world' RPG game which I've already played through twice. Definitely up there with Skyrim. Expand
  96. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is a review by someone who has thouroughly played the game and knows what they are talking about and what makes a fantasy rpg good. kingdoms of Amalur Reckoning is the one of the most under rated and under appreciated games to come out in a while. I think this may be because every one including critics are so loyal to skyrim that they are biased and blind when they play this game. This game is different than skyrim in several big ways and delivers a whole different experience. The world is vibrant, colorful and enchanting. The combat is fast, visceral and fun and it is always getting better as you play because of the excellent skill trees. The story is creative, deep, and interesting. It is also longer then stories in similar games. Ths side quests are also fun and intersting. Most imporntantly the loot system is expansive and satisfying. I will get back to the loot system. One thing that should be noted is that this game does not play like an open world rpg and should not be treated as such. This game plays best when you move through the game at an even pace doing many side, story, and faction quest along the way. You wont be running all around the world like in skyrim. It plays best when you do one part of the map at a time. The main reasion for this is the slightly flawed region leveling system. If you go to a new area when you are too low level, that area will permenantly be set at the lowest possible level in its range. Ex: your level 9 and you go into an area with a 10 - 15 range that area will be at 10 for the rest of the game. So if you leave and come back higher than 10, that area will be easy and have weak loot. If played correctly this game will constanly give you challenging combat and consistanly better loot througout the game. Also the deep exstensive dialogue should not be a mark against amalur because it is there for the people that appreciate a deep interesting world. The dialogue can be easily skipped with the push of a button. Another thing I should highlight is the inovative and satisfying leveling system. In this game skills like lock pick and persuasion are seperate from combat skills so you don't have to sacrifice one for the other unlike one over rated rpg in particular(skyrim). Each skill tree gives you many fun and useful abilities that actually change the combat depending on you chartacter type be it warior, mage, rogue, or even a hybrid of these. Whats more is the character animations and voice acting are not bad for a game in this genre. There are many interesting and unique characters that are voiced quite well. Last of all, the map is large and fun to explore with several regions that look and feel very differant from each other giving the game good variety and length of around 100-120 hours depending on how much you do. The things that most critics have marked against this game have been exaggerated and harsh. If you took the standards most of the big critics held this game to and put skyrim to those standars, it would've gotten a 6 or 7 from all of them. Bad voice acting and character animtions. boring side quests and story. horrble and unrewarding loot system. horrible combat. boring skill trees that make you sacrifice combat for lockpick and similar skiils. Can't make good hybrids. unimpressive town. no real incentive for exploration. hundreds of boring, ugly, repetitive dungeons filled with nothing but drauger and bandits only to ge usless loot that waighs too much. These are the things critics let skyrim slip by with just because it has a big pretty open world and dragons. Tell me that isn't bias. amalur beats skyrim on all these elements which are the most important elements in an rpg. Story, exploration, loot, combat, leveling. Give it a chance. ( please keep in mind that I have played both these games exstensively and im not trolling. Im just fed up with the complete bias towards skyrim that is hurting the scores this game recieves.) Expand
  97. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    I'm not usually a gamer, but this game has me hooked. I've never understood my husband staying up all night to play a game until now. I don't know a lot about all the technical stuff so can't tell you how it rates from that standpoint, but from pure user enjoyment, it's definitely a 10.
  98. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    I've finished this game in one week and still remaining quests unfinished. I think this game it's a combination between Elder Scrolls, Diablo, Gothic etc. About the gameplay is one of the few very good gameplays in the last many years on rpg's games.
  99. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I am very happy with KOA. It has visuals like world of warcraft, combat like god of war,and crafting like elder scrolls. A lot of reviews say they feel the world doesn't center around your character. Which is true but it is more about perspective. I feel the world and its npcs function without me. But I can have an effect on eerything I do. I can't think of anything I don't like. Mcfarlene did a great job with design in my opinion your charecter looks very badass in heavy armor, a lethal assassin in leather, and a wise mage in cloth. This game is worth giving a chance (which many people haven't) take my word for it you won't be disappointed. Expand
  100. Feb 23, 2012
    6
    Kingdoms of Amalure: Reckoning is the result of trying to include as much as you can in a game without really focusing on anything in particular. Built as a pre-cursor to a planned MMO, It feels as though a group of people sat around a table and made an honest attempt to build a game that contained â
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    67
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is not all bad, it's just very bland. For a game that was in development for roughly seven years, the different gameplay systems don't seem all that well-thought-out. And perhaps the lengthy development also explains why Amalur brings absolutely nothing fresh to the table. It simply lacks its own identity.
  2. 86
    In terms of laying the groundwork for future iterations, Reckoning does an incredible job of establishing the lore as well as the world of Amalur itself. On the other hand, it fails to dish up a compelling single-player narrative, as the main plotline lacks substance and culminates in an almost cliché boss encounter by today's standards.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a hoot to play. It feels like Fable done right, like a third person Skyrim edited to a workable size.