Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    In terms of addressing and incorporating the new standards established by Kinect, Kung Fu High Impact has done well. It's fun played alone or with a group, and is even a great workout.
  2. Nov 24, 2011
    80
    Simple and exhilarating, Kung Fu High Impact is going to be the king for some Kung-Funny nights.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    73
    Using Kinect to play a 2D beat 'em up is a great idea, but the novelty fades off after a couple of hours. Not that it takes much longer to finish the story mode, which is not quite enough for a retail game that costs 40 euros. [Dec 2011]
  4. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    Kung Fu High Impact is a great Kinect title, provided you aren't expecting a deep brawler experience. It's accessible, since you don't have to mimic specific gestures to succeed, and the tracking implementation is in the top tier of Kinect games. Kids can play it easily by flailing around and mine loved being able to beat up the bad guys with minimal frustration. I had a lot of fun with the game's cheeseball story, and kept finding myself drawn back to it to progress in the story and challenge myself with more difficult custom fights. If you have a Kinect, this is worth checking out.
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    70
    If only Kung-Fu High Impact offered a more balanced and complex challenge, and a more relevant longevity, we'd be probably talking about one of the more interesting and funny action games ever released for Kinect.
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    Kung Fu Impact, despite some engine problems, is really funny. The experience, thanks to a lot of funny moves and a comic-like storytelling, can truly involve the player.
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    65
    Kung-Fu High Impact is a fun title that feels overpriced. The basic concept is solid, and the game's execution is good. The freedom complements the goofy nature of the game rather well, and the controls perform much better than most Kinect attempts. However, the short length of the game and the lack of any X360-specific features make one wonder why this was released at retail with such a high price point. Should the price drop, this is easy to recommend for times when you want to play with the Kinect but don't feel like playing the typical dance and exercise games.
  8. Jan 12, 2012
    63
    Kung Fu High Impact is an over the top humorous side scrolling brawler, one of the most entertaining titles to come to the Xbox 360 Kinect.
  9. Dec 14, 2011
    60
    If you're not averse to the idea of making a fool out of yourself, it's hard to not get at least a couple of laughs out of Kung-Fu High Impact.
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Kung Fu: High Impact is far too expensive for its own good. It's fun alright, and will probably make you feel like the Star Wars kid did, and the short amount of hours that it delivers are clearly entertaining. Well worth it if you find it in a bargain bin.
  11. Nov 27, 2011
    60
    Kung-Fu High Impact does well on what it promises: immersing the player - both phisically and visually - in a fighting game creating a funny and fresh gaming experience. But once the novelty effect wears off, what's left is a short, repetitive and artistically amateurish game, more suited as a title to show when you've got people at home rather than a real fully-fledged game. It would have been perfect as a Live Arcade game, rather than an overly priced retail Kinect game.
  12. 60
    Value is also a question, as the game's campaign spans less than two hours; and even with survival stages and a quirky bonus where you can fight up to four friends who plug in controllers, this hardly feels like a $40 game. But if you're willing to shell out for it and deal with the control flubs and brevity, Kung Fu High Impact serves up some good, dumb fun.
  13. Feb 28, 2012
    50
    A workout that doesn't work out. The flavor is that of a party game, but within multiplayer it grants no Kinect functionality for other players.
  14. Dec 9, 2011
    50
    The premise is original and attractive, but the result is not that great, mainly due to a poor use of Kinect and the fact that this should have been published as a downloadable game with a lower price point.
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    50
    Even if Kung-Fu High Impact were an Xbox Live Arcade title we would find it mediocre, because of some problems in gameplay that make the game frustrating. As a downloadable game it would be a curious one, but as a retail game it is not recommendable.
  16. Dec 15, 2011
    30
    Clever comic-book trappings aren't enough to save Kung-Fu High Impact from frustrating motion controls and boring action.
  17. Feb 6, 2012
    25
    The comic book sequences and multiplayer have a few fleeting moments of entertainment, but not nearly enough to justify the $50 cost. Go rent a Bruce Lee flick instead and try to pretend you're him, you'll make a stronger Impact than you ever will here.
  18. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    This game should be, at most, a ten dollar download. It would feel even more appropriate at around the fifty cent mark, peddled by a trench-coated hobo in front of a sketchy movie theatre. At forty bucks, it's difficult to imagine any human being, living or dead, getting an appropriate amount of value out of it.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    I played this game for several levels on a festival in Germany. It was surprisingly great fun and very unique. Its like Street Fighter or Mortal Combat (a bit of comics style retro look, which I think fits the mood well) but instead of an avatar the game scans your image inside and you fight inside the levels with real kicks and punches. You can even move quite a bit by punching with two hands and by making somersaults (a mix of jumping and throwing your hands up). It felt more reactive than anything I have tried on Kinect before. I felt no delay. And landing that kick on the face of your enemy is very satisfying . There were also special powers like shooting electricity from your hands with a certain pose in the Star Wars style. And loved the story telling that takes pictures of you and inserts them inside a comic strip. The guy demonstrating the game showed how any item you take (he had wooden axes) scans right into the game with you and you can use them in game to beat down the enemies. Very cool and very different than anything currently out there. I'll definitely be getting this. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I just recently purchased this game and I haven't played it a bunch, but I cannot deny that it is insanely fun! I think the $40 price point is right on too!! Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2013
    9
    This is a great and unique Kinect game. The idea is simple. It looks rough at first, but the gameplay is polished. There are no glitches because you have complete freedom to fight in any way.

    You get a workout no matter what you try. I take turns playing with my 6-year old son so that we can rest in between levels. The comic-strips with photos of the player superimposed can turn out to be hilarious.

    The game has a lot of replay value. I played the demo for hours, and was constantly trying to buy it. Finally it is available via games on demand for $15. Ignore the inaccurate ratings this game received and go check some videos or try the demo.
    Full Review »