Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Whatever you call it, L.A. Noire is a monumental achievement that every console-owning adventure fan needs to experience.
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    95
    Though it may be thin on the extracurricular activities, Cole Phelps' journey from flatfoot to crime-buster is the interactive equivalent of a good whodunit book. Once it begins, you won't be able to put it down.
  3. Jun 5, 2011
    90
    All in all, an absolute treat for the eyes and the ears... that is if you can stomach the content. Anyone interested in L.A. Noire must understand that this is a game for an adult audience. The grisly crime scenes can be very off-putting to some, and considering the subject matter of the game is to solve serial killings and clean up a town notorious for being the Sodom & Gomorrah of the era, players should know what they are getting into beforehand. The dialogue is also quite strong and this title may actually be the first video game title to use a specific acronym for "see you next Tuesday" so liberally (or at all).
  4. Jun 2, 2011
    96
    Not for the faint-hearted, L.A. Noire rarely pulls punches when discussing (or indeed showing) the victims of some truly horrific crimes, from paedophilia and rape to arson and cold-blooded murder – but it's well presented in a tasteful and mature manner, meaning it's less about baiting the Daily Mail and more about creating a unique, captivating experience. By turns disturbing, idling and utterly compelling, L.A. Noire is a triumph for Team Bondi and Rockstar that will no doubt earn the latter yet another nomination for Game of the Year. All things considered, they deserve it too.
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    A few ill-judged action sequences, occasional leaps of logic during the interrogations and some gunplay that just about scrapes through on the positive side of functional prevent this from being a stone cold classic in the same way Grand Theft Auto or Red Dead Redemption are. But if they're A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, this is surely Rockstar's Return of the Jedi – not the best of the bunch, but still loads better than most of the other stuff out there. Highly recommended.
  6. May 31, 2011
    100
    L.A. Noire is on my personal Game of the Year list. The game appeals to me on so many levels and delivers on the same that overlooking the occasional graphical glitch and annoyance with some of the chases is easy. I'm really looking forward to what Team Bondi comes up with next to fill-out this already fantastic world.
  7. May 31, 2011
    95
    Overall, L.A. Noire is an absolutely amazing title. The development team over at Team Bondi and Rockstar have hit a homerun here and have set the bar for any future titles in this genre.
  8. 94
    There will no doubt be some gamers taken aback by the amount of listening required and lack of control in L.A. Noire. It's a certainty that a large amount of the public could be expecting a GTA clone set in the 40's, and they may be disappointed by the result. Enter L.A. Noire with an open mind and readiness to experience something you've never experienced in gaming before and there's something special waiting for you.
  9. May 30, 2011
    88
    L.A. Noire feels and plays like an attempt at doing what Uncharted did in regards to Indiana Jones, in translating its genre of crime drama to video games. Despite its flaws and the one game-freezing glitch I ran into, it's worthwhile to explore the detailed city streets that might as well be a time capsule from the 1940s. Although this ambitious combination open-world adventure with complicated cases fell flat at times, Rockstar has certainly laid down a solid base for games like L.A. Noire to grow from.
  10. May 27, 2011
    90
    Team Bondi did a wonderful job of creating an enjoyable game that takes interactive storytelling to a new level. The production values and graphics are up there with Heavy Rain, but the gameplay is more appealing to longtime gamers.
  11. 90
    The ending lets it down. The most intriguing story arc ends midway through, leaving a grander but less interesting twist to play out in an endgame that ties off the story in a clumsy and unsatisfying fashion. It's an ignoble end to a game that works so hard to keep you involved, but it doesn't stop the journey being a fascinating one, and something that manages to feel like an entirely fresh experience.
  12. May 25, 2011
    90
    Though its gameplay is less successful or interesting than its presentation, LA Noire definitely advances the art of digital storytelling.
  13. May 25, 2011
    90
    Team Bondi and Rockstar have made something completely unique and appealing. Los Angeles is full of bad guys and finding them may not always be that difficult. It is however always fun to do so. Making L.A. Noire a truly inspirational game that will last for hours.
  14. May 25, 2011
    90
    It's engaging, thoughtful, mature and currently one of a kind. Unless you're the type who only looks for quick, dumb action from their video games I'd recommend this to just about anyone.
  15. May 25, 2011
    91
    While the 360 version will not be remembered as a graphic masterpiece, the game should continue to be lauded for what it truly is - An innovative stepping stone into the next generation of strategic gaming.
  16. May 25, 2011
    100
    L.A. Noire is not a game for everyone. For those expecting a GTA style experience then you may be disappointed with the outcome. However if your open to a new experience then this is one game that you shouldn't miss.
  17. May 24, 2011
    90
    LA Noire is the type of game we jump up and down over - full of story and style and oozing playability and charm. Unfortunately the single, awkward mechanic of the interrogations mars what could have been a flawless recreation of a classic genre.
  18. May 24, 2011
    100
    L.A. Noire is an intelligent game with stellar acting, game changing technology and a cast of memorable characters. It's also Rockstar Games' most refined product, making it one of the best games this high profile company has ever published.
  19. May 23, 2011
    100
    If we were being super critical, L.A. Noire can feel a little repetitive – and slightly linear – at times.
  20. May 23, 2011
    98
    Fabulous writing, a distinct and stylized noir setting (including a soundtrack that's just begging to be put on your MP3 player) along with the both balanced and intriguing investigative gameplay makes for a journey that no gamer should miss.
  21. May 23, 2011
    90
    Many people have been expecting L.A. Noire to be Rockstar's answer for Mafia II. They are bound do be disappointed - the games don't have much in common. Team Bondi's game is a detective story, a new generation of adventure games, an original, unusual and extremely absorbing product. I had the best time playing L.A. Noire. I grew to like Cole Phelps and was glad to help him fight evil lurking in dark corners of The City of Angels, especially that each case was interesting and intriguing on its own.
  22. May 23, 2011
    97
    L.A. Noire is still a video game at heart, and an excellent one at that, but it feels like it's more than that. It has almost reinvented a few genres while at the same time providing something entirely new and different.
  23. May 23, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire offers an experience that will not be quickly forgotten with a cast of characters that will be remembered fondly after the credits roll.
  24. May 23, 2011
    100
    If gaming's holy grail is a thousand stories, well told, L.A. Noire might be the first to come within spitting distance.
  25. May 21, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire isn't perfect, and some flaws even in core gameplay mechanics, like the interrogation system, keep it from being e real masterpiece. But thanks to the great advancements made in performance and storytelling, it's a must buy for every lover of story-driven titles.
  26. May 19, 2011
    92
    The presentation is staggering, even managing to make Mafia II look second-rate. It really all comes together in a complete package that no one should missed; and that, folks, is case closed.
  27. May 18, 2011
    90
    It's hard to remember anything so avant-garde as L.A. Noire. Team Bondi puts forth some truly amazing gameplay concepts as to what balance between graphic adventures and action games in the future should be.
  28. May 18, 2011
    92
    If you're thinking about picking up a copy of L.A. Noire (and I recommend that you do), don't judge it as you would other third-person, open-world games. It's not trying to be a new GTA, Red Dead or Saint's Row. It's not about action, it's about investigating. It's not about changing the course of history, it's about experiencing a history. It's not about random encounters, it's about planning, watching and reading encounters. That may not sound like many people's cup of tea at first, but stick with it and you'll reap the rewards.
  29. May 18, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire is a fascinating interactive thriller that will suck you in with its story. With its fresh gameplay, L.A. Noire stands out from many other games that lack this kind of innovation.
  30. May 18, 2011
    90
    The cooperation between developer Team Bondi and publisher Rockstar led to an amazing final product, in which characters and plot twists take centre stage, with MotionScan as the director. Of course it includes action in the form of fire fights and chase sequences, but L.A. Noire should be played for its atmosphere, many intrigues and the fact that you can get wonderfully caught up in that web.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 809 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 262
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    The people who rip the "feel" of this game, obviously don't understand it was not intended to be your stereotypical video game. It wasThe people who rip the "feel" of this game, obviously don't understand it was not intended to be your stereotypical video game. It was designed to be an interactive detective story, much like "Heavy Rain" on the PS3. Both games are very innovative. Rockstar took it a step farther and included more gameplay, even allowing you the ability to wield your weapon and personally drive throughout the city. I would not knock this game until you beat it, as your involvement becomes greater as you progress. Initially, it does get repetitive, but later on, the game changes just as you are about to become bored, and it'll capture your attention again, entirely. Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    A few hours in, I'm falling in love with this game. First, I'd like to say that the facial expressions due to the MotionScan tech is spot on.A few hours in, I'm falling in love with this game. First, I'd like to say that the facial expressions due to the MotionScan tech is spot on. Interviews are interesting and you feel like a true detective when you get someone to admit they're hiding something. Aside from the interviews, the animations during the in-game cutscenes are amazing and honestly unlike anything I've seen. The gameplay is great from the shootouts to the driving. Clue collecting before interrogations feels rewarding and for those who have played a GTA/RDR, the controls will feel right at home. The story is compelling so far along with the back story and other bits of info you find along the way. It really makes me look forward to seeing how everything comes together when I make a dent in the game.

    I can't wait to sink more hours into it, but this will definitely be a game I fall in love with.
    Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    First off. If you are expecting GTA 5 than please spare yourself the pain and don't play it. So far I am 13 hours in and have only shot 36First off. If you are expecting GTA 5 than please spare yourself the pain and don't play it. So far I am 13 hours in and have only shot 36 people.This game is not about shooting up LA it is a game about intense investigation. This is my 2nd favorite game I have EVER played. I was honestly shocked when I saw the scores that this game got. It is the most immersive game I have ever played (except possibly bioshock). The new face technology is flat out amazing. You can really see every movement in the characters faces. If you are looking for a game that requires REAL thought, and doesn't require you to mindlessly kill people this is the only place to look. Amazing game through and through. Also I think the car physics are fine. Everyone needs to keep in mind that these are 1940's cars, not a lamborghini. Full Review »