Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 800 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rockstar Games and Team Bondi are crafting a film noir-style detective thriller for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Whatever you call it, L.A. Noire is a monumental achievement that every console-owning adventure fan needs to experience.
  2. May 16, 2011
    100
    It's a bold, cinematic step forward in a genre that's dying for innovation, and its implementation of the MotionScan technology is truly a game-changer.
  3. May 16, 2011
    95
    It is not perfect, and each player will find his own vices and virtues, but we don't remember many projects with such ambition that comes so close to perfection.
  4. May 16, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire's absorbing investigations and intoxicating sense of style make it an unforgettable journey through the seamy side of the City of Angels.
  5. May 18, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire is a fascinating interactive thriller that will suck you in with its story. With its fresh gameplay, L.A. Noire stands out from many other games that lack this kind of innovation.
  6. May 31, 2011
    85
    In spite of its flaws, L.A. Noire is still easy to recommend based on its incredible presentation and new take on the old adventure genre. The blemishes likely won't be enough to dissuade many from trying the experience. Rockstar also gets points for making a game where "mature" means more than a rating on the box, as it delivers a deeper experience than we may have come to expect from most games. L.A. Noire isn't the company's best offering, but it's still definitely worthy of your time.
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    65
    In closing, L.A. Noire's ambitions far outstrip its abilities, and it's a frustrating failure most of the running time. That being said, the shooting is exceptional, the occasional fistfighting is functional, and the foot chases are endearingly dynamic.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 258
  1. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I love Rockstar games, I loved Gta IV, I loved RDR. but L.A. Noire is just an ok game, its brilliant what Rockstar tried to do but the first part of the game I was bored the homicide disc was brilliant then th rest of the game was ok. I don't understand why they didn't have stranger missions, that was one of the best parts of RDR. This was a good attempt at what could have been a brilliant game. Expand
  2. TEM
    May 25, 2014
    10
    My favorite video game of all time. The graphics are unrivaled even 4 years later. The city of L.A is bigger and better than ever. The story is top notch and the biggest reason why I love this game. All the characters are compelling and interesting. How the story unravels is an amazing experience each and every time I play.

    Sure, the game play outside of investigating and interrogation can get dull but it doesn't take away the greatness of it all.

    Interrogations are challenging even after multiple plays and can always take a new turn.

    Getting a 5 star score after a case is more rewarding to me than anything else ive ever experienced in a video game.

    This game is almost played out like a movie which suits me well.

    Speaking of movies, if you like this game watch the movie, LA Confidential.
    Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    The people who rip the "feel" of this game, obviously don't understand it was not intended to be your stereotypical video game. It was designed to be an interactive detective story, much like "Heavy Rain" on the PS3. Both games are very innovative. Rockstar took it a step farther and included more gameplay, even allowing you the ability to wield your weapon and personally drive throughout the city. I would not knock this game until you beat it, as your involvement becomes greater as you progress. Initially, it does get repetitive, but later on, the game changes just as you are about to become bored, and it'll capture your attention again, entirely. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    Creative and innovate. A new take on adventure, puzzle solving, and game play. Definitely a fresh idea from Rockstar. They so easily could've made a 1940's/1950's GTA clone, but it is so much more then that. The combat is similar to Red Dead Redemption and the whole concept is fresh. Also, the new technology for rendering actors and delivering convincing facial expression. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Rockstar proves that they could make a very awesome yet addictive games beside GTA. and it paid by this game.. L.A Noire. since the first time i heard and watched the trailer of this game, i'm instantly became a fan. not just that i like a challenging and "thinking" game, but i also want to see the awesome graphic (especially the facial expression of the people) in this game and Rockstar made an amazing job on this one. the checking of crime scene and the investigating method looks very realistic that makes u wanna become a detective after playing this game. the environment looks so amazingly great (it is represent what 1950's look like in the real life) the voice acting was so awesome and i think if Hollywood considered to make a great detective movie or another video game movie, L.A Noire could be a good one. unfortunately, this game also has a negative point such as: repetitive mission and repetitive side mission (they just change the case story) but all of that can be forget, because the game also put an interesting storyline of the main character, Cole Phelps and Jack Kelso. so if u all a fan of Rockstar games product (especially GTA) and also a detective game fan, this game is a must have. and, if u just wanna play around and try around, this game is also quite good enough to play. Expand
  6. X11
    Aug 28, 2011
    7
    Decent. Interesting premise. Competently done. Story was quite good at points. Rockstar voice-acting, better than most as usual. Not hoping for another in the series, however. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    I really wish I knew what happened to Rockstar, because GTA3 was as much fun as I've had playing a video game. it's also the last time I nad fun playing a game put out by Rockstar. Their 'games' are technically brilliant. The graphics are outstanding, the sounds are spot on they do a solid job creating environments and mood, but their games don't have the tiniest bit of fun in them. Expand

See all 258 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews

    L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 19, 2011
    The newest original game concept from "Grand Theft Auto" creator Rockstar Games arrived in stores this week after months of hype. How good did it turn out to be? We take a closer look at the critical response to detective thriller "L.A. Noire."