Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 757 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rockstar Games and Team Bondi are crafting a film noir-style detective thriller for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Whatever you call it, L.A. Noire is a monumental achievement that every console-owning adventure fan needs to experience.
  2. May 16, 2011
    100
    It's a bold, cinematic step forward in a genre that's dying for innovation, and its implementation of the MotionScan technology is truly a game-changer.
  3. May 16, 2011
    95
    It is not perfect, and each player will find his own vices and virtues, but we don't remember many projects with such ambition that comes so close to perfection.
  4. May 16, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire's absorbing investigations and intoxicating sense of style make it an unforgettable journey through the seamy side of the City of Angels.
  5. May 18, 2011
    90
    L.A. Noire is a fascinating interactive thriller that will suck you in with its story. With its fresh gameplay, L.A. Noire stands out from many other games that lack this kind of innovation.
  6. May 31, 2011
    85
    In spite of its flaws, L.A. Noire is still easy to recommend based on its incredible presentation and new take on the old adventure genre. The blemishes likely won't be enough to dissuade many from trying the experience. Rockstar also gets points for making a game where "mature" means more than a rating on the box, as it delivers a deeper experience than we may have come to expect from most games. L.A. Noire isn't the company's best offering, but it's still definitely worthy of your time.
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    65
    In closing, L.A. Noire's ambitions far outstrip its abilities, and it's a frustrating failure most of the running time. That being said, the shooting is exceptional, the occasional fistfighting is functional, and the foot chases are endearingly dynamic.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 250
  1. May 31, 2011
    10
    Like some critics have said, L.A. Noire might not be a game that everyone will love, but it is a necessary game for people who want to see how video games have and will evolve. I begin with this because there is a lot to this game that may turn people away - it is NOT your typical GTA game except for driving, story comes before action, trial-and-error may become necessary, and the pace of the game is slow. As for me, I thought this game was amazing. I've always loved adventure games, but production values and quality assurance usually leaves something to be desired for your average adventure game. But here we have a giant in the gaming industry producing an uncompromising adventure game - it is a dream come true for someone like me. Roaming crime scenes and interrogating suspects is a thrilling departure from typical gaming fare. The new facial animation technology is a stunning innovation that merges real human emotion into the game worlds; it is not quite perfect, but it must be seen. There is simply nothing like it. Before ending, though, I should note that environments take a while to load (especially when driving), causing some frequent texture pop-in. But since the core of the game is in detective work, this is not that detrimental. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    One of the most genuine and innovative games of this generation. Great atmopshere, great story, great gameplay and the facial animation is truly next gen... This is a masterpiece... One of the best games ever... Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    The people who rip the "feel" of this game, obviously don't understand it was not intended to be your stereotypical video game. It was designed to be an interactive detective story, much like "Heavy Rain" on the PS3. Both games are very innovative. Rockstar took it a step farther and included more gameplay, even allowing you the ability to wield your weapon and personally drive throughout the city. I would not knock this game until you beat it, as your involvement becomes greater as you progress. Initially, it does get repetitive, but later on, the game changes just as you are about to become bored, and it'll capture your attention again, entirely. Expand
  4. May 29, 2011
    9
    Any game which references Shelley and Hamlet is a-okay in my book. This is an unique experience, and will sure leave many people expecting a GTA in Noir-style or even a Red Dead Redemption-styled game cold. This is a new step in the direction of video-game-to-movie-integration, I saw one commentator say that this is not so, that it is definitely a video-game, and I don't know what that person was talking about; It feels and looks like a movie, where kinetic energy is based more on story and character development rather than action. The game-play is a bit awkward however, and there are minor incongruities in the flow of action when the police captain will yell at you while in the next scene praise you. These are only minor complaints but are also important since the game strives for such heights. In ambition it is definitely a 10, but in execution it is more of an 8, and so the final will have to be 9. I can't comment on the story, since I'm not completely done, but it does a great job of pulling you into, maybe not such a realistic world, as much as an world of Los Angeles 40's noir which thrives on the mystique of LA folklore. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    Overall, a phenomenal game. I was hoping for a 1940s version of GTA IV, but am starting to really get into this one. The graphics are great, and the gameplay is responsive. My wife even enjoys watching me solve the cases as we play through the game. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a single player break from the FPS genre.

    Pros: Gameplay, graphics, facial technology, storyline
    Cons: The game takes a while to get into. The cases sort of resemble each other for a while and can get monotonous.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    You cannot really think of this as a video game. Its more like an interactive film.

    Although the story telling, acting and atmosphere are
    amazing, I found the crucial interrogation system to be deeply flawed. If I got a question wrong I would quit out to the menu and reload from the same point, otherwise I miss out on the plot which is VERY irritating. I think they could have explored the morality aspect a bit more, it would be interesting if you weren't such a clean cut cop. If you had the ability to take bribes, plant evidence or force confessions with violence I think it would have made the game more interesting because even though Cole Phelps does everything by the book, the player should be able to make their own decisions. Instead, I felt like a passenger following him around. Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    I really wish I knew what happened to Rockstar, because GTA3 was as much fun as I've had playing a video game. it's also the last time I nad fun playing a game put out by Rockstar. Their 'games' are technically brilliant. The graphics are outstanding, the sounds are spot on they do a solid job creating environments and mood, but their games don't have the tiniest bit of fun in them. Expand

See all 250 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews

    L.A. Noire: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 19, 2011
    The newest original game concept from "Grand Theft Auto" creator Rockstar Games arrived in stores this week after months of hype. How good did it turn out to be? We take a closer look at the critical response to detective thriller "L.A. Noire."