Left 4 Dead 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 678 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 678
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamC
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    My 3 zombie killing friends and I agree. Left 4 dead 2 is bigger and better than the original. More zombies, more challenge, more laughs, and best of all more guns. If you liked L4D1, you need to get this game.
  2. May 21, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best game ever. Plenty of fun with friends and a very enjoyable versus mode. The coop system is the best ever seen in the games history. The animations are incredibly fluid, some of the best I've seen so far in a game. The dialogues are great, the characters say a lot of different things and are never annoying or ripetitive. Definitely a masterpiece!
  3. TheDude
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This game rocks. I was a huge fan of the first game, and traded it in for a special deal on MW2, and when I first started this one I was regretting that decision and missing the first one badly. Now after playing it straight for a couple of weeks, I can't hardly imagine playing the old one, since it doesn't have so many of the new things that have been added to the sequel that This game rocks. I was a huge fan of the first game, and traded it in for a special deal on MW2, and when I first started this one I was regretting that decision and missing the first one badly. Now after playing it straight for a couple of weeks, I can't hardly imagine playing the old one, since it doesn't have so many of the new things that have been added to the sequel that work so well and add so much to the game. The biggest difference is, of course, the three new infected characters. All three, the jockey, spitter, and charger, all fit in perfectly and add new dimensions to the team strategy dimensions so critical to the online versus mode. My initial response to the game was based on the first of the five new campaigns, Dead Center, which is still my least favorite of the new offerings. The other four campaigns are awesome. Equally awesome is the new Scavenge mode, in which teams play several rounds rotating to see which team of survivors can collect and score more gas cans before a timer runs out. It's tons of fun, just like the traditional versus mode, and is a great alternative if you don't have enough time for a full campaign. Other cool new additions are the melee weapons, the adrenaline shot, and the defibrilator. Once you've played the game for a while, all of the new additions work very well and add to the overall experience. So, in conclusion, this is just an awesome game that fans of the first are sure to love, if they give it a little time so they can get used to all the new changes. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Left 4 Dead is one of the best action games I played. Hundreds of zombies and mutants like Jokeys, Tanks, Smokers and the dreaded Witchs awaits on this game. Online mode is fantastic, but single player mode is very fun too.
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = Addictive and very well designed shooter. Some of the best Co-op and versus action you can possibly find on console.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Firstly, this is way better than the original. The characters are funnier, the fighting is better, and the game is harder. But not harder in an off putting way though, harder in a way which makes you just want to kick ass. Plus the game is actually intelligent, in that if you seem to be struggling with your path of progression it can actually change to adapt to your skill level so repeatFirstly, this is way better than the original. The characters are funnier, the fighting is better, and the game is harder. But not harder in an off putting way though, harder in a way which makes you just want to kick ass. Plus the game is actually intelligent, in that if you seem to be struggling with your path of progression it can actually change to adapt to your skill level so repeat plays can make a completely different experience increasing the playability.

    The melee weapons are the big new thing about L4D2. Killing the undead with a guitar is surprisingly fun, although I must admit the fun of hacking and slashing your way through the hoard does wear off slightly, and you'll probably find yourself switching back to your gun often. By far my favourites are the axe and the chainsaw. The chainsaw especially when used again the witches. They were the one special zombie which caused me no end of deaths in the original L4D, so the satisfaction of bringing one down alone in five seconds flat is extremely fun.

    The special zombies are much more common in the sequel (or at least I noticed them more). The new ones are Spitters (My mortal enemy) who spew out pools of acid which are deathly if you stroll into one; Jockeys, which take control of your movement; and Chargers, who are like mini tanks but much, much easier to kill. Of course, the witches and tanks are still there in full force, along with the Boomers, Hunters and Smokers ready to massacure you in a split second if you're away from your team mates.

    Speaking of team mates, L4D2 is very much a co-op game, and is really at its most enjoyable when played with a friend (or three). Team work really is essential when the zombies start swarming you, and to help you find ammunition and all the good weapons. It's encouraged further with the addition of a defibrillator kit to revive dying team mates, plus rooms which you have to locate to revive dead team mates (and there's nothing as annoying as sitting back while your team mates refuse to find the door because they're on a roll, but then on the up side, you can vote to kick them).

    Mind you, all that team mate stuff goes out the door in the online versus games, when four of you are the survivors and four of you are trying to annihilate them ruthlessly. Probably better played with strangers, since you will fall out. A lot. Especially when they start teaming up on the weak one. Which is usually me.

    A little note about the AI characters here. They're crap. I wouldn't like to play the game solo on a hard difficulty because the AI characters have stopped being as good as they were in the original and started being incredibly dumb. They'll revive and heal you sometimes, but I found they shoot less and get hurt more and sometimes even leave you to die while they go off and save their own sorry asses. And that's just not cool. The AI is the only thing about the game where the original L4D has the edge.

    As well as Versus and Campaign mode, you can also play Survival and Scavenge, which are shorter and more competitive (if you can get more competitive than Versus). Survival sees you battling to stay alive for as long as possible against swarming hoards, and with no chance of escape it really does come down to who lasts the longest. Great way to get used to using the weapons, but it does get a little old quickly. Scavenge mode has more replayability as you can play as survivors trying to collect gas tanks to fill up a generator and thus add time to keep a rapid clock counting down going, or as the infected trying to stop them. Again, you'll probably fall out by the end. But in a fun way.

    Overall, this a game I'll be recommending. If you liked the original, you'll like this even better, it's a much more rounded game and although the same could've probably been achieved with a couple of expansion packs, that wouldn't have been half as satisfying. If you're new to the series then buy this instead of the first one.
    Expand
  7. AaronS
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game entertained me for weeks.... until break ended for me... I could have played it for MONTHS. Anyhow, It has a shockingly realistic gameplay, ESPECIALLY since they made the parts to a un/common infected seperately allowing parts to fall off and even when the skin is torn off, it reveals the inner body. Great work Valve! And I am excited for the add-on in which the ol' L4D 1 This game entertained me for weeks.... until break ended for me... I could have played it for MONTHS. Anyhow, It has a shockingly realistic gameplay, ESPECIALLY since they made the parts to a un/common infected seperately allowing parts to fall off and even when the skin is torn off, it reveals the inner body. Great work Valve! And I am excited for the add-on in which the ol' L4D 1 Characters will unite with our new buddies. Expand
  8. alzombie
    Dec 5, 2009
    8
    This squeal is an improved version of the first game which I loved. It is however frustrating sitting in lobbies trying to find multiplayer games. The new weapons are awesome and the extra zombies are great along with some excellent levels and action. It is an essential purchase if you like zombies
  9. jamezs
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    never played l4d1 should of but this game is fantastic loads of varieties of gameplay to choose from such as realism, survival that is what brings out the life of the game must must must buy
  10. chriso
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Great game, very challenging playing alone. Sometimes feels like even on Normal the directer and crescendo events can be unforgiving. Loved the first, and am loving the second. has more likeable characters imo as well 9hated everyone but Bill in L4D 1, loving everyone but rochelle in L4D 2). Great game, def a buy. Campaigns are great, variety in weapons is a plus, and more special Great game, very challenging playing alone. Sometimes feels like even on Normal the directer and crescendo events can be unforgiving. Loved the first, and am loving the second. has more likeable characters imo as well 9hated everyone but Bill in L4D 1, loving everyone but rochelle in L4D 2). Great game, def a buy. Campaigns are great, variety in weapons is a plus, and more special infected, and new Directer always changing things up. Amazing game. Expand
  11. donm
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    this game brings in a lot more competition for the humans, as the humans were over powered in the first and made it nearly impossible to be stopped if they worked well together. the zombies got some much needed variety -- good heavens i was tired of being a lame hunter all the time!!! the new zombies are a great addition and make the gameplay a lot more fun. the jockey, the spitter, the this game brings in a lot more competition for the humans, as the humans were over powered in the first and made it nearly impossible to be stopped if they worked well together. the zombies got some much needed variety -- good heavens i was tired of being a lame hunter all the time!!! the new zombies are a great addition and make the gameplay a lot more fun. the jockey, the spitter, the charger, all add a lot of new elements and strategies to taking down the humans. the levels are more complex than the originial, but this just requires smarter gameplay and different routes you can take to get to the end. the game is a definite improvement over the first and although it might have been possible to have this as downloadable content, can you really wrong them for releasing it as a new game? they are a company and they saw an opportunity to make some $$... what they didnt do was release a crappy game, this game is well worth the money and has a lot of new content, a lot of the same old game mechanics remain the same, but hey what i always say is "if it aint broke, dont fix it". the game is great, pick it up, and if you have the first, you wont be going back -- the addition of the zombies was just awesome! it is so fun to play all the new zombies and develop new strategies on killing the humans. teamwork, like in the first, is necessary for success, on both sides. the game feels better now and more refined. nice job valve. Expand
  12. ZachM
    Dec 15, 2009
    8
    Great game it just needs checkpoints because if you die near the end of a level or at any time in the level you have to start all over. Other than that, very fun and addictive.
  13. TommiS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Left 4 Dead 2 is an exellent sequal. It has a lot more to offer than the first: The melee weapons that chop zombies into little pieces, new guns, and a new campaign that is much better and exiting than the ones we had in the earlier game. Altogether l4d 2 is a must buy
  14. KeithR.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    this game kicks ass, the graphics are great, the gore is spectaculer, a cubic-butload of new guns, weapons, and zombies. Definately one of the top 3 games of the year.
  15. SethA
    Dec 7, 2009
    8
    It is a slight improvement from the first game especially with the addition of melee weapons. I feel that the difficulty has been ramped up on this game compared to the first game and I feel like this makes it almost unplayable. Playing online is horrendous because I lag every single time I play. This has made me stop playing online and I now play the single player. Valve has made a solid It is a slight improvement from the first game especially with the addition of melee weapons. I feel that the difficulty has been ramped up on this game compared to the first game and I feel like this makes it almost unplayable. Playing online is horrendous because I lag every single time I play. This has made me stop playing online and I now play the single player. Valve has made a solid game like always this one just isn't on par with it's other masterpieces such as both Half Lifes, Portal, and both Team Fortresses. Expand
  16. WalterS.
    Jan 15, 2010
    8
    I didn't own the first game (though I did play it), so it has no place in my heart and the gameplay hasn't curdled for me the way it may have for someone who's played the same game last year. While the first is like a tactical operation, the sequel is more like a warzone. Sometimes you'll find that gunning it through the level is preferable to taking your time and I didn't own the first game (though I did play it), so it has no place in my heart and the gameplay hasn't curdled for me the way it may have for someone who's played the same game last year. While the first is like a tactical operation, the sequel is more like a warzone. Sometimes you'll find that gunning it through the level is preferable to taking your time and gathering valuable supplies. The game is VERY reliant on teamwork (as you may have guessed), no matter what tactics you use. Whether you're searching every room or going for a speedrun record, you all have to be on the same page. You'll be screaming at your television because your idiotic teammate doesn't have a microphone and can't "leave the womb." Do yourself a favor, organize a team of either friends or other people interested in coordination and communication. Pubbies are USELESS and will doom your team. I hate to say it, but if there's one guy who just won't keep up, kick him or leave him behind. The majority vote of you and your other two teammates will protect you. Retracing your steps every five minutes to rescue the same guy will get you slaughtered. Lame leg, lame horse. This is especially frustrating in Versus, where a dozen more footsteps could be the difference between victory and defeat. Gameplay aside, the atmosphere is spectacular. I love the Southern feel of the game and music, and the characters are absolutely infectious. I can't put into words how exciting the Dark Carnival finale is. Gotta reach for the top, stay on the mountain! Na-na-naaa naaa naaa na-na-na-naaa! Expand
  17. ColinL
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Left 4 Dead 2 wipes away any doubt in my mind that the sequel would be simply another copy. All gameplay has been expanded and refined from the first game and the new modes offer oodles of replay value. I am confused as to why people consider the source engine so outdated, it does not suffer from texture pops or collision issues like so many others. The controls feel fluid and natural. Left 4 Dead 2 wipes away any doubt in my mind that the sequel would be simply another copy. All gameplay has been expanded and refined from the first game and the new modes offer oodles of replay value. I am confused as to why people consider the source engine so outdated, it does not suffer from texture pops or collision issues like so many others. The controls feel fluid and natural. Valve has managed to create a whole new game. Boycotters will be shamed for years to come. Expand
  18. JohnD
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    First, a few words about the sequel/update argument. In the first Left 4 Dead, levels weren't designed with the spitter in mind, or places adrenaline would be preferred over pills. Old game maps would need to be updated to take advantage of the slew of new features. Now while it's possible to rework all the old campaigns, Valve is totally justified in making a sequel. First, a few words about the sequel/update argument. In the first Left 4 Dead, levels weren't designed with the spitter in mind, or places adrenaline would be preferred over pills. Old game maps would need to be updated to take advantage of the slew of new features. Now while it's possible to rework all the old campaigns, Valve is totally justified in making a sequel. They've come through on their promise to give the original new content (survival mode and Crash Course come to mind), and a new game allows them to build around all their new concepts. Does this mean Valve is totally innocent? No. So many new things so quick after the first game seems to say they released Left 4 Dead too early. But, I think any lesson Valve could learn would be learned by now. Alright, now that I've perpetuated this asinine argument, back to the zombie killing. Left 4 Dead 2 has fixed most every problem from the original. New special infected (and the uncommon commons) go a long way to mixing things up, turning former safe areas, like hallways (charger) and corners (spitter), into dangers in their own right. The different campaigns, which seemed to be very similar in the original, now have marked differences and totally unique moments. The new "gauntlet" crescendo events, where you're running to a target instead of holding out, are very fun, and the classic crescendo events provide less walls to back against, increasing the danger. Finales are noticeably amped up in difficulty, forcing players to make a plan beyond, "Find a corner and stay there". Lastly, the slew of new items and weapons open up much more strategy, and rely encourage teamwork. Of course, nothing is perfect, and Left 4 Dead 2 has it's flaws. The game can be very unforgiving at times, and it's lost some of the "we need to survive" feel of the original to the much more common "we need to kick ass". All in all, this is one of the best multiplayer games I've seen in a while. I suggest this game to (A) anyone who likes co-op, (B) anyone who likes online games, and (C) anyone who likes what Valve makes. Expand
  19. JasonB.
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This game made improvements ...... major improvements this game was made for multiplayer and online.
  20. RyanM
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    I don't consider this an improvement from the first game. While it does add new weapons, infected, characters, and tweaked the horde, the most notable addition is the new campaigns. The new weapons don't really do anything different (other than the awesome melee weapons) and characters aren't quite as likeable as Zoey, Francis, Bill, and Louis. But being able to team up I don't consider this an improvement from the first game. While it does add new weapons, infected, characters, and tweaked the horde, the most notable addition is the new campaigns. The new weapons don't really do anything different (other than the awesome melee weapons) and characters aren't quite as likeable as Zoey, Francis, Bill, and Louis. But being able to team up with three other friends to fight the zombie apocalypse or 7 other friends for some intense Versus/Scavenge makes the game infinately replayable. It just lacked the original innovation of the first game. Expand
  21. NiklasA.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Ive always loved Valve. They have always seemed to bring out what really makes games fun in their work. This game is a must have to all XBOX owners. It is also a great game to play as a break from the ever so frustrating (but still fun) Call of Duty 6.
  22. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    Left 4 dead 2 is a very fun game. Nothing beats taking out zombies with a baseball bat, but doing it on the same maps gets very old. Don't get me wrong i like this game it's just since there's only like 6 maps it does get old. They did come out with the passing but it sucked. I hear there's another add on coming out but i will not be getting it cause i traded mine in for Bad company 2. TheLeft 4 dead 2 is a very fun game. Nothing beats taking out zombies with a baseball bat, but doing it on the same maps gets very old. Don't get me wrong i like this game it's just since there's only like 6 maps it does get old. They did come out with the passing but it sucked. I hear there's another add on coming out but i will not be getting it cause i traded mine in for Bad company 2. The characters are brilliant and so is this game. It's just the same 6 maps do get old. I give it a 8 out of 10 Expand
  23. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    For a long while, Team Fortress 2 was my favourite Live game, with it's varied character classes and Pixar-esque graphical style. The along came Left 4 Dead 2. Left 4 Dead 2 offers TF2 style variety, and then some. Taking the class-based formulae and filling it with BRAAAAAAAAIIIIIINNNNNSSSS, L4D2 is a near-perfect multiplayer game, that any self respecting game should play. It's a reallyFor a long while, Team Fortress 2 was my favourite Live game, with it's varied character classes and Pixar-esque graphical style. The along came Left 4 Dead 2. Left 4 Dead 2 offers TF2 style variety, and then some. Taking the class-based formulae and filling it with BRAAAAAAAAIIIIIINNNNNSSSS, L4D2 is a near-perfect multiplayer game, that any self respecting game should play. It's a really solid shooter, firstly, as playing as the survivors is just as fun as being the zombies, thanks to fun weapons and grenades. And then I move on to the zombies themselves, who play the more tactical game. Survivors cling together to survive, while the zombies get to choose crafty spawn points to suit their classes particular skills. The Boomer, a puking, fat zombie that can cause a huge hoard of common infected to attack the survivors, either by puking on them or exploded on them. There's also the Spitter, who throws a great big acid patch onto the floor, damaging the survivors and, if your particularly crafty, netting you a few Achievements. There's also the Smoker and Hunter, the former dragging survivors to there death with his huge tongue, while the latter climbs onto rooftops before leaping onto survivors and ripping them to pieces. The Charger and the Tank are sort of similar, as the Charger is a hulking brute who grabs survivors and pummels them, while the Tank just generally throws rocks and smacks survivors into oblivion. The last playable Infected is the Jockey, who jumps onto survivors and drives them into the zombies, causing said survivor to become a mound of flesh and blood. The single player campaign is also enjoyable enough, but it's far superior in co-op, with all it's zombie shooting, grenade throwing, with stalking shenanigans. Ah yes, the Witch. The Witch is a fast, powerful Infected who if you startle will kill you or knock you down, and then you will have to rely on your fellow survivors to help you. With is the point of the game really-teamwork. It forces you to work with your friends for a truly great survival-based multiplayer game, whilst being both addictive and satisfying. Expand
  24. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    I'm not what you would call a "video game person", yet after playing this once, I've been obsessed with this game. Much better than the sequel, and the three extra infected characters are definitely worth the time. Even more weapons, plus even more zombies equals a hell of a time!
  25. Oct 25, 2010
    8
    This is a highly addictive game. Yes you will lose interest after a while but add some friends and turn it to hard and guess what... I new found fun time... Anyone who gives this game lower than an 8 must not have any friends to play with... Multi player or multi player VS. is where this game shines!
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game right here is the pretty much the only reason why i even buy the ridiculous price to play online, LOVE THIS GAME. love the 1 as well. I like how this game has more levels with actually light given L4D1 was pretty much a dark setting that whole time. I mean this game is just fun, shooting zombies with Ellis all day, does it really get any better than that?
  27. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    If you loved the first game you'll love this one too. New people, some new weapons, able to carry and use melee wepaons, more campaigns, longer game, tons of fun.
  28. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Has replay value with laughable flaws. IF you're a fan familiar with the Left 4 Dead series, it's almost like playing Left 4 Dead again, but there are differences in Left 4 Dead 2. One big difference is that you shove is limited down from the last game. After a certain number of shoves, you can't shove anymore. If you desired weapon diversity and new6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Has replay value with laughable flaws. IF you're a fan familiar with the Left 4 Dead series, it's almost like playing Left 4 Dead again, but there are differences in Left 4 Dead 2. One big difference is that you shove is limited down from the last game. After a certain number of shoves, you can't shove anymore. If you desired weapon diversity and new Special Infected, that has been added. The two biggest flaws, might be different for each person, I have with this game is two things: very stupid AI and poor fun with AI. The AI is very stupid, often so much so that it can be game changing (you may not have to deal with AI, but I do since I don't have Live. I often experience these problems with the AI in Co-op Campaign). Often times, AI will change from pistol to tier weapons at the worlds worst and weirdest time. AI also has a tendency to stay silent about hidden items, such as: better weapons, Pills, and First Aid. If you have live capabilities, your experience may be different from mine. Expand
  29. May 2, 2011
    9
    This was a GREAT game has everything you could want guns, funny characters, and ZOMBIES just go out and buy it and you wont regret it. Graphics are great the sounds and music make it a scary and enjoyable experience. I would recommended this to anyone who is looking for a zombie game with a good campain, good humor and just a good time.
  30. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    As with the original Left 4 Dead 2 sees players take on the role of one of four survivors just after the outbreak that turned most of the population into either zombies or even more powerful mutants. The game leads these Survivors through the south-eastern region of the US bringing the level of dramatic co-op players have come to expect. The game has been criticised in some quarters forAs with the original Left 4 Dead 2 sees players take on the role of one of four survivors just after the outbreak that turned most of the population into either zombies or even more powerful mutants. The game leads these Survivors through the south-eastern region of the US bringing the level of dramatic co-op players have come to expect. The game has been criticised in some quarters for being released within a year of the original but it certainly refines the formula enough to justify its existence. For starters there is a greater number of versus modes and the timed survival mode, that only came as a download in the first game, is now available right off the bat. With the introduction of new enemy types teamwork is also more vital than ever before. Wandering of alone is usually a pretty sure way to get yourself killed. Fortunately new weapons are also available including melee weapons. These weapons range from the weak crowbar to swords that can decapitate three or four zombies at once and really bring an extra dimension to the gameplay. Furthermore the main campaign is also better realised with some excellent set pieces. This all contributes to another fantastic multiplayer experience from Valve. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. An undisputable improvement over its predecessor in every way, and it steals its own crown as best co-op game on the Xbox. It's chainsaw-twirlingly good. [Holiday 2009, p.64]
  2. 100
    L4D2 delivers multiple improvements over its predecessor, and I get to keep all my fingers and toes.
  3. 90
    it remains one of the most distinctive co-operative titles out there, and allows for some of the most nerve-searing team-based multiplayer gaming on the market.